Kapoho house rental - Hale Mahana pond - The Hale Mahana private, ocean tidal pond is all yours when you stay in this peaceful home!
Hale Mahana pond - The Hale Mahana private, ocean tidal pond is all yours when you stay in this peaceful home!
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
 

Kapoho House Rental Photos and Description
With your own private, thermally heated pond, sprawling lawns and lots of indoor/outdoor space, Hale Mahana is a true Hawaiian experience!

IMAGINE FLOATING LANGUIDLY IN A WARM VOLCANIC POND, GENTLY CARESSED BY WAVES OF WATER. Feel the warmth of sun beams dancing on your body, inhale the sweet fragrance of tropical flowers, and feel the cool, gentle tradewinds as you relax on the lanai. Awake to the cooing of doves and watch moonbeams dance across the pond at night. You're at HALE MAHANA (HOUSE OF REST) IN KAPOHO on the East side of the Big Island of Hawaii!

Take a video peek.

HALE MAHANA is a multi-facetted building designed with the temperate Hawaiian weather in mind. There are two master suites, the each has a Queen size Select-Comfort bed with a 4" memory foam mattress topper, wet bar with sink, microwave and mini-fridge, flat screen TV, screened lanai and full en-suite bath. Both master bathrooms have jetted tubs, tiled floors and garden views. Each suite also has its own screened in lanai with a view of the Hale Mahana pond. The lower-level lanai also has a futon day bed for that 5th guest. From the lanais you can hear the ocean just a couple of blocks away. There is a third bathroom off the kitchen that boasts a large and artisic outdoor shower! The stained glass shows several Hawaiian fish, can you name them?

THE KITCHEN IS WELL EQUIPPED and with an outdoor gas grill as well, you can feast on local Hawaiian seafood and produce! There is room for dining al fresco under the stars or in the garden view dining room just off the kitchen. There is even a small flat screen TV in the kitchen so you don't miss a thing while you're cooking away! And if you're visiting in winter, you just may get chilly enough to turn on the small electric fireplace to warm your toes with your morning coffee or tea.

THE TIDEPOOL ranges from 6 feet deep at low tide and up to 15 feet at high tide. The temperature varies from 88 degrees F at high-tide to 91 degrees at low tide, year round. This lagoon is one of the original natural tidepools in Kapoho and neighborhood legend has it that King Kamehameha III frequented these grounds and swam in this tidepool!

KAPOHO is known for its great weather and the renowned Champagne Pond where you can swim with sea turtles and tropical fish, just two blocks from Hale Mahana. Pahoa Village is a 12 minute drive and has great restaurants, quaint shopping and even a public pool. Fly into the Hilo airport and you're an easy 45 minute drive to Kapoho or fly into Kailua-Kona about a 3-hour drive.

Year-round rate range is $165 - $295 per night, depending upon party size and dates of your visit. Cleaning fee ranges from $165 to $180, also depending upon party size.

W01061298-01

More Details
Hide Details

Kapoho Beach Lots is a beautiful vacation gated community with geothermally heated ponds, spectacular snorkeling and a friendly relaxed atmosphere.

Having a personal pond on the property makes it very unique and relaxing.

30 Reviews of Property 346090 in Kapoho, Hawaii

Hale Mahana (House of Rest) offers a true experience of Paradise!
average rating of 4.3 based on 30 reviews
business
Hale Mahana (House of Rest) offers a true experience of Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346090vb
+1 808 965-0400
Kapoho Puna District
Portland, OR
5

Loved the Tide Pool

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We thoroughly enjoyed our five days at Hale Mahana. The home was very clean and well situated. We loved being a short walk away from Chanpagne Pond, and within striking distance of interesting things to see in Puna as well as the national park. The house itself has a unique layout that we enjoyed, though it would have been nice to have a larger common area or living room.
business
Hale Mahana (House of Rest) offers a true experience of Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346090vb
+1 808 965-0400
Kapoho Puna District
Victoria, BC
5

Unique House - Wonderful pool

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This is the fourth rental we have had in the Kapoho community, all of which have been satisfactory, but this one definitely goes to the top of the list, thanks to the interesting and unique design of the house and that wonderful geothermally heated pool. It was peaceful and the grounds very nicely kept. This view was shared by friends who were able to join us at Hale Mahana for the first three days of our two week stay.
business
Hale Mahana (House of Rest) offers a true experience of Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346090vb
+1 808 965-0400
Kapoho Puna District
Skokie, IL
5

Beautiful, modern, perfect house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We had originally booked with another home through Aloha Coast, but due to noise from construction work on the adjoining property, we requested a move. Aloha was VERY understanding, and moved us to this amazing, spacious home. Although it was no longer directly on the water like the original house, the modern, comfortable, quite house along with the tide pool, more than made up for the difference. We loved awakening to the birds calling. We highly recommend Aloha Coast Realty and Hale Mahana.
business
Hale Mahana (House of Rest) offers a true experience of Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346090vb
+1 808 965-0400
Kapoho Puna District
Duffy, ACT
4

A special home in a special part of the world

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
A striking property designed to make the most of the climate. We loved the layout; even on the day of torrential rain it was manageable although you had to take care not to slip on the stairs.

