Lake Placid house rental - Exterior view
Exterior view
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Lake Placid House Rental Photos and Description
5 bedrooms, 2 full and 1 half bath, sleeps 10

Base lLocation for Bike, Hike, Fish & Reunion House is 17 miles from Lake Placid in the quiet Hamlet of Jay, NY.

This house was my grandmother's & has all the charm of a 50s & 60s with a few upgrades from the 80s & 90s. The house has 2,100 sf of space & is modestly decorated. It's a great place to gather with friends & family!

The house has beds to sleep 10 & room for more. The MBR is located on the 1st floor with a private full bath. The rest of the bedrooms & another full bath are on the 2nd floor.

The house has cable TV, WiFi & a dishwasher in a very homey & roomy house. The house is fully furnished including plates, utensils, pots & pans in a full kitchen.

This is a great location to access Whiteface, the Olympic Mountain. The house can also be a great hiking/biking base & offers easy access to the High Peaks for all the outdoor activities the Adirondacks offers. It is close to the quaint shops and activities that Lake Placid has to offer without having to pay the higher rental rates.

The house is located directly adjacent to the Ward Lumber store and warehouses.

Please Note! Our calendar is ALWAYS up to date. We are very active in renting our properties and keep our calendars current at all times. Hope we can add your reservation to our calendar soon!

More Details
Hide Details

18 Reviews of Property 345475 in Lake Placid, New York

Great Base Location for Hiking, Biking, Fishing, Siteseeing & Family Reunions
average rating of 4.3076925 based on 18 reviews
business
Great Base Location for Hiking, Biking, Fishing, Siteseeing & Family Reunions
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345475
+1 518 9462110 x 120
Lake Placid Adirondacks
Buffalo, NY
4

Awesome vacation in the Adirondacks!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This house was the PERFECT choice for our family vacation in the Adirondacks. Lots of room for my kids & grandkids in this spacious home. The house was very clean and charming and we had all the comforts of home during our week's stay. The fully stacked kitchen and large dining room table were perfect for preparing and eating dinner after each day's activities. We even had an extra table set up with a 1,000 piece puzzle, which the kids enjoyed working on during our stay. Our teenage grandchildren enjoyed playing pool, air hockey and fusball with each other, and we enjoyed watching several movies on the DVD player. (Best to bring your own favorite DVDs to watch).

It was a nice perk to have a washer & dryer available during our stay, especially for wet bathing suits & towels that we used one day and needed the next day too.

The location was central for our day trips to Lake Placid for shopping and the beach, Whiteface Mountain, Ausable Chasm, Natural Stone Bridge & Caves, Fort Ticonderoga and White Water Rafting on the Casendaga River.

The property manager Kim was a real doll and great at answering all our questions, and providing info and directions to local sites and area stores. She even found us a great little hidden park a few miles away where we could swim, picnic and have a campfire - we roasted marshmallows and made S'mores with the kids - yummy!

Everyone agreed this was our best vacation ever! We would definitely recommend this home for any family who wants to see the beautiful Adirondack area, and save money on costly hotels/motels. It's ideal for a large family. Our kids and grandkids called it home for the week - and it was just like our own home, only lots more room!
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. You did an awesome job highlighting the trip. There is so much to do and see in this area! This property is definitely spacious. It's close enough to all the activities, yet it's more affordable. Most guests that stay at my house are happier spending money on the activities than on their accommodations!
I am extremely happy that your family had so much fun. It appears that you packed a lot of activities in while you were here. There's more to do, so I hope you can return soon!
business
Great Base Location for Hiking, Biking, Fishing, Siteseeing & Family Reunions
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345475
+1 518 9462110 x 120
Lake Placid Adirondacks
4

Escapade Whiteface Mountain

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We were all satisfied about the house.
My friend’s (men) all appreciate and was impress about the garage for the motorcycle.
We did appreciate the big table we all add diner together (11 person)
Internet was fast and appreciate.
We will recommended your place any time.
Owner's Response: Biker Buddies,
Thank you for taking the time to let future guests know that they can enjoy their stay in this large house. I look forward to your return soon. There is so much to do and see, you cannot do and see it all in one visit. Thank you for choosing to stay in my house.
business
Great Base Location for Hiking, Biking, Fishing, Siteseeing & Family Reunions
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345475
+1 518 9462110 x 120
Lake Placid Adirondacks
5

