Kailua Kona cottage rental - Main house- owner's residence. On two acres.
Main house- owner's residence. On two acres.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Kailua Kona Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

The Lilikoi Vine is a unique vacation rental experience located in upcountry Kona on the Big Island of Hawaii. Situated on two acres in the native ohia forest you will feel worlds away from the hustle and bustle of town. Though you will feel you are in the country it will only take you about 10 minutes to get to town. This is a nature lover's paradise. If it is peace you are looking for then this is the destination for you. At 2200 feet above sea level the climate is both comfortable and cool. With night time comes the sound of crickets and the occasional lowing of cattle from nearby Palani Ranch.

This 2 bedroom unit contains a king sized and full sized bed plus a full kitchen with all you need to create your own meals. The decor is warm, artistic, and very unique. A balcony outside the master bedroom looks down to the Balinese garden. In the early morning hours you may be able to spy a honeycreeper sipping nectar from the lehua flowers.

Just recently added for your continued joy: a beautiful Asian- style slate and stone outdoor shower......hidden in the giant bamboo and heliconia- laden secret garden. Now when you come home from the beach you can shower outside!!! Pure Bliss!!

If this isn't relaxing enough for you then there are spa services available from our very own on-site licensed massage therapist. Lomi-lomi, Hawaiian hot stones and other modalities are offered from our on-site Asian treatment room. Finish your treatment with a soak in the hot tub for the ultimate spa experience.

First morning's breakfast is included as our treat to you: muffins, fresh island fruit, yogurt, granola, coffee and tea.

Beaches are a 10 minute drive from our home.

If you need more room or if this is too much room for your group there is another unit available. Please see vrbo listing #358883 If you have a large group traveling together you can rent out the entire building for a total of 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, and 2 kitchens. Price for entire building is $265 per night.

For more information on this property and a slideshow please see our website . You can find the link to the website under the heading 'links and video' on this site.

Keywords: vacation rental, guest house, cottage,

More Details
Hide Details

We love country life and the peacefulness of Kaloko. We enjoy growing our own fruit trees and being surrounded by the blessings of beautiful Hawaiian flowers. We raise Nigerian Dwarf dairy goats on a small scale and make home made chevre cheese.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 2000

Never have I seen so many stars at night as from this property. When we lived in town there were too many streetlights so they weren't as visible. Being in the ohia forest is another treat as many endangered birds depend upon the lehua flower to survive. It is possible to see birds that are rarely seen like the honeycreeper. We also have the I'o, or Hawaiian hawk in this area and wild pheasant. I have seen pueo, or owl, many times perching in our trees in the early evening. We also have seen bats flitting about in the evening....

12 Reviews of Property 344233 in Kailua Kona, Hawaii

Artist's 2 Bedroom in the Trees with Garden and Hot Tub
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
Artist's 2 Bedroom in the Trees with Garden and Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344233vbi
(808) 325-9856
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Love the Lilikoi Vine Guesthouse

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We had a short stay at the Lilikoi Vine but next time we will stay longer. The accomodation is perfect - Nicki and Mike are wonderful hosts who have gone above and beyond to make sure that every little detail is taken care of (some that I wouldn't even have thought of). We enjoyed the quiet and the comfort and felt very much at home there. Highly recommended.
Owner's Response: Thanks Annie!
I'm so glad that staying here was a positive experience. We enjoyed having you!
Some of the "extra touches" we put out there were actually learned when we stayed at other host's vrbo homes....
business
Artist's 2 Bedroom in the Trees with Garden and Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344233vbi
(808) 325-9856
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Salem, Oregon
5

Escape from Oregon

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Just returned from the most lovely and peaceful rental near Kailua-Kona. A short drive from the airport, Kona and beautiful beaches, the home was perfect for our needs. A gently bubbling water feature complete with koi lulls you to sleep, a nearby rooster and a cacophony of birds awakens. My family stayed upstairs in the two bedroom unit and I stayed in the downstairs studio. The kitchens were fully appointed, allowing us to fix meals and eat together upstairs or on the lovely lanai. One of our favorite features was a private outdoor shower. The grounds in this lush sub rainforest are beautifully maintained.

I highly recommend this beautiful home and gardens for travelers wanting a clean, quiet and totally peaceful island experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
business
Artist's 2 Bedroom in the Trees with Garden and Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344233vbi
(808) 325-9856
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Palo Alto CA
5

Charming house with animals as a big Plus

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Really enjoyed our stay at the house in the cool mountains of Kona. Lots of birds came by and we could sit and watch them in the quiet. Lovely weather.

Baby goats were born while we were there and Mike, our host, took us to see them. Cats were always just sleeping around the yard and Foxy, the dog, was really cute. Very different from staying in the busy town.

The house is just as gorgeous as the photos and very comfortable. A great book with local beaches and other activities was provided by the owners.

