Carova house rental - Moonshadow
Moonshadow
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Carova House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 2 full baths, sleeps 6

Privacy and location are at your fingertips. Looking for a private home with fantastic views that is right at the ocean but sheltered from the rest of the humanity....look no further. Outdoor living is the heart of 'Moonshadow' with a very spacious screened porch that contains a complete kitchen including refrigerator, dishwasher, sink and large gas grill. A hammock for those lazy summer afternoons or maybe even a summer thunder shower. There is also a seating area with comfortable chairs and footrests. You can read, swing in the hammock, watch the wild mustangs walk by, or have your dinner all in 'Rufito's Cantina'. The best part of this area is that it can be closed off by electrical shutters that protect it during storms or windy conditions. Multilevel decks surround the house giving a very different ambiance in every area. Watch the dolphins, the many bird migrations, and even hummingbirds right from your own deck. Four wheel drive is necessary to insure a pleasant stay.

Wild Spanish Mustangs and our Loggerhead Turtles: There is nothing more exciting that to get up early and watch the sunrise from the Master Bedroom Suite and see the wild horses walking down the beach. And if you are really lucky, you may see a newborn colt walking next to its mother. There is not a better place to view our wild horses than from our own deck. People pay large amounts of money to have guides take them to see the horses. You have a front row seat where you can not only watch the horses, but you can watch the tourists that watch the horses. Both are equally interesting and sometimes quite comical.

We have been very fortunate to witness first hand the nesting of Loggerhead turtles on our beach. This is not a situation that occurs often. If you are fortunate enough to be apart of the nest sitting and actually experience the hatching, it will be an experience of a lifetime and one that you will never forget.

Rufito's Cantina: This outdoor kitchen is great for any activity from eating to napping in the hammock and since it is all screened in there is never a problem with bugs trying to share your meal. The large gas grill allows you to cook inside even if the weather is poor. Ceiling fans keep you cool and the electric shutters can be closed to protect you from the wind and rain. There is a lounge areas with two comfy chairs and footstools where you can lie back and watch the world go by or immerse yourself in a new book.

Beachcombing, Dolphin and Bird Watching: There is nothing more peaceful than to walk the beach and watch the dolphin surfing the waves or jumping out of the water as they play and feed all along the ocean. You will see all types of migrating birds that stop by for a visit. We even have hummingbirds that feed on the flowers on the deck and at our feeders. As you walk the beach, you never know what will lay at your feet. There always seems to be some gift from the sea that presents itself on each walk. Sand dollars, sea stars, and a variety of shells and other unknown items come and go with the tide. Sometimes the ocean is calm as a lake and other times it can be quite rough with huge waves and high tides. There is always something to catch your attention or allow you the excuse to do nothing. A full moon rising over the ocean is truly a romantic, soul searching experience that will give you long lasting memories of your visit to 'Moonshadow'. Here are two links that will give you additional information and more pictures.

http://tripwow.tripadvisor.com/tripwow/ta-0494-ab2e-6a7f?lb

http://www.theguardian.com/travel/2014/jan/10/top-100-holiday-beach-houses-us-canada

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 346278 in Carova, North Carolina

Charming Private Oceanfront Home Just Steps to the Beach in 4X4 Off Road Area
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Charming Private Oceanfront Home Just Steps to the Beach in 4X4 Off Road Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346278
+1 757 646-3441
Carova Outer Banks
5

AMAZING

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
IF YOU ENJOY BEING TOGETHER AND WANT TO MAKE WONDERFUL MEMORIES THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU. WE COULD NOT HAVE HAD A MORE WONDERFUL TIME AND RUFUS WENT ABOVE AND BEYOND TO MAKE US COMFORTABLE. THE HOUSE WAS EVERYTHING WE EXPECTED AND MORE AND THE VIEWS WERE INCREDIABLE. DEFINITELY WANT TO COME BACK. THANK YOU RUFUS AND LINDA
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are very happy that your stay was memorable. You chose a very difficult time of year to visit as the weather is unpredictable. Glad you had several days of beautiful weather. We enjoy going there in the winter as it is equally nice. Watching the huge waves roll in and the pelicans flying close to the dunes is equally exciting. Thanks for the card and the review......Rufus
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Private Oceanfront Home Just Steps to the Beach in 4X4 Off Road Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346278
+1 757 646-3441
Carova Outer Banks
5