Great stay for less

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
The house was specious and warm. Its good for a big company.Big table allows you to sit up to 16 people. Everything works very well. It also has pool and air hockey table that was great thing. Cozy fireplace makes you feel so comfortable. The most important thing that it is close to Whiteface and Lake Placid. The only complain we had was not warm water in the shower after couple of people who use shower before. I think it is good quality for that money. I would suggest it to others.
Owner's Response: ZA & Friends,
Thank you for the awesome review. I have tried to supply enough things to do when you aren't out skiing. I do have an 80-gallon hot water tank. However, when 12 people are taking showers, you do have to adapt the shower schedule. I am very happy that you were close enough to the sites and that you felt you had found a convenient location at a reasonable price. Enjoy your travels!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great Base Location for Hiking, Biking, Fishing, Siteseeing & Family Reunions
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345475
+1 518 9462110 x 120
Lake Placid Adirondacks
4

Spacious house/good value/ attentive owner.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Rented the property for a weekend. We arrived Saturday 2 AM-ish, and the sidedoor was open when we got there, which raised my eyebrows a little. (turned out the owner forgot to lock the door...).

Overall, the house felt a little too spacious for 6 people, and I can see this place being a better fit for big family gathering. But even with 6 people, I felt the rate was pretty reasonable (would've been an excellent deal if I brought 10 people..).

I think the best part of this property is definitely the owner. Kim was very responsive and attentive to any questions/concerns I had about the property and went out of her way to ensure that we have what we needed. (i.e double checking on wifi connection before our arrival). My friend left her boots, and Kim shipped it back to us as soon as possible.

I can't say the property is the most well furnished place I've been in Lake Placid region, but I would rather stay in a property where I can be assured that the owner will go out of her way to accommodate us. Trust and reliability are pretty important especially when it comes to vacation rentals.
Owner's Response: Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to let our future guests know how spacious our house is. Thank you also for your kind words regarding the effort we put in to make our guests feel welcome. We work hard to be sure everyone has an enjoyable stay. I was glad your friend received her boots in time for her next hiking trip. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Kim
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great Base Location for Hiking, Biking, Fishing, Siteseeing & Family Reunions
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345475
+1 518 9462110 x 120
Lake Placid Adirondacks
Delran, New Jersey
4

Comfy & Cozy

Comfy & Cozy
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Nice and Comfy. Very Central location to all attractions. The lumbar next door didn't bother us because we didn't spend days "in". By the time we got back the lumbar got closed. Also no bad smell as was mentioned in previous review. Very well equipped with all necessities. Will recommend to large groups to get together in this spacious house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to let future guests know that prior issues have been resolved. We take our time making sure guests are happy with their stay. We are glad you had a great time, had lots to do and were comfortable with the accommodations. Hope to see you again soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great Base Location for Hiking, Biking, Fishing, Siteseeing & Family Reunions
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345475
+1 518 9462110 x 120
Lake Placid Adirondacks
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Prompt and thorough pre-arrival arrangements

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Thanks very much for your prompt and thorough handling of pre-arrival arrangements. Our family had a nice, relaxed time in your home. We look forward to coming back again. Thanks! Lovely countryside. Enjoyed the pleasant drives to AuSable, Wilimington, Keene and Lake Placid. Whiteface Mountain is a "must see" for everyone. We enjoyed picnics by the river at several places. We were looking for nature, peace and quiet - and found an abundance of it every where we went! Thanks; this was a most pleasant and enjoyable stay and vacation.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great Base Location for Hiking, Biking, Fishing, Siteseeing & Family Reunions
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345475
+1 518 9462110 x 120
Lake Placid Adirondacks
canada
1

