Hawi cottage rental - Spacious kitchen and cozy living area
Spacious kitchen and cozy living area
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Hawi Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom, 1 bath, full kitchen,dining area, large living room & lanai, sleeps 2

Wonderful spacious, modern cottage with all the tropical Hawaii charm located on a 1 1/2 acre macadamia nut farm near Hawi Town.You will love the large open living area with high ceilings, bamboo floor and tasteful decor. Enjoy cooking in the fully equipped kitchen with craftsman made cabinets, granite counter tops and gas cooktop in kitchen island. The Cottage has a 200 sq ft lanai with daybed for lazing around and enjoying the garden as well as a BBQ for your outdoor entertaining.

You will enjoy this beautiful retreat away from the hassle and bustle, yet only one mile above historic Hawi town and 10 minutes from North Kohala’s Beach Parks. A great place to rejuvenate, meditate and enjoy that off the beaten track old Hawaii feel.

If you have a larger family or group of friends we also have a lovely 2 bedroom,2 bath custom home available on the same property . We are on a 1 1/2 acres macadamia nut orchard and both places a situated so they have total privacy.See HomeAway #336353

Hawi area Info: Our cottage is located one mile above Hawi town in historical North Kohala - this is still wonderful “Old Hawaii” an off the ' beaten track' unique are. We are minutes from Kapaa, Mahukona and Keokea state beach parks as well as the black sand beach and hiking of Pololu Valley . You can easily take advantage of these parks and hiking trails, or you may want to have fun on an ATV Tour, Horseback Ride or a Zipline Adventure. There are also plenty of ”casual to gourmet “dining choices in town, plus a grocery store, wine store, deli, and farmers market with locally grown , organic produce if you choose to cook.There is a 6 hole mini golf course with driving range and tennis courts in Kapaau town about 2 miles from the house.

Hawi Town has the Kohala Coffee Mill for Breakfast and lunch or a Tropical Dreams ice cream treat. Elements Jewelery store across the street offers a great selection of unique gifts and ' As Hawi Turns 'clothing and gift shop next door is also a 'must see'.

more area info: Don't miss the Lighthouse Deli and Sushi Rock Restaurant in Hawi .

Kapaau has a Yoga Studio with daily classes you can participate in. There are some nice places for lunch in Kapaau as well: enjoy the culinary delights in artistic surroundings at Gill's Lanai and visit Kenji's Gallery upstairs after lunch. Minnie's, Nanbu Courtyard Cafe and the Kings View Cafe' also offer good lunches. There is much more, you will just have to go out and explore.......enjoy!

More Details
Hide Details

19 Reviews of Property 346161 in Hawi, Hawaii

Peaceful, spacious garden cottage- modern,new,fully self-contained.
average rating of 4.7647057 based on 19 reviews
business
Peaceful, spacious garden cottage- modern,new,fully self-contained.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346161
Hawi Kohala Coast
Castor
5

Love Hawi!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This was our second stay, this time in the smaller house on the property. We had a great time last year and this year was no exception. Kersten is great to deal with and the home is finished very nicely. The bed is very comfortable and the lanai was terrific. The beaches are a comfortable drive, roads quiet, and just a great area to be in. We also took in the Waipio Valley this time and thoroughly enjoyed that as well. Water was warm and snorkeling great! Don't miss the Chuckwagon BBQ! Swarupo the manager is also very accommodating.
business
Peaceful, spacious garden cottage- modern,new,fully self-contained.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346161
Hawi Kohala Coast
5

A perfect Hawaiian vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My wife and i and our 2 year old baby girl found this perfect Hawaiian paradise cottage nestled in the trees near an authentic Hawaiian town called Hawi. The cottage is everything that you might imagine for a true romantic getaway. The location is fabulous and near the town to get everything you might need, but still have maximum privacy. It has the old Hawaii feel but with all new amenities. The photos on the web site are very accurate and in real life even better, The peace and tranquility felt on the property are simply awesome. Kerstin and Atulyo were fabulous hosts and were always available if you needed them.
The cottage has a beautiful Lanai to relax and take in nature, starting with the kitchen, hand made craftsmen cabinetry, topped with granite, gas cook top, all appliances stainless steel, and has everything that you might need to cook a gourmet meal. The bathroom is large and has a great shower all brushed nickel fixtures spotless and new. The master bed is super comfortable and the room is very quite and private. The Internet connection is fast and reliable, cable TV and DVD player.
My Wife and i are global travelers and have been coming to Hawaii for many years, and we have stayed at many places and this cottage is the best place, location, privacy, quality accommodation that we have ever experienced, we highly recommend this cottage to anyone that might want the complete Hawaiian experience, we will be back again for sure. Jim and Jai
Owner's Response: Mahalo Jim and Jai for staying with us. It was a pleasure to make your acquaintance and we sincerely hope that you will be drawn back to Hawi to stay next time. All the best on your travels!
business
Peaceful, spacious garden cottage- modern,new,fully self-contained.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346161
Hawi Kohala Coast
5

