Siesta Key cottage rental
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 - 14 nights
 

Siesta Key Cottage Rental Photos and Description
4 Bedrooms, 3 Full Baths, Sleeps 12, Chef's Gourmet Kitchen, Heated Pool and Spa

The Grand Canal Cottage, perhaps one of Siesta Key’s favorite luxury vacation homes, is a highly landscaped canal-front private luxury home featuring a heated pool with sun shelf and a separate 8-person spa. It is situated on Siesta Key within two walking blocks of the world’s most beautiful white sand beach and only a short walk to the village. This home features four tastefully decorated bedrooms that can accommodate up to twelve, three full baths, and a true gourmet kitchen featuring a six-burner gas Viking double range, a Miele dishwasher, an under counter wine cooler and stainless steel Traulsen refrigerator/cooler with glass doors. Seating for 10 at the dining table and 4 at the bar counter makes dining together easy. This fabulous home is very convenient to the Village, two blocks to the beach and the city of Sarasota which offers world-class restaurants, side walk cafes, theater, art galleries, opera, museums, specialty shops, boutiques and nightlife. The Grand Canal Cottage features an abundance of fruit trees, palm trees, flowers, a huge brick paver waterside terrace [seats 24] with a heated pool and a separate heated 8-person spa, 2 kayaks, 6 bicycles, a fishing dock with an underwater fish light and great fishing, an enclosed garage, and an oversized parking paver driveway.

MASTER SUITE AND OTHER BEDROOMS: The Master Suite is very large with two comfortable swivel chairs, a leather Stressless chair, a writing desk, a triple slider offering a wonderful view of the waterfront, wall mounted flat panel TV. bamboo floors and a very comfortable King size bed [sleeps 2]. The bath is travertine and includes a very nice shower with glass enclosure, an oversize steeping bath and dual sinks. The 2nd bedroom has 2 full size beds [sleeps 4], wall mounted flat panel TV, nice furnishings and linens. The third bedroom has 1 queen bed [sleeps 2] with nice furnishings and linens, a wall mounted flat panel TV and a leather reading chair. The 4th bedroom is a separate apartment with 2 twins and 1 full bed [sleeps 4], 2 leather recliners, private outdoor elevated deck, full tile bath, kitchenette with fridge and microwave, wall mounted flat panel TV, simulated fireplace heating system, wood floors and a high ceiling with fan. It’s perfect for a couple with small children or the teenagers who desire their “own space” An oversize new set of washer/dryers in available as well as internet, wi-fi and Apple TV.

BEACH, VILLAGE & LANDSCAPING: Siesta Beach, one of the world’s finest [rated No. 16 by TripAdviser in 2013] is two blocks [approx 1/4 mile] directly west on Avenida Del Mare. You’ll love its crystal white quartz sand which remains cool in the summer and fine to the touch. It’s rare to find a large canal home so close to the beach. Excellent facilities are available at the beach including lifeguards, volleyball, morning exercise sessions, bathrooms, tennis, snack bar and plenty of parking [800 spaces and more coming]. It is within easy walking distance and a beach caddy with plenty of beach chairs and beach equipment is provided. Siesta Key Village is approximately 1 mile north of Avenida Del Mare. A leisure walk will get you there in 15 minutes. Plenty of restaurants, shops and night spots. Florida is known for its beaches, climate and foliage so this home features on its grounds an amazing amount of lavish tropical foliage to include many flower species as well as many fruit tree varieties. If you like plants and nature, you’ll love the grounds [almost like a botanical garden].

OUTDOOR ACTIVITIES: Everyone will enjoy the new heated pool with sun-shelf, 2 Kayaks for the canals, the 60 jet 8-person heated spa, flat screens everywhere for sports, the bicycles [6], the short distance to the beach, the outdoor gas grill, the wine cooler near the kitchen, the huge outdoor terrace, the underwater snook light bringing hundreds of fish right to the dock every night, terrific fishing off the lower waterfront deck at night, the canal front location and the nearby village.