velorentides

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We were very desapointed when we arrived. The photos on the internet doesn't represent the house and his environnement. We knew it was an old house but that is located in the yard lumber parking lot. There was no space to sit or eat outside. We had brought our BBQ There was no table or chairs. We could hear and the macheneries and people at work. We opened all windows due to the smell in the house. For the bedrooms, there was only one bed that had a good matress.The internet wasn't working at first then it was fixed. There was enough space in the house. Dining table was good size. Kitchen was big enough with lot of dishes. It took us some time to figure the stove how it was working.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your constructive comments. I am very sorry you were not happy with the accommodations. I would like to offer you a free two-day weekend at our other property. It has a huge yard, lawn furniture and a BBQ. The interior of the other property is smaller (there are 4 bedrooms instead of 5), but it will accommodate your group. I will be sure to remedy the mattress situation and air out the house. I would truly like your group to return so you can enjoy your stay. I am happy that you thought it was spacious and you found enough room and dishware to enjoy your meals together. I look forward to seeing you again.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Great Base Location for Hiking, Biking, Fishing, Siteseeing & Family Reunions
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345475
+1 518 9462110 x 120
Lake Placid Adirondacks
5

A Great Place for a Family Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We rented this house for 7 nights, and invited our friend's family to join us. The house is spacious enough for two families (4 adults and 4 children). Our kids enjoyed the air-hockey table after skiing; and there is a pool table on the other side that the guys used while the kids and ladies watched a movie. The fireplace created a cozy atmosphere. Plus, the kitchen was so organized and clean we were able to find everything that we needed. The location is also very convenient. It takes about 30 min. to get to Lake Placid on Route 86; about 15 min. on 86 to Whiteface mountain for skiing; and 10 min. to the Olympic Complex on Route 9N for XC skiing. On the way, we enjoyed the views of the Adirondackes. We did skiing, XC skiing, ice-skating, and sight seeing. Our kids had a great time and so did the adults! We highly recommend this place to other people.
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were glad to have you. Have a wonderful summer. We are looking forward to seeing you again at the end of the year.
There is also a lot to see and do in the spring, summer and fall. Please keep us in mind for other times during the year!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great Base Location for Hiking, Biking, Fishing, Siteseeing & Family Reunions
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345475
+1 518 9462110 x 120
Lake Placid Adirondacks
5

A Great Place for a Family Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We rented this house for 7 nights, and invited our friend's family to join us. The house is spacious enough for two families (4 adults and 4 children). Our kids enjoyed the air-hockey table after skiing; and there is a pool table on the other side that the guys used while the kids and ladies watched a movie. The fireplace created a cozy atmosphere. Plus, the kitchen was so organized and clean we were able to find everything that we needed. The location is also very convenient. It takes about 30 min. to get to Lake Placid on Route 86; about 15 min. on 86 to Whiteface mountain for skiing; and 10 min. to the Olympic Complex on Route 9N for XC skiing. On the way, we enjoyed the views of the Adirondacks. We did skiing, XC skiing, ice-skating, and sight seeing. Our kids had a great time and so did the adults! We highly recommend this place to other people.
business
Great Base Location for Hiking, Biking, Fishing, Siteseeing & Family Reunions
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p345475
+1 518 9462110 x 120
Lake Placid Adirondacks
5

A Great Place for a Family Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We rented this house for 7 nights, and invited our friend's family to join us. The house is spacious enough for two families (4 adults and 4 children). Our kids enjoyed the air-hockey table after skiing; and there is a pool table on the other side that the guys used while the kids and ladies watched a movie. The fireplace created a cozy atmosphere. Plus, the kitchen was so organized and clean we were able to find everything that we needed. The location is also very convenient. It takes about 30 min. to get to Lake Placid on Route 86; about 15 min. on 86 to Whiteface mountain for skiing; and 10 min. to the Olympic Complex on Route 9N for XC skiing. On the way, we enjoyed the views of the Adirondacks. We did skiing, XC skiing, ice-skating, and sight seeing. Our kids had a great time and so did the adults! We highly recommend this place to other people.
Helpful votes: 1/1