Vernon lodge rental - View from the garden
View from the garden
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Vernon Lodge Rental Photos and Description
Lodge, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Tastefully renovated one-bedroom, 19th century gardner's lodge, only 45 minutes from Paris in the charming town of Vernon near Giverny.

The lodge is located on the grounds of our villa, has a separate entrance and is a 3 minute walk to the train station. Vernon is an easily commutable to Paris, with morning trains leaving about every half- hour.

The lodge is a spacious 65 m2, is nicely furnished and set in idyllic surroundings. On the ground floor, there are painstakingly refurbished stone floors, a large open plan living room and brand new fully equipped kitchen.

Upstairs you'll have a large 30m2 bedroom with hardwood floors, an en suite bathroom and views onto a leafy square as well as use of a planted terrace which has enough space for entertainment.

Available by week or for longer terms (ideal for artist or writer retreat)

We are an anglophone(American/Scottish) couple who have lived in France for some 20 years. Over the years we have lovingly renovated a selection of furnished apartments in Paris, Vernon-Giverny (Normandy) and Dinard (Brittany), as well as longer established properties in Notting Hill, London.

The Gardner's Lodge is our latest pride and joy.

Our kids are all bilingual and we love Polish sheep dogs...you will surely meet them all !!

Nigel purchased this lodge in 2003

We bought our 19th century Villa in the town of Vernon near Giverny because it provided an ideal and secure space for our family within commuting distance to Paris where we both work.

The Villa had out-houses at the back of the grounds. They would have been the carriage house/stables 150 years ago and needed renovation or demolition !

We chose the former and have created a lovely property that has a country feel but is close to the amenities of a small market town (25,000 inhabitants).

Vernon is a quiet market town with a main line station to Paris. The station (only 2 minutes from the Lodge) is the arrival point for visitors to Giverny, Claude Monet's famous home.

The Lodge provides an ideal base to visit the sites of 'Haute-Normandie' and Paris (only 45min away). Vernon itself has a great market every Saturday and we are usually available to show you around if required.

It is also an ideal retreat for an artist or writer looking to spend some creative time in calm but inspirational surroundings.

Visit

- Giverny

- Les Andelys

- Rouen

- Deauville/Trouville

- Paris

10 Reviews of Property 343937 in Vernon, France

C19th Gardner's Lodge in Grounds of Villa. Ideal Giverny/Paris
average rating of 4.9 based on 10 reviews
business
C19th Gardner's Lodge in Grounds of Villa. Ideal Giverny/Paris
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343937vbi
+33 2 32 21 51 54
Vernon Eure
Bremerton, WA. USA
5

Dreamy Gardener's Cottage

Dreamy Gardener's Cottage
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I recently spent a portion of my annual May trip to France at the Gardener's Cottage
and wish I had stayed longer.
The location, proximity to Paris, Giverny and Normandy in general could not have
been any better. The photos of the cottage only hint at the charm, and the owners exceed it.
I will definitely be returning for a longer stay soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you and please come back for a longer stay and improve our photo collection using your special skills in that field!!..glad you made it to Le Harve on the morning train. See you next May perhaps.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
C19th Gardner's Lodge in Grounds of Villa. Ideal Giverny/Paris
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343937vbi
+33 2 32 21 51 54
Vernon Eure
Vancouver, WA, USA
5

Giverny!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I spent nearly a month at the Gardener’s Lodge this spring, using it as my home base to explore Giverny, Paris, and Normandy. I found the Gardener’s Lodge to be a welcoming and lovely place to reside during my adventures in France! The owners Nigel and Pam are English speaking, which helped me with orientation to my new environment. Nigel met me at the train station in Vernon, and explained quite carefully everything I would need to understand about the lodge and Vernon. Pam showed up with food for my dinner that first night as I had arrived on a Sunday evening, and the grocery stores were closed.
The Gardener’s Lodge is equipped with everything I needed during my stay. The website photos are accurate, and capture the charm of the setting. I also enjoyed listening to the cooing of the doves that live in the big trees on the property. I was very thankful of having Nigel and Pam nearby to ask questions about situations that puzzled me, like a closed train station on Pentecost….I had no idea that day was a national holiday!
I had the trip of a lifetime exploring this part of France. Having the Gardener’s Lodge as a home base is what made this all possible for me. Vernon is an enchanting village, with a wonderful outdoor market, museum, and cathedral. Being near Giverny was why I chose to reside in Vernon during my trip. I was able to visit Monet’s Garden once per week and see the progression of flowers during my time in France. There was also an Impressionist’s Exposition in several cities in Normandy (Giverny, Rouen, Le Havre, and Caen) during my stay, and I visited them all! I visited the picturesque village of Honfleur and enjoyed the mirror reflections of its boat basin. I was also able to visit Mount St Michel, the medieval abbey on the coast of Normandy.
I took the train into Paris nine times from Vernon. It is easy and inexpensive (28 euros round trip) to do. It is just a short walk from the Gardener’s lodge over to the train station. The train is direct and fast into Gare St. Lazare train station in Paris with easy connections by bus and metro around the city. I felt that I had seen everything that interested me to discover in Paris and Normandy. And I was able to have all these adventures from a comfortable and friendly home base.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow, thank you so much. I think you really took advantage of The Gardner's Lodge location as an ideal base to explore the wider Normandy region and Paris from our place, not to mention nearby Giverny.

