Black River Falls cabin rental - Buckhorn Lake Cabin Last Winter, ice fish, ski and
Buckhorn Lake Cabin Last Winter, ice fish, ski and
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps11
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Black River Falls Cabin Rental Photos and Description
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Convertible bed(s), Sleeps 11

Buckhorn Lake Cabin is a beautiful, new log cabin built by my husband, and surrounded by pine trees and large wrap-around deck with view of Buckhorn Lake, a quiet, no-wake lake. The cabin is officially designated a no-stress zone. The 2,200-foot cabin sleeps 11, and has two full baths. It’s heritage living, but with all the amenities of home including dishwasher, microwave, jacuzzi, stone fireplace, heat, and air conditioning. The perfect place to get reacquainted with family, friends, nature and you. So grab some floats and tubes and jump into the lake, sunbathe, read on the deck, play music and board games in front of the stone fireplace, engage in a ping-pong tournament in the family room, create a great meal and enjoy one another, relax by the fire pit and roast some marshmallows, ice fish, cross country ski or take a walk and look at the stars or the wildlife.

Offically Designated No Stress Zone: The cabin is perfect for a romantic weekend, family gatherings, women’s or men’s get-togethers and spiritual or business retreats. Or come for a solo retreat and stoke-up your batteries. Located one mile from Hatfield, Wisconsin and 11 miles from Black River Falls, Wisconsin, the area looks like the “North Woods,” just closer! The cabin is approximately 2 1/2 hrs. from Minneapolis and Saint Paul, 3 hrs. from Milwaukee, 4 1/2 hrs. from Chicago, 2 hrs. from Madison, 1 hr and 15 minutes from the Dells. One mile away is Lake Arbutus, an 839-acre lake with boat and jet-ski rentals, boat ramps, picnic areas, beaches and playgrounds and an indoor roller skating ring. Discover treasures at the local Flea Market/Craft Show.

Great recreation on site or near by: There are loads of recreational activities available during all four seasons without ever having to get into your car. Just walk out the front door. Buckhorn Lake is connected to a canal, linked to other lakes and the Black River. You can canoe, kayak, swim, fish, bike (we have a canoe, two-person kayak and bikes on site) and cross country ski or snowshoe for hours without ever having to get in your car. So throw your car keys away for a while and technology (if you can) and get to know your spouse, family and/or friends or even yourself better.

Don't worry about bad weather: Majestic Pines Casino is nearby, as is a affordable movie theater and antiquing and an affordable fitness center which includes a swimming pool/whirlpool and dry sauna; fitness room ,gymnasium 2 racquetball courts, and a 125 meter suspended walking/running track available. An indoor and outdoor water park is just 1/2 hr away.

More Details
Hide Details

My husband, with a little help from me, my son and some friends, built our log cabin over a two- year period. We bought the ten-inch logs from a local man who builds log cabins and owns a lumberyard. The logs were harvested from this man’s sustainable forest. We tried to incorporate recycled and reused materials as well as new green products, such as radiant-heat bamboo flooring. We are just starting to rent the cabin. We hope to find vacationers that will respect and appreciate all the hard work that went into creating the log cabin. We are told by family and friends that the place has wonderful karma. I am a writer and over a one-month period, I wrote a book at the cabin, which will be published shortly. My husband renovates old properties and sells or rents them and is an energy auditor.

Leah Dobkin purchased this cabin in 2010

We bought land here because we wanted a place that we can get to for the weekend that wasn't a long drive, but looked like the North Woods. We have had a camper on the property for a number of years, and have spent wonderful times in the region. We can share information about great hiking trails, where to eat and shop etc. The Black River region is not as well-known as the “North Woods,” but it is closer, less congested and beautiful. My husband loves to come up just to smell the pines and watch the wildlife. We hope you will love the region too!

There are so many choices of activities to do without getting in your car. It's so nice to drive-up and stay put. We try to keep the place a no electronic zone, although it is not easy. When we do however, we end-up reading more, playing cards and enjoy quiet thinking time, which is often elusive in our busy lives.

