Fort Davis house rental - Hopes Ranch in Summer
Hopes Ranch in Summer
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Fort Davis House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Sleeping Porch, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Our favorite part of the ranch house is the screened porch. Our guests tell us they often head out to the porch with their coffee in the mornings and find they don't move again until lunch! The views are so broad, and the opportunities to see quail, deer and sheep keep things exciting.

We take pride in our comfortable beds in all 3 rooms. The spacious living/dining area are perfect not only for eating, but for visiting and playing games. And kids can run all over the grounds, finding 'treasures' on scavanger hunts.

Indoors, the extra dining tables are often used to set up jigsaw puzzles, and folks often use the basket of paperbacks to relax with a good book. Our goal is for our guests to relax completely, while putting them in close proximity to the favorite tourist attractions. We offer the best of both

History buffs: The Fort Davis National Historic Site features one of the nations' best preserved frontier forts. During special events, costumed reinactors perform live skits. This is a 'must see' for any visit to Fort Davis. Only 2 miles from Hopes Ranch.

Astronomers delight: Famous for the McDonald Observatory, Fort Davis features the darkest night skies in the lower 48 states. While staying at Hopes Ranch, you can set up lawn chairs and lie flat on your back to see a bejeweled sky. Only 18 miles away is the observatory, with a fabulous visitor center featuring both guided and self-guided tours. Twilight parties and Star Parties are featured 3 nights each week, with well-trained, highly educated docents to lead them. Don't miss this!

Gateway to Big Bend National Park: If you're on the way to Big Bend National Park, plan to spend a few days here in the Davis Mountains before you journey on. There is a lot to see and do in Fort Davis, and you can even make a quick day trip to Big Bend if your schedule is tight.

More Details
Hide Details

Steve and Carla are life-long Texans, having grown up in the Dallas-Ft. Worth area. We graduated from Baylor University before heading to Austin for 25 years in the industrial sector. We raised our family there, and founded a welding supply business. After we sold our business, we headed west to establish the Old Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast in Fort Davis. Our daughter's family loves to visit to slow down from their fast paced lives. The grandkids, like most of our guests, like being 'unplugged' for a while. We love the simpler life style and wouldn't trade it for anything.

Steve & Carla Kennedy purchased this house in 2004

We came to Fort Davis in 1999 to live more simply. As long-time owners of the Old Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast in Fort Davis, we saw a need for an alternative accommodation here, and Hope Wilson was kind enough to sell us her ranch. We're pleased to offer it as a rental so others can enjoy our beautiful part of the state. The climate, the scenery, the people, and the hospitality all combine to make this a great place to visit and to live.

13 Reviews of Property 344909 in Fort Davis, Texas

Hopes Ranch Guest House
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Hopes Ranch Guest House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344909
+1 432 426-2050
Fort Davis Big Bend
Katy, TX, USA
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Our family of six stayed five days at Hope's Ranch and loved every minute! There was plenty of space for everyone, the porch was perfect to have a cup of coffee and read a book and the kids had a blast flying kites in the yard. We could not have asked for a better location-- 20 minutes to the observatory, 15 minutes to the Davis Mtns. State Park and right down the street from Fort Davis and the grocery store. We will be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Hopes Ranch Guest House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344909
+1 432 426-2050
Fort Davis Big Bend
Wimberley, TX
5

lovely quiet spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Clean, with very comfortable beds, plenty of room (there were 6 of us, including 3 generations). Nice views. Near hikes and outdoor activities. Inside Amusements for the too-windy day. Well stocked kitchen. We had a wonderful time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Hopes Ranch Guest House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344909
+1 432 426-2050
Fort Davis Big Bend
Tomball, Texas
5

Felt like home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We rented the house, the owners thought of every thing you could possibly need and then some. They went out of their way to help you and make you feel welcome.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was our pleasure to have you stay with us, and we're so glad you had a good experience. The night sky was perfect for observing during your visit, as it often is, so we hope you were able to take advantage of that as well. Please come back anytime.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Hopes Ranch Guest House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344909
+1 432 426-2050
Fort Davis Big Bend
Amarillo, TX
5

Kevin and Jeanice

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Hopes Ranch was every bit as good as the advertised on the web site and we could not have asked for better accommodations. The house was huge and had everything you need to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. The kitchen and pantry were very well stocked. The living areas were very well appointed and the furniture comfortable. The three large bedrooms were immaculate and comfy. We enjoyed the screened in porch and ate most of our meals there.

The seclusion of the ranch made for a very relaxing and enjoyable experience. The star viewing at night was spectacular. We spent half a day in town and then went up to the McDonald Observatory and did the tour, twilight, and evening parties. The views from atop the mountain were "out of this world". The next day we drove around the scenic loop and made stops to enjoy the views, climb rocks, and picnic.