The kitchen was well stocked with equipment and we enjoyed the books, DVDs and games available.

I know others had problems with the wireless internet but we were running three tablets off it and the speed was fine.

The geothermal pool was the highlight of the stay. Snorkelling in your own private pool watching tropical fish, whilst only 20 metres from your bed, is something unique.

The Champagne Pools were also wonderful.

The only issue we had was that the mattresses were very tired with deep depressions in the centre. Even my tiny teenage daughter noticed, and unfortunately my husband's back was badly affected. Update the mattresses and we'll be back!
business
Hale Mahana (House of Rest) offers a true experience of Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346090vb
+1 808 965-0400
Kapoho Puna District
Denver, CO
5

Fabulous warm pond and nearby snorkeling

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We traveled with my husband, myself and our 3 kiddos ages 9, 7 and 7. The house is BEAUTIFUL. I love all the windows and unique shape (two Octagonal buildings connected by covered walking area and large deck). Kiddos slept in one room on the 1st level and my hubby and I enjoyed having our own separate floor and room upstairs.
Walked over to snorkel in nearby warm bay and saw turtles, eels and fish. Kids spent hours playing on inflatable rafts in our own private warm pond. Water was crystal clear (until they stirred it up a bit with all their playing). Wonderful dock with two chairs for us to sit in when we weren't joining in the fun.
They had several rafts, boggie boards and even water shoes we could use. Tree frogs in the evening to listen to and bright green geckos scampering around for kids and us to admire.

Highly recommended!!

Cheers,
Annette
business
Hale Mahana (House of Rest) offers a true experience of Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346090vb
+1 808 965-0400
Kapoho Puna District
Carbondale, CO
5

Relaxing in Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Loved the private thermal pool, Champagne Ponds, quiet area, comfortable accommodations and much Aloha! Will return again!
business
Hale Mahana (House of Rest) offers a true experience of Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346090vb
+1 808 965-0400
Kapoho Puna District
Dublin, Ca
3

Beautiful property with a few hiccups

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was adequately helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Good news: Absolutely georgeous property. Rooms were very well appointed, kitchen had everything needed for an extended stay over the thanksgiving holiday. Bedrooms were very comfortable with nice tubs. Swimming hole was wonderful. Champaign pond less than 100 yards away. Plenty of beach gear - towels, footwear for a family of 4, boogie boards. Awesome!!

Bad news: Bugs were a bit of a problem but it was to be expected. We all left with lots of bug bites! Downstairs bathroom and kitchen area had tons of bugs. We need more geckos! Upstairs pillow was stained with cat urin and had a very strong smell. We washed the sheets as soon as we arrived and discovered that :( - on Thanks Giving morning a mongoose got himself trapped in a rat trap on the deck. He spun around violently for about an hour, spraying rat poison and fecal matter all over the deck as he attempted to free himself. Yeah, yuck.

Overall: beautiful rural location, safe, incredible house - bugs and animal life to be expected actually - you can't control nature! You can however control urin on the bed - that should have been taken care of well before we arrived. For that I give it 3/5 stars
business
Hale Mahana (House of Rest) offers a true experience of Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346090vb
+1 808 965-0400
Kapoho Puna District
Honolulu, HI
5

Amazing Private Sanctuary

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Such a fantastic place! Perfect for privacy not only within the home but the area!
This is the 4th property I've rented in Kapoho Ponds and its definitely my favorite. Had an amazing time and can't wait to come back!

Only suggestions would be to upgrade the beds and to have lights around the pond so swimming at night could be enjoyed as well.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hale Mahana (House of Rest) offers a true experience of Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346090vb
+1 808 965-0400
Kapoho Puna District
San Ramon, CA
5

Beautiful, Private Hale Mahana

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation in Kapoho. The quiet and private setting was perfect. The screened dining area, spacious bedroom suites and fully equipped kitchen made it a 5 star rating for us. Very nice landscaping - many orchids and other flowers. The warm pond was amazing and used daily. We can't really think of anything we wanted but did not have. Thank you!
business
Hale Mahana (House of Rest) offers a true experience of Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346090vb
+1 808 965-0400
Kapoho Puna District
Kona, HI
5

Staycation on the Big Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We had such a wonderful time! the house was perfect, and nice and clean. Check in and out was super easy. We loved the privacy. Our friends stayed at another house and the caretaker was over daily. Although she was nice, we preferred our location much better. I will definitely recommend to friends and family.
Helpful votes: 1/1