49 Reviews of Property 346936 in Black River Falls, Wisconsin

Unique Handmade Log Cabin, Peaceful Lake, Recreation Amenities Galore
average rating of 4.755102 based on 49 reviews
business
Unique Handmade Log Cabin, Peaceful Lake, Recreation Amenities Galore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346936
+1 4142381577
Black River Falls Central Wisconsin
5

spring break success

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We had a truly wonderful 5 day vacation here. Everyone had their own room to sleep in and lots of private space for my college aged son and his friend who came on the train from Minneapolis. We picked them up in Tomah, just 45 minutes from the cabin. We cross country skied from the cabin on 10 inches of fresh snow. A REALLY nice kitchen. Every aspect of the cabin was as described in the website. Beds very comfortable. The cabin was well stocked with board games and books and I loved that there was no TV! Leah was incredibly helpful will all of my questions before and during our stay. We will go back again for spring break and bring more friends next time!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Unique Handmade Log Cabin, Peaceful Lake, Recreation Amenities Galore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346936
+1 4142381577
Black River Falls Central Wisconsin
5

much-needed family getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My family and I visited the cabin for two nights. It fit all eight of us more than comfortably and it never felt crowded. The kids really enjoyed the ping-pong and foosball tables. The adults enjoyed the peacefulness and tranquility of the location. The cabin was warm, cozy, and clean upon our arrival. It is clear that the host takes great pride in this property, which made us want to take good care of it as well. We were gifted with a lot of deer sightings out of the back windows, which was fun for everyone. The binder with information about surrounding restaurants and things to do was super helpful. We took a side trip to Norske Nook in Osseo, WI and came back to the cabin with full bellies and lots of pie! Yum! Overall, an amazing and much-needed family weekend that we won't soon forget. Thank you so much for sharing your space with us!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Unique Handmade Log Cabin, Peaceful Lake, Recreation Amenities Galore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346936
+1 4142381577
Black River Falls Central Wisconsin
5

Lovely log cabin in the woods!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We really enjoyed our time at this beautiful log home in the woods. The location is very private and peaceful, yet easily accessible and not isolated. Being from the prairies, we really appreciated the beauty of the surrounding forest. The log home is very spacious but cozy and home-like too. It has many artistic touches that give it a lot of character. (Like the Mexican tile in the main floor bath.) The wood stove/fireplace is amazing - it is so easy to use, and very efficient - and NEVER smokes!! It is the best-designed wood stove I have ever seen. The heated bamboo floors are lovely under your feet. We enjoyed many games of ping pong and Foosball, played board games, and went for a lovely walk on the frozen lake. It was a great place to get together with our extended family and relax and just enjoy being together!
Owner's Response: Jill, we appreciate that you noticed all the little touches we made to make our cabin extra special. It seems to attract extra special people too. We hope you can make your visit an anual event. Leah
business
Unique Handmade Log Cabin, Peaceful Lake, Recreation Amenities Galore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346936
+1 4142381577
Black River Falls Central Wisconsin
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
5

Another great stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This was our 2nd time, and it was perfect once again! What a great fireplace! The cabin is warm and cozy and it has everything you would ever need. The owners seem very nice, and you can tell they care about your stay and their property. We will definitely be back.
Owner's Response: You come up to the cabin to be with your buddies and hunt. You seem to have a wonderful time no matter if you catch something or not. I know one year you tried to rent the cabin, but that week was already reserved. I'm glad you reserved early and were able to get in this year. Leah
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Unique Handmade Log Cabin, Peaceful Lake, Recreation Amenities Galore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346936
+1 4142381577
Black River Falls Central Wisconsin
5

Girl's Getaway Fun!

Girl's Getaway Fun!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My mom, my sister, and I, along with our adult daughters, plan a girl's getaway weekend every year where we can meet half way between Minnesota and Wisconsin. We have always stayed in a hotel somewhere, but thought it would be exciting to rent a home instead this year. We had such fun and LOVED this beautiful cabin! It was so peaceful and quiet there – the beds were very comfy and the temperature of the house was just right – no one was too cold or too warm. There was some early “grumbling” about no TV (from the girls) but we quickly filled our time with games, laughter, and conversation. HOPE THEY DON’T PUT IN A TV!!! Enjoyed reading about the building of the cabin and learning about what the area has to offer (we visited the alpaca farm and went rollar skating in Hatfield)! We also really enjoyed the fireplace on Saturday night – we all got in our comfy clothes, put on facial masks (with cucumbers and everything), had a glass of wine, and played your Clue game in front of the fire. Sunday morning brought homemade buttermilk pancakes with blueberries (the well stocked kitchen fit our needs perfectly)and a game of Ping-Pong before packing up.

