Craig cabin rental - Peaceful stretch of the Dearborn River at our place.
Peaceful stretch of the Dearborn River at our place.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Craig Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 4 - 6)

Two Feathers Lodge rests on 72 scenic acres & 3/4 miles of the Dearborn River. Experience a natural Montana outdoors vacation in the Big Belt Mountain range near the Missouri River Canyon.

You & your family can play, hike, bike, watch wildlife & relax without traveling elsewhere.

The Dearborn River offers fine fishing, floating & swimming opportunities for adults & children.

Off-Grid Living. Solar cells, a wind mill & generator provide electricity. Propane & wood stove to provide the additional amenities you need for an enjoyable vacation. See our website for details. www montanarivervacationrental com

Located ~ midway between Yellowstone & Glacier National Parks, our place provides a peaceful rest spot to explore & stay a while.

There are numerous local & regional attractions as well. Lewis & Clark described the Dearborn as it flowed into the Missouri River Canyon, famous for its rock formations & blue ribbon fishing. We are ~50 miles from both Great Falls & Helena.

Keywords: fly fishing Missouri River Canyon, vacation rental Craig MT lodging, cabin, Dearborn River, family, float, hike, sightseeing, wildlife, swim, gay lesbian friendly, brown, rainbow trout, off grid accommodation

More Details
Hide Details

John and Ruth Sechena live in Seattle, WA. John was born in Great Falls, MT and his heart is still there. We come home to Montana for 5 or 6 weeks a year; it keeps us sane.

Ruth Sechena purchased this cabin in 2010

We know the Dearborn.

Born & raised in Montana, John and his 2 brothers have floated and fished the Dearborn since the early 70's. One brother bought 33 acres and Grandma brought 28 acres (for the grandkids) just one river bend up from our log cabin & made it possible for all of our kids to swim, fish, hike and bike there. The oldest has just entered college & we are sure he will keep coming back.

Over all these years John has always wanted to buy the property upon which our cabin stands because of its inherent beauty and its incredible swimming & fishing holes. When it came up for sale last year we knew we would never get another chance.

You don't have to leave the property to have a great time. Get up, catch breakfast, take a swim in some really beautiful swimming holes.

Hike or bike the property or adjacent back roads. Put your boat/floation device in right from the property and float to the Missouri River or put in at Hwy 287 (up river) and enjoy an incredibly scenic all day float..

BBQ dinner on the spacious deck with friends & family; watch local wildlife cross the meadow in front of you on their way to the river; hear all of natures sounds because it's quiet.

10 Reviews of Property 343903 in Craig, Montana

Secluded Dearborn River Cabin with 3/4 mi River Frontage & 72 Acres to Roam
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
Secluded Dearborn River Cabin with 3/4 mi River Frontage & 72 Acres to Roam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343903vb
206 367-6780
Craig Montana
Albany NY
5

Wonderful family vacation spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My family had a blast at this beautiful cabin! My husband grew up in Montana and has always wanted to show myself & our children where he grew up. We drove from NY to this amazing place. I watched Montana come alive in my children's eyes as my boys, 9 & 10 years old learned how to fly fish and patiently waited until they caught their first fish. My 6 year old daughter loved tubing in the river and then using the tub on the front porch. She thought it was so cool to take a bath outside! I enjoyed rocking on the front porch and reading my book. It was so relaxing & peaceful. We watched the stars pop out of the sky as we listened to the flowing river while sitting by the warm campfire. The cabin was so clean and welcoming. We loved all the rustic furniture. They had everything you could possibly need there for us. We had such a great time and can't wait to go back. The kids looked for animals and saw birds, eagles & deer. They loved being able to go fishing, swimming, hiking and never asked for tv or electronics. There was so much they could do right there on the property. We ate every meal outside and used the grill most of the time. My husband was in his glory to be back where he grew up. This was the perfect spot for him to bring his family to get a real taste of what Montana is all about. Thank you for sharing your place with us and allowing us the opportunity to take home such wonderful memories. We will be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded Dearborn River Cabin with 3/4 mi River Frontage & 72 Acres to Roam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343903vb
206 367-6780
Craig Montana
Calgary, AB, Canada
5

