Woodstock cottage rental - View of Herb Cottage from the 'show off' herb garden
View of Herb Cottage from the 'show off' herb garden
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Woodstock Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1-bedroom 2-story cottage with wood stove, sleeps 2

Experience the essence of Woodstock in this former home to Anita M. Smith—artist, historian and “Herb Lady of the Catskills.” Enjoy the fragrance and serenity of the “show-off” herb garden right outside your door.

Just 1/2 mile from town center, Herb Cottage is nestled at the gateway to Woodstock’s legendary Overlook Mountain. If you’re searching for a mystical hideaway in which to relax, restore your energies, and recapture your creative self, this is the place for you!

Completely renovated, Herb Cottage offers a delightful mix of luxurious appointments and bluestone charm, including:

• Comfortable living room with woodstove, bluestone hearth, and 37' Cable HDTV, Blu-Ray and CD players, and an extensive library of books, games, DVDs and CDs.

• Fully-equipped country kitchen with a bluestone countertop, herb tiles from Mexico, and a sunny dining nook.

• Loft bedroom with a king-sized bed and view of Overlook Mountain.

• Bathroom with a claw foot tub and rain shower.

• Additional amenities include luxury linens, spa robes, WIFI, and a secluded bluestone terrace with bluestone table and gas grill. Also, a complimentary Experience Woodstock Card to use at more than 100 of the Woodstock area’s premier restaurants, shops, galleries, museums, spas, performance spaces and more.

• Optional: Reiki treatments and access to other holistic practitioners.

Ideal for a couple. Combine with nearby Rock City Writer's Studio (HA# 3469886) for additional space.

More Details
Hide Details

Anita M. Smith was born in Philadelphia in 1893. She was a Quaker and her family were part of the crème de la crème of Philadelphia society. By the time she reached the age of 19 she had already been on 3 major world tours. In 1912 she came to Woodstock with money intended for a ball gown, to study painting at the Art Students League Summer School. In the 1930s she shifted gears and began an herbalism business. Anita’s flourishing enterprise was based in Herb Cottage—and she sold her products in all 48 contiguous United States. Her business was one of four like it located on the East Coast. It was so successful that H.J. Heinz came calling. However, with the onset of World War II she changed course once again. It was a time of self-sacrifice, and so she offered space on her property to the town’s plane spotting unit—and became the Chief Observer. The barn building next to Rock City Writer’s Studio is all that remains of this structure. After the war, she began work on Woodstock History and Hearsay, the town’s first history, and this was published in 1959.

The current owners met Anita Smith as children in 1957. She supported their mother’s creativity and lent her an old studio (now styled as Rock City Writer’s Studio). This allowed her to work on her plays in peace—away from family interference. In turn, their mother became like a daughter to Anita, and assisted her in the final stages of writing the first edition of Woodstock History and Hearsay. Miss Smith left her estate to their mother: physical and intellectual property. When their mother passed in 1999 they jointly inherited the house, outbuildings, grounds and intellectual property. After much thought and discussion they resolved to honor Anita and their mother through a program of restoration. Further, they determined to embrace and celebrate a mindset and way of living that had been handed down to them from Anita. This was the genesis of their company, WoodstockArts (http://www.woodstockarts.com).

21 Reviews of Property 3469885 in Woodstock, New York

NEW! Herb Cottage: Historic Artist's Cottage, Wood Stove, Walk to Town!
average rating of 4.857143 based on 21 reviews
business
NEW! Herb Cottage: Historic Artist's Cottage, Wood Stove, Walk to Town!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3469885
+1 646-621-6531
Woodstock Catskills
4

So sweet!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
It was a lovely spot, exactly what we were looking for. So cozy with thoughtful touches. We like to cook and the kitchen was a good size. There is wifi and cable, which we were surprised by. One minor thing, the bed is nice and big but quite firm. Wished the bedding was a wee bit more plush but certainly not a deal breaker and we will definitely rent again in the future. Thank you!
business
NEW! Herb Cottage: Historic Artist's Cottage, Wood Stove, Walk to Town!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3469885
+1 646-621-6531
Woodstock Catskills
5

Perfect antidote to city life, and dog friendly!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Herb Cottage is charming, cosy and perfectly situated just on the outskirts of Woodstock. Come here for a super-relaxing break- we liked it so much the first time we came back!
business
NEW! Herb Cottage: Historic Artist's Cottage, Wood Stove, Walk to Town!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3469885
+1 646-621-6531
Woodstock Catskills
Where do you live?
5

Herb Cottage is the Best Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This was our second visit to the Herb Cottage. We visited in the autumn and loved it so much that we decided to "brave the winter weather" and come back again. … And it did not disappoint! Chelsea was wonderful getting us settled in upon our arrival. And you'd think an older house would be drafty, but we stayed very cozy with the beautiful buck stove. There is ample wood and kindling available and we kept a fire burning our entire stay (a full week.) They kept the driveway and walkway shoveled for us (they had a "bit" of snow prior to our arrival) which was so helpful. And every evening at dusk, we were treated to a parade of deer came through the yard grazing and were able to grab some great photos.