WEDDINGS AND LARGE FAMILY GATHERINGS: The Grand Canal Cottage is designed to entertain large groups. The exterior patio veranda has plenty of seating room [24]. We have had many wedding parties with guests ranging from 40 to 50 with ease. The kitchen is essentially a professional chef’s kitchen with capability of preparing foods and h'ordourves for large groups as well.

During Winter and Summer seasons, the Grand Canal Cottage requires a two-week or more stay. Holidays are slightly higher in rates– see rates below.

More Details
Hide Details

The Grand Canal Cottage, perhaps one of Siesta Key’s favorite luxury vacation homes, is a highly landscaped canal-front private luxury home featuring a heated pool with sun shelf and a separate 8-person spa.

11 Reviews of Property 344376 in Siesta Key, Florida

Unique Waterfront 4BR/3BA w/ Heated Pool and Spa, Close to Beach
average rating of 5.0 based on 11 reviews
business
Unique Waterfront 4BR/3BA w/ Heated Pool and Spa, Close to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344376
+1 941-681-0169
Siesta Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Fantastic time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Our family of 3 generation had an amazing vacation at this wonderful house. This is by far one of the most thoughtfully laid out and well equipped beach houses we have encountered in many years of renting vacation properties. The personalized cupcakes and the prestocked wine fridge was just what we needed upon arrival after a noisy plane ride with all the kids.
It was then off to the nearby amazing beach and doing some shopping on 41. Other members explored and enjoyed the beautiful and private landscaped grounds, my mom was especially delighted to see some unfamiliar tropical trees and plants. The kids loved fishing in the backyard, the snook light was great for seeing the fish. The week went by too quickly.
Overall a wonderful experience and we are very appreciative for the opportunity. Also appreciate Roger's detailed info guide on the house so we quickly felt at home. Thanks so much!
Helpful votes: 5/12
business
Unique Waterfront 4BR/3BA w/ Heated Pool and Spa, Close to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344376
+1 941-681-0169
Siesta Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Chicago Burbs
5

Great Family Escape!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
What a great place for a great family vacation. Easy & enjoyable walk to the beach with a stroller. Other family members enjoyed the bikes and kayaks provided. Roger was very attentive to all details and even got life jackets for my young daughters since we rented his boat. My almost 3 year old caught a fish off the dock, which was very exciting. If you have young children, beware that the dock is not fenced off & adult supervision is needed. It wasn't a problem for us with 6 adults. The kids loved watching the fish swim in the snook lights at night. Comfy beds, too. We would love to visit again.
Helpful votes: 9/41
business
Unique Waterfront 4BR/3BA w/ Heated Pool and Spa, Close to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344376
+1 941-681-0169
Siesta Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

ABOVE AND BEYOND!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Our experience at the "Grand Canal Cottage" was beyond exceptional from start to finish. From the first phone conversation with the owner Roger, to the follow up calls - no detail was too small, no request went unanswered...and we had a lot of questions! 10 family members stayed at the house, but one day during our stay was a family birthday celebration with 30 guests! Roger didn't blink an eye at the suggestion of a party but rather asked how he could be of help, offering parking options, the best place to buy key lime pies and what supplies were available for us to use. Many times rental homes have the bare minimum - linens, towels and dish soap. Grand Canal Cottage has everything! Serving dishes, utensils, spices, wine, a cooler, bicycles...you name it!
The 3 main bedrooms provided great "couple space," especially the Master with it's own sitting area. The bunk room, or should I say bunk "apartment," was a great option for the kids who loved the idea of having their own place with a mini fridge and a flat screen! The outdoor patio looking out onto the canal - complete with hot tub, kayaks, a gas grill and bar - was delightful. The lush landscaping topped off the inviting setting.
-The 2 block walk to the beach is not an easy walk for some seniors, but there are 4 great bikes to choose from to make the distance negligible.
- Pictures always make spaces look larger than they are but the space at the cottage was more than adequate. The photos available on the website tell the true story of a warm, well appointed, well thought out home for vacationers to enjoy!
Thank you Roger...and daughter in law Heather...for all you did to make our family celebration one that we will never forget! And, Siesta Key itself was a wonderful place to visit too!
Helpful votes: 11/46
business
Unique Waterfront 4BR/3BA w/ Heated Pool and Spa, Close to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344376
+1 941-681-0169
Siesta Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Chicago, IL
5

