Keaau house rental - Awesome areas to explore. These cliffs are a 5-10 minute walk from the home.
Awesome areas to explore. These cliffs are a 5-10 minute walk from the home.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Keaau House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

“This beautiful 3 bedroom 2 bath home is brand new. Granite counters and teak cabinets and an open layout make it a retreat to rest after a long day sightseeing. The backyard is surrounded by an Ohia forest, creating a place of serenity and privacy while cooling off in the in- ground pool. In the evening light up a fire in the outdoor fire pit and enjoy roasting marshmallows while gazing at the stars.

The home is located just 2 blocks from the ocean, where you can walk along the cliffs and trails. In the winter whale watching on the cliffs is a popular local past time.

The nearby historic towns of Kea`au and Pahoa both have restaurants, grocery stores and farmers markets. The snorkeling areas in Kapoho, the hot ponds and the lava viewing area in Kalapana are all with in 20-30 minutes from the home.

The open layout and design of the home makes it accessible for wheel chair guests.”

. The master suite opens out in onto the lanai surrounding the pool. It has a private bathroom and shower. The Kingsize bed has a Vera Wang memory Foam Mattress. You''ll want to lounge in bed all day. The two additional bedrooms share a full bath, one bedroom has a queensize bed and the other a full size bed. Plenty of room to share with friends and family.

Keywords: Villa, Private Home, Spacious, Private, well equipped, 3 bedroom 2 baths sleeps 6 comfortably

More Details
Hide Details

Lived on the Big Island for 20 years.

We live just down the street and absolutely love this beautiful secluded area.

Maureen Gapp purchased this house in 2010

The privacy is important as well as being in the 'sun belt'. This lot was so unique as it backed up to a beautiful forest of Ohia. The natural wall prevents any neighbors from being behind us, so the privacy is amazing.

Peace and tranquility. My favorite thing to do is to light a campfire and watch the stars. The area is mostly vacation homes and private homes so it's great to be able to walk or bike around withour any traffic.

24 Reviews of Property 317374 in Keaau, Hawaii

Sunny Kaloli Point Home with a Pool! Get out of the Cold. L
average rating of 4.882353 based on 24 reviews
business
Sunny Kaloli Point Home with a Pool! Get out of the Cold. L
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317374vb
(808) 938-8677 (Hawaii, USA)
Keaau Puna District
5

Absolutely PERFECT!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Our adult family of 6 stayed here for 8 glorious days! The house is so amazing! I knew instantly we had picked the right home when everyone oohed and aawed at every room! The size and beauty is not truly reflected in the pictures. We had room to spare! The owners have thought of every need from the kitchen to the pool and beach! A bag of Hawaiian coffe on the counter was such a treat! We brought our own snorkel gear but lost a snorkel and broke a goggle... No problem because there is a tote of snorkel gear in the garage! Along with other beach gear and chairs! A quick morning run to the cliffs and the whales were breeching right in front of us! The pool is clean, fully functioning and refreshing! We Had a wonderful time exploring the island but didn't want to leave the house! The frogs put us to sleep every night! This is a must experience home and a gauranteed return for our family!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Sunny Kaloli Point Home with a Pool! Get out of the Cold. L
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317374vb
(808) 938-8677 (Hawaii, USA)
Keaau Puna District
San Antonio, TX
5

Relaxing on the Big Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We stayed here 8 nights and had the perfect little getaway. The house is very private with plenty of space in every way. The house was very clean when we arrived and had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. The pool was awesome - especially since the east side of the island is short on beaches, it was nice to get into the water daily. We spent a lot of time grilling poolside in between short trips around the area to see the sights and surrounding towns.

We hiked the trail to Shipman beach just down the road. We took the more challenging trail along the shoreline, but were rewarded stumbling across old rocks walls and a WWII bunker. Our hike paid off when we reached Shipman Beach - a beautiful spring-feed beach all to ourselves. There were sea turtles sunning themselves on the rocks just a few yards from the sandy lagoon where you can swim. The trail back was an easier hike through the rain forest.

When we learned that Volcanoes Park was open 24 hours, we figured there must be a pretty good reason and we weren't disappointed. When you go at night, especially if it's your first time at a volcano, it makes it much more mysterious and awe inspiring. As you drive into the park, you see the glow and realize the gravity of the landscape. Our trip back during the day was awesome too - walking through lava tubes and over lava flows was unforgettable.

The house is short drive to groceries, airport and restaurants. We enjoyed Pahoa and Hilo very much as well. We would highly recommend this house to anyone who wants a private rural feel with plenty of what you need close by...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Scott thanks for your detailed review. I hike the coast a lot and will have to look harder for the bunker you mentioned. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you here again. Aloha
business
Sunny Kaloli Point Home with a Pool! Get out of the Cold. L
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317374vb
(808) 938-8677 (Hawaii, USA)
Keaau Puna District
5

A Nice Break From Most Hectic Vacations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
For us, having lots of areas to drive to and explore was VERY important. As was the right house to rent! Even more important when you are there for a full six weeks.
Truly a wonderful home in a very private and special location on this the East side, of the Big Island. We had a few special "must haves" and this home provided everything we could have asked for. Those of you with any mobility issues or who require the use of a wheelchair will definitely appreciate the open floor plan/space, this home has to offer.
The salt water swimming pool was very clean and well maintained. Was nice not to have to worry about any Chlorine issues or burning eyes in the pool.
Access to all the local amenities does require a car rental but you wouldn't visit the Big Island in our opinion without one. Not to say that you couldn't just hold up and relax by the pool everyday if that's what you wanted in a vacation! THIS would be a perfect home to do just that as well!
Bottom line: Great value and the quality throughout this home is just as the owners project on this website.
The perfect venue to relax and has provided us with some great material for our second book!
Mahalo, Dave & Sandy www.blinkthebook.com
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: Dave and sandy, I'm so glad you enjoyed your trip. I hope we see you again next year. It's always nice to experience the Big island through the eyes of our guests. Aloha a Hui Hou
business
Sunny Kaloli Point Home with a Pool! Get out of the Cold. L
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317374vb
(808) 938-8677 (Hawaii, USA)
Keaau Puna District
5

perfect home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My wife and I stayed at this beautiful home for a week in March, 2013. To us, it was a perfect home away from home. The home was comfortably furnished with all the necessities. The yard (both front and back) was beautiful and lined with tropical fruit trees and lava rocks. The location was exactly what we were looking for: about 25 minutes south of Hilo "downtown" and 15 minutes north of Pahoa on a street that hardly ever sees another car. The home is secluded and very private. We chose this area to hear the coquis at night, and we certainly weren't disappointed. Maureen and her husband were very responsive to our needs. We really can't wait to go back and stay for many more days at this beautiful home.
Owner's Response: Aloha Jong, Glad you liked our home we try to make sure everything is perfect so you can enjoy your vacation. We hope you come back to see us again. A hui hou Maureen Gapp
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sunny Kaloli Point Home with a Pool! Get out of the Cold. L
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317374vb
(808) 938-8677 (Hawaii, USA)
Keaau Puna District
Minneapolis, MN
5

New house in Hilo!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We really enjoyed our stay at this lovely house. Beautiful rambler - the photos do not do this place justice. New and very nicely done. Private, quiet ('cept for the frogs!). Nice pool, nice everything.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Sunny Kaloli Point Home with a Pool! Get out of the Cold. L
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317374vb
(808) 938-8677 (Hawaii, USA)
Keaau Puna District
5