Many people thought we were crazy for booking a winter vacation 300 miles north of our home (and we don't even do winter sports…) But we thoroughly enjoyed unplugging from the usual routine. Don't think you'll be bored though! We enjoyed the many wonderful restaurants, braved the Hudson Walkway to see the river frozen over, and even caught a David Letterman show in NYC one evening!

We will definitely come back for another visit to the Herb Cottage!
business
NEW! Herb Cottage: Historic Artist's Cottage, Wood Stove, Walk to Town!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3469885
+1 646-621-6531
Woodstock Catskills
5

Perfect and amazing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Chelsea was amazing, helped from the day I booked my stay. I wanted a special place to propose to my now fiancé and Chelsea helped me with everything from flowers to setting up for the proposal. We loved the stay at the cottage, very cozy and has everything one would need. Very close to town. We are already planning our next trip up to Woodstock. Highly recommend!!
business
NEW! Herb Cottage: Historic Artist's Cottage, Wood Stove, Walk to Town!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3469885
+1 646-621-6531
Woodstock Catskills
4

Lovely week in beautiful cottage

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We had a lovely stay in the beautiful herb cottage in Woodstock. Extremely comfortable bed, well appointed with enough towels, kitchen equipment, etc. and the small glitches with the radio and TV were smoothly and elegantly solved by the owners. We even gave a dinner party for friends using the beautiful gas grill. all in all, a very successful week. We would like to go again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
NEW! Herb Cottage: Historic Artist's Cottage, Wood Stove, Walk to Town!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3469885
+1 646-621-6531
Woodstock Catskills
5

Fantastic Herb Cottage!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We loved Herb Cottage, great communication by Chelsea, who met us at the house. Herb Cottage was everything we hoped for and was true to the pictures and description provided in Homeandaway! A lot of thought went into the cottage and preparation beforehand, all the little things that we would have otherwise had to purchase, such as oil, sugar, foil etc were already provided.
We were informed of the restaurants close by and booked one for a final meal. However, due to the great weather and grill in the garden, we decided to cancel dinner and cook outside. Whilst we were here, we went apple picking and hiked up Overlook Mountain. We would def come back and visit again
Tom
business
NEW! Herb Cottage: Historic Artist's Cottage, Wood Stove, Walk to Town!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3469885
+1 646-621-6531
Woodstock Catskills
Nashville
5

BEAUTIFUL

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Could not have been more pleased with this charming cottage. Everything about it is simply lovely. We walked to town, enjoying the crisp, fall air. The wood-burning stove warmed the house nicely on the chilly evenings. There is such a peace to be found here and if you are looking to recharge and unwind, I can think of no more perfect place. We are already talking about when we can return.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
NEW! Herb Cottage: Historic Artist's Cottage, Wood Stove, Walk to Town!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3469885
+1 646-621-6531
Woodstock Catskills
5

A Wonderful Cozy Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I have been visiting Woodstock every summer for years, this past summer I stayed at the artist cottage and it won't be the last. It's a perfect place for a single or couple, cozy, romantic, quiet, and very sweet, also perfectly located within walking distance to town, but not too close to feel overly busy and trafficked. Especially enjoyed the kitchen and plush armchairs and the stone table out back which was a perfect place to write with a view of the yard. The interior decoration is really lovely. The property backs up to another cottage, but had no problems with privacy or noise. Clean, arty, and woodsy. Very much enjoyed. Judy is a gem to work with on any of her properties. And the family that owns this particular cottage is very kind.
business
NEW! Herb Cottage: Historic Artist's Cottage, Wood Stove, Walk to Town!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3469885
+1 646-621-6531
Woodstock Catskills
5

Quaint, peaceful treasure!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My boyfriend and I truly cherished our stay at Herb Cottage. Great hiking and dining nearby. The cottage is relatively secluded but within easy walking distance to town. Chelsea couldn't have been more helpful! She made herself easily available for all our questions and provided great suggestions for local activities. The customer service was prompt and outstanding. The cottage was very clean! I would definitely recommend hitting up New World Home Cooking in Saugerties for a delicious meal. Hope to return for another visit soon!
business
NEW! Herb Cottage: Historic Artist's Cottage, Wood Stove, Walk to Town!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3469885
+1 646-621-6531
Woodstock Catskills
5

The Perfect Weekend Escape!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I wasn't sure what to except with my first visit to the Catskills, Woodstock, and Herb Cottage - but any possible expectations would have been exceeded by the experience.

From making the arrangements before booking through to check-in and check-out, every step of the process was made super easy by Chelsea, who handled the arrangements for the owners.

The Cottage is made for a weekend escape from New York and was more than comfortable for two people - plenty of space to lounge, relax and decompress. It's outfitted with all the essential modern conveniences, too--so we were still able to binge-watch Netflix in the evening.

Must-do-
- Hike Overlook Mountain, and the house is perfectly located just down the road from the entrance to the trail
- Visit Opus 40, and the house is a short drive down the road from the entrance
- Find a local Swimming Hole and go for a dip
- Spend an evening in the backyard of Herb Cottage: bbq'ing, drinking beer, and playing board games... what more could one want

Overall a really great experience at Herb Cottage, and I hope one day to be able to return.