Wonderful Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My family and I spent a full week at Two Feathers Lodge and we had a wonderful time. When we arrived Bob met us at the highway and led us into the cabin - I was glad to have a 4X4 for the road into the cabin. The cabin is fantastic - clean, well maintained and well appointed. What we loved most about the cabin was the peace and quiet - we didn't see another soul while we were at the cabin. We had the river to ourselves - the kids and I would fish every morning (both kids caught their first fish on a dry fly right in front of the cabin) and then we would play in the river (snorkeling, tubing, catching cray fish, etc.) in the afternoon. In the evenings we would barbecue and sit on the porch playing games, watching wildlife and enjoying the view. The kids loved watching the bats that would come out at dusk. We went for a family trail ride with Bull Run Guest Ranch and I had a great day of fishing on the Missouri with Nick from Headhunters Fly Shop in Craig. We try and travel to a different area/cabin each summer and so far this was cabin is our favourite!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded Dearborn River Cabin with 3/4 mi River Frontage & 72 Acres to Roam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343903vb
206 367-6780
Craig Montana
Viola, ID
5

Picturesque and peaceful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Four of us spent three very enjoyable nights at the Two Feathers cabin on the Dearborn River. Getting to the cabin requires a 4WD vehicle, due to the steep, gravel road, but, once you arrive the setting and accommodations are incredible. Wonderful view of the landscape and river from the front porch, which was perfect for morning coffee and evening drinks. Deer in the meadow each morning and evening, ducks in the river, and we even saw two river otters and several bald eagles. The privacy and seclusion made for an exceptional stay. We floated the Dearborn River from Highway 287 to the cabin, which was our main objective for the trip, and that made for a great adventure. We were able to fly fish from the cabin property and the Missouri River. The cabin itself is clean, spacious, powered by solar and wind, and was well set up for cooking indoors or grilling outdoors (we did both). We hope to stay again in the future, as we truly enjoyed the stay and our experiences.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Spring time floats on the Dearborn are wonderful. Lots of birds and wildlife. Thank you for staying with us.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Dearborn River Cabin with 3/4 mi River Frontage & 72 Acres to Roam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343903vb
206 367-6780
Craig Montana
Michigan
5

Two Feathers Lodge

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Wow! This is the first time I have ever done a review for anything on line but decided that this place was so special that it deserved same. The cabin is beautiful, spotlessly clean and well appointed. We were a bit worried about the fact that there isn't a hook up to electricity but we never even noticed any difference with the solar and wind power and we were there for an entire week.
The 72 acre property is absolutely gorgeous and if you love to fly fish, than this is where you need to stay. We did a guided day trip on the Missouri, which exceeded our expectations, and the fly shops in Craig only 30 minutes away so convenient. But you can wade outside your door on the Dearborn River and catch rainbows and browns all day long. Nice 15 to 17 inchers! And then each evening we sat on the porch and watched the mule deer, whitetails, eagles and hawks.
The owners went out of their way to make sure our stay was perfect and that we had everything we needed. They made you feel welcome from the first phone conversation.
My husband has declared this our favorite place to stay in Montana and next year we are bringing two of our children because there are so many things for them to do besides the fantastic fly fishing. Horsback riding, hiking, kayaking etc... The cabin can easily accomadate a family of four.
Thank you Two Feathers Lodge for helping us have an extremely fun and relaxing vacation!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay - we really appreciated that you chose to stay with us.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Dearborn River Cabin with 3/4 mi River Frontage & 72 Acres to Roam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343903vb
206 367-6780
Craig Montana
5

GREAT LODGE IN A FANTASTIC LOCATION

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We travelled from the UK and were not disappointed when we arrived at the road end where we were met and guided in to the property. Coming from the UK it was hugely exciting to be in such a beautiful area with plenty of wildlife. The idea that a bear might make an appearance made it even better. We didn't see one but there were plenty of deer and some great birds with Osprey (very rare in the UK) successfully fishing in the river - wonderful sight.
We didn't see anyone for the three days we were at the lodge so it was great to chill out and practise my new hobby of fly fishing without an audience of fisher people laughing at my poor casting. The fishing was great and I caught my first Montana trout on the river - brilliant.
The Lodge was very comfortable with wonderful views and had everything we needed included inflatable inner tubes for the river - which we used when we went swimming in the pools in the river. Barbecues on the verandah and also picnics by the river using the picnic table.
I wish we could have stayed longer it was one of the highlights of our trip to Montana.
business
Secluded Dearborn River Cabin with 3/4 mi River Frontage & 72 Acres to Roam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343903vb
206 367-6780
Craig Montana
Great falls
5