Fantastic Find

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
The pictures do not do this home justice. We were pleasantly surprised at how well-appointed and clean this property was. Our family enjoyed having so much space (compared to a hotel or resort) and a private pool. Everyone enjoyed having smores out by the fire pit underneath the stars. Falling asleep and waking up to the sounds of nature was so relaxing after days filled with sights, snorkeling, volcanes, etc. We look forward to returning to the big island soon. We cannot thank Maureen enough for allowing us to stay at this property. And mahalo to Leiana for all her assistance.
Mahalo...until next time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Sunny Kaloli Point Home with a Pool! Get out of the Cold. L
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317374vb
(808) 938-8677 (Hawaii, USA)
Keaau Puna District
5

Fantastic Find

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
The pictures do not do this home justice. It was well-appointed and clean-which is a big deal. We could not have had a more relaxing time. Falling asleep and waking up to the sounds of nature is something one cannot experience at a resort. Our kids all loved having their own space and everyone enjoyed swimming in our own private pool. We were able to enjoy home cooked dinners followed by smores in the fire pit under the beautiful stars. We had lunch out a few times while we were out checking things off our to-do lists. Being first time visitors to the big island, there was a lot we all wanted to do and the home provided tranquility after a long day of sights, snorkeling, volcanoes...you name it. We cannot thank Maureen enough for allowing us the privilege of being guests in this home. We are so grateful to Leiana for all her assistance. We will be back to the big island.
Mahalo from Colorado!
Owner's Response: Mahalo Colorado ohana for your kind words and comments about your stay! We're so glad that you enjoyed your time here, we hope to see you again in the future!
business
Sunny Kaloli Point Home with a Pool! Get out of the Cold. L
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317374vb
(808) 938-8677 (Hawaii, USA)
Keaau Puna District
Indy
4

Nice home!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
This home is beautiful! Loved the pool and outdoor patio. Nice and peaceful. Enjoyed going to cliffs and I swear I have never seen soo many stars. It was like i coluld touch them! The kitchen is fully stocked and the beds were nice and comfy! I Already miss the quiet nights outside on the patio listening to the coqui!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: We're glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again in the future!
business
Sunny Kaloli Point Home with a Pool! Get out of the Cold. L
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317374vb
(808) 938-8677 (Hawaii, USA)
Keaau Puna District
Switzerland
5

A Real Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
The house and the area around it is a real paradise get away. The house was a home away from home with a lot of added luxery, A swim in the pool was a great way to start the day and a bbq with fire pit was a relaxing way to end the day after touring the area. It is located not far from Hilo and and only about 40min from The Valcano Park. We had a hard ime to leave and are dreaming of our next visit. The kids can't wait to come back. It was a pleasure meeting you, Maureen, and thanks for some of the sightseeing tips. Mahalo
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad you folks enjoyed your trip! Hope to see you again! Maureen
business
Sunny Kaloli Point Home with a Pool! Get out of the Cold. L
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317374vb
(808) 938-8677 (Hawaii, USA)
Keaau Puna District
Lyons, Oregon
5

October 28, 2011 thru November 6, 2011...Wonderful Vacation on the Big Island.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We had a great time. The four of us had a very enjoyable time and the house is very spacious and very nicely decorated. The kitchen is fully equiped and the only thing we needed to do was buy groceries. Thanks so much Maureen for letting our friend hang out for an extra half day or so until she had to catch her plane later in the evening. We so appreciate you doing this for us. We also want to thank you for the fresh fruit you left us. This was the first time we had tried star fruit and the tangerines were so fresh and tasty. We hope to come back to the Big Island next year and you will be the first person we email to check availability for your house.

We were able to get to the lava beds, the volcano, the guys got to snorkel a few times at the beaches around Hilo, we drove over the saddle road one day for a sight seeing tour and then another day drove north over to the Kona side of the island.......this trip was the best by far and the first to this island. We have seen Oahu and Maui several times and the Big Island is by far our favorite.

We can not thank you enough for allowing us to share your beautiful home and hope to see you again very soon.

Aloha and Mahalo.

Rebecca
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Rebecca, so glad you enjoyed your trip, we would love to have you stay with us again. Maureen Gapp