Roatan house rental - Balsam Rock Retreat, your private Caribbean vacation getaway...
Balsam Rock Retreat, your private Caribbean vacation getaway...
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps15
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Roatan House Rental Photos and Description
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13

***SPRING SPECIAL*** BOOK YOUR VACATION BY APRIL 30TH AND GET 10% DISCOUNT

Away from the hustle and bustle, you will very quickly settle into ''island mode'' upon your first views of our tropical paradise...Balsam Rock Retreat.

This Caribbean style home has many unique features. The house welcomes you to the upper level via a bridge into the great room, which encompasses the kitchen, dining and living area, the 16 foot wood vaulted ceiling opens to the panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea and the sheltered cove of Caribe Bite. Also on this floor you have a bedroom with a king bed and a full bathroom. You'll spend most of your time outside on the wrap around verandas, relaxing in a hammock, swing or just lounging in a chair that overlooks the Blue Lagoon and the Caribbean Sea, The breeze is intoxicating!!! Fill the hummingbird feeder and try and count how many show up for a free meal.

The kitchen is fully equipped with new appliances, an island for prep work, breakfast bar, and a great conversation area.

Living room furniture is comfortable and has DirecTV satellite television (including HBO, Cinemax, Showtime, TMC, and full sports package) and a Blu-Ray player with a growing library of movies.

The second floor contains the master bedroom (king size bed) and bathroom. Two additional bedrooms (one queen bed with a twin and the other room has 1 queen bed). Step out the door from either the master bedroom or main bathroom onto the wrap around veranda and relax by the brand new infinity edge pool looking out at the blue waters. New washer and dryer are located on this floor. All bedrooms are equipped with new air conditioners and the main floor is central air, however with the breezes, you'll rarely need to use the A/C, but it is a great comfort on those few breeze-less days!

The home includes a full apartment featuring a full size eat-in kitchen, living area with satellite television, full bath, and private bedroom with 2 full size beds.

Find your way through the gardens to the overlook bench or step down to the private beach and dock where you can swim, kayak, snorkel, or fish. An outside shower is there to wash the saltwater off. There is a large sundeck where you can either sun bath or stargaze, looking up at night, you can't help but see the Milky Way.

Call for a water taxi and Martin might be the one to pick you up at the dock, show you around. East End Divers will pick you up at the dock too and take you to the most magnificent dive sites. Experience the drop off as never before and try a drift dive. No experience, No problem, they are authorized certified trainers.

James or one of his employees will greet you at the airport, where he will assist you in your rental car pickup. He will then show you where you can stop and pick up groceries. Any questions, ask James as he is native to the island and will be available for tours. Jorge is our watch man, and stays on the property to assist you with things around the home. Berta, Jorge's wife, is the cleaning lady, and for a small price will clean during the week for you.

You will find that Roatan is beautiful, charming and a safe place to visit. Iguana farms, canopy tours, horseback riding, tropical gardens, zoos, beaches, shopping and friendly islanders are some of the things you will fall in love with here in Roatan.

More Details
Hide Details

29 Reviews of Property 346754 in Roatan, Bay Islands Honduras

Water Front 5bd/4ba Estate Home with PRIVATE Beach, Dock & Pool
average rating of 4.8965516 based on 29 reviews
business
Water Front 5bd/4ba Estate Home with PRIVATE Beach, Dock & Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346754
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
5

The property was everything we expected and more.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We loved staying at Balsam Rock Retreat. The house was perfect for all 10 of us...I loved the open floor plan and it was incredible to wake up every morning to the beautiful ocean view. The house was spotless when we arrived which we appreciated. The pool area was perfect to get your body wet and tan at the same time. Jorge did a fantastic job taking care of us and making sure we had everything we needed. When we asked him for sugar cane and coconuts, he would always provide us with plenty. Every night, he would walk around the property just to make sure we were safe.