What a treasure !!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Superb rental - very comfortable, very clean. Wonderful, private location. Great wildlife sightings. Every item you could need or want for a beach vacation was at our fingertips.Owners seem to have thought of everything and were very accommodating and prompt in answering any questions we had. We felt very welcome and that they sincerely cared about the quality of our stay. Hated to leave -- would love to go back. Don't miss Lighthouse Bagels in Corolla....phenomenal.
business
Charming Private Oceanfront Home Just Steps to the Beach in 4X4 Off Road Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346278
+1 757 646-3441
Carova Outer Banks
5

Amazing Experience!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
If you are considering renting a house on Carova Beach, this is the one to pick. The owner, Mr. Baldwin, was extremely helpful, personable, and answered all our questions in a timely fashion before and during our stay. We can also vouch that the hurricane shutters work well. The view and access to the beach is simply unbeatable. The catina with the gas grill, chairs, and view of the beach was one of our favorite spots. Everything was provided, cookware, towels, etc. The home is private and is protected from the wind by a large sand dune, however, you have a really good view of the ocean from all decks (there are three porches) and the catina. The home is ocean front, nothing between you and the ocean except the dune.

The short private sand road to the house and beach pathway was a bonus, especially after seeing how far others had to drive to their rental or walk to access the beach. If it rains, the home is still really easily accessible, unlike others which are actually behind the main dune line. This one is kinda in front of the main line so the sand leading to it is not as deep or rutted. The home was also very clean (something that can make or break a rental for us), no bugs, everything worked properly, quite homey. It was very well taken care of.

We really enjoyed seeing the horses, very neat! Some of the attractions, such as Kitty Hawk and Cape Hatteras are a ways away from the house but if you plan for it, it's not a problem. Corolla Village was really cool. Also, try the Corolla Village BBQ (in Corolla), it's very very good. If you go on a horse tour use BackCountry Safari, they have a great tour.

In short, if you own or can rent a 4x4 vehicle (a must as we saw several stuck people) and are trying to find a place that everyone will like, this home and place is for you. The only bad thing was leaving at the end! We can't wait to go back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Private Oceanfront Home Just Steps to the Beach in 4X4 Off Road Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346278
+1 757 646-3441
Carova Outer Banks
NMB, SC
5

Teachers

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Myf friends and I have taught for many years and love what we do! The week that we got out of school we visited Moonshadow! We have traveled all over the world together and this was our best vacation ever. Looking forward to being there again! The relaxation we had was amazing. Thank you so much for sharing your hiome. It is truly incredible! Thanks Rufus and Linda! Would love to bring the dogs next time.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming Private Oceanfront Home Just Steps to the Beach in 4X4 Off Road Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346278
+1 757 646-3441
Carova Outer Banks
5

A wonderful, relaxing vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
What a wonderful time we had at this beautiful home! Rufus and his wife have truly thought of it ALL! This home is so relaxing and has everything you could want or need! I truly didn't wear shoes all week! It is a short walk to the beach and not too far from town! The house is secluded behind dunes but has a wonderful view of ocean! We saw many horses and dolphins daily! If you. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation, you will not find anything more perfect! Rufus is very thoughtful and accommodating! We can not wait to go back!
Owner's Response: Good times make lasting impressions. We thank you for sharing your thoughts as we have a lifetime of memories at "Moonshadow". I must admit that it is a lot of work when Mother Nature is not very nice, but it is all worth it when you can lie in the hammock and rock the afternoon away. We even love it in the Winter as the whole environment changes and your experiences are totally different. "Moonshadow" is waiting for you!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Private Oceanfront Home Just Steps to the Beach in 4X4 Off Road Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346278
+1 757 646-3441
Carova Outer Banks
Mt.Juliet, TN
5

A MUST VACATION FOR ALL!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
If you long for a real vacation..... One where you can truly kick back and relax....this is the place for you! This home is very private and has every accommodation you can imagine. (beach chairs and towels and beach umbrella etc)The outdoor cantina invites you to sit and chat for hours after dinner. The home is spacious and the owners are amazing! The correspondence from Rufus before your trip helps you to feel comfortable about the four wheeling on the beach to get to the lovely beach home! Local seafood and fresh markets have all you need for great dining at home if you choose that over going out for dinner!

