Machiasport cottage rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Machiasport Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 8-10)

Seacliff is a charming three-bedroom, one level, shabby-chic summer cottage. It is privately situated in the quiet village of Starboard Cove on Maine’s pristine Downeast coastline. The large porch just feet from the water awaits your early (or late) morning coffee, and another deck with steps leading down to the rock covered beach allows direct access to the water’s edge. Seacliff’s front yard is the Atlantic Ocean and dramatic open ocean and coastal island views await you. If the fog comes in, sit back with a good book and enjoy the warmth and crackle of the expansive coastal rock fireplace. Although you can’t see it, you’ll also hear the plaintive sound of Libby Lighthouse . . . life is good.

Just a few steps from the main cottage is Downeast, a cozy and charming one room guest cottage, fully equipped with a kitchenette, queen size bed and a three-quarter bath. Downeast can be rented along with Seacliff for an additional fee if you have lots of family/guests.

Part of the allure of Machias is its obstinate resistance to giving up its local charm. Although you’ll find a large well-equipped grocery store, you won’t find a Wal-Mart. And while you’ll find a McDonald’s and a Dunkin Donuts, you won’t find a Chucky Cheese. There is a Rite-Aid, bank, several gas stations, and some great local family restaurants that you won’t want to miss!

From Seacliff, you can walk to an island at low tide. A winding dirt road that starts right after Seacliff leads to idyllic views and a natural gravel bar that leads to Starboard Island. Also, located just a mile from Seacliff is one of the most unusual beaches anywhere, Jasper Beach. The multicolored pebbles of Jasper Beach paint an exquisite and rare coastline.

In addition, there are many day trip options in the area including: West Quoddy Head in Lubec Maine (45 minute drive from Seacliff) which is home to West Quoddy Head Light -- the only candy-striped lighthouse in the U.S.A., Campabello Island, Canada and East Quoddy Head (less than an hour from Seacliff) where you can take the International Bridge to Campabello Island, Canada and visit Franklin Delano Roosevelt’s summer “cottage.” And then there’s the world famous Acadia National Park and Mt Desert Island (two hours from Seacliff).

In order to make this a pleasant rental for all smoking is not allowed inside the cottage.

Keywords: Cottage, Ocean view, Private, Beach, water front, fishing, boating

More Details
Hide Details

15 Reviews of Property 344669 in Machiasport, Maine

Oceanfront, Hidden Treasure in Starboard Cove, Machiasport
average rating of 5.0 based on 15 reviews
business
Oceanfront, Hidden Treasure in Starboard Cove, Machiasport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344669vbi
603-781-4024
Machiasport Downeast and Acadia
Batavia,IL
5

So Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Seacliff is a very relaxing, scenic property. The cottage has cute decorating, an incredible view, an awesome porch, and a great deck for stargazing. Mary greets guests with a tasty blueberry pie and lots of warmth and friendliness. My wife and I tended to spend our days wandering around to places such as Bar Harbor (very crowded and touristy), Eastport (cute town about an hour north), and the Quoddy Head lighthouse (great lighthouse and incredibly scenic hiking trails). It was great to come back to Seacliff at the end of the day for the utmost in relaxation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront, Hidden Treasure in Starboard Cove, Machiasport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344669vbi
603-781-4024
Machiasport Downeast and Acadia
Cary, NC
5

Perfectly situated and beautifully appointed

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Having met on a Maine windjammer in 1989, we have vacationed in the Midcoast area several times since. This was our first time visiting the Down East area, however, and we were thrilled to have found Seacliff. It is perfectly situated and beautifully appointed, and Mary and Bill are THE most gracious hosts!

The cottage had everything we could have imagined... from an idyllic and peaceful location, to breathtaking sunrises, to refreshing ocean breezes, to the haunting foghorn of Libby Island Lighthouse, to the melodic loons in the cove as we rocked on the porch with our morning coffee, to the energetic hummingbirds at the feeder, to the close proximity to Machias (for the annual blueberry festival), Lubec and Campobello Island.

We were greeted upon arrival with Mary's delicious blueberry pie and graced near our departure with the stunning sailboat "Rebecca" that anchored right in the cove beyond the deck. In between, we hiked the Western Head Preserve in Cutler, pondered the clacking stones of Jasper Beach with the ebbing tide, took walks to the point of Maine (and met some interesting folks along the way), lunched al fresco on the deck, sipped some excellent wine purchased at the French Cellar, searched and found some seaglass, and discovered the quaint little fishing villages of Jonesport and Beals Island.

During our week here, we rose with the sun, retired early, and relished many a nap on the extremely comfortable three-seat sofa. On our final evening, we treated ourselves to a sumptuous dinner at Riverside Inn & Restaurant (we highly recommend it!) and Mother Nature treated us to a most glorious moonrise.

