Canico apartment rental - View from the main balcony
View from the main balcony
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Canico Apartment Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom,1 bathroom, 2 balconies, cable TV, DVD, garage, sleeps 4

Garajau apartment is a new and comfortable one bedroom apartment with a great view over the Atlantic Ocean to the south-east. Spacious, modern and well decorated, with big windows leading out to the balconies, it was designed to take full advantage of the sunlight and the seaview, facing the Desertas Islands. The kitchen is well-equipped with large windows leading to the main balcony where you can relax and take full advantage of Madeira’s good climate while enjoying your meals. The apartment is situated in a quiet area of the small village of Garajau, with the advantage of having a bus stop right in front of the building to go to Funchal city centre, in one direction, and to Caniço de Baixo in the opposite direction. There is a coffee shop and a popular pizzeria nearby. 400 metres further away is a supermarket, a bank, a pharmacy, several restaurants (one with take away), coffee shops and other small shops. At 900 meters walking down you have the Garajau viewpoint and the beach.

Description of 'Garajau apartment': 'Garajau apartment' is a spacious and comfortable one bedroom apartment with a great view over the Atlantic Ocean to the south-east. With two balconies, the apartment was designed to take full advantage of the sunlight and the sea view, visible from all rooms.

The bedroom has a private balcony from where it is possible to see the sun rising or the cruises passing in the morning. From the modern and spacious living room you have access to the main balcony, where you can have a great view to the Desertas Islands. The well-equipped kitchen, with large windows also leads to the main balcony, giving you the opportunity to relax and take full advantage of Madeira’s good climate while enjoying your meals.

Location of the apartment: The apartment is situated in a quiet area of the small village of Garajau, on a high point with a great sea including a view to the Desertas Islands. There is a bus stop right in front of the apartment building for the bus that goes to Funchal city centre, in one direction, and to Caniço de Baixo in the opposite direction. There is a coffee shop and popular pizzeria nearby. 400 metres further away is a supermarket, a bank, a pharmacy, a hotel, several restaurants (one with take away), coffee shops and other small shops.

At 900 meters walking down you have the Garajau's beach. This is also reachable by a small cable car which is situated by the famous Cristo Rei statue, symbol of Caniço village near the fantastic ocean view point.

Garajau village (Caniço): Belonging to Caniço, Garajau is village over the sea with everything you need for a relaxing holiday. Situated on the south coast of Madeira island, 7km from Funchal city centre and 15km from the airport, Garajau beach is a natural reserve with temperate climate.

With a superb location, with the advantage to be so near to Funchal and in tranquil tourist zone, this small village has a well stocked small supermarket, an ATM, a pharmacy, busses, taxis, good restaurants, 'take-away' and shops.

With easy access to the motorway, it is the perfect place to explore the island, whether by bus or car.

More Details
Hide Details

21 Reviews of Property 345853 in Canico, Portugal

Beautiful, spacious new apartment with spectacular view over the ocean
average rating of 4.857143 based on 21 reviews
business
Beautiful, spacious new apartment with spectacular view over the ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345853
Canico Madeira
5

Beautiful apartment in a great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This apartment is as beautiful, if not more so, than the pictures show. Spacious, in great condition with tasteful and modern decor, and very well equipped. The kitchen had everything you needed to prepare meals and the washing machine/ironing board enabled us to travel light (which was great as most of our luggage was taken up with heavy hiking boots). Towels (including beach towels) were also provided and there is a great selection of books in the apartment - both of which also cut down on the amount of things you need to pack. We stayed for two weeks and it really felt like a home from home (but with much much better views - it was fantastic sitting out on the balcony enjoying the uninterrupted views of Atlantic ocean).