Oly family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Wonderful property that allowed you to be away without much of a drive. Beautiful cabin overlooking the Dearborn river. My family of 5 had a wonderful time with hiking and sitting around the campfire down by the river. The folks renting the property was great to work with. The fishing in the area is great and the accommodations wonderful. Would highly recommend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Terri, thank you for sharing your experiences.
Two Feathers is a Lodge for all seasons. Fishing opens the 3rd Saturday in May and continues through November. There are resident rainbows and browns as well as nice runs in spring and fall, respectively. Float from upstream in the spring, and depending on water flows, into July. Continue floating/tubing from the cabin to Missouri River much later into the summer. We love to swim/snorkel - the river cools but is not ice cold. If you like to roam, bring your mountain bike or hiking boots. Winter brings wonderful snow falls, snow shoeing and peace. Regardless of season, there is always a place to gather: the deck, picnic tables, the river fire pit, spacious living room…
business
Secluded Dearborn River Cabin with 3/4 mi River Frontage & 72 Acres to Roam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343903vb
206 367-6780
Craig Montana
Cut Bank
5

Perfect Resting Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
If you are wanting to get a way from phone calls, loud traffic and nosy neighbors where you can just relax and still have fun....well this place is it! It is secluded and remote no TV or internet but we all survived and DID NOT even get bored. My 14 year son was able to go hiking, 4 wheeling, fishing and swimming all on this property. We sat on the outside deck until into the dark evening so calm and peaceful. Everything was there that was needed. I would come back to this property in a heart beat! Words cannot express what a perfect spot to get away from it all. Thanks for sharing it with us!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words about Two-Feathers Lodge. This is a place where a frenetic life can be eased into a peaceful existence. Whether you like to do activities like fishing, hiking, swimming, 4-wheeling.… or just want to read, meditate, write, enjoy nature, pursue your artwork… this place can help you find what you need.
business
Secluded Dearborn River Cabin with 3/4 mi River Frontage & 72 Acres to Roam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343903vb
206 367-6780
Craig Montana
Powell,Ohio
5

Perfect Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We were seeking a secluded retreat with river access, rustic charm and lots of outdoor activities. We found them all at the Two Feathers Lodge as well as a very well appointed cabin which had all of the necessary amenities. The setting was fantastic, the access to the Dearborn and Missouri river was excellent and nearby outfitters had all of equipment needed for our vacation plans. The cabin is accessable only by 4-wheel drive vehicle. Well situated between Helena and Great Falls the location made for easy visits to both cities for supplys and entertainment but the quiet of the cabin made for a refreshing respite from all distractions. Thanks for making it available !
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Dearborn River Cabin with 3/4 mi River Frontage & 72 Acres to Roam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343903vb
206 367-6780
Craig Montana
Vancouver, WA
5

I didn't want to leave!

I didn't want to leave!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Everything was perfect. Deer coming down to the river for a drink early in the morning, as the sun was just peeking over the ridge, bathing the opposite side of the river with gold, the doe and her fawns, and the magnificent rocky ridge as well in that golden sunlight. The setting of the cabin itself was perfect. Set in among rock outcroppings on the top of a ridge, the land slopes gently down to the river through a picturesque meadow to the sparkling Dearborn River below. It depends on what you are looking for here as to how enamored you are by this or that. For me, having a few hundred yards of river, and those resident rainbows and browns, always beckoning to me, was a great draw. The fish were quite willing to reward a stealthy approach, and there are some REALLY large fish in that stretch of the river. My wife enjoyed the bird watching,solitude, reading on the back porch, and picking out interesting rocks for her garden at home. She varnished them after we got home. They look just as beautiful as the rocks in the cabib now, and when I see them, I always remember our stay at the cabin. When I wasn't fishing, I spent a lot of time on the back porch with my wife. We read together, but she had a chair and I had the couch. I love that couch. It is my new most favorite spot to read, nap, eat, and take in the spectacular view. This was our second honeymoon, and we hope to return again and again to renew our vows.
P.S. July means Golden Stone dries in the pocket water between the pools, and streamers around the pools. Be sure to drift a streamer deep, entering the pools from upstream, and swinging through the transitional area between the fast current and the slower pool water. Toss those same streamers up against any rocks you can reach. There are some really big fish in the main pool near the picnic table by the river. Drift downstream from the cabin through some fantastic dry fly riffles near the confluence with the Missouri River....you will be shocked at how great the fishing is there as well.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded Dearborn River Cabin with 3/4 mi River Frontage & 72 Acres to Roam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343903vb
206 367-6780
Craig Montana
Battleground, Wa. USA
5

What a great secluded site!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Ruth: Thanks' again for allowing us to stay in your cabin.
We had a great time and only wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the ultra peacefull suroundings.
Fishing was great on the Dearborn, the first nite was a little breazy so I used an 1/8 oz. rooster tail, salmon fly pattern and must of hooked a dozen fish, we kept a 16" raibow and cooked it up on your bar-b-q. I would recommend strressing the type of access road and require a 4 wheel drive for visitors as it is quite an experience.
We hope to return!
Sincerely, Mike Hershberger
Battleground, WA.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers