Cambridge apartment rental - Flower garden in Spring and Summer
Flower garden in Spring and Summer
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Cambridge Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Recently renovated, airy, first floor apartment with lots of light in a beautiful, safe and friendly neighborhood very convenient to Harvard, Tufts, and MIT, Boston University, Boston College, and other schools. with short 5 minute walks to everything - restaurants, shops, grocery store, Porter Square, which is the nearest subway (“T”) station (Red Line). The subway ride is 5 minutes (one stop) to Harvard (or you can walk to Harvard Square in about 15-20 minutes), 12 minutes to MIT, and 15 minutes to the MGH/MEEI hospitals. Boston University, Boston University Medical Center, the Longwood Medical Area and Boston College are all a 20-minute drive away. There is a big, beautiful park and playground 2 blocks away and a free outdoor swimming pool at about a 10-minute walk.

A great feature of the apartment is a huge, brand new eat-in kitchen with granite countertops, high-end appliances, marble, and views and access to a nice back yard, barbecue, and outdoor table when the weather is good. The place is nicely furnished and the bedrooms each have very comfortable and fairly new queen sized beds. Sheets and blankets, towels, kitchen items (including essential cooking needs like oil, spices, etc), and most everything you would need is supplied. There is a private washer/dryer in the basement downstairs. There is free wireless internet and a nice flat screen TV with cable and a DVD player. Parking is readily available but you also don't need to drive since the subway is so close and will take you to just about any neighborhood in and around Boston.

This apartment is only used as a short-term rental, not as our permanent residence. My wife and I live in a separate apartment on the second and third floors upstairs in this charming 115 year-old, two-family house. We would be more than happy to give you advice on the neighborhood, where to go for necessities and what to do for fun, but you will also have complete privacy.

THE APARTMENT IS CURRENTLY AVAILABLE ON A SHORT TERM BASIS DURING GRADUATION SEASON (April-June) / MINIMUM 4 NIGHTS. Rates for a maximum of 4 guests are:

April 2014:

$300/night +100 one time cleaning fee and $300 refundable deposit

May-June 2014:

$350/night + $200 one time cleaning fee and $300 refundable deposit

Note: We have inflatable mattresses and we can add up to two additional people at a rate of $50 extra per person per night.

Please provide us with information on yourself and others who would be staying with you and some idea about your plans for your stay. You will love this place! Thanks.

Keywords: Apartment, Harvard, Cambridge, renovated

More Details
Hide Details

My wife and I are a physician and a physicist/writer. We are very easy going and friendly and would be happy to tell you about the area.

The Owner purchased this apartment in 2010

3 Reviews of Property 345932 in Cambridge, Massachusetts

Spacious, Charming Cambridge 2 BR Apt Near Harvard, Tufts, MIT, BU, etc.
average rating of 5.0 based on 3 reviews
business
Spacious, Charming Cambridge 2 BR Apt Near Harvard, Tufts, MIT, BU, etc.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345932vbi
617-852-9226
Cambridge Greater Boston
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
5

Lovely apartment in A+ location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Apartment was wonderful, and the location (about a 5 minute walk to Porter Square Red Line stop) was fantastic. We rented a car (and were provided with a temporary on-street parking permit by landlord), because we were visiting family in the suburbs. However, for vacation-goers who are looking tour in and around downtown Boston/Cambridge, a car is not necessary, given the apartment's proximity to public transportation. Porter Square is charming, with a wide array of restaurants, shopping (incl supermarket), etc. Our family consists of two adults and two teenagers. Our son took over the living room for his bedroom (landlord allowed him to borrow a comfortable, queen-sized air mattress), as we used the back door as our primary entrance thus affording our son some privacy. Landlord was nice and easy to deal with. Apartment was well decorated but not overly fragile or fussy. Apartment is ideal for a couple but works fine for a family with one or two children. Only negative was no central a/c (apartment has room units in each bedroom which worked fine for our visit, as it wasn't overly hot).
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
business
Spacious, Charming Cambridge 2 BR Apt Near Harvard, Tufts, MIT, BU, etc.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345932vbi
617-852-9226
Cambridge Greater Boston
California
5

Cambridge apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My husband and I spent two weeks in this apartment in early June 2012. The apartment is lovely. The kitchen is gorgeous and recently remodeled. All rooms except 2nd bedrom and bath are spacious and the rooms are full of light. The pictures and description on VRBO do not do it justice and it is the only apartment of the four we rented in the Boston area via VRBO in 2012 for which the description did not exaggerate the accommodations. For other light sleepers out there, on the first floor of any 150 year old house you will hear a few footsteps, but even I slept fairly well. The train cannot be heard from the main bedroom. The bathroom has not been remodeled yet and is small. The owners are so nice, they are people you would want as friends. At my walking speed it was 7 minutes to Porter Square and 30 minutes to Harvard Square. There are many shops and cafes withing walking distance. The T stop is at Porter Square. The closest Starbucks is only 15 minutes away by foot. I would recommend these accommodations to anyone and my only caveat would be to be careful getting into and out of the tub for older folks.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Spacious, Charming Cambridge 2 BR Apt Near Harvard, Tufts, MIT, BU, etc.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345932vbi
617-852-9226
Cambridge Greater Boston
France
5

Nice area - nice owners

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
It is hard to beat the location - on foot its 5 minutes to Porter Square, 10 minutes to Davis Square, 25 minutes to Harvard Square (which is one quick stop on red line from Porter Square). The neighborhood is quiet, safe and like living in a giant park. The landlords, who live upstairs, are a charming couple who are very helpful and make you feel at home.
A few notes. The second bedroom is small. There is only one bathroom and the shower is in an old-fashioned bathtub - charming but a bit tricky to get in and out of. The kitchen is very nice but to get to washer/dryer you descend to the basement on a staircase that requires some caution.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1