This is a vacation experience we will long remember!
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. We hope you will be able to come back soon to our little hideaway by the sea.
business
Charming Private Oceanfront Home Just Steps to the Beach in 4X4 Off Road Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346278
+1 757 646-3441
Carova Outer Banks
5

Best House on the Beach, Period.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
I'm not completely sure what more needs to be said. The house itself was absolutely picturesque. Basically, if you’ve ever seen one of those movies where the actors steal away to some beach house to get out of town for a bit and stand, sipping coffee out on the deck in the morning while staring into the ocean with this enviable look of satisfaction, you understand what this house is all about. In fact that IS this house. Add to that the fact that the owner keeps it immaculate and provides you with all manner of information to ensure you take full advantage of the amenities and you have what they call in the business a “no-brainer”.

This is the best house in the 4x4 area, period.
Owner's Response: Thank you Alex and Elizabeth....your comments are very kind. We try and make everyone feel that our home in paradise is their home, if for only a week. We are glad that you had a great time and please come back soon.
Rufus
business
Charming Private Oceanfront Home Just Steps to the Beach in 4X4 Off Road Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346278
+1 757 646-3441
Carova Outer Banks
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
What a wonderful time and a beautiful home...I cannot say enough good things about Moonshadow and the owner, Rufus. Rufus was so easy to deal with and so informative and helpful, I was very pleased as I had some concerns renting from a private owner directly instead of through a realty company. The house itself is so inviting and warm, we were instantly comfortable and loved the privacy. . .even better was that when we wanted to go exploring, a short trip on the beach and we were on the paved road and could explore Corolla Duck, we even drove down to Roanoke Island. This was our first stay on the 4X4 and I was so surprised at how easy it was to drive on the beach...you definitely need 4WD (our Yukon had zero issues) but the other surprising thing was how unaffected we were by others driving on the beach. With a spirited two year old, I was concerned I would be dodging traffic and a nervous wreck but it really was a non-issue...trucks have plenty of room to drive and they stay away from you..not sure if that changes in-season but our experience was great...we'll definitely be back!
Owner's Response: "Moonshadow" has been my home for 25 years and was a dream for so long, and I'm so glad that you were able to experience the peace and tranquility that I have taken for granted. It makes me realize what a special place this really is. Please come again.
Rufus
business
Charming Private Oceanfront Home Just Steps to the Beach in 4X4 Off Road Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346278
+1 757 646-3441
Carova Outer Banks
5

Where to relax? Moon Shadow!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
A week at Moon Shadow is the perfect prescription for relaxation. My husband and I were fortunate to discover the Baldwin's wonderful hiding place. It is the quintessential Outer Banks home that affords privacy with direct ocean access. The home has every possible convenience and is extremely clean and very well maintained. We felt immediately at home when we arrived and it was very hard to leave at the end of our stay. It is far enough away to afford solitude but only a short drive to very good restaurants, grocery stores and historic sights. You can lose yourself in activity or do nothing. You can stay connected or ditch your smartphone and give yourself permission to relax. Either way, your stay at Moon Shadow will satisfy all of your requirements for vacation. We cannot wait to return!

Judy & John
Shepherdstown, WV
Owner's Response: We are glad you trip to "Moonshadow" was enjoyable. We have loved it for many years as it is truly a very special place. You are welcome back anytime.
Rufus
business
Charming Private Oceanfront Home Just Steps to the Beach in 4X4 Off Road Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346278
+1 757 646-3441
Carova Outer Banks
mooresville
5

an expirience of a life time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
my wife and i and our two girls enjoyed every minute at moonshadow.the beach was a place of complete saisfying activities. the accomodations were over the top, a perfection of a beach designed home.every vantage point has an excuisit view.if you are looking for comfort,privacy,and beauty this is the place to be!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It is always great to know that other people can appreciate the same things that we do. "Moonshadow" has been our hiding place for over 20 years and we are glad that we could share it with you. Please come back and make sure you bring those beautiful girls of yours.
Helpful votes: 1/1