Nadia was absolutely lovely! She was quick to respond to our booking enquiry, helpful throughout the process, even arranging for a taxi transfer from the airport for us on our arrival. She met us at the apartment and showed us around and also gave great tips on what to do and where to eat. There is a good bus service on Madeira and a bus stop outside the apartment. The buses were roughly hourly, but if you walk up the road (3-4 min) into the main street of Garajau (where the cafes, restaurants, shops, pharmacy and bank are) there are a few more options as some of the other bus routes into Funchal go through here. Walking the levadas and mountains was the main aim of our holiday. It is possible to do this using the buses (you would need to catch bus into Funchal and then transfer to another bus route), but we decided to hire a car so that we had flexibility on location and length of walk (book online in advance for best price - we used rentalcargroup - InsularCar - who have a Garajau office). The apartment has a basement car park with an allocated parking space.

Garajau is an excellent place to stay. Away from the noise and touristy traps of Funchal, but with a good selection of cafes/restaurants. There is a small supermarket in the main street where you can get essentials, but two larger supermarkets fairly close by (including one in Canico which is a short bus ride away - although we were happy to walk here - about 1 mile and fairly level). We found a lovely restaurant in Canico (La Terraca). Food was great and the staff were lovely!

I would definitely stay in Nadia's apartment again and have already recommended it to friends and family. Thanks Nadia for a fantastic holiday!
business
Beautiful, spacious new apartment with spectacular view over the ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345853
Canico Madeira
5

The apartment is exactly as stated, perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The apartment in Garajau was absolutely suited for me. The views were spectacular any time of the day. Nyara was an absolute joy to work with and so very helpful and thoughtful. She responded to any request immediately regarding tour suggestions and even booked them for me, including a taxi for my 4 AM departure. Highly recommend this apartment for your stay in Madeira. Within walking distance of everything you need and the bus right out front was very convenient and on time. Garajau gives you the chance to mix with the locals and get to know the culture and rythms of the island. Book it!
Owner's Response: Dear Dan, thank you very much! It was a great pleasure have met you and welcome you in my apartment, making everything I could for yor feel at home during your staying! I'm happy you have enjoyed it! Best regards!
business
Beautiful, spacious new apartment with spectacular view over the ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345853
Canico Madeira
5

Perfect place to enjoy Madeira

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
It was our first time in Madeira and we were lucky to spent it in Niara's apartment. We got a night arrival but Niara waited for us in the appartment and was very welcoming and helpful. The place is realy beautiful, cosy, clean and fully equipped. We spent hours just sitting on the balcony and enjoying magnificent ocean views. It also comes with the parking place which was useful since we rented a car. Location is perfect for exploring the island, easy to get to all the places of interests. We most enjoyed surfing in Porto Cruz (about 15 minutes drive from the apartment) and levada walks. There are two hypermarkets and lots of cafes, bars and local shops in the area. Very comfortable place to stay. Highly reccomend.
business
Beautiful, spacious new apartment with spectacular view over the ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345853
Canico Madeira
5

Perfect doesn't come close to describe it!

Perfect doesn't come close to describe it!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
If you look at this property because you have been impressed by the pictures or the description, I have to tell you something: going there will be all it's advertised to be and twice better!
We spent there a lengthy amount this summer, and it was by far the best summer eve. The apartment is new, shiny, spotless, decorated with warm colours and having all the needed utilities. Floor-length windows facing the ocean in every single room, you wake up with the sight of the ocean and palm trees, you have coffee on the large balcony facing the ocean and the Islas Desertas, in brief, you'll see more blue than you ever thought possible just by staying in. However, beach is really close (a more secluded one, which you simply must love-either for the turquoise water, the sheer wilderness of nature or the tasty limpets at the restaurant on the beach). Bus stop is in front of the building, if you wish you visit the island, otherwise Garajau's main street with bistros, restaurants and the grocery shop around the corner.
The best part of the experience is Nyara's hospitality and friendliness. She was beyond kind, accommodating and helpful as a host. She helped us settle in, went through extra trouble to arrange high-speed internet for us, tipped us on the best places to visit and eat out, and was there to answer any question or query. Once again, thank you for an unforgettable summer, Nyara, and looking forward to go back soon!
Owner's Response: Dear Sara! Thank you very much for such a positive review! I'm glad you have enjoyed your staying so much! In fact I'm a lover of Garajau too and I always try to make the staying of my guests as much good and comfortable as possible! I really hope you can come again next year or in a near future! It was a great pleasure have met you and had you as my guest! You will always welcome!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful, spacious new apartment with spectacular view over the ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345853
Canico Madeira
5

