Dominical villa rental - Aerial view of the villa
Aerial view of the villa
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Dominical Villa Rental Photos and Description
Minutes' walk to the beach, surrounded by nature, breathtaking ocean view

Peaceful, quiet and private, Villa HighPalms is an ideal getaway for a week or a month. The 2-storey stand-alone condo-villa is located directly above a beautiful one-kilometer long beach in Dominical, Costa Rica, with stunning ocean and white water views. As one of the 35 vacation villas in a secure gated community, Villa HighPalms is the most private due to its position at the end of a closed road on a corner lot by the edge of the rainforest. Sightings of toucans, raccoons, iguanas and monkeys are common.

The community of Canto del Mar, where Villa HighPalms is located, offers convenient access to a string of pristine beaches, being only 150 meters from the coastal highway turnoff. It offers 24-hour security with a manned entrance and hourly foot-patrol.

At about 250 feet above sea level, Villa HighPalms offers a totally unobstructed view of the Pacific Ocean, the sandy beach below, a picturesque headland, and a cove that welcomes fishing boats, swimmers and surfers. The villa is caressed by warm sea breeze throughout the day and cool mountain breeze throughout the night. Furniture on the veranda and lightings in the garden make outdoor dining and entertaining a way of life.

The stroll from the villa to Playa Dominicalito (Little Dominical Beach) takes 5 minutes down a gentle slope, alongside a football field, and across a low traffic road. The beach has a beautiful backdrop of emerald rainforest, light brown sand and rocky outcrops at both ends. Sunsets on the beach are fabulous. There is a popular waterfall with a natural swimming pool less than 1 km away.

The town of Dominical (3 hours from the international airport in San Jose and 30 minutes from the regional airport in Quepos) and the surfing actions on the main Dominical Beach are 4 km away, where you will find souvenir and grocery stores, restaurants and bars, internet cafes and tours offices. Uvita, which is 12 km further south, has large supermarkets, banks and more restaurants.

This fully furnished 1500-sq.ft.vacation home is surrounded by majestic palm trees, a profusion of tropical fruit trees and flowering plants. The corner position of the villa ensures tranquility and total privacy. One of the 3 bedrooms is furnished as a home office and TV room. Quality ceramics, hard wood poles and beams are used in constructing the villa and the design is overall airy, modern and tropical. There is plenty of space for car park directly in front of the villa.

Two cable TVs come with a DVD player and a home theatre system. Desktop computer, printer and Internet connection are available.

The rates shown here are for couples. Extra person please add $20/night. Monthly rentals are only available to couples.

Video link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=99kDVvstFlg

More Details
Hide Details

We work and live around the world for the last twenty years. In 2005 we came to Dominical to work on a business project and came across this development overlooking the beach. We fell in love with the view and the natural environment.

Owner purchased this villa in 2006

It has the best of the both worlds, the beaches and the rainforests. One day we can stroll on a deserted beach for miles, and another we can spend hours on a nature trail, being mesmerized by giant or ancient plant species or dazzled by birds and small wildlife.

The locals here are very friendly and welcoming and almost everyone you meet will greet you or smile. It's not yet as developed as other more famous destinations in the north, so you can still get that 'wild west' authentic feel around the place.

9 Reviews of Property 3469632 in Dominical, Costa Rica

Dominical Ocean View Walk-to-Beach Vacation Villa
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 9 reviews
business
Dominical Ocean View Walk-to-Beach Vacation Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3469632
Dominical Puntarenas
New Jersey, USA
5

Gorgeous view with excellent amenities!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We enjoyed our time SO MUCH in the Dominical beach villa over New Year's. The property is actually better than the photos! We were very comfortable and safe and had lots to do in the area. When we came back in the late afternoon from hiking or the beach, we could relax on the outdoor patio and enjoy the view, the birds, butterflies and one time - the monkeys!
The house was very clean and had everything you needed in the kitchen as well. TV and WiFi worked great. We did have one issue of water pressure going low and then going out completely - apparently this happens from time to time but it was only temporary and came back fine.
Elaine was very easy to work with and responsive and our deposit was returned within a few days.
The beaches all along the main road are awesome and the closest beach to the villa - Dominicalita was so nice to swim in and the sunsets are spectacular. We took a quad tour, whale/snorkel tour and hiked the reserves. All within 30 miles of the house.
I would book this place again in a minute!
business
Dominical Ocean View Walk-to-Beach Vacation Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3469632
Dominical Puntarenas
5

Absolutely Breath Taking

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We absolutely loved the place. Picture perfect views from all rooms and outside thatched roof patio. We would recommend this place to anyone that wants the ocean and the jungle in the same place. Also its a few minute drive from some of the best beaches in the area, as well as places to eat. We've stayed all over Costa Rica, by far this place is our favorite place in the 20 years we've been coming down here. Brian and Jena
business
Dominical Ocean View Walk-to-Beach Vacation Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3469632
Dominical Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Easy and Fully Relaxing

