Sunset Lakes villa rental - The Living Room which overlooks the South facing pool and the Lake
The Living Room which overlooks the South facing pool and the Lake
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Sunset Lakes Villa Rental Photos and Description
4 Bedrooms, 2 full Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

Welcome to our villa, The Retreat by the Lake. The Retreat is a luxury lakeside rental villa in the Orlando Florida area just minutes from Disney World. The villa has four bedrooms, two bathrooms, and a private south facing pool that overlooks a lake. It has just been completely renovated and refurnished, and provides all the modern amenities that should be expected from a 5-star vacation home including a games room. The villa is located on a tree lined street in the quiet gated community of Sunset Lakes. This location is a true oasis in the Orlando/Kissimmee area. Whether you’ve just done “Dumbo or Die” at the Magic Kingdom, spent the day on the links converting that 96 into a 69, or watched some exciting baseball spring training, you can return through the gates of this established community into a peaceful, serene environment where you have your own spacious villa at a fraction of the cost of a 5 star hotel.

The Retreat now features a 55' high definition TV with Blue Ray and Netflix.

5 Star Luxury without the Price: The Retreat has been renovated to offer a self-catered luxury experience at affordable rates. You will pay three to four times as much for comparable accommodations at the nearby theme parks. All the bedrooms have been tastefully appointed and equipped. The large living room and dining room overlooks the pool and the lake. You can have your morning coffee as the Sandhill cranes and ibis saunter by just feet from the lanai. You can catch bass as bald eagles soar over the lake. The kitchen is fully equipped with a range, microwave, ice making fridge, garbage disposal unit, dishwasher, coffee maker, kettle and many other conveniences. The Retreat also features a games and fitness room complete with pool table, dart board, treadmill and exercise bike.

Convenience with Tranquility: When you stand on the quiet tree lined street outside the villa you wouldn't suspect that you are just minutes away from the theme parks and the stores / restaurants of Kissimmee. Grocery, big box and drug stores are just minutes away. Everyone who visits the Retreat and Sunset Lakes is impressed by the peaceful tranquility of the neighbourhood and the lake. Other vacation home communities close to the Theme Parks cannot offer you this combination.

Security and Privacy: Sunset Lakes is a gated community with an electronic key code access and surveillance system. The Retreat itself has its own electronic key code access system. Your code, which is unique to your stay, will be provided to you by email prior to the start of the stay. If there are issues our Property Management Company is available to assist you. . A safe is available to protect your valuables. All sliding doors at The Retreat are secured by safety locks and door alarms so you can keep track of the little ones. The Retreat backs onto the lake, not someone else's backyard. Visibility from the neighbour’s backyards is restricted by hedges, screens and the lake.

If the dates you want aren’t available please check out our other family owned home on Homeaway: listing number 3500336.

More Details
Hide Details

24 Reviews of Property 345543 in Sunset Lakes, Florida

Upscale Luxury Lakeside Villa near Disney w/ South Facing Pool - New Upgrades
average rating of 4.9545455 based on 24 reviews
business
Upscale Luxury Lakeside Villa near Disney w/ South Facing Pool - New Upgrades
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345543
Sunset Lakes Kissimmee Area
Alameda, California
5

Pretty close to perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I had been meaning to write this review for a while because if any property deserved a five star review it's this one. Pretty much everything that you could want was present. We never worried about having enough towels, dishes, and linens during our entire stay. There was not one, not two, but three full sets of dishes which meant that we didn't need to scramble to run dishwasher loads after every meal and could really concentrate on relaxing. Little thoughtful touches like enough Tupperware and storage containers really made cooking and prepping a pleasure. There was very little that the unit did not have.

The pool was really great after really hot mornings at the parks. We all really enjoyed our time in the pool and it was really convenient to not have to schlep to a pool. Having no backyard neighbors was pretty great. The key pad was really nice and having one less key to be responsible for was great. Also, the unit is very very close to the Animal Kingdom park, just use the Sherberth Road which was way faster. It is a distance from the other parks, but honestly, everything is pretty far away even within the whole of Disney World itself.

The TV was really nice, we were able to connect an Apple TV which worked out pretty well, but the internet connection was a little slow for streaming, so if you intend on using one, just know that you may have to allow the movie you want to watch to buffer for a while prior to watching.

