Morro Bay house rental - Exterior View
Exterior View
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Morro Bay House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Sunroom, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

This ocean home offers incredible 180 degree ocean views from spectacular Morro Rock to Cayucos. Make sure you visit the link below to our personal website so that you can view more photos. Across a neighborhood street to the state park ocean front (see the photos). Located 4 hours from Los Angeles and 4 hours from San Francisco, just minutes from the harbor and embarcadero of Morro Bay. Directly across this lightly used street are stairs leading down to the State Park with paths through the dunes to the beach. Six miles of beach open up to you, two miles south to Morro Rock and four miles north to the pier at Cayucos. The dog friendly beach is several blocks to the north and extends 3 and ½ miles to the town of Cayucos. Beachgoers will share the waves with surfers, kite-boarding, boogie boarders, dolphins, and otters in front of our home! Seabirds, sand dollars and shells are abundant too. Within a short walk down the beach you can explore the tide pools and rocks. Fish in the surf, build sand castles, fly kites, or just relax in the sun. The sunsets are absolutely spectacular from the front patio, living room, kitchen, dining room or in front of the fireplace with a good book.

Our location on quiet Beachcomber Drive is a favorite for families, walkers, runners, and bicyclists, who enjoy the easy walk with incredible views. You don’t have to get in your car, quiet neighborhood streets and bike trails lead you two miles to the Embarcadero with shops, restaurants and activities of Morro Bay. Golfers have choices too - just 4 miles to Morro Bay golf course with incredible views and very reasonable prices. Another local course, Dairy Creek, is just 10 miles away. Many other activities are close by: deep-sea fishing, Hearst Castle, wine tasting at some of the best wineries on the Central Coast, observing the elephant seals, monarch butterflies and blue herons, kayaking in the estuary, shopping on the Embarcadero, antiques, art galleries in Cambria and, of course, San Luis Obispo with its Farmer's Market and Mission are within a short and scenic drive. For all those necessities, one local grocery store is less than 1 mile away and Albertsons and CVS pharmacy are less than 3 miles away.

Numerous special community events include the January Bird Festival, Cayucos’ incredible classic car show, Fourth of July Parade and Morro Bay Fireworks, Morro Bay October Harbor Fest, and the December Boat Parade. There is something for everyone, especially fun and relaxation!!

We’ve priced our home to be a good value for your vacation. It was built in the ‘60s and designed to take full advantage of the incredible views. The home has newer carpeting, all new furnishings, a wood fireplace with gas lighter, tiled kitchen and baths, new linens, towels, fully equipped kitchen, and has been freshly painted throughout. The master bedroom has a king bed, large walk-in closet, flat screen TV, and spectacular views. The 2nd bedroom has a queen bed, access to a private deck and also has views of the ocean. The kitchen and bathrooms are small by today’s standards but are newly tiled, painted cute and clean. We use the sun room as a 3rd bedroom with a queen bed. There is also a double-sized futon in the dining room area. The master bath has a shower only, the guest bath includes a shower/tub combination, the full-sized washer and dryer are in the garage. The backyard is fenced and secluded, full of flowering plants and fresh herbs.

There is a secluded back patio with table and chairs, and a front patio with table and chairs so you can enjoy either privacy or cocktails at sunset. A Weber propane BBQ grill can easily be moved to either location. We’ve furnished the home with games, flat-screen TV’s, beach toys, beach towels, beach chairs, home theater system with IPod dock, a fully-equipped kitchen with microwave, coffeemaker, blender, mixer, toaster, kitchen tools, wine glasses, sets of indoor and outdoor dishes and glasses, and basic spices and condiments.

Keywords: beach home, ocean home, beach cottage

More Details
Hide Details

The owners have lived full time at Lake Tahoe for over 30 years and enjoy all the recreation activities of the mountains. With three boys in college we finally had time to look for our vacation home. We live in the mountains but love the coast too and found this incredible location for our vacation spot. Close to San Luis Obispo (20 minutes) but a low traffic small town atmosphere.