I would highly recommend the Hopes Ranch to anyone with a family or large group. There's plenty of room for everyone and plenty of activities to keep everyone entertained. Steve and Carla are wonderful hosts and did an excellent job of making sure we enjoyed our stay. We will definitely be back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hopes Ranch Guest House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344909
+1 432 426-2050
Fort Davis Big Bend
Plano, TX
5

A Beautiful Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We stayed for three nights in June 2013. The house is beautiful and big and well appointed and maintained. It was above our expectations and we hope to stay there again when we return to Ft. Davis. The owners were very nice and were available but everything we needed was already there. The view is beautiful, we got watch a storm come in and the supermoon one night when the moon was so bright it cast our shadow. The cool air evening is a great change to other parts of Texas in summer. The house feels like you are miles away from anything while sitting on the screened in porch, but it is really just minutes from town, Ft Davis, the National Park and the Observatory. Marfa and Alpine are both about 20-25 miles away so this place makes a great base for exploring the area. We were by ourselves, just us two and it was very relaxing and romantic. But this house would be fabulous for a family get together or a group that wanted to share costs and have a much better home base than a hotel room. Couldn't have been more pleased.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and that you got to witness first hand some of the natural events that we frequently enjoy in Fort Davis. We believe Hope's Ranch is a treasure, and we're glad you agree. Please come back any time.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hopes Ranch Guest House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344909
+1 432 426-2050
Fort Davis Big Bend
San Angelo, TX
5

Perfect setting for family get together.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We stayed over Labor Day weekend with our grown children. It was the perfect getaway. The house is very spacious with lots of private spots to curl up with a book or join the rest of the family in the comfortable living area. The kitchen had everything we needed and was plenty big enough for several cooks at the same time. The propane grill was ready to go our first night there. We did lots of cooking and especially enjoyed shopping at the organic grocery in town. We enjoyed all our meals on the screened porch. Lots of comfortable seating, especially the glider, and the large picnic table had room for all of us.
The house was everything the description implied. It had a very comfortable, homey feel. Beautiful views and cool breezes through the open windows. We seldom needed the evaporative cooler, but when we did it cooled the house quickly.
We drove to Marfa for the Marfa Lights Festival and to the Star Party at the McDonald Observatory. Both were just a short distance away. We felt peaceful and secluded at Hope's Ranch but could be in Fort Davis in just a few minutes. We will definitely return to Hope's Ranch.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We're so glad you enjoyed your visit. We think the porch is one of the favorite places to chill out, so we are glad you thought so, too. We hope this is the first of many visits.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hopes Ranch Guest House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344909
+1 432 426-2050
Fort Davis Big Bend
Willis, Texas
5

Great stay, great sleep, great surroundings

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
My husband and I stayed a Hope's ranch for 4 days in August 2011. We had everything that we needed. The views were beautiful and the accomodations were first class.
As a couples retreat, we had the time and quiet to focus on each other. However, the home is perfect for a family getaway or reunion as well.
Whether you want to hide out or get together, the Kennedy's have thought of everything you could need!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are glad you had a good time, and we look forward to another opportunity to host you.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Hopes Ranch Guest House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344909
+1 432 426-2050
Fort Davis Big Bend
Texas
5

NYE 2012

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
A group of 8 of us stayed here for over New Year's Eve 2012 and had a great time. The house is very comfortable and the Kennedys were extremely accommodating. We were late for our check-in and they were nice enough to wait on us to arrive. The house is the perfect mixture of seclusion and accessibility to town. I highly recommend Hope's Ranch to anyone looking to stay in beautiful Fort Davis.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We're glad you guys enjoyed yourselves and were such good stewards of the property. That will help us keep it nice for the folks that will come later. Please come back anytime you're out here in the Texas mountains.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hopes Ranch Guest House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344909
+1 432 426-2050
Fort Davis Big Bend
austin
5

beautiful place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
My husband and I spent two cold, late-fall nights here on our way to Big Bend and couldn't have been happier. The house is tastefully and comfortably furnished with a nice open layout and beautiful wood floors, the kitchen was well stocked, and the king-sized bed in the master extremely comfortable. Lots of nice touches like games, warm throw for the couch, binoculars and bird books, etc...Wifi worked great...Just a short drive into town, but a very peaceful, secluded spot and a nice jumping- off spot for day hikes and bikes. The owners were very helpful and accommodating - even when we ended up arriving late - and made sure we were settled with everything we need. It would be a great place for a family gathering...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind words. We hope this is the first of many visits.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hopes Ranch Guest House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344909
+1 432 426-2050
Fort Davis Big Bend
Dakar, West Africa
5

A Wonderful Break

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Our family of 4, 2 adults and 2 teenagers spent a superb 5 nights at Hope Ranch (in July). Despite the burn damage to the surroundings the landscape was still evocative and we enjoyed stunning sunsets and dawns. I can truly say that I enjoyed everything about the experience - the kitchen was well stocked with both hardware and basic supplies. Furniture was all comfortable and Fort Davis delightful. We would not hesitate to return and I hope that it will be sooner rather than later.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad that you enjoyed it all, even after the burn. Now that the rains have come, everything is really green around here,and it's much more like our normal summertime temperatures. I'm glad we're moving forward, and we thank you for being part of our recovery.
Helpful votes: 1/1