A few minor quibbles only because it was so close to perfect that a few extra touches would put this place over the edge: the door on the Master Bedroom could use a lock. We weren't provided with a sponge so we ended up buying one, might be helpful to bring a partially used one from home to chuck after the visit. A vacuum would have come in handy as it appeared that the only rug in the unit hadn't been vacuumed in a while. The entry was great for hanging up bags to grab for the next day, but it would have been nice to have a small bench for putting on shoes. Folks should be warned that when the "grass" behind the unit is cut, clippings fly into the pool which makes it a little gross. Also, we had an small "incident" with the next door neighbor. Around 5 p.m. they asked us to quiet our children because one person in the family had to work nights. This wouldn't have bothered us had it been late at night, but a request for quiet at 5 p.m. was a little unreasonable, so just be warned if you have kids.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are pleased to have received a positive review of our villa. We must, however, respond to the criticism of our neighbors who have been nothing but wonderful to both us and all of our other guests for the past three years. As always, there is another side to the story and we have been informed that our neighbors only approached these guests after there were a number of situations where shouting and strong words were being used between family members. Please be assured that our neighbors understand that they live in a vacation community and fully accept that children play and families make noise. There are, however, limits to everything and this "incident" was the only time our neighbors have ever approached our guests, other than to be welcoming, neighborly and helpful.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Upscale Luxury Lakeside Villa near Disney w/ South Facing Pool - New Upgrades
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345543
Sunset Lakes Kissimmee Area
5

Amazing villa, Beautiful location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Just finished our wonderful 2 week holiday in this amazing villa. The villa is just as beautiful as the photos make it look and its in a great location, only a short drive to plenty of shops and restaurants and we were at Disney in around 15 mins. Our children loved the pool and games room and for us it was the perfect place to relax after a long day in the parks. Just hope we are lucky enough to return one day.

Thanks Karen and Mike
business
Upscale Luxury Lakeside Villa near Disney w/ South Facing Pool - New Upgrades
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345543
Sunset Lakes Kissimmee Area
5

Our best holiday EVER

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This Villa is absolutely fantastic! Its a home from home, Karen and Mike have thought of everything! It's ideally situated for the parks and a lovely place if you just want to chill by the pool - my children loved the pool, as did the adults. The pool table was a hit as were the abundance of DVDs and game - we had many a fun night playing Clue and Uno! The villa was very clean, very well equipped, beds were very comfortable, Sunset Lakes is a beautiful setting - we loved this villa, I didn't want to come home!! Thank you so much for letting us share your beautiful villa :)
business
Upscale Luxury Lakeside Villa near Disney w/ South Facing Pool - New Upgrades
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345543
Sunset Lakes Kissimmee Area
5

Fabulous Villa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
I'd just like to say a huge thank you to Karen & Mike for letting us stay at their villa, it really was fabulous and exactly as represented in the description & photos (if not better). This property is a cut above the rest and I say that as a seasoned villa renter and had everything we needed for a very restful 3 week holiday.
We both had a fantastic time and we will definitely stay again if we are lucky enough to return to Orlando.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Upscale Luxury Lakeside Villa near Disney w/ South Facing Pool - New Upgrades
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345543
Sunset Lakes Kissimmee Area
5

Amazing Villa in a Great Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
When it comes to staying in a private villa in Florida this one is hard to beat for its location, quality and comfort. The house is immaculate and had everything you could possibly need for a great holiday. The poolside is so peaceful and a great place to enjoy all day sunshine or relaxing after a day at the parks. Sunset Lakes is a gated community and is so convenient for all the parks and restaurants. Our favourites being Carrabba's, Outback and the Cheesecake Factory at the Mall at Millenia. I would recommend this house to all that would like a fabulous Florida experience. Thanks again Karen and Mike.
Owner's Response: Vacations are precious and we are glad yours was enjoyable. You are absolutely right about location being very important. No one wants to drive and drive and drive after a busy day at the parks or to go out for a meal. The Retreat's location is as good as it gets. We will be visiting the villa ourselves shortly....we use the opportunity to make upgrades and make sure that everything continues to be perfect for our guests!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Upscale Luxury Lakeside Villa near Disney w/ South Facing Pool - New Upgrades
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345543
Sunset Lakes Kissimmee Area
5

Awesome

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This was a dream vacation for our family. The house was spotless when we arrived, everything at our fingertips. The pool was amazing and the view from the patio was wonderful. All the comforts of home. Our 17 month old grand daughter was with us and all of the baby needs were at the house when we arrived...big thanks to Rob...amazing property manager. Karen and Mike have thought of everything possible that could be needed while on vacation at the villa. I will absolutely recommend this to my friends...and actually already have.

