Might have been okay but ...
The apartment might have been fine, but our experience was poor.
First the facts: The kitchen is VERY small but updated. The LR is small and contains an eating table with two chairs. The bathroom is fairly small and not especially updated, and the bedrooms are relatively spacious. Both bedrooms are up 3 or 4 stairs (and not on the same level as the bathroom), and the apartment must be accessed via a short staircase, so consider your mobility needs before renting. The backdoor opens onto a small patio area, but the door was so swollen that we couldn't get it open to go outside. (This is typical of wooden doors in old houses with high humidity.) The house smelled a big stale, but I assume the A/C would have taken care of that.
The good: The St. Charles Trolley is just one block away; however, it was not running during our visit. The tracks were being repaired. The WiFi worked well. There is free on-street parking.
The bad: The apartment had not been cleaned when we arrived, we were not able to contact either the owner or manager via phone or email, it was 7:00 at night, and we had driven 10 hours. Within 20 minutes, we were on our way to Marriott, and just a couple minutes later, the owner did call me in response to my email. Tom (?) was extremely apologetic and very generous in his offer to make it up to us - larger apartment, free stay, etc., which was, as I said, generous.
The really bad: However, I refused his kind offers because I felt that the apartment was in such a marginal area that I was not comfortable there. I did not want to leave my nearly new car parked on the street. My daughters were with me, and I didn't feel OK sending them out by themselves to fetch something from the car. A couple nearby apartments were gentrified, but a large unit across the street was deserted and boarded. In fact, after we got our accommodations straightened out, I felt it was a blessing that the apartment was dirty. It's simply not an area I felt safe in.
Owner's Response: As Cindy B reports above, it is true that the apartment had not been cleaned when she arrived. We made a mistake. But she doesn't make clear that I promised to get the apartment cleaned, refund her entire payment, AND let her stay there for free. I could never make such an offer if this sort of thing happened more than once in a blue moon. Nor does she make it clear that I refunded all of her money immediately. Regarding Cindy's other complaints, I can't help but think that her reactions were colored by the fact, as she mentions, that she was arriving at night, having driven for 10 hours with her two children. Not the kind of conditions for a person to be in the best of moods. First, she says that she was "not able to contact either the owner or the manager". And yet, in the next sentence she make it clear that I got back to her in just a little over 20 minutes. I am sure that she was anxious to get in touch with me, but to say that she couldn't reach me is severely inaccurate. Second, she states that the apartment is in "a marginal area". I can't help but think that that this mistaken impression had to do with arriving at night, and ultimately by her lack of familiarity with New Orleans. Our house was built in about 1850, as were many of those around us, and in much of the city. Many have been restored recently, some not so recently. This will be true in any of the neighborhoods in New Orleans, including the best ones. To have it any other way would mean staying out in one of the wealthy suburbs. But why go to New Orleans if that is what you are looking for? The fact is that we are a short block from St. Charles, a short streetcar ride to the French Quarter. It is an easy walk to Commander's Palace and to Magazine Street. The Garden District offers the charm of the French Quarter, without all the tourists and overcrowded streets. In fact, we adjoin a multi-million dollar property, so perhaps in that sense you could say that we are "marginal". It is true that our 2 bedroom apartment is modest. That's why we charge less for it than we charge for even for our 1 bedroom apartment. But it is comfortable and cozy and clean, with two large bedrooms, and a new albeit small kitchen. And since it can sleep up to six people, for less than the price of any hotel room in the Garden District, it is an incredible value. Finally, by Cindy's own admission she neither spent one night at the apartment nor did she ever see it in the daytime, so this review feels unfair.
Helpful votes: 7/7
Did you find this review helpful?