Wally Auerbach purchased this house in 2010

We researched and visited coastal spots throughout California, travelling up and down the coast. We chose Morro Bay for the combination of great activities, climate, and small town atmosphere for our relaxation. We wanted to be able to park the car and just enjoy! Watching the ocean from our living room, kitchen, bedroom and patio!

Beach walks everyday with friends, family and dogs! Watching the surfers from the house and at the Cayucos pier. Bicycling, hiking, golfing, fishing, and relaxing!!! Fresh grilled oysters and the great seafood at the harbor. The best views are the dawn sunlight on the waves and the magical sunsets every evening.

19 Reviews of Property 291014 in Morro Bay, California

Ocean Home with Spectacular Views - You Will Love This House!
average rating of 5.0 based on 19 reviews
business
Ocean Home with Spectacular Views - You Will Love This House!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291014vb
530-448-1231
Morro Bay Central Coast California
5

Beautiful Beach Front Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My family and I enjoyed a fabulous time at this lovely home in Morro Bay. It's located directly across the street from the beach and has incredible views from most rooms in the house. Great location! We rented several homes in the neighborhood, but this was our favorite. Our whole family enjoyed group meals at this house as it had plenty of indoor and outdoor seating areas for all to relax together. The house is well equipped with everything you could possibly need. We cooked-in all our meals and it was such a pleasure to work in a well-stocked kitchen with a gorgeous view of the ocean. Beautiful bedrooms that slept 6 adults (two with ocean views) Nice linens and very comfy beds. My elderly father said he could have sat outside on the comfortable patio chairs all day gazing at the ocean, if we let him. There were 3 different areas for outdoor seating, two with unobstructed beach views. We enjoyed appetizers and cocktails out on the front patio area with seating for 10. You won't be disappointed with this beach front home. We plan to go back next year. We went bike riding with the kids and found a lovely park and playground nearby. Close distance to the town of Morro Bay. Also enjoyed going to the car show in Cayucos - another lovely beach town 4 miles up the road. My husband enjoyed getting up early and walking across the street to go surfing. The communication with the owners was excellent. Place looks even better than the photos. Very clean and well maintained. If you don't want to eat in, there are plenty of good restaurants nearby. Must try Taco Temple for the largest and freshest tacos. You won't be disappointed with this rental home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Ocean Home with Spectacular Views - You Will Love This House!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291014vb
530-448-1231
Morro Bay Central Coast California
Thousand Oaks, CA
5

Private and peaceful sanctuary on the Central Coast :-)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My husband and I make a trip up the coast once a year and since it is usually a short stay, have booked hotels in the past. There are a few dog-friendly options available, but the rooms are generally really small and rarely have a decent view. You find yourself not wanting to spend any time there - just to sleep, then be on your way.

So glad I looked into VRBO as well as other vacation rental outfits and found this phenomenal home. Even if the weather had been bad, however it was perfect, just sitting in Wally's home was ultimate vacation bliss. The views are amazing and you are close enough to hear the sound of waves crashing and nothing else. Not only is the house spacious, but the yard is bordered by a wash so you are not up against any neighbors and the ones you encounter on walks with the dogs are incredibly friendly. The location, just blocks from a fantastic dog-friendly off leash beach and super short drive to many fabulous restaurants could not be more perfect. (We did drive by a few of the other VRBO homes and were super glad we picked this one! The others weren't in as great or convenient location or looked more shabby than in Picts...). The house was also very well stocked and had a super spacious fridge for groceries as well as anything you could possibly need. A few grocery stores are very close, but we ate all our meals as take outs because the food was just fantastic and it was so nice to eat at "home" vs finding dog friendly dining as well, though many places are. Be sure to get some BBQ oysters, burgers from the Wee Shack, and the Mexican Mocha from Top Dog. Oh, and even the golf course has awesome views per husband... There is a dog-friendly hike there that is a bit steep, but brings you to what feels like the top of the world! The Fiscilini preserve is also great and not too far from here and the dogs loved it almost as much as the beach. And as another reviewer stated, there is a place to wash off your dogs if they get sandy.
The beachfront in front of the house barely had anyone on it during our stay so you truly felt that you had your own private sanctuary with Morro Rock as a big added bonus. Be sure to crack open the window in the Master bedroom as you sleep so you can hear the waves - super cozy blankets so even if the room gets chilly you are as snug as a bug! And even though our stay was short, three nights, the price was an absolute bargain for what you get. Can't wait to get back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Ocean Home with Spectacular Views - You Will Love This House!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291014vb
530-448-1231
Morro Bay Central Coast California
Hanford, CA
5