All I want to do is return! Best Vacation Ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Exactly as described plus more! All I want to do is return! Kerstin and Atulyo were very personable and gave us some great ideas for things to do while on the Big Island. The Cottage is exactly as pictured....clean, room to move and relax outside on the covered porch or get some sun in the grass. Hawi itself is an awesome little town with a little grocery store, great shops, restaurants - Sushi Rock for sushi rolls, local greens salads, great mixed drinks, Bamboo for cool ambiance, gift shop, local catch dinners, be sure to eat early evening and there is a pub which offers local music, Driving within 15 minutes are state parks and Pololu Beach, not to be missed! 25 minutes to Waimea or 25 minutes to the Resort beaches. Staying in Hawi we were able to experience the best of both worlds. I will be returning and I would definitely stay again but this time longer!
Owner's Response: It has been a pleasure to have you two here and see you relax Island Style. We look forward to your return visit!
Mahalo for choosing the garden cottage for your stay.
business
Peaceful, spacious garden cottage- modern,new,fully self-contained.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346161
Hawi Kohala Coast
5

Wonderful Cottage! Wonderful Value!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This was our first "home away" on our vacation and was a wonderful place to stay for our five nights in Hawi. It was very well equipped and well taken care of, and Kerstin was living next door and available if we needed anything. We especially liked sitting on the lanai and watching the family of turkeys walking nearby! The next time we come to Hawi we will look forward to staying there again if possible. Mahalo, Kerstin!
business
Peaceful, spacious garden cottage- modern,new,fully self-contained.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346161
Hawi Kohala Coast
Alaska
5

Perfect Hawi rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My wife and I are frequent HomeAway and VRBO renters. This charming Hawi cottage has the highest quality design and furnishings, as well as the best value we have found in North Kohala. The attention to detail they have built into this cottage is exceptional. The owners have developed a private and relaxing grarden setting that has everything you need for a perfect stay on the Big Island. They were very attentive to our needs and respectful of our privacy. This property was spotless and the amenities exactly as advertised. If you are looking for a quiet, romantic and private setting, this is really a special rental.
Owner's Response: We are looking forward to your return visit. We have added a microwave in the kitchen and some new furniture to make the cottage even more enjoyable.
business
Peaceful, spacious garden cottage- modern,new,fully self-contained.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346161
Hawi Kohala Coast
4

A walk back in time

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This garden cottage is a comfortable place to stay with a very spacious covered lanai where you can relax, listen to music, BBQ your dinner or just catch a short afternoon nap... even if a rain shower moves into the area. Although it is a little lacking in ambience, the cottage is kept very clean and has all the expected amenities in good working condition. With just a low grade toaster oven, the absence of a microwave, however, was somewhat of a disappointment. The neighbour next door is very pleasant and helpful and serves as the onsite manager.
Despite the friendly village of Hawi (pronounced Haw-vee) being an easy manageable downhill walk, you'll probably curse yourself on your way home for not taking the car . A car is a must if your going to enjoy the beautiful beaches of Kohala and take in the breathtaking scenery of the nearby valleys and mountains. Recommend trying the 'great bamboozler' at the Bamboo restaurant and then walk across the street and order your favourite flavour of tropical dreams ice cream at the Kohala Coffee Company.
Owner's Response: We have added a new microwave in the kitchen.
business
Peaceful, spacious garden cottage- modern,new,fully self-contained.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346161
Hawi Kohala Coast
Norwich, Connecticut
3

Beautiful property

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Pros: The cottage is a beautiful property. Our small family of 3 enjoyed the kitchen for cooking meals. The bedroom was cozy, and the bathroom was nice. Having the computer area with excellent wifi was very helpful. Hawi is a nice, small town. We liked the ruggedness of the landscape, and the farmer's market. The washer and dryer were a nice bonus. Having a compost bin for food scraps and all the environmentally friendly cleaners was also a great option. The porch area is very nice, but he December winds kept us inside most of the time. We used the beach chairs and towels almost every day. Hiking into the Pololu Valley was nice, as was taking some of the winding roads in the area to view the rugged coast.