A home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
My family and friends could not have been happier about the time we spent together in Roger's beautiful home and discovering Siesta Key. In the three weeks I was there, we ate out only once, because it was so much fun to prepare meals together in the fully stocked gourmet kitchen. I thought my guests would miss not having a swimming pool but we decided we were glad there was a hot tub instead. We loved sitting in it at night with a glass of wine and watching the fish attracted to the green glowing snook light in the canal. We made use of the provided bicycles to explore the key as well as the kayaks for exploring the canal. The house is less than a 10 minute walk to the public beach and I appreciated that beach chairs and a rolling cart were supplied. The house is clean, warm and welcoming. I particularly liked the master bedroom with its wall of sliding glass doors looking out onto the canal, the comfy bed with a pillowtop mattress and sateen sheets. The property is beautifully landscaped with fruit trees (which we were encouraged to pick and eat) and flowers. It felt very private. Roger and his daughter Heather were always available by phone and took care of any issue immediately (like sending a plumber when the WC was acting up). I'd recommend this property to anyone.
Helpful votes: 8/50
business
Unique Waterfront 4BR/3BA w/ Heated Pool and Spa, Close to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344376
+1 941-681-0169
Siesta Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Family time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We enjoyed our stay very much. The house is amazing, it felt like home as soon as I walked in. Came to a surprise in the fridge and the girls went nuts. Could not wait to dive right into them. We chose to stay in and cook rather than go to restaurants - what an amzing kitchen.Thank you so much for a long relaxing weekend.
Helpful votes: 6/61
business
Unique Waterfront 4BR/3BA w/ Heated Pool and Spa, Close to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344376
+1 941-681-0169
Siesta Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
My Senior son and 2 buddies, with parents, stayed at this great home in Siesta Key. We loved it! The gourmet kitchen, fantastic patio with a hot tub, comfy beds and linens, bikes to ride, kayaks to paddle all offered us a trip to remember. The "boys" had their own space in the fully equipped apartment above the garage. They loved it. It was so convenient to have a washer and dryer, too! The house was surrounded by beautiful landscaping, and the house was situated on the point of the canal, with another canal intersecting it. It was quiet and private. The beach was an easy walk down the pretty street. Bike trails were close to. We walked to downtown Siesta Key to enjoy the shopping and restaurants. The Moms and sons went para-sailing, which was a short ride away and a very fun outing. There were many fun events close by, like drumming on the beach, Cirque de illuminations and shopping in St. Armand's Circle. We had great oysters on the half shell and fresh grouper out in area restaurants, and cooked great meals at our home away from home. It was fabulous!
Helpful votes: 6/88
business
Unique Waterfront 4BR/3BA w/ Heated Pool and Spa, Close to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344376
+1 941-681-0169
Siesta Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
My Senior son and 2 buddies, with parents, stayed at this great home in Siesta Key. We loved it! The gourmet kitchen, fantastic patio with a hot tub, comfy beds and linens, bikes to ride, kayaks to paddle all offered us a trip to remember. The "boys" had their own space in the fully equipped apartment above the garage. They loved it. It was so convenient to have a washer and dryer, too! The house was surrounded by beautiful landscaping, and the house was situated on the point of the canal, with another canal intersecting it. It was quiet and private. The beach was an easy walk down the pretty street. Bike trails were close to. We walked to downtown Siesta Key to enjoy the shopping and restaurants. The Moms and sons went para-sailing, which was a short ride away and a very fun outing. There were many fun events close by, like drumming on the beach, Cirque de illuminations and shopping in St. Armand's Circle. We had great oysters on the half shell and fresh grouper out in area restaurants, and cooked great meals at our home away from home. It was fabulous!
Helpful votes: 5/86
business
Unique Waterfront 4BR/3BA w/ Heated Pool and Spa, Close to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344376
+1 941-681-0169
Siesta Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Grosse Ile, MI/Midwest, USA
5

