Water Island house rental - Tradewinds Villa photographed from a private yacht
Tradewinds Villa photographed from a private yacht
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Water Island House Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, plus hide a bed in downstairs T.V. room. Sleeps 6 max.

''Tradewinds Villa'' is an exceptional estate in an unbelievable setting. Perched high overlooking the Caribbean it is beyond the scope of words to truly express what a wonderful location this is. The house is private, there are no other homes within view. There are three bedrooms each with their own private deck overlooking the blue Caribbean. The house is designed with the maximum privacy between rooms. There is a large gourmet kitchen fully equipped, a large dining room, comfortable and beautifully furnished living room with a downstairs TV/game room with a hide-a-bed. A Golf Cart is included with rental.

The gentle tradewinds blowing through your open windows, surf crashing, birds soaring on the breeze, peace, and quiet, serenity, Tradewinds Villa has it all.

Water island is the most peaceful, friendly, UN-Developed, UN-Discovered Island in the Virgin Islands, with its own spectacular ''Honeymoon Beach'' simply the nicest beach there is in the Virgin Islands. Because it is so easy to get back and forth between St. Thomas and Water Island you can have the best of both worlds. Shopping, dining, exploring, and playing tourist on St. Thomas then escaping back to your peaceful paradise.

The ferry to Water Island is a short five minute cab ride from St. Thomas International Airport. You can be laying on the beach before most travelers reach their hotel. Lastly, for us Water Island was love at first sight...we hope the same for you.

More Details
Hide Details

The villa is managed by Bill & Christy Carli.

Christy Carli purchased this house in 2001

We love Water Island and we love the house...simple really.

7 Reviews of Property 346127 in Water Island, Virgin Islands

Waterfront Villa
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
Waterfront Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346127
+1 +340-643-4388
Water Island US Virgin Islands
Westboro, MA
5

Fantastic location with exquisite views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Our family of 4 (includes 2 teenagers) just spent a week at this house. It definitely is one of the best locations on the island. An oasis that makes you feel like you're at the end of the earth. When you sit inside looking out over the water, it almost seems like you're levitating directly above the water. The house had every amenity we needed. Driving the golf cart to/from the house while looking out over the water was definitely unique. Bill and Chris were extremely helpful both before and during our vacation. There when we needed them, but otherwise invisible. We went out for a day sailing/snorkeling trip with Bill and that was a highlight of the trip. Saturday night steak dinner on the beach was amazing. Another unique experience. This has to be one of our top Caribbean vacations and if we return, we would definitely stay here again. What a perfect getaway for some rest and relaxation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346127
+1 +340-643-4388
Water Island US Virgin Islands
MONTREAL
5

Tradewinds Villa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
A perfect place for for our 25th anniversary. Bill and Chris Carli were patient answering our questions prior and after our booking.
Watching the sun rise in the morning. Our stay turned into a spectacular wonderland as we adventured daily to different areas, in our little golf cart or by foot. A setting perfect for a scenic photographer, wildlife and nature lover.

Shared internet access with our host, the marvellous Marvin, allowed us to easily plan day trips to nearby islands and access to our emails if we wished.
Tradewinds Villa offered all the necessities for a perfect vacation, from outdoor decks for lounging to a rather private outdoor Spa. Perfect to unwind.
Evening winds plus overhead ceiling fans assured a comfortable sleep. The house is beautifully furnished and decorated, for the few moments spent indoors.
Easy access to St.Thomas for nearby shopping and visiting, or to board a ship to St.John's as a day trip.
Thank you for a lovely stay. 2 weeks wasn't enough!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346127
+1 +340-643-4388
Water Island US Virgin Islands
Minnesota
5

