Killarney cottage rental - The Loft Cottage & Courtyard
The Loft Cottage & Courtyard
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps7
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Killarney Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 7)

Built in 1780, The Priory is a truly unique piece of property built by the local Lord Kenmare for a French aristocrat fleeing the French Revolution. Inundated with old world character, this property of the O'Donoghue Family is a place of welcome, comfort and intense charm.

Set on the door step of Killarney National Park we have two Courtyard Stone Cottages all of various design and layout. The cottages are tucked into a very beautiful and quite walled courtyard setting.

The Loft and Coachhouse cottages were meticulously restored between 2004 and 2006 and will offer you a retreat in style and comfort.

So if you are interested in hiking, biking, golfing, shopping or want to take a cooking class all this can be arranged. Killarney town centre is 1 km or a 10 minute stroll, in the opposite direction over the river you are immediately upon a pedestrian way snaking its way 2km into Killarney's 11,000 acre National Park, Muckross House & Gardens. A 5 minute walk to the INEC. Ask about mid-season specials.

Also ask about airport pick ups or Tim driving you around 'The Ring' and Dingle.

Please contact us by email or telephone and we will answer all your questions that you have.

Keywords: Self-catering cottage, Coach House, Loft, Historic, Courtyard, vacation home,

More Details
Hide Details

Bernadette and Tim O’Donoghue met in The Windy City of Chicago a few years back. We acquired the property in 2002. We then returned from Chicago in 2004.

Bernadette was a paralegal secretary and is now a stay at home Mom and an excellent baker, I am an electrician by trade but got into construction during my 14 years in Chicago. I restored several old houses and classic vintage apartment buildings during my time there. I coupled this experience with Bernadette’s keen eye and interior design savvy to create some wonderful finishes and unusual touches. We began the colossal rehab project in 2004 to restore the Priory to its former glory ,it was basically completed it in 2007 or is it ever complete I like to ask myself ?

We pride ourselves in welcoming you into our place.

Tim purchased this cottage in 2002

I grew up in Killarney, where my parents owned a camping site and I truly loved meeting visitors on a daily basis. We have 4 children and we wanted to raise them here in Ireland, so we said we would give it a shot and here we are.When this property became available we realized how unique it was and what a fantastic opportunity it would be to own The Priory.

We are in a key location,a ten minute walk from town but it feels like we are in the heart of the countryside where you cannot hear a sound by night.

You will get a quiet private house to yourself where you can come and go as you please. You can cook when you want and have the full use of the 1.5 acre property on private grounds. You can sit back and relax in the front of the open hearth fire sipping a nice Irish whiskey or reading a good book with the sweet smell of turf burning away.

Each cottage has a Jacuzzi you can slip into and soothe the soul after a hectic day.

You will get the real feel of Irish living and live like we live ourselves while visiting in your home away from home.

We are on site owners who are here to help you in any way you require and assure a wonderful stay. We have invaluable knowledge about the local area from cultural information to hikes, local food joints to off the beaten track drives. We can organize in-house chef, or poetry recital or to a music session.

We like to tell our guests ''We are as near or as far as you wish.'

14 Reviews of Property 327509 in Killarney, Ireland

Amazing 3 Bedroom - The Loft at the Priory Killarney
average rating of 5.0 based on 14 reviews
business
Amazing 3 Bedroom - The Loft at the Priory Killarney
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327509vb
+353 646626896
Killarney County Kerry
5

Our Irish Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This was our family's first trip to Ireland and we decided to use Killarney as our home base for the week. The Priory was the perfect home! It is exactly what we needed, space for all six kids to play, lounge, explore! The gardens are lovely, there is a soccer field, basketball hoop, and playground. Something for everyone. There are plenty of places to eat nearby so we walked everywhere. The walk into town is quite easy and our five year old was able to manage it daily. The O'Donoghue's couldn't have been any sweeter to our family. They genuinely wanted us to have whatever we needed, gave excellent advice as to where to eat and what adventures to add to my list of activities. The Loft is clean and has every amenity you would have in your own home. The charm of The Priory is something you can not get from a hotel. My children are already asking when we can go back to The Priory, the perfect Irish cottage.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Amazing 3 Bedroom - The Loft at the Priory Killarney
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327509vb
+353 646626896
Killarney County Kerry
Virginia
5

