Austin bungalow rental - Large bright open living room
Large bright open living room
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Austin Bungalow Rental Photos and Description
Bungalow, 780 sq. ft., 2 Bedrooms, Office, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3+

This charming light-filled Hyde Park bungalow was built in 1915 and is rich in history. Remodeled in 2010 to maintain historic characteristics, it’s comprised of a large living room, full kitchen, a second bedroom with office space, and full bathroom with original antique claw foot tub/shower. Since the 1930's this house has been split into different residences. Enjoy this 780 square foot home that sleeps 3+ adults. Other features include beautiful floors, 10-foot ceilings, a large fully fenced back yard, and fun vintage fixtures. It's within easy walking distance of multiple city and UT bus stops, Hyde Park restaurants, a bakery/coffee shop, Fresh Plus neighborhood grocery store, tennis courts, a park, and many other local Austin businesses. It's a great place to walk, ride bikes, or simply enjoy the quiet and relaxing atmosphere while being close to downtown. We are family friendly and can accommodate children.

City of Austin Short Term Rental License: OL 2014 001100

*Austin requires a license number to be shown in all online listings for legally operating rentals. Beware of ads that do not have a license number displayed.

More Details
Hide Details

My wife and I live in Austin in Hyde Park and love the area. If you have any questions about things to do here or restaurants to eat at, we'd love to help!

Pete Gilcrease purchased this bungalow in 2010

Hyde Park is a quiet neighborhood near downtown Austin. It's great having access to everything downtown and central Austin has to offer and then come home to a quiet neighborhood.

36 Reviews of Property 346235 in Austin, Texas

Spacious Historic Hyde Park Bungalow w/ Office in Central Austin by UT/Downtown
average rating of 4.9444447 based on 36 reviews
business
Spacious Historic Hyde Park Bungalow w/ Office in Central Austin by UT/Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346235
+1 8173133896
Austin Austin area
5

For this retired couple's needs, this was perfect!

For this retired couple's needs, this was perfect!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Great location, clean, updated, and comfortable. Access to washer and dryer was a plus. Parking on street was always available. Landlord readily available to answer questions. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to austin!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spacious Historic Hyde Park Bungalow w/ Office in Central Austin by UT/Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346235
+1 8173133896
Austin Austin area
5

Great Property, Great Service

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
I was in Austin while a family member was hospitalized at Seton. Pete returned my calls and emails promptly and was so helpful on short notice. The property was beautifully renovated, well furnished, clean, and offered a peaceful respite after staying up odd hours at the hospital. So conveniently located close to the hospital, UT, Central Market and restaurants. I hope I can stay here again under happier circumstances when I can enjoy the full kitchen and nice living space. Thanks so much!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spacious Historic Hyde Park Bungalow w/ Office in Central Austin by UT/Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346235
+1 8173133896
Austin Austin area
5

Charming and Spacious in Hyde Park

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This was our fourth stay in one of Pete's rental units - he has become our go-to guy when we are traveling back to austin for work. Clean, updated rentals with great internet, access to laundry and all in one of our favorite neighborhoods. Pete's professionalism has been great and he's been available whenever we've had questions or booked on short notice.

The location is great. Restaurants, coffee shops/bakeries and a grocery all within walking distance. Bus and bike routes run through Hyde Park so access to UT and downtown are easy. Depending on time of day, it's 10-20 minutes drive time into downtown via city streets. If you are a Car2Go member, lots of neighbors use the service so cars are usually close by.

This bungalow apartment retains it's historic charm while having been updated. The layout is dog run style as mentioned in one of the other reviews with the main bedroom between the living room and the kitchen. The bathroom is accessed just off the kitchen in the sun room area. (Wouldn't be a problem other than slight privacy issues if you had the max number of guests in the house.)

The spacious, eat-in kitchen has all the tools needed to do the basic cooking we need.

I would definitely (and probably will) stay here again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spacious Historic Hyde Park Bungalow w/ Office in Central Austin by UT/Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346235
+1 8173133896
Austin Austin area
5

Just Perfect for Us

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My wife and I spent the first two weeks of 2014 at Pete's place--and what a wonderful beginning to our year. Two 71-year-olds in austin on their inaugural visit to their first grandchild. The bungalow could not have provided a more ideal home for us during that joyous occasion. The extremely well maintained apartment was spotless on arrival, equipped with everything one could need, and comfortable in all respects. The location is ideal: excellent restaurants, bakeries, groceries and a wine bar are in fact within walking distance. And what delightful walks they are within a lovely residential neighborhood. On top of it all, it is good to know that Pete always is available should there be a need. We plan to return to austin 3-4 times a year now and our first step for each trip will be to check on the availability of the bungalow.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spacious Historic Hyde Park Bungalow w/ Office in Central Austin by UT/Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346235
+1 8173133896
Austin Austin area
Blacksburg, VA
5