I am so glad it worked out for you as a single traveller too. I think you acheived more than most in the time you were with us.

Hope all the pictures you took will inspire a painting frenzy when you get back !
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
C19th Gardner's Lodge in Grounds of Villa. Ideal Giverny/Paris
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343937vbi
+33 2 32 21 51 54
Vernon Eure
Chicago Illinois USA
5

april near paris

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We had a wonderful time on our stay in Vernon with Nigel and Pamela.The accomodations were well represented and upon our arrival we found them even better than we expected.Clean,comfortable and convient to supermarkets,train station,restaurants and sight seeing.Vernon has a number of interesting attractions and Giverny was within walking distance.We only wish we could have stayed longer but our time spent as "locals" was what we wanted,We would recommend this property to anyone who wishes a relaxing stay in France,
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you and glad you felt like one of "the locals"..so do we !

Pity we missed each other on the last night..so yes next time come and enjoy The Gardner's Lodge for a bit longer !!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
C19th Gardner's Lodge in Grounds of Villa. Ideal Giverny/Paris
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343937vbi
+33 2 32 21 51 54
Vernon Eure
Austin, TX, U.S.A.
5

perfect week in Vernon!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We were greeted at the train station by Nigel and Alexa. The train station is only a short walk from the lodge, so we were able to get around easily without a car. The lodge was warm, clean and very cozy. The pictures and previous descriptions were right on target. We cooked several dinners throughout our stay, but also easily walked into town to enjoy lunch or dinner and very good shopping! L'Envie was a wonderful restaurant that we highly recommend! We were also able to take a day trip to Rouen and another venture back into Paris. But by far, the highlight of our stay in Vernon was Monet's house and gardens located in Giverny. We rented bicycles to get to Givery (gorgeous countryside!!) Overall, a wonderful stay at the Lodge! We would highly recommend to our family and friends.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad the restaurant recommendation worked out and also that you enjoyed the cycling trip to Giverny. It really is something special.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
C19th Gardner's Lodge in Grounds of Villa. Ideal Giverny/Paris
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343937vbi
+33 2 32 21 51 54
Vernon Eure
Georgia, USA
5

We were the first "honeymooners"!

We were the first "honeymooners"!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My husband and I are proud to say that we were the first newlyweds to choose Nigel and Pamela's Lodge as our honeymoon destination... and what a perfect choice that was. Vernon is just far enough away from Paris to enjoy the peace of the countryside, yet close enough to take daytrips into Paris for sightseeing. We did not have a car most of the time so we walked ALL around Vernon and even to Giverny to visit Monet's Garden. The train station is just a stroll away (and there is an ATM at the train station, for your information). We did rent a car for a day and enjoyed scenic drives to visit Chateau de La Roche-Guyon and Chateau Gaillard. We went to the open market in Vernon one day and another day we happened upon a huge street-side bazaar-type sale thing with antiques and stuff (awesome!). We did NOT stress out over a super-packed agenda, but we didn't get anywhere close to being bored either! As for the Lodge itself, it is clean, comfortable, and very private. I wish I could load pictures into this review because I have some lovely ones of the Lodge. The photos on this page really do not do it justice. Pamela was so nice and drove us to the grocery store on the first day because she was afraid we wouldn't make it there before closing time. That was so gracious and beyond our expectations. I would recommend this destination for anyone looking for a romantic, low-key getaway that also has potential for some adventurous excursions. Thanks again, Nigel and Pamela for the best honeymoon EVER!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: How wonderful that you enjoyed such a special time at the Gardner's Lodge. We are very happy and proud that things worked out for you....maybe you have started a trend !!! ...see you for an anniversary celebration in the future :)
business
C19th Gardner's Lodge in Grounds of Villa. Ideal Giverny/Paris
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343937vbi
+33 2 32 21 51 54
Vernon Eure
Asheville, NC
5