Enchanted May

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The Priory Loft was more than we expected. Spacious rooms, comfortable furniture, beautiful gardens and lovely landlord couple! Tim and Bernadette are always in good humor, helpful and willing to make recommendations, answer questions and insure their guests comfort. Tim has written some local travel suggestions that we followed that took us off the beaten path. We saw waterfalls, castles, lakes, cliffs and took a ferry to an island. The national park is nearby and there are walks and hikes in abundance. The local townspeople know this couple and treated us with generosity when they found out where we were staying. We were treated with fresh hot scones on our last morning and were sad to say goodbye. Thank you Tim and Bernadette for a lovely week!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Amazing 3 Bedroom - The Loft at the Priory Killarney
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327509vb
+353 646626896
Killarney County Kerry
Virginia
5

Ideal vacation location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This was our first trip to Ireland. We booked the Loft at the Priory based on the location and hoped the description was accurate. It was perfect! We were a group of 4 adults. The photos on the website correctly reflect the Priory and all its charm. The size of the Loft was wonderful- great living space. Plenty of room to sit around the wood burning stove and discuss the days activities. It was clean, neat and very quiet. The Priory is about a 10 minute walk into town. That was very appealing to us. We didn't want to drive in the evening after dinner.
Tim and Bernadette were incredibly welcoming and helpful. We had a rough itinerary of sight seeing trips planned during the week. We asked them to review our ideas to see if they were feasible. Tim and Bernadette made some fabulous recommendations. Everything they suggested was well worth it.
An added bonus is that Tim makes the best scones in Killarney.
Some of our recommendations would be : a trip to Dingle and Slea Head, Muckross House, The Ring of Kerry, Valencia Island (by car ferry) and the Skellig Chocolate Factory, Ross Castle, Kenmare and the Gleninchaquin Park (hike to the falls).
Our favorite restaurants in Killarney were Bricin, The Laurels (pub), and White Gate (on Monday night for the step dancing). In Kenmare, The Purple Heather was delicious.
Go visit and enjoy!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Amazing 3 Bedroom - The Loft at the Priory Killarney
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327509vb
+353 646626896
Killarney County Kerry
Seattle, WA / USA
5

Idyllic and spacious

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We rented The Loft unit for one week and completely enjoyed our stay, due in large part to the amenities, location and the kind management of the Priory.

The unit was as described, but even more lovely with numerous touches that made for an idyllic home away from home. This was a two story unit, with the bedrooms/2 baths on the top floor and the living area down below. We had 5 people in the 3 bedrooms, never once cramped for space or lined up for the bathroom. Each of three main areas (kitchen, dining room and family room) were huge. The laundry room was big enough for long stays and it was great to have so much space to maneuver. The kitchen was fantastic where we all pitched in at the same time to make wonderful meals, using fresh herbs we snipped in the courtyard. Nice touch O'Donoghues!

Tim and Bernadette were amazing hosts. Not only were they pleasant and professional, Tim's knowledge of all things Irish and Bernadette's American heritage was a perfect match for our needs. They provided guidance that removed all potential friction from our day, including advising us on the best days and ways to go to the Gap of Dunloe (amazing/perfect outing), Cliffs of Moher and the Dingle Peninsula (including driving direction which came in great handy in tight areas).

The property was well maintained and absolutely charming. It was clear the owners took a lot of pride in the property and were focused on ensuring their guests thoroughly enjoyed their time there. They even provided warm scones one morning which were delicious!

It couldn't have been a better time thanks to great accommodations, hosts and location.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Amazing 3 Bedroom - The Loft at the Priory Killarney
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327509vb
+353 646626896
Killarney County Kerry
dublin
5