WOW

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Fabulous view from the living room. The is fully equipped with everything you need. We had a great time . Will do it again.
Ray
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ocean Home with Spectacular Views - You Will Love This House!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291014vb
530-448-1231
Morro Bay Central Coast California
Central California
5

Wonderful house to escape to!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We love staying here! Our family felt so at home - the house is clean, has all the comforts of home but with the most amazing view ever! We loved sitting outside at night, walking on the beaches and our dog loved exploring the back yard.

We ate most of our meals at the house - there is a market not far away. There is great dining close by so you have lots of options for meals. Go eat breakfast at Frankie & Lola's in Morro Bay...it's a must!

We are already planning a return trip this summer!!!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Ocean Home with Spectacular Views - You Will Love This House!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291014vb
530-448-1231
Morro Bay Central Coast California
5

Beach Side Bliss

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We rented this home for a quick get away and a visit with our family and found ourselves wanting a longer get away, perhaps a month! This adorable home is such a welcoming retreat from our hectic lives, a great place to unwind & relax. We found everything we needed and then some. The beds are so comfortable, super soft Tommy Bahama bed linens, down pillows and duvets, make for a great nights sleep with the sounds of the surf lulling us into dreamland. Everything was spotless upon our arrival, a nice fresh smelling home, even the bathrooms were stocked with items that we may have forgot. The attention to the small details really make this home so charming & welcoming. The decor is adorable beach chic and makes you want to get the blender going with some Margaritas and sit down in front of the living room windows or at the outside table and watch the surf roll in. We had my elderly parents along and they just loved everything about it and found the home to be extremely comfortable. As well my sister and her family live nearby and we had them over for dinner a couple of nights. The home just absorbed everyone and we never felt crowded at all. We all had room to chat, watch TV, hang out in the patio areas and of course go to the beach and dig our toes in the sand. One of my families favorite places for some great modern Mexican food is the Taco Temple, a hop, skip & jump from the home! We can wait for the opportunity to head on back down and enjoy this wonderful home again. It really doesn't get much better than the Beachcomber Beauty!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Ocean Home with Spectacular Views - You Will Love This House!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291014vb
530-448-1231
Morro Bay Central Coast California
Mesa, AZ
5

Relaxing and wondrful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
After 2 weeks at this wonderful property, I have decided to do it again next summer. I decided that after the 1st night. This house has it all....and the owner, Wally, was great to work with. Make this house your house and enjoy. For 2 weeks, I entertained family, friends, college roommates........we enjoyed wonderful food and local Paso wines....the ocean views were amazing from the house. I can't wait til next summer!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Ocean Home with Spectacular Views - You Will Love This House!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291014vb
530-448-1231
Morro Bay Central Coast California
Sacramento CA
5

VIEWS ARE AWESOME!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
There is no way to prepare you for the awesome views from this spectacular house! The moment we walked in we were swept away with the panoramic views!! Of course, the weather was spectacular, even though we were staying in late December; high 60's each day, sunny and quite warm!! The house is very cozy, extremely clean and well stocked with everything noted on the website. We found ourselves not reading what we brought, but instead sitting, visiting and watching the view! We enjoyed many long walks on the beach, which seems unending at times!