Le meilleur appartements que nous avons occupés

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Notres vacances à Madère ont été splendides. Nous avons été enchantés de notre séjour dans votre appartement. Il été le meilleur appartements que nous avons occupés à Madère. Merci pour votre excellente organisation!
business
Beautiful, spacious new apartment with spectacular view over the ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345853
Canico Madeira
5

Madeira Ostern 2013

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Wir haben die Woche in Nyara´s Appartment sehr genossen. Bei unserer Ankunft wurden wir von ihr persönlich sehr herzlich empfangen und gut mit Tipps und Info´s über die Insel versorgt.
Das großzügige Appartment liegt ca. 250m über dem Atlantik und hat Südlage,
was uns das tägliche Frühstück auf dem Balkon zum sonnigen Morgenvergnügen machte. Die Lage an einer Durchgangsstraße haben wir nicht als störend empfunden. Der Vorteil liegt im kurzen Weg zu den naheliegenden Shops und einer sehr guten Verkehrsanbindung. Ein Stellplatz in der hauseigenen Tiefgarage entspannt das Parken und garantiert angenehme Temperaturen im Innenraum.
Das Appartment ist mit allen wichtigen Utensilien und elektr. Hausgeräten gut bestückt. Es bietet sogar eine Waschmaschine!
Das Bad ist großzügig und das Wasser fließt üppig.
Wir würden das Appartment jederzeit an Freunde weiterempfehlen.

Edith & Klaus
Owner's Response: Vielen Dank für Ihren netten Kommentar! Mit freundlichen Grüßen
business
Beautiful, spacious new apartment with spectacular view over the ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345853
Canico Madeira
5

Beautiful apartment, beautiful view

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We spent 2 relaxing months at Casa do Garajau over a 3 month period this winter and loved our time there. The place is modern, spacious and well-equipped and the views over the ocean and the deserted islands in the distance were terrific. Every sunrise, sunset and rain storm brought a new view. There are lots of restaurants nearby as well as a good little grocery store in Garajau, and a larger Continente location in nearby Canico (about 20 minutes to walk or 5 minutes by bus). The only downside was internet access - by mobile stick only (10E for 10 hrs or 720mb) which is fine if you only want to check email and surf a little bit, but it adds up if you spend a lot of time on it like we do. Also,if you have a car you will have no problems, but if you don't you need to plan your transportation as buses are not that frequent and getting anywhere other than Funchal or Canico can be tricky. I would recommend renting a car now and then to visit places around the island. I would highly recommend the Ponta Sao Lourenco and Highest Peaks hikes as well as Porto Moniz. Lots of places to walk near the apartment and none of them are flat (good for exercise).

Nyara was very helpful and accommodating. She also rents out another unit 2 floors below. The views wouldn't be quite as good (but still impressive) but you would have a bigger terrace and fewer stairs. We definitely preferred the better view and hope to return again in the future.

Dean & Laynni
Saskatoon, Canada
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for such a positive review! It was a pleasure welcome you and it will always be! In fact Garajau apartment is a nice place to spend some good time, as nearby you have everything you need for a comfortable staying. Despite the bus service you can easy rent-a-car to explore other parts of the island, as you have good accesses from the apartment area. You are welcome in case you would like to come back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful, spacious new apartment with spectacular view over the ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345853
Canico Madeira
5