Cons: I do wish there was a full oven, but the toaster oven worked fine. There was no gasket in the blender, so it leaked every time we used it for breakfast smoothies. The property manager said she will take care of it. Whoever stayed before us left sugar packets out on the counter, and there were tiny, tropical ants everywhere. I killed ants from sunup to sundown, they just kept marching in lines up the side of the house and into the kitchen over and over. I understand this is a tropical island, but I wonder if there is a nest under the cottage that needs to be eliminated. For us, the bed was a disaster. We like a firm mattress, and this one must have a feather top. It is also very noisy, rusty springs? We almost wanted to switch to the futon in the living room, it is very firm and comfortable. Hawi is a bit further from the beaches than we realized, so we ended up in the car for many hours driving to the beach, back and forth every day. The road to Waimea is quite hair-raising at night, twisty and windy, and at the edge of the cliff most of the way.

Overall, the property was not an ideal fit for us. If you are interested in solitude and just relaxing in the area, it is wonderful. The cottage is very peaceful and spacious. Hawi is a very laid back (and expensive) little town. If you are looking for an area to base yourself for exploration of the north/western side of the island, Hawi is just too far from anything. I would still recommend this cottage, even if I would not return to the area.
Owner's Response: Dear future guests, please make sure that the North Kohala Area and the laid back lifestyle of Hawi really suits your vacation needs. We recommend our place for a quiet, romantic getaway, a retreat place to relax and be off the beaten track.
We encourage you to email us your questions or call us if you are not sure if the property suits your needs.
Issues addressed and explained:
-We purchased a high quality medium firm pillow top mattress for the cottage( it is less than 3 years old) and we are sorry it did not match you sleeping needs. Would we have known right away we could have swapped it for a harder mattress from the main house at the beginning of your stay. Next time you encounter this please speak up right away.
I have sent my handy man over to check on the bed and the noise has been fixed.
-The blender gasket has been replaced.
-Pest control has been sprayed for ants and checked for nests- this is actually done quarterly. In Hawaii it is not possible to leave food out without attracting ants .
-We have added a microwave in addition to the toaster oven.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Peaceful, spacious garden cottage- modern,new,fully self-contained.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346161
Hawi Kohala Coast
5

great spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Great place to stay. Comfortable!!! Spacious. Well located and quiet. Easy access to everything and Hawi a pleasure to stay in. Management excellent and responsive to everything. Loved the outdoor lanai. Many thanks.
business
Peaceful, spacious garden cottage- modern,new,fully self-contained.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346161
Hawi Kohala Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Hawi - Peaceful garden cottage

  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I wanted to thank you again for a wonderful stay at the Hawi house - we enjoyed every aspect of it! The house really exceeded our expectations, it was super comfortable and felt like home right from the first day. I will definitely recommend it to friends and we will be back during our next trip to the island. I discovered so much more to see and do there - cant wait!
business
Peaceful, spacious garden cottage- modern,new,fully self-contained.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346161
Hawi Kohala Coast
5

Perfect Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I slept like a baby during my week in this sweet sanctuary. The wild turkeys that casually graze through the yard give testament to its idyllic and peaceful setting. I am a very discerning guest with privacy, beauty, and cleanliness at the top of my list of amenities, and this cottage exceeded my expectations. Loved it. Beautifully appointed, spacious, comfortable, and uber clean. Its location offers seclusion, fresh mountain air, and the sweet embrace of nature. The respectful owners were gracious and very accommodating. Perfect place to get away from it all and enjoy slow days. Definitely one of the best vacation rentals I have booked so far in Hawaii and the value is very refreshing. Six Stars! and Mahalo Nui Kerstin for your hospitality.

P.S. Hawi Town is a gem... though avoid the high end restaurants and opt for Gils Lanai or the Lighthouse Delicatessen... the food is ten times better at half the cost!
Helpful votes: 2/2