We had an awesome time! Owners are very helpful and quick in resonding. We hope to be back...never got a chance to soak in the amazing jetted tub!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway
Owner's Response: Julie, it gives us such pleasure to hear how wonderful your visit was. We hope you can make our cabin an annual tradition, something to look forward to every year. Leah
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Unique Handmade Log Cabin, Peaceful Lake, Recreation Amenities Galore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346936
+1 4142381577
Black River Falls Central Wisconsin
4

Great Week at Buckhorn Cabin!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Leah and Tim were very helpful and provided lots of information. We spent a great week at Buckhorn Cabin -- two families with five young children. We biked, rented a pontoon boat on Lake Arbutus and canoed on Buckhorn Lake. The kids fished, dug in the sand, tromped through the woods and enjoyed s'mores. The highlight was two beautiful days swimming and picnicing on the beach at Lake Wazee! As you can imagine, with all that, there was a lot of dirt and the usual accidents that come with five young kids. The week would have been perfect if we could have had access to the washer/dryer in the basement. We didn't notice that a washer/dryer wasn't listed in the amenities. We had to lug laundry to a laundromat to do several loads of wash.
Owner's Response: Glad you had a great time. The washer and dryer is located in my husband's utility room which is fill with dangerous equipment. It would be irresponsible to allow guests in that room, especially children.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Unique Handmade Log Cabin, Peaceful Lake, Recreation Amenities Galore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346936
+1 4142381577
Black River Falls Central Wisconsin
Grimes, Iowa
4

Family Fun!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The was a great place for my family to visit, catch up on old times and the cousins had a blast! My husband even put his cell phone away for 3 of the days...I think that was a first
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
business
Unique Handmade Log Cabin, Peaceful Lake, Recreation Amenities Galore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346936
+1 4142381577
Black River Falls Central Wisconsin
Daytona Beach Shores, FL
5

3 Weeks of Relaxation & Family Memories!

3 Weeks of Relaxation & Family Memories!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This beautiful log cabin has every amenity described by the owners, Leah & Tim. This was our first experience renting through VRBO and we feel so fortunate to have discovered this property! We had talked for several years about finding a cabin to rent in WI to gather our grown children and relive "north woods memories" from their childhood. Our first grandchild was born last November, so it was TIME!

Leah works very hard to make sure you are ready on arrival to enjoy every comfort and activity available. They have never had anyone rent for 3 entire weeks before, but she quickly adjusted to the idea. She provided an abundance of towels and bedding and when we told her that we also planned to have "great-grandma" join us for a few nights, she went to extra effort to make sure she would be comfortable. Our first full weekend, we housed 7 adults and one baby in privacy and comfort. There was even a high chair, baby life jacket and stroller available for our granddaughter!

The kitchen is large and equipped with everything you need. The living and dining rooms are very comfortable. The wood burning fireplace was cozy on cooler nights. There is plenty of indoor and outdoor firewood provided. The bedrooms and baths are also good size and everyone said their bed was comfortable. We played games, grilled, had campfires, took walks, saw an abundance of wildlife, read and relaxed on the large deck, canoed and kayaked on the lake, went to the beach at nearby Lake Arbutus and basically unwound. We went out for great pizza at The Mug in Hatfield, fabulous pie at The Norske Nook in Osseo, WI, and enjoyed beer tasting at Sand Creek Brewery in Black River Falls. Walmart is within a 12 minute drive for food and supplies.

This is a great place for gathering, reconnecting and relaxing. Leah & Tim have gone to great lengths to make sure you enjoy their beautiful home!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Unique Handmade Log Cabin, Peaceful Lake, Recreation Amenities Galore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346936
+1 4142381577
Black River Falls Central Wisconsin
Milwaukee, WI
5

Great place for a family gathering

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I would recommend this property to anyone looking for a location for a small family party. Our group was made up of three couples and a 6 year old, and there was plenty of space for all. There is plenty of cookware and appliances in the kitchen for those who prefer cooking to dining out - but the local community is within walking distance, and offers many restaurants as well. There is great access to outdoor activities like hiking and fishing, and plenty options if the weather doesn't cooperate.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Unique Handmade Log Cabin, Peaceful Lake, Recreation Amenities Galore
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346936
+1 4142381577
Black River Falls Central Wisconsin
5

Pleasant and comfortable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The cabin was as described, very pleasant and quaint. We had a great time in spite of the late spring snow. Although frozen when we were there, the pond across the street was very nice
Owner's Response: We are glad you and your family had a great time. It is too bad you were not able to explore more of Buckhorn Lake. It is actually thirty acres, larger than a pond. The lake is shaped like a buck's horn. Our cabin is at one end of the "horn." Our lake is also connected to a long canal which is connected to another lake. The Black River is parallel to the canal too. It's nice to be able to explore this extensive water system from the cabin. Leah