The location of the property was far away from everything. The dirt road was very rocky and it normally took about 20-45 minutes to get anywhere (Eldon's, Petro, West Bay, Parrot Tree, Punta Gorda). That was the only downfall.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and we look forward to going back.

One Happy Visitor :)
Owner's Response: Dear One Happy Visitor :)

Thank you so much for your review, It certainly makes Mike and myself feel like we have taken all that is said during these reviews to heart and made Balsam Rock Retreat what everyone who comes there deserves to have, A Taste of Paradise. :)

Unfortunately in order to get to the house, there is a rocky road you need to take, but that is part of the adventure when traveling in Roatan. We are now at the end of the rainy season and I am sure the road crews will be out to repair the road.

Depending on the season, you never know what Jorge has growing and is ready to share with the guests. From limes, mango, bananas, avocado, coconut, sugar cane and who knows what else. It is all incredible to me and taste so good.

It was great working with you, and I appreciate your phone call when you returned, I am also excited to here that you are making plans to come back.

Blessings to you and your family,

Sincerely,

Kay
business
Water Front 5bd/4ba Estate Home with PRIVATE Beach, Dock & Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346754
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
5

Diving and Relaxing at Balsam Rock Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Ten cold residents of Minnesota arrived February 8th 2014 at Balsam Rock to find warmth, great vistas, clean, comfortable rooms, a great kitchen, spacious balconies, and access to dandy diving. Not a place for folks who can not do steps, but the climbs and descents were well worth the calories burned. Owners and on site help were responsive and informative. We recommend this retreat for divers, snorkelers and relaxers.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you Christine, I love hearing how much you enjoyed all the different areas of the house, it reminds me of how much I miss staying there, and for you to say that the house was clean and comfortable, confirms that Jorge and Berta are doing a wonderful job,
I also appreciate you recognizing our efforts in communication. Mike and I go to great lengths to make sure our guests are well informed about the house and Roatan. It was no surprise when I looked back, that we had corresponded with you 10 or more emails before your trip, all good questions. :)
Our goal is for you to have had the BEST VACATION EVER!!! and with a review like this, I think we were pretty close if not on target.
business
Water Front 5bd/4ba Estate Home with PRIVATE Beach, Dock & Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346754
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
4

Nice clean house with great views & dock

Nice clean house with great views & dock
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Mike and Kay have a very nice house with beautiful views and a great private dock. Franklin, who greets you at the airport, is great! Consider hiring Franklin to drive you (instead of renting a car); he really knows the island and where to go.

The house was clean; and, thanks to the backup generator, we had power even during the numerous power outages.

The floors are very slippery--even more so if you're wearing flip-flops.

When we were there, vast amounts of trash blew into every harbor, due perhaps to atrocious weather conditions and unusual currents. This trash accumulated on shorelines, including the house's private beach, which made it completely unusable. Hopefully that is a rare occurrence; but, we would've liked to have used the beach on the two partly sunny days.

The private dock was great. We also enjoyed having the kayaks available, and used them often.

The pool was a big hit with our kids in between scuba/snorkeling adventures.

Franklin took us to a fantastic zip line place, which was the highlight of the trip for most of us. He also took us to a privately run zoo, which was surprisingly fun and educational.

Take plenty of cash, as getting cash on Roatan is much more difficult than in the US.

We would've liked to go out to a beautiful remote cay mentioned in other reviews; but, Jorge's boat wasn't working. We did hire East End Divers to take us up near Port Royal for a great day of snorkeling in beautiful clear waters.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay.
business
Water Front 5bd/4ba Estate Home with PRIVATE Beach, Dock & Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346754
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
4

Balsam Rock was a nice Retreat

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Very nice house and location was just what we were expecting, away from the cruise ships and masses hording beaches and hotels. Our family of 13 felt very comfortable in the house, took full advantage of the spacious kitchen, dining room table and outside porches. We loved kayaking in the bay and snorkeling on the shipwreck and reef close by. Jorge and Franklin were of great help and insightful for local activities. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - the only reason for not giving 5-stars was the boat for fun and transportation was not running. We made due and hired other locals for water taxi and island/snorkeling excursions.
Owner's Response: Thank you Jeremiah and family! We look forward to having you all again!