A truly amazing week.
Owner's Response: We're so happy you had a nice time and that you liked the villa. We really do enjoy helping to make our guests' vacations as wonderful as possible. Yes, our property manager is the best and happily arranges for rentals of infant/child equipment if needed. We'll be back to the villa ourselves shortly to make sure everything continues to be in the best condition for our guests.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Upscale Luxury Lakeside Villa near Disney w/ South Facing Pool - New Upgrades
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345543
Sunset Lakes Kissimmee Area
5

A Florida Gem!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
If you are looking for a 5* villa to stay that will give you all the comforts of home and is literally a 10-15min drive from Disney then this is the place. The villa is gorgeous, beautifully decorated, comfy beds, fluffy towels and is sparkly clean- we loved every minute here! I spent weeks looking at what seemed like hundreds of villas online before coming across the Retreat and I'm so glad I did. The children loved the villa and pool and felt comfortable here from day 1. Sunset Lakes is a very quiet estate but so close to everything you need. The choice of fantastic places to eat just up the road is a great advantage (Bahama Breeze was our favourite).
We stayed a few nights at the Hard Rock Hotel while here and I can honestly say the The Retreat more then lives up to the standard of this top class hotel.
Thank you Karen and Mike for letting us stay at your home, it is lovely and I'm very jealous that you have such a gem but glad you are willing to share it:) I have already checked your availability calendar for next year so I might be in touch! To anyone reading this review and thinking of booking don't hesitate, you might miss out on a fantastic place to stay!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Upscale Luxury Lakeside Villa near Disney w/ South Facing Pool - New Upgrades
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345543
Sunset Lakes Kissimmee Area
5

Paradise Found!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
If you are searching for the perfect spot to stay for a Disney vacation, look no further - this is it. On past trips we have stayed at hotels on & off Disney grounds, timeshares, etc.
Nothing has come close to the cleanliness, spaciousness & beauty of this home. Our family of five consists of 3 very discriminating teens...we all loved it! Karen & Mike were a pleasure to deal with and have absolutely thought of everything you will need to make your stay relaxing & stress-free. After we got back home, they even asked if we could think of anything else they could provide. We couldn't think of a thing! 15 minutes to the parks, 5 minutes to stores/restaurants. Believe all the reviews & the photos - this is the place.
Owner's Response: We think of the Retreat as Paradise as well. Mike and I are at the villa this week and even though the villa is very well equipped we are taking the opportunity to add some additional touches such as a french press coffee maker, espresso cups, and a cocktail shaker for those who love their margaritas!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Upscale Luxury Lakeside Villa near Disney w/ South Facing Pool - New Upgrades
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345543
Sunset Lakes Kissimmee Area
5

Beautiful home!! Can't wait to return!!

Beautiful home!! Can't wait to return!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Our stay at the villa was fantastic. The owners have truly thought of everything possible to make your stay as inviting and relaxing as possible. The villa is beautifully decorated, well maintained, and truly a Florida gem. Very close to Disney World, Universal Studios, and other Florida attractions, it is the perfect stay for families, or couples. We were thoroughly impressed at how the owners followed up with us to ensure our stay was exemplary. I would recommend the villa to everyone, and cannot wait to return in the future.
Owner's Response: We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. The closeness of the villa to all of the attractions is a real bonus. After a full day visiting the parks, it is only a short ride home to the Retreat.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Upscale Luxury Lakeside Villa near Disney w/ South Facing Pool - New Upgrades
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345543
Sunset Lakes Kissimmee Area
5

Perfect Retreat - Stop here, you've found it!

Perfect Retreat - Stop here, you've found it!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
My family stayed at Mike & Karen's Retreat by the Lake & it was all we hoped and more from a rental retreat. The retreat is professionally and impeccably decorated with the most comfortable bed linens and perfectly folded towels in the brand, new spotless bathrooms. The Retreat is a stone's throw away from the Disney parks, a myriad of restaurants and Publix/Target. Our favorite morning activity in the retreat was drinking coffee while sitting on the couches which overlooked the beautiful, new heated pool and sparkling lake as we watched hot air balloons fly across the sky. The heated pool was perfect for a morning dip or to soak your sore muscles after walking all day in the Disney parks. You can't help but feel serene and calm as you watch the birds fly across the beautiful lake. The kitchen was stocked with all the items needed to cook meals in the retreat, which we also did daily. Mike and Karen made the booking process easy & the management team was easy to contact if you have questions. The fact that the retreat was newly renovated and one-level appealed to us as well as its close proximity to Disney. The furniture and beds were very comfortable and we loved having family dinners at the dining room table. My son, age 2, loved the community park which had a slide that he must have slid down 50 times each morning and night! From the park, we would walk to the dock and explore the lake and its surroundings. I cannot say enough good things about the Retreat. We have memories that will last a lifetime and hope to stay at Mike and Karen's retreat again soon!
Helpful votes: 2/2