We had fun in Hilo at the Merrie Monarch parade and highly recommend the Hilo Bay Cafe and Cafe 100 for good food. Don't miss all the markets on Kamehameha Street.

Best food in Kona is Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill. Be sure and see a sunset from the beach.

This home is a fantastic vacation spot - just perfect.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Artist's 2 Bedroom in the Trees with Garden and Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344233vbi
(808) 325-9856
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Oregon
5

Peaceful Accomodations close to airport and Kailua/Kona

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Perfect for our Christmas family reunion. Easy to reach from many points of interest on the island yet a world away. Miniature donkeys, baby goats, and a family of cats charmed us. The nativity scene with live animals was a delightful touch.
Decor of the cottage and the studio below is charming, to say the least. Our hosts were helpful and kind.
I would certainly recommend this place to others who appreciate natural surroundings as an alternative to busy beachfront condos.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
business
Artist's 2 Bedroom in the Trees with Garden and Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344233vbi
(808) 325-9856
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Crosby, TX
5

Quiet Wonderful Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
The Lilikoi Vine was a wonderful place to stay just outside Kailua-Kona town. Just a few minutes from town where you can relax and unwind. The house was very clean and nicely decorated. The Master bed room had a very peacful feel to it. The beds were very comfortable and plenty of towels. Having a washer and dryer on site was welcomed. Nikki the owner makes wonderful muffins!

The Kona coast is full of things to do for those that love the water. We spent sat on the beach, amazing snorkeling in Honaunau bay, and two days diving with Kona Diving Company (Highly recommended for diving/snorkeling!!!) The Manta Dive is a must! The hot tob was a nice place to relax your muscles after a day out.

Nikki commented that Quinn's Almost by the Sea had the best fish and chips, and we agree. We also tried Bianelli's (a bit pricey for pizza, but very good). I would also recommend the farmers market for some fresh fruits and vegetables.

If you are only staying in Kona, make the drive to the other side and take the hike to the lava flows. Amazing!

Our Big Island vacation was amazing. Needed to be longer though.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Artist's 2 Bedroom in the Trees with Garden and Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344233vbi
(808) 325-9856
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Oakland, CA.
5

Wonderfully peaceful accomodations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We went with my grown son. He stayed downstairs in a studio, and we stayed upstairs in a two bedroom apartment. The soundproofing was excellent. The views are of birds, rainforest, with hiking trails near by. Although you're 2000 feet up, in the semi rain forest, it only takes 10 minutes to drive down to the beach in Kona. Its a wonderful retreat at the end of the day. The owners live across the driveway. They are very nice, and helpful, and gave us all the privacy we needed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Artist's 2 Bedroom in the Trees with Garden and Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344233vbi
(808) 325-9856
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Minnesota
5

great location, beautiful place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 16, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Nicole was very nice and the place was beautiful. I would stay here again if i ever get the fortune of going back to Hawaii. I will recommend it to my friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Artist's 2 Bedroom in the Trees with Garden and Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344233vbi
(808) 325-9856
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Minnesota
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 15, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This place is amazing in a great neighborhood right down the street from Kailua beach. The host was extremely nice and helpful. Very clean and quiet. I would recommend this place to anyone headed to Kailua.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Artist's 2 Bedroom in the Trees with Garden and Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344233vbi
(808) 325-9856
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
San Francisco, CA
5

Beautiful, peaceful place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We stayed here for 5 nights. The accomodation is thoughtfully decorated and appointed. Everything is present for you to have a quiet and comfortable stay. The property is in a quiet forest about ten minutes from stores and restaurants. Perfect hosts!
business
Artist's 2 Bedroom in the Trees with Garden and Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p344233vbi
(808) 325-9856
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
San Pedro, California/Southern California
5

Hawaii (Aloha), The way it was discovered; and meant to be shared and enjoyed.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
The Lilikoi Vine Bed and Breakfast is your answer to a tropical oasis found.
Located just a few miles from all the conveniences of home that you'll find in town, to all the reasons you planned a vacation away in the tropics in the first place for. At the Lilikoi Vine B&B, you're minutes from all the "Gifts" of the "Big Island," with its world famous beaches, active volcanoes, dining, and MUCH more.
The Lilikoi Vines Bed and Breakfast is located in the cool, comfortable, and refreshing elevation above the sometimes exhausting heat of the tropics. You'll enjoy 5 star accommadations, from the room decor, beds, tropical fruit, and a wide variety of nourishing food delights. At this B&B you know you picked a top rate vacation resort, not only from all the fine amenities, but from the relationships you'll build with the owners Mike and Nikki Lingenfelder. I actually prefer to call him "Uncle" (Mike) and his wife "Auntie" (Nikki), Because at the Lilikoi Vine B&B "You're Ohana"-Family
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It's true.....Mr. Tom does prefer to call us Auntie and Uncle and we like to think of him as a dear, dear nephew! We really miss him and hope to see him again soon!!!!