We apologize for the mis-communication regarding the boat's operational status with our staff, and all has been rectified once this was brought to our attention.

Happy travels,

The Russo's
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Water Front 5bd/4ba Estate Home with PRIVATE Beach, Dock & Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346754
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
4

Secluded, beautiful home (3 levels), on the ocean

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
the property was described accurately. franklin & jorge met us at the airport. be warned once you leave the paved road the rock road can be washed out and in poor shape. if franklin wasn't driving us I am not sure we could have made it in/out safely. once there it is beautiful and secluded. the pool could have been cleaner, also it is very small. the house had everything (minimally supplied in such areas as): aluminum foil; paper towels; toilet paper; dishwasher detergent; dryer sheets; etc. it is well appointed and we liked the wrap around porches. did note the swing is dangerous (as previously mentioned), we steered clear after one near incident. Jorge (the watchyman) & family are very friendly and there to help. we had his wife make empada's (sp?) 3x. at a 1.00 a pop they are deelicous! franklin did a great job, I recommend him highly as a driver and a guide. Rambo the watch dog was priceless! the phone situation wasn't ideal, the internet phone wasn't hooked up (short work for a computer geek). also the website mentions a cell phone that we could buy minutes for, we asked franklin and Jorge about (they said they didn't know what we were talking about), owner said 'miscommunication'. also i asked the owners about the boat prior to our departure, they indicated Jorge would drive us around for a $xx.xx per hour. when we arrived Jorge said the boat was 'broken' and he was waiting for mr. mike (the owner) to come down and fix, said he mentioned to mr. mike 1.5 months ago. owner said Jorge was being 'overcautious'. other than that, great house, secluded location (1 hr from west end), well furnished (furniture, dishes, towels, etc.). take plenty of off (sand fleas found outside everywhere). also had catering 3x during our stay, steph and james did a great job! franklin and Jorge (and Rambo) did a great job! love the hummingbirds, buy some sugar and fill 'em up! will stay again when we come back!
Owner's Response: Thank you for your response, we are so very happy to hear that you had a great time and are looking forward to returning to our home in the future.
We are also very pleased to hear that our home and property are described accurately; and that Jorge, Berta, Franklin, Stephanie and James did an excellent job accommodating you. I am looking forward to enjoying some of Berta’s empada’s!
My husband and I were devastated and made some immediate phone calls to our staff to find out what went wrong; and it turned out that the cell phone was fully operational and available, and somehow this was not properly communicated to our precious guests. In addition, the boat was/is fully functional and in use; there is an issue with the boat that requires my husband’s attention, but this issue has no bearing on its functionality or safety, again, a simple phone call or email would have rectified the problem. This is what makes this so disappointing to us as owners, for both issues, were in fact, simple miscommunications, and should have never taken place, and we immediately set in place additional procedures so that this will not be repeated.
We do not understand the negative comment regarding our pool being small; there are several photos of our pool, and as described, it is a lounging pool, and can easily accommodate our guests.
The concern of the road condition is truly a two edged sword. Part of the beauty of our location is where the house is located, it is away from the hustle and bustle, an sits on the side of the hill where your eyes can not get enough to see, and it reminds me of how the Caribbean use to be back in times past, but with modern day amenities. However, regardless as to where you are renting, these mountain roads may have ruts and be in poor shape by North American standards, but we are in the Caribbean, and this is also part of the charm; however, the municipality does re-grade the roads at the end of the rainy season, which normally begins in September and ends before December. We recommend using a car with 4 wheel drive or hiring Franklin to do the driving, he is familiar with the roads and has taken care of many of our guests.
It is important for our guests to know that from the time a potential guest first contacts us us with interest in renting our home, we go to great lengths in providing complete information about our home, and responding to all questions, because being informed is a key to making this your BEST VACATION EVER!!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Water Front 5bd/4ba Estate Home with PRIVATE Beach, Dock & Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346754
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Houston, Texas
5

Beautiful, Secluded and Relaxing Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This is the third house we've rented on the island of Roatan and again, we were not disappointed. Jorge and Franklin met us at the airport, waited while we secured our rent car, took us to Eldon's so we could stock up on groceries for the week and led us to the house. They hung around for a bit to familiarize us with the house, then took off to leave us to relax and start our vacation.