Blissful two weeks!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My husband I wanted two weeks to relax, enjoy some sun and share a glass of wine or two in pleasant surroundings. We got all of that and more in Casa do Garajau which is exactly as shown and described (there were even beach towels which is well worth knowing). The views are fantastic, the balcony is a delight at all times whether for breakfast or simply enjoying the views with a glass of wine. The apartment is comfortable and in a great location.
We had thought to hire a car but buses to Funchal and Canico run every hour from just outside. We also booked a minibus tour of the Western part of the island - well worth the money.
Garajau itself is delightful with a choice of cafes/bars/restaurants all withing 5-10 minutes walk (a word of caution - unless you have a very big appetite only order a main course!). The walk to the Christo Rei statue and Garajau beach is well worth doing (yes it is hilly but if you're reasonably fit it isn't a problem and plenty of views to stop and admire on the way back up!) The cable car to Garajau beach and the one in Funchal are well worth the experience.
During our second week our two friends came out to join us. They stayed in Nyara's other apartment two floors down in the same block. This was an ideal arrangement as it meant we could spend a lot of time with our friends but we had our own privacy as well. We would certainly recommend renting both apartments if holidaying with friends or with family.
The weather was mixed during our two week stay, rain on most days of the first week and sun during the second. However, even when it rained it didn't rain for long and was still warm. A lovely climate.
Nyara herself was very helpful both before and during our holiday. She is a charming person and very approachable. She can arrange taxis to and from the airport and car hire if wanted. Both our friends and ourselves were absolutely thrilled with the apartments and would certainly stay there again.
Thank you Nyara from the four of us for your wonderful apartment, the fantastic location and a very beautiful island. We certainly hope to be back one day.
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for such a kind review! I really appreciated it and I'm glad you have had a great time in Madeira island and in our apartments enjoying also the company of your friends. In fact the apartment and its location is perfect for a relaxing holiday at the same time you have a good variety of restaurants and coffee shops at short walking distance. You will always welcome!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful, spacious new apartment with spectacular view over the ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345853
Canico Madeira
4

Bel appartement moderne avec très belle vue.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Très bel appartement, moderne, spacieux et très bien entretenu. Très belle vue sur la mer, un balcon sur lequel on peut prendre ses repas.
L'appartement est très bien situé pour visiter, accès facile au grand axe routier qui longe la côte. Il est dans un quartier commerçant avec cafés, restaurants, épiceries, pharmacies etc... ce qui est pratique et animé le soir.
La propriétaire est accueillante, a répondu à nos questions et a fourni ce qui est indiqué sur l'annonce, serviettes, draps etc...
Très bon état de la literie, grande armoire pour le rangement et canapés confortables de quoi passer de bonnes vacances dans de bonnes conditions.
business
Beautiful, spacious new apartment with spectacular view over the ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345853
Canico Madeira
5

Sunrise splendor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
One of the many delights of staying at this lovely apartment in Garajau is watching the sun rise over the deserted islands: every day the show is different.
This is a very comfortable, bright, roomy, modern, well appointed, and well equipped apartment with a beautiful unobstructed view of the ocean, located just around the corner from the main drag in Garajau and also a 20-minute walk from the center of Caniço. It is ideal for a single traveler or a couple. Bus connections to Funchal are good and cabs are also available in Garajau (Manuel has the best rates).
Nyara, the owner, is very, very pleasant, helpful, and reliable; she will answer all of your questions and has all sorts of great tips for excursions and eateries and can also arrange airport transfers and car rental for you.
Garajau has all basic amenities, including the fantastic bakery Flor do Garajau and a lovely pebble beach accessed by a steep winding road or gondola.
I also highly recommend the following restaurants: O Mero at Garajau Beach; A Central in Caniço (for the picanha and rodizio brasileiro); Os Fados in Caniço de Baixo (especially on Saturdays for fado); and Jaquet on Rua Santa Maria in Funchal (for the best limpets in town and delicious fried scabbard with garlic).
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for you nice review and kindness! I'm very glad you've enjoyed your staying at my apartment and in Madeira island. I really hope you can come back in the future. It is always a pleasure to make my best in order my guests have a pleasant staying.