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This was such an easy and fully relaxing trip and the stay at Elaine's ocean view home is the reason for it all! It was super smooth getting the keys and the person who took us to the house was a really sweety, pleasure to encounter! I would stay here again in a heartbeat! (Guest booked through Airbnb)
business
Dominical Ocean View Walk-to-Beach Vacation Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3469632
Dominical Puntarenas
5

Beautiful, comfortable, great service

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
The villa is amazing! It's located at the end of the road so it's a corner unit, the view is the most amazing you can get. Alex, the concierge, was extremely helpful and nice. The house has anything you could possibly need. The nearby beach (Dominicalito-walking distance) is absolutely empty, beautiful and private (except for the wonderful fisherman which will sell you the freshest fish you can get). The supermarkets are close by and offer anything you want to fill the fridge. Alex can help you with any activities/attractions you may be interested in. The villa was clean, check in/out was quick and easy, deposit was returned almost immediately and everyone was extremely helpful and pleasant! This is the place to be if you want a private, romantic, quiet, comfortable and beautiful stay in Costa Rica.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
business
Dominical Ocean View Walk-to-Beach Vacation Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3469632
Dominical Puntarenas
4

Nice; Great Location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Great view of the Pacific from the nice and large deck. Main level features nice furnishings and decor. Downstairs bedroom level pretty so-so. Second BR is small and no lamp on one side of the double (!) bed. Property managers were friendly and helpful except that we reported the lights over the dark staircase to bedrooms were not working. Maybe just needed new bulbs, but this was never fixed.
Owner's Response: Hi James, I'm sorry our property manager did not change the light globe at the staircase as you requested; this type of requests should have been attended to immediately. I appreciate that those wall lamps over the staircase are not within the maids' reach and require a very tall ladder, but they could have arranged for the community handyman to drop in with his ladder. The second bedroom feels a bit small, partly because the double bed is fitted with a custom made extra-long mattress, 6 inches longer than a normal double size bed. Currently both bedrooms offer reading light on one side of the bed only, sorry about that. I'll ask our property manager to purchase a couple more table lamps as soon as possible. Thank you for the helpful feedback.
business
Dominical Ocean View Walk-to-Beach Vacation Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3469632
Dominical Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
1

Happy Memories

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Memories of sunset walks on long deserted beaches, dolphins feeding in the surf, groups of pelicans skipping over the waves, rainforest walks in the hills above the community of our villa, some of the highlights of our stay in High Palms. We enjoyed this vacation villa. We booked direct with the owner who was very helpful with advice before arriving. Nice vacation. We were very happy. Thank you to all concerned.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Dominical Ocean View Walk-to-Beach Vacation Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3469632
Dominical Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
1

Relaxing getaway

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Enjoyed Villa High Palms very much. First time in Costa Rica so appreciated all the help along the way when making our booking before actually arriving. Accommodation was excellent, very spacious for 2, quiet and private, the pictures on the rental listing tell the story and we where not disappointed. A leaking dishwashing machine was fixed quickly, other than that no issues. For those wishing for " rain forest meets Ocean" experience, as the area is promoted as, you will not be disappointed. Wow factor for views, birdlife at eye level from the veranda, enjoyed the daily monkey parade which passed by. Great place to explore from. Would return, that's a lot said from us.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Dominical Ocean View Walk-to-Beach Vacation Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3469632
Dominical Puntarenas
5

Relaxing and great value villa close to beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Our first vacation in Costa Rica and we had a great time, the villa was near enough to everything but with some peace and privacy. Easy to come and go, near the main road and beach. Nice and quiet, great views, the villa was everything it is promoted as being, feels wonderful and very clean and well furnished, enjoyed the evenings taking our meals on the veranda, villa looks lovely at night, with garden lights. We ate out at the Cuna hotel, very good. The private nature reserve nearby was well worth the visit. The onsite manager was welcoming and helpful. All very enjoyable. Hope to be back in the rainy season when it will be cooler!
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Dominical Ocean View Walk-to-Beach Vacation Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3469632
Dominical Puntarenas
5

Comfortable home in a beautiful environment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We stayed in this villa for 6 nights recently. It's a nicely furnished home, we especially liked the beds, they were so comfortable. The location has a beautiful sea view, and we had complete privacy. Time spent on the veranda was really relaxing. We enjoyed many walks on the beach. It was necessary to have a car to enjoy the area, as there are many other beaches within a short drive. The shops in Dominical have limited grocery, but we were able to find everything we wanted in Uvita. This vacation home was everything we wanted. We will recommend it to anyone who needs to unwind in total comfort and privacy.
Helpful votes: 0/1