Everything about the house is exactly as described. I like how the kitchen, dining and living rooms are open to each other and directly face the water. It's a truly spectacular view. There were only two of us so we only utilized the larger (peach) bedroom downstairs, which opens up to the pool area, where we spent quite a bit of time. We had full sun for seven days so the pool was a nice respite from the heat. The other bedrooms are nicely furnished as well.

My husband made great use of the kayaks just about every day and I spent one full afternoon lounging on the beach, down by the dock. Just a word of warning... If you're one of the less fortunate people who get eaten alive by the sand fleas in Roatan, be sure to wear plenty of bug spray down on the beach. The bugs don't keep me away from Roatan, but they're pretty pesky down there.

Previous guest always leave things behind, but I would suggest buying the essentials while you're at the grocery store. (toilet paper, paper towels, dishwashing soap, aluminum foil, spices, condiments, etc.) Each shower had a bottle of body wash and I saw a couple of hair dryers.

The highlight of the house for me was spending time with Jorge and his wife, Berta. They're warm, humble, friendly people. Jorge always has a smile on his face and is there to do whatever you ask of him. We came home a little after dark one night and he was standing in the driveway with a flashlight waiting for us as we pulled up. I hated that we scared him, but it showed his concern for the guests. He truly is a gem. Oh, and if "Rambo" the German Shepherd wanders up onto the porch, don't be afraid as he's a wonderful, gentle dog.

In closing, if you're looking for comfort, seclusion and relaxation, you can't go wrong renting this wonderful house. The owners are great with correspondence and were there to answer any questions we had, before and during our trip.

Mike and Kay, thank you for sharing your piece of paradise with us.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Water Front 5bd/4ba Estate Home with PRIVATE Beach, Dock & Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346754
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Atlanta
5

Great vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The house was beautiful as well as the Island. The people there were all so welcoming and friendly. It was a wonderful family vacation.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Water Front 5bd/4ba Estate Home with PRIVATE Beach, Dock & Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346754
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
5

Roatan Diving Trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This is a really nice piece of property located on the quiet side of Roatan. Caribe Point Bight offers protected water to play in with close proximity to diving and snorkeling. Kevin and Ed...the local dive masters...came to the dock and picked us all up for dives. The experienced divers dove with Ed and the inexperienced dove with Kevin who did a great job at getting them certified. I really can't say enough nice things about them. The reefs are as nice as we have seen any where and closer than everywhere. Franklin met us at the airport and showed us the grocery store which is a well stocked american style grocery store at Honduras prices. The entire property is as nice as advertised and comfortably furnished. The house was clean and ready on arrival. The pool is a comfortable size with a good view. The only downside was that the pool was not cleaned well and had not been brushed down so the tile had a layer of scum. Beware of the wood porch swing. It flipped twice with different people each time resulting in a head smack on the tile floor! Regardless of these minor details the entire property was still quite nice. I would recommend this property to any one!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Water Front 5bd/4ba Estate Home with PRIVATE Beach, Dock & Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346754
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
5