Great place to kick back and relax

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We stayed at Tradewinds on the last week of March 2011. Had an exceptional time at this secluded location. Great views and constant breeze at this very comfortable house. Caretakers Bill and Christy were helpful in showing us around and assisting with any questions on the local area and activities. This is not a place to go if you are looking for action, shopping, etc. However, if you want a place to just kick back, hang out at a beach or take a walk, Water Island is a great choice. Additionally, it is easy to get to from the airport on St. Thomas - just a short taxi ride, water taxi and golf cart ride to this peaceful location/house. We checked out the other rentals walking around the island and have to say that Trandwinds is probably the best property out of the bunch.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346127
+1 +340-643-4388
Water Island US Virgin Islands
France
5

Bring a novel, go to the beach - and relax

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
We echo all the thoughts of our predecessors. This is a lovely, spaceous, well-managed and beautifully-kept villa in a very dramatic position, perched on a cliff above a sparkling sea, with constant breezes (the tradeswinds, of course) that keep the air cool. It’s an absolutely great place to kick back, chill out and enjoy the idyllic quiet of little Water Island. Much recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346127
+1 +340-643-4388
Water Island US Virgin Islands
Danville, CA USA
5

Beautiful place you'll never forget

Beautiful place you'll never forget
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
My daughter and I were fortunate to stay at this fabulous home. Not only are the views amazing, walk into the living/dining/kitchen area and there is a wall of windows facing the ocean, but the place is decorated with class and style which added to the enjoyment. Sitting on the balcony of our spacious bedroom and feeling the ocean breeze is a morning treat not to be missed. Water island is certainly charming. My favorite was Monday nights at the movies. Two sewn sheets stretched between two palm trees with the sun setting on the beach, what an experience. While there make sure to visit St. John. The entire island is surrounded with the most beautiful turquoise beaches, and the snorkeling is outstanding.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Waterfront Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346127
+1 +340-643-4388
Water Island US Virgin Islands
Bozeman, Mt.
5

Water Island Wonderland

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
Our recent stay in Water Island at the Tradewinds Villa was a wonderful experience that we would highly recommend to anyone looking for a vacation that satisfies. It was a treat to find the actual property and its amenities exceeded the description on the website. The privacy of our room was perfect and could not have had a more beautiful ocean view balcony we happily called our own. The home was spacious, immaculate, well appointed and the caretakers (Bill and Chris) were not only helpful, but a real delight. Chris is a lovely, generous woman with a bank of information about the local highlights and Bill is an adventurer at heart with talent for entertainment and fun!! We loved the excitement of traveling to and from the island as it gave us a realistic idea of what daily living would entail there. It's close proximity to more populated areas afforded easy commutes by water taxis to destinations of St. Thomas, the gorgeous island of St. John, as well as access to the British Virgin Islands. We especially appreciated the solitude and tranquility of Water Island, its friendly residents and the very relaxed atmosphere. We took in a Monday Night Movie at Honeymoon Beach after watching the sunset and put our feet in the sand during the show! You can even buy Popcorn and refreshments, it was great fun!! Overall, our experience which included fantastic snorkeling at Buck's Island, hiking in St. John's National Park and visiting the B.V.I. was one we will look forward to having again with more time to spend! Hope you, too, can make it there!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Waterfront Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346127
+1 +340-643-4388
Water Island US Virgin Islands
Bozeman, Montana
5

Tradewinds Villa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
Had a wonderful time. Bill and Chris Carli took exceptional care of us. Always very accommodating and the Villa is exceptionally clean, neat and the furniture for lounging in and out side on the porch is all new and quite exquisite. Had a tv with cable set up but we never spent anytime watching so don't know about the channel selection.. The rental is fabulous, the views and the trade wind breezes are so relaxing. Honeymoon Beach is very secluded and just a superb spot out of the winds, sharing it only with the local island owners and traveling sail boaters. We loved "movie night" on the beach starting right at sunset with the movie screen set between two palm trees. Lots of fun driving around the exclusive island in a golf cart..The snorkeling is quite good and the big Tarpon(large fish) down at the dock at night are a thrill to watch.
A very short, fun ferry ride (seats around 20) to the mainland runs all day long about every hour.
The whole experience for my family and I was perfect. Will certainly book the Villa again.
JC
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3