The kitchen is small, with limited access once you open the dishwasher or oven, but so workable for one person. The furniture and linens are elegant and suit the home very well. I enjoyed the luxurious sheets, bedskirt and gorgeous pillows on each bed. Ample closet space and loads and loads of soft fluffy towels.

The spice cupboard rivals my own!! We cooked a few times and enjoyed the choices and availability of spices. We visited a few local restaurants and enjoyed some local seafood.

Since returning, I found my thoughts drifting to the hours spent in front of the windows and how calming and relaxing our vacation was spent!! I have personally recommended this home to friends, as it is very hard to relay in words how awesome it really is!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Sara. Glad you enjoyed your time at our property. We have big plans for that kitchen by the way. If the house wasn't so popular we would have more time to make those changes!
business
Ocean Home with Spectacular Views - You Will Love This House!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291014vb
530-448-1231
Morro Bay Central Coast California
Newtown, PA
5

Terry from Newtown, PA

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We had the best time here during our week in Morro Bay. The house is in excellent condition and had everything needed to make it a great week. We cooked our Thanksgiving meal here and the kitchen is well-stocked with all of the cooking utensils and appliances needed to make a gourmet meal. But the best part was having the ocean view everyday. We loved walking on the beach discovering the tidepools. We enjoyed riding bikes on the trail to town. We got to see the elephant seals north of Hearst Castle and the sea lions hanging out on the dock by the harbor in Morro Bay. Thanks for a great week!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Ocean Home with Spectacular Views - You Will Love This House!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291014vb
530-448-1231
Morro Bay Central Coast California
Phoenix, AZ
5

Wonderful home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We had an absolutely wonderful vacation in Morro Bay. This rental home was everything we had hoped it would be and then some! It was tastefully decorated, had all the conveniences of home, and was in an absolutely awesome location. We totally relaxed, loved walking to the beach (easy walking distance), watching the sunsets from home (got some gorgeous pictures), and especially listening to the ocean from the comforts of home. I have been a sand dollar collector for years, since a trip to Oregon about 20 years ago. I always feel fortunate to find just 1 or 2 sand dollars in La Jolla or Del Mar with each trip, so you can imagine my ecstasy at the amazing numbers of PERFECT ones I found on the beaches of Morro Bay. We also loved the little town of Morro Bay, the protected harbor, restaurants on the water, kayaking in the estuaries (amongst the sea otters and pelicans), great shopping and a fantastic interactive historical museum overlooking the bay.

Wally (owner) was great to work with in reserving this rental house. He was very responsive to questions and emails, and helpful in every way. What a pleasure coordinating this trip….We hope to be back again soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks D. We have tried to provide everything that we need if we come and stay there ourselves, which we do quite often. It's nice to know our guests appreciate the small things too. Thanks for staying with us, and we hope to see you again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ocean Home with Spectacular Views - You Will Love This House!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291014vb
530-448-1231
Morro Bay Central Coast California
Las Vegas, NV/USA
5

Lisa and Johnny O. escape from Vegas

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
This is the cleanest, most well stocked, accommodating rental. Our entire rental experience was positive. The owners have paid close attention to detail. The back yard is enclosed which allowed us to unleash our dog and clean him after our beach walks. The dog beach is only .5 miles from the house. There is close access to the dog restricted beach and the house has beautiful views of Morro Rock. The beach is loaded with sand dollars and seashells. Next to the dog beach are tide pools and they are incredible. The house is beautifully furnished and this rental provides everything you could possibly need--amenities that most rentals don't provide: soap, laundry detergent, games, dog bowls, even dog toys! My dog was elated when he discovered them. They even put reed diffusers in the closets and bathrooms. The owners made this experience so pleasant. We didn't go into town much but it's close to the Morro Bay Embarcadero. The rental profile pictures accurately depict the beauty of the house and location. If you rent-please take care of this place because we will return and want it to be as nice as it was during our visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2