Ultimate Family Retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Balsam Rock Retreat on Roatan Island is the perfect family retreat location! Our family of 13 - 8 adults and 5 children ages 4, 3, 2, 6 months and 5 months appreciated this welcoming home away from home! There was ample space for everyone - including a bathroom for each family!! An extra bonus was the extra fridge space in the lower apartment - and extra chairs that came in handy when we shared a meal with Jorge and family - yes you can get 15 around the dining table, 3 at the kitchen counter plus the high chair! The open concept kitchen/dining/family area on the top floor provided great family gathering space - everything from chatting with Steph & James (First Bite Catering catered 4X for us - yummy), to tortilla making lesson with Berta, making coconut cream pie, to playing cards, sharing stories with Franklin and watching early morning children movies while others stayed sleeping!! This home ensures you have all you need to make your stay enjoyable - beautifully decorated with local artwork! Outdoors, we enjoyed "swimming" in the infinity pool ( a note of caution here - we are a swimming family and having a pool right outside the bedroom was a bonus - but it is also a safety concern that families with young children need to be aware of). The beach was always raked prior to us venturing down to the water where sand castles, fishing, reading, snorkeling and diving off the dock were enjoyed. The kayaks did not spend much time on the beach - someone was always out in them! It was great fun when as many as possible accompanied Christian to his special shell collecting site! Our grandson who is two, came back fast asleep on the back of one of the kayaks! Other activities included: scuba diving with Captain Ed & Kevin, trip to the Iguana farm, church in Franklin's home village, playing and painting at the Roatan Day Care Centre and just sitting on that wonderful porch swing! Frenchy's 44 was our favourite restaurant (only ate out twice). The fresh fish from Kevit was very good - check pricing ahead. We hired Franklin as our driver/tour guide when the need arose- the van rides were great! Jorge helped with shorter land & water trips.
We feel blessed to have had this family experience - the beauty of Roatan and the kindness shown in each person we met. Thank you Kay & Mike, Franklin, Jorge & family - you all went out of your way to help us find ours! We have already been recommending this warm and inviting destination to family and friends!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Water Front 5bd/4ba Estate Home with PRIVATE Beach, Dock & Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346754
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
5

Ultimate Family Retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Balsam Rock Retreat on Roatan Island is the perfect family retreat location! Our family of 13 - 8 adults and 5 children ages 4, 3, 2, 6 months and 5 months appreciated this welcoming home away from home! There was ample space for everyone - including a bathroom for each family!! An added bonus was the extra fridge space in the lower apartment - and extra chairs that came in handy when we shared a meal with Jorge and family - yes you can get 15 around the dining table, 3 at the kitchen counter plus the high chair! The open concept kitchen/dining/family area on the top floor provided great family gathering space - everything from chatting with Steph & James (First Bite Catering catered 4X for us - yummy), to tortilla making lesson with Berta, to making coconut cream pie, to playing cards, sharing stories with Franklin and watching early morning children movies while others stayed sleeping!! This home ensures you have all you need to make your stay enjoyable - beautifully decorated with local artwork! Outdoors, we enjoyed "swimming" in the infinity pool ( a note of caution here - we are a swimming family and having a pool right outside the bedroom was a bonus - but it is also a safety concern that families with young children need to be aware of). The beach was always raked prior to us venturing down to the water where sand castles, fishing, reading, snorkeling and diving off the dock were enjoyed. The kayaks did not spend much time on the beach - someone was always out in them! It was great fun when as many as possible accompanied Christian to his special shell collecting site! Our grandson who is two, came back fast asleep on the back of one of the kayaks! Other activities included: scuba diving with Captain Ed & Kevin, trip to the Iguana farm, church in Franklin's home village, playing and painting at the Roatan Day Care Centre and just sitting on that wonderful porch swing! Frenchy's 44 was our favourite restaurant (only ate out twice). The fresh fish from Kevit was very good - check pricing ahead! We hired Franklin as our driver/tour guide when the need arose- the van rides were great! Jorge helped with shorter land & water trips.
We feel blessed to have had this family experience - the beauty of Roatan and the kindness shown in each person we met. Thank you Kay & Mike, Franklin, Jorge & family - you all went out of your way to help us find ours! We have already been recommending this warm and inviting destination to family and friends
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children