Top Quality Holiday Home in Killarney

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
I stayed at the Loft in the Priority holiday home in Killarney. I have to say it was top class. I was surprised at how spacious the place was as well as how well set up it was. We were there with a party of over 13 (some stayed in other holiday cottages) and the living room/kitchen easily fit everyone plus space for many more. I couldn't recommend it more. Apart from that Tim and Bernadette are fantastic hosts and made sure we had everything we needed and were always there to help out and answer questions.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Amazing 3 Bedroom - The Loft at the Priory Killarney
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327509vb
+353 646626896
Killarney County Kerry
Fulham,London, United Kingdom
5

family visit for Mothers Anniversery mass

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
our family trip to ireland was absolutely fantastic. As i said to the Genial Owner Tim, The Web page on the Internet does not do Justice to THE PRIORY. On our arrival we were Truly Overwhelmed how lovely it all was. This set the mood for our lovely week. We inquired if we could book for later this year alas all booked but have Booked Early for next year so as not to miss out. the amenities all all within walking distance, The National Park was nearby in all its Spleandour, where lovely Walks,rides in Jaunting Cars and climbs up Mountains were had by all. We stayed in Three of the Lodges ( we have booked four for next year). it was good as if you wanted a bit of quiet reflection, there was always somewhere quiet. Tim our Host said "I can be as near or far as you wish at your disposal" And his Lovely Wife made us Home Made Scones and Apple Pies which were delicious. to sum it all up they say " Theres Gold In Them There Hills" The Gold Turns out to Be THE PRIORY in KILLARNEY.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Amazing 3 Bedroom - The Loft at the Priory Killarney
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327509vb
+353 646626896
Killarney County Kerry
Port Washington, New York
5

The place to stay in Killarney

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We saw photos on the website, but the real thing was sooooo much better.
The house couldn't have been more lovely, and the hosts were just the best.
Every detail was perfect, from the fruit trees in the courtyard to the view of the mountains from the upstairs bedroom windows.
I have already told everyone I know that if they go to Killarney, especially if they like the comforts of a beautiful home, The Priory is the place to stay.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Amazing 3 Bedroom - The Loft at the Priory Killarney
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327509vb
+353 646626896
Killarney County Kerry
Sacramento, CA
5

A Fantastic Find

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We stayed in Killarney during our golfing vacation through Ireland and The Priory was the absolute highlight of our trip. Truly old world charm with updated, modern amenities. Set in a quiet neighborhood, The Priory is within walking distance of pubs, restaurants and a beautiful park; although, we have to admit, that once back after a day of golfing we had a hard time leaving our lovely Loft. The grounds are beautiful, the accommodations exceeded expectations, and Tim and Bernadette are the most wonderful hosts. A fantastic find and highly recommended!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Amazing 3 Bedroom - The Loft at the Priory Killarney
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327509vb
+353 646626896
Killarney County Kerry
St John
5

An Amazing Irish Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We stayed at Tim and Bernadette's Priory this past May. Having used several VRBO houses we expected very positive results. However, the Priory blew all the past places we've stayed in away. TIm and Bernadette have done a magnificent job restoring the Coach House where we stayed to impeccable standards. Not one detail has been overlooked. You walk in and the first thing you see is the grand staircase leading up to two warm and cozy bedrooms each with state of the art bathrooms one of which has a very welcoming jacuzzi. Downstairs you are greeted by a grand living room with a magnificent fireplace and enchanting bay windows. On the left of the entrance there is a dining room and a true state of the art kitchen with everything you need to prepare meals. The accommodations are outstanding but what makes the Priory stand apart are the owners, Tim and Bernadette. Not only were they helpful in giving great suggestions in enjoying the surrounding area and the Ring of Kerry but for us it was getting to know them on a personal basis. They truly made you feel like you were part of the family. TIm even invited us to go along with his chums to an Irish Gaelic football game. It was the highlight of our trip and besides Killarney beat Limerick. If you are planning on visiting Killarney which we highly suggest, we absolutely recommend the Priory and the hospitality of Tim and Bernadette. Your stay will be a memorable one and about as close as you can be to being Irish in Ireland. Don't miss it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Amazing 3 Bedroom - The Loft at the Priory Killarney
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p327509vb
+353 646626896
Killarney County Kerry
Greenville, South Carolina
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
This was a great place to stay. The owners were helpful and willing to answer any questions we had about the area. Our first morning there they brought us fresh baked scones and on another morning they cooked us breakfast. The cottage was clean and well maintained, had a fully equipped kitchen, and lots of room for a great family stay. The location was great. We enjoy walking and were able to walk to the center of town in 15 minutes. Was a great home base to take day trips to the surrounding area. If you like to hike, I would recommend a hike up Torc Mountain.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3