Wonderful stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had a perfectly lovely stay at this property. The owners were helpful, accommodating, and friendly. Vernon is a quaint town, yet it has good shopping, restaurants and interesting attractions. The train ride into Paris was quick and easy, and access to many historic sites in western France was convenient. We would recommend this property with utmost confidence, and we hope to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks guys.

Glad you were able to see the Bastille day fireworks display with us in Vernon and witness a great French tradition.

See you next 14th July.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
C19th Gardner's Lodge in Grounds of Villa. Ideal Giverny/Paris
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343937vbi
+33 2 32 21 51 54
Vernon Eure
Los Angeles, CA, USA
4

Great weekend in Giverny

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Our stay was pleasant. Quiet and nicely furnished apartment, Pleasant and helpful owners. Easily accessible parking right outside our door.
Vernon is a nice town. Its main appeal is the close proximity to Giverny and Monet's amazing gardens. The train station is just two blocks away. We chose to drive into Paris as the train tickets are pricey. On a Sunday the drive was no problem, but I would expect a lot of Paris bound traffic on work days.
The convertible bed downstairs comfortably sleeps two, making this apartment a great deal for families on a budget.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
C19th Gardner's Lodge in Grounds of Villa. Ideal Giverny/Paris
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343937vbi
+33 2 32 21 51 54
Vernon Eure
Montgomery, Alabama, USA
5

Our stay at the Lodge

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Staying in the Lodge was such a wonderful and relaxing experience. Pam and Nigel are the best hosts and we quickly thought of them as ‘our new young friends’. They checked on us frequently and even provided extra items for us at our request. They went overboard to make sure that we had everything we needed or wanted. The apartment was very clean and comfortable and far exceeded our expectations. It had such a cozy warm ambience. We also enjoyed sitting in the sunny courtyard in the afternoon. An added treat was the park with a bench just outside the villa wall where we could also sit in the evening and observe the French culture and life. There were many beautiful scenic drives through the lovely French country side dotted with farms and beautiful villages. This of course is in addition to Monet’s gardens just across the river from Vernon. Paris, Rouen, and Normandy coast are easily accessible from Vernon. The Saturday market in Vernon is one of the best in Europe. This is a fantastic apartment in a lovely village.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Owner's Response: it was a pleasure. Glad you enjoyed watching the local "petanque" players in the square outside. We have a set of steel balls available for any vistors who want to go out and join, in or fancy their chances !!
business
C19th Gardner's Lodge in Grounds of Villa. Ideal Giverny/Paris
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343937vbi
+33 2 32 21 51 54
Vernon Eure
hastings michigan
5

Carla and Misha

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My daughter and I had a fabulous weekend in Vernon in this lovely location. It was so comfy to have our own patio area to relax and drink wine....read....and then to take an easy journey to Giverny. Nigel very helpful, yet not intrusive.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was indeed good to meet you. I think all the advance planning worked well for you...and also allowed for a visit to our seaside rental in Dinard, Brittany.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
C19th Gardner's Lodge in Grounds of Villa. Ideal Giverny/Paris
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343937vbi
+33 2 32 21 51 54
Vernon Eure
Boston
5

Made us want to live in Vernon!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Vernon is THE most charming town we have ever stayed in. It has everything you could want on vacation ( or anytime for that matter ). No need for a car if you don't want one. We walked everywhere. Many great patisseries, charcuterie , cafes, restaurants, stores and shops. The Saturday market is NOT to be missed. And Giverny, Paris, and Rouen are only a short ride away. The "gardener"s lodge" was perfect for us. The bed was comfortable. The water was hot. Appliances worked flawlessly. The photos were spot on. Nigel and Pamela were friendly and helpful, but never intrusive. Planning our return already!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was good you see you again in 2012 !!..thanks for coming back and glad you enjoyed The Coach House as much as The Gardner's Lodge this year !
Helpful votes: 7/7