A Spring Break Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
My Senior son and 2 buddies, with parents, stayed at this great home in Siesta Key. We loved it! The gourmet kitchen, fantastic patio with a hot tub, comfy beds and linens, bikes to ride, kayaks to paddle all offered us a trip to remember. The "boys" had their own space in the fully equipped apartment above the garage. They loved it. It was so convenient to have a washer and dryer, too! The house was surrounded by beautiful landscaping, and the house was situated on the point of the canal, with another canal intersecting it. It was quiet and private. The beach was an easy walk down the pretty street. Bike trails were close to. We walked to downtown Siesta Key to enjoy the shopping and restaurants. The Moms and sons went para-sailing, which was a short ride away and a very fun outing. There were many fun events close by, like drumming on the beach, Cirque de illuminations and shopping in St. Armand's Circle. We had great oysters on the half shell and fresh grouper out in area restaurants, and cooked great meals at our home away from home. It was fabulous!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/112
business
Unique Waterfront 4BR/3BA w/ Heated Pool and Spa, Close to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344376
+1 941-681-0169
Siesta Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin
5

Peaceful Retreat on a Canal

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
This house in Siesta Key is absolutely wonderful. The inside is spacious with flat screen televisions in every room, the art work is very contemporary with a unique flare. Each room contains very comfortable beds and big closets for all your things. We have spent time in many homes around the United States and none of the homes were as well equiped as this house. There was absolutely nothing that we wished for.
The outside was fabulous, with fruit trees and beautiful landscape, very well groomed. The owners were outstanding with their customer service and quick response. The fish were jumping every night and whether you're a fisherman or not it was just fun to relax near the canal.
The house is a relaxing 1/2 mile from the beach. The property contained four bikes and two kayaks (which was included), this made traveling to and from the beach very easy and also got the family to enjoy the canal. This property was just spectacular!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/115
business
Unique Waterfront 4BR/3BA w/ Heated Pool and Spa, Close to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344376
+1 941-681-0169
Siesta Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Charlotte
5

Paradise Hideaway, hidden treasures everywhere

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
I have traveled the world and I would have never thought this is where I would find my paradise. We visited Sarasota as a result of its beach ratings and as beautiful as the beach and its sunsets were we found it increasingly hard to leave the property of this amazing rental property. To be so quaint I was unbelievably surprised the calm the house and its property brought. The decor brightens your mood immediately, and you would think the home’s state of the art entertainment would impress the children, however they ran right past this to the beautiful terrace overlooking the waterway. In fact most days the televisions were off without demand (a mothers delight). Every time we thought we had uncovered the best of this home there were always added bonuses. Flat screen television in the living room (bonus there is one in every room), 2 amazingly comfortable reading chairs (bonus they swivel) oversized guest rooms compliment the master bedroom (bonus there is a loft over the garage) Beautiful terrace (bonus bucket of champagne and a large Jacuzzi) Weather you are a fisherman or not you will spend many of hours trying to catch the large fish swimming and jumping by (bonus manatee’s bring weekly welcome surprises) The master bedroom is stunning (bonus view from this room simply breathtaking). Beautiful stone shower (Bonus water pressure and separate deep tub) Oversized beds (Bonus premium sheets and bedding) Located in the city of a top ranked beach in the country (Bonus within walking distance of its beautiful beaches) My only hesitation in this post is sharing my secret and losing the opportunity to visit again
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your kind words, Paige. I look forward to seeing you and your family in Siesta Key again.
Helpful votes: 13/330