Fabulous place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I had a delightful 2 ½ week stay in this unit in June. As other reviewers have said, the property is in a nice well-established neighborhood of lovely homes. Although I felt completely safe in the neighborhood, it was nice to know that there were also others in the two additional units in the building, and the keypad entry provided extra security. The property was immaculately clean and very well maintained! Everything looked freshly painted. One thing that I have not seen mentioned was that the bed was most comfortable. I was a little concerned about that, as I had not seen it mentioned in any of the reviews, but as soon as I arrived in town, I laid down for just a moment to rest, and quickly sunk into a deep sleep., thanks to the comfy bed. The owner Pete was absolutely wonderful, as others have mentioned. He was immediately responsive to any concern, and I know it sounds like a cliché, but he really did everything possible to make my stay go smoothly. My only concern is that it might become so popular that I won’t be able to rent it the next time I come to town! Thanks Pete!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spacious Historic Hyde Park Bungalow w/ Office in Central Austin by UT/Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346235
+1 8173133896
Austin Austin area
5

Perfect downtown location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My family of three loved staying here. The home was cute, clean and cozy without being small. The location was ideal and central to almost anything you could want to do in Austin. The neighborhood was safe and friendly. There is a Fiesta right down the road if you feel like saving money and cooking in the well equipped kitchen. If not, SoCo is only a 15 minute drive. I really suggest trying HopDoddy's FANTASTIC burgers (you will stand in a line forever but it's worth the wait). I will be coming back to Austin in the fall and I look forward to staying here again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spacious Historic Hyde Park Bungalow w/ Office in Central Austin by UT/Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346235
+1 8173133896
Austin Austin area
Boerne, Texas
5

Great Getaway in a Historic Neighborhood

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My wife and I really enjoyed the house. It was immaculately clean, has a nice comfortable bed, the ac works and has ceiling fans in every room. The neighborhood is shady and picturesque and great for walking. Nice restaurants to visit nearby all within walking distance. Its location is very convenient for getting to many Austin attractions without having to fight notorious Austin traffic. We intend to stay there again sometime soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spacious Historic Hyde Park Bungalow w/ Office in Central Austin by UT/Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346235
+1 8173133896
Austin Austin area
5

Perfect stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights and we couldn't have asked for a cleaner, well-maintained home. It's located in a gorgeous neighborhood and you can get to all the downtown hotspots in 10 mins or so. The Hyde Park area is pretty hip-and-happening anyway. You can walk a few blocks and hit up a fabulous bakery, Quack (the carrot cake- OMG), or grap a margarita or a huge plate of breakfast at Julio's for cheap (cash only)! Also, heard the italian restuarant by the grocery store is really good but didn't have the opportunity to try it out. However, if you're there on a Monday or Tuesday, you must try the fried chicken at the Hyde Park Grill (right next door to Julio's)! It's a wonderful area so rather live like an Austinite, stay here and do not waste your money on a hotel by Town Lake. Austin is a really fun town and there's so much to do, whether you have kids or not. It's a very kid-friendly town. LOVED the claw-foot tub and also having the option of the pull-out sofa. Pete is a gracious and helpful host! Cheers, The Senderlings
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spacious Historic Hyde Park Bungalow w/ Office in Central Austin by UT/Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346235
+1 8173133896
Austin Austin area
5

Terrific Extended Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My wife and I enjoyed an extended 10-week stay on "Ave F" this winter, and our accommodations couldn't have been better! Very quickly we felt right at home - comfortable and relaxed. Over the weeks, we met other guests in adjoining units who felt, as we did, that we "lucked out" in finding this delightful gem. Our unit was fresh, clean, well-appointed, with everything we needed to make our stay easy and hassle-free. In particular, Pete (the owner), was attentive, concerned that we feel well taken care of, and immediately responsive if we needed anything. We were within walking distance of our family and grandchildren and, of course, of the many Hyde Park amenities. The bakery/coffee shop, Quacks, was a favorite, as well as Mother's, Hyde Park Grill, and Daily Juice. I enjoyed my daily runs through the neighborhood, while my wife relished exploring on her bicycle. We most highly recommend "Ave F," whether for a shorter stay or a longer one like ours.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spacious Historic Hyde Park Bungalow w/ Office in Central Austin by UT/Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346235
+1 8173133896
Austin Austin area
5

A perfect place to stay in Hyde Park

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This place is a gem! Located on a quiet residential street in historic Hyde Park, it is walking distance to all the action on Guadalupe and Duval Streets, the UT campus, the state capitol, and downtown Austin. Our vacation rental was a flat in a vintage triplex building that was recently remodeled and freshly redecorated. We liked the blend of antique architectural details and contemporary furnishings. The flat was well stocked with everything we needed for a 4 night stay, meticulously clean, and very quiet and private. We will definitely stay there again next time we're in Austin.
Helpful votes: 1/1