It was a perfect end to a perfect week Down East! Although we were sad to leave this charming cottage and area, we did so relaxed and recharged. We're already looking forward to our return visit to Seacliff.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront, Hidden Treasure in Starboard Cove, Machiasport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344669vbi
603-781-4024
Machiasport Downeast and Acadia
5

Starboard Cove

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Thank you Mary and Bill,

The most wonderful sunrises and sunsets anywhere. Mary and Bill exhibited such attention to detail and thoughtfulness in preparing this property. Everything that could be needed was found in the cottage. So comfortable and charming. Sounds of the ocean were good for quieting the mind and soul. So peaceful. Only short drives to Schoodic Point in Acadia, and Quoddy Head Lighthouse. I would be honored to visit again. Thank you so much.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront, Hidden Treasure in Starboard Cove, Machiasport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344669vbi
603-781-4024
Machiasport Downeast and Acadia
Andreas PA
5

Peaceful at its best !!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My wife and I (and our other furry family member) have used VRBO over 10 times. THIS place turned out to be the best from minute one ! IT was exactly what we were looking for. Bill and Mary have spent a lot of time polishing this jewel of a place. We felt pampered; we felt like we were home on the ocean. Lots to do and see or NOT; that was the neat part. And being 11 miles from the nearest retail establishment, and traffic and all the other daily occurrences of life were fine with us. We hope to make it back up here some day; we have a very large "bucket list"to go through. But when we need a break from life, we will think of SEACLIFF fondly. Thanks Bill and Mary !!
PS - Thank for the pie and ice cream upon arrival - What a perfect way to start the week !!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront, Hidden Treasure in Starboard Cove, Machiasport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344669vbi
603-781-4024
Machiasport Downeast and Acadia
Metuchen, NJ
5

Cannot wait to go back!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This was our first time renting a vacation house, and I think Seacliff has spoiled us for all others. The house is immaculate, and we felt like our every wish had been anticipated by the owners, who were there (with a freshly baked pie!) to greet and show us around when we arrived. And what an eye opener we had, having arrived at night, when we opened the bedroom drapes next morning to see a horizon-to-horizon view of sunrise over the water---spectacular, and just what we needed on our vacation. Thank you so much. We will absolutely be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront, Hidden Treasure in Starboard Cove, Machiasport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344669vbi
603-781-4024
Machiasport Downeast and Acadia
Morrisville, Vt
5

On the Edge of the Atlantic

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The comfortable cottage in Starboard Cove is everything that the other reviewers have said. We live in a beautiful and peaceful valley in northern Vermont and have often found vacation rentals a bit of let down. Not so at Starboard Cove. It is quiet, clean, comfortable and absolutely on the edge of the blue water. If you want excitement and tourist attractions this is not the place for you. If you want a lovely restful week on the ocean in Downeast Maine, it doesn't get any better than this.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
business
Oceanfront, Hidden Treasure in Starboard Cove, Machiasport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344669vbi
603-781-4024
Machiasport Downeast and Acadia
Windham, NH
5

A Coastal Maine Oasis

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
If it wasn't plagiarism, I would have copied and pasted the last traveller's review (the Wakefield guests). :)
In our own words, though, this place was just what we've been searching for over the last several years. It truly is the perfect coastal Maine vacation spot. The soothing sound of the surf, the peaceful hum of a lobster boat from time to time, the occasional distant sound of a foghorn, the cry of the seagulls, the glistening sun on the water (great place for sunrise photos), cool and refreshing sea breezes, the stellar dome of a clear night sky, and the panoramic ocean view. . all combined made for a perfect oasis for us and our friends.

The house itself is clean, comfortable, cozy, and well furnished. It's easy to make yourself at home here.

The owners are very accomodating and welcoming and allow their guests the privacy that we all crave from time to time. They will make themselves available to address any of your questions or concerns.

Thanks for a great vacation, Bill and Mary! Hope we can come for longer some day in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
business
Oceanfront, Hidden Treasure in Starboard Cove, Machiasport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344669vbi
603-781-4024
Machiasport Downeast and Acadia
Wakefield, Massachusetts
5

A Week In Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My husband and I spent 5 nights at Seacliff and had an wonderful time. Mary and Bill could not have been nicer and more accomodating. When we arrived at the house we were greeted with one of Mary's homemade blueberry pies (vanilla ice cream in the freezer, too!), and an unbelievable view of the water from the dining and living room windows. I was in heaven! All of the rooms were immaculate and very nicely decorated. The view of the water from the master bedroom was also wonderful. I spent hours sitting, in one of the rocking chairs on the porch, just looking at the water, hummingbirds feeding, the clouds, boats and listening to the waves on the shore and the rocks. We were able to sit closer to the water, also, which was very nice as well as walk on our own private beach. I did not watch one minute of TV or pick up a book or magazine all week as I did not want to miss out on the water! My afternoon cup of tea tasted so much better when sitting on the porch! The area of Machias is also very nice with shops, restaurants and Revolutionary War history. On the only rainy day of our stay we took a tour of the tavern in town that was built in 1770. We loved our stay and hated to leave. We are planning on returning for two weeks next summer and the memory of the sunrises, moonrises, stars, foghorn and oh, that water, will be with us for a long time. Thank you Bill and Mary for the wonderful home you share and for being so nice!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront, Hidden Treasure in Starboard Cove, Machiasport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344669vbi
603-781-4024
Machiasport Downeast and Acadia
Perkasie, PA
5

Great cottage, Great Hosts

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a wonderful time at the cottage. It is extremely very equipped with everything we needed. Great weather was also included!! Comfortable beds and lovely view. What more could you want?
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanfront, Hidden Treasure in Starboard Cove, Machiasport
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344669vbi
603-781-4024
Machiasport Downeast and Acadia
Atlanta, GA
5

Just right

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The cottage was by far the cleanest most well-staged place we have ever stayed and we do this often enough to know. Greeted by the owners and shown the ropes there was a fresh strawberry rhubarb pie on the dining table when we walked in. My wife and I along with our two whippets had a great time. Weather was perfect the entire time. Warm sunny days, cool nights. In addition to being able to relax in a great location, with a wonderful view we explored the area. Hiking on the Bold Coast trail try offered a challenging hike with spectacular views. We also drove up to Lubec, Campobello Island and West and East Quoddy lighthouses, appx. 45 minutes drive time up the coast. You can hang out here or explore.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1