Mission District apartment rental - Welcome to Mission Manor!
Welcome to Mission Manor!
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
 

Mission District Apartment Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

You are our house guest at Mission Manor on the 2nd floor flat of an enchanting, San Francisco townhome, ideally located in the vibrant Mission Dolores area between the Castro, the Mission District, and Noe Valley. With a walk score of 95, a transit score of 99, and a bike score of 98, our location couldn’t be better! We are just steps away from beautiful Dolores Park, Mission Dolores Church and many of the city’s best restaurants, bars and nightclubs.

Built in 1910, Mission Manor retains many original details, including fireplaces, pocket doors, vaulted ceilings and the original claw foot bathtub. Natural light dazzles throughout. With four bedrooms and a living room with a fold out bed that can be closed off to become a fifth bedroom, you’ll be pampered with 600-thread count sheets, down or down alternative pillows, and lofty comforters. Amenities in each room include: Wi-Fi Internet access, HD-TV, DVD player, a clock radio/CD player, and access to a DVD movie library. Also provided: 100% Turkish cotton towels, hairdryers, shampoo, conditioner, body wash and body lotion. A large capacity washer and dryer are also accessible during your stay.

The fully equipped eat-in kitchen seats eight. The kitchen is equipped with stainless steel dishwasher, fridge, Cuisinart toaster, coffee maker and blender, pots & pans, dishes. To begin your stay, we stock the kitchen for your first light breakfast with croissants, 7 grain bread, milk, fresh fruit, yogurt, butter, and jam. Our cupboards offer a selection of black, green and herbal teas as well as coffee. If you plan to cook, a full array of spices, plus oils, are supplied to help get you started.

Our walk score of 95 means that you can easily pick up your favorite treats, local organic produce, wine, cheese, and enticing take-out at the Bi-Rite gourmet grocery around the block. Safeway and a new Whole Foods are only a few blocks away.

Mission Manor is located in the epicenter of the Mission District's foodie paradise. For lunch or dinner, take a stroll through the neighborhood to discover the famed “Gourmet Ghetto” of 18th Street. Try the perfect croissants or the legendary bread pudding at Tartine Bakery (rated 28 by Zagat’s). Enjoy a casual breakfast or lunch at the Dolores Park Café or dine at the renowned Delfina Restaurant and it's charming pizzeria next door. Or walk another block to try some of the many hip and excellent restaurants along the Valencia Corridor. There are also coffee shops, book-shops, art galleries, bars and clubs of every variety. En route home, stop by for some of the city’s best ice cream at the Bi-Rite. You will never be bored or go hungry in this neighborhood!

Our neighborhood’s transit score of 99 means that within two or three blocks, you can take a street car, BART, Muni, bus or Zip Car to explore the city and visit other well-known destinations such as the Ferry Building, Union Square, ATT Park, the Alcatraz tour boats and Fishermen’s Wharf, or intersect with San Francisco’s historic cable car lines. If you are feeling especially active and adventuresome, rent a bike only a few blocks away at Mission Bike on Valencia Street.

Because we are so well located, we don't recommend bringing a car into the city if you can avoid it. Street parking is scarce and usually has a strictly enforced 2 hour parking limit between the hours of 8:00am-9:00pm. Garage parking is expensive, especially in congested areas. You are best off walking & taking advantage of our very good public transportation system to get around the city. Mission Manor does have space for one car in the on-premise garage, available 1st come/1st serve for $30/n extra. (Size restrictions apply).

We look forward to hosting you at Mission Manor!

More Details
Hide Details

58 Reviews of Property 319180 in Mission District, California

Best Townhome in the Mission, Dazzling Light, Dolores Park, Wi-Fi
average rating of 4.862069 based on 58 reviews
business
Best Townhome in the Mission, Dazzling Light, Dolores Park, Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p319180vb
++1 (415) 990-8855 (California,USA)
Mission District San Francisco
5

Great Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
A group of us came to SF for a conference. The place is great to stay, with very convenience public transit and nice restaurants around. One of the famous bakery shop and ice cream place are just a block away.
Karen is a very nice lady. The food she provided is perfect for us, especially for some of us need to rush in the mornings and get into meetings on time.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car
business
Best Townhome in the Mission, Dazzling Light, Dolores Park, Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p319180vb
++1 (415) 990-8855 (California,USA)
Mission District San Francisco
5

AN AMAZING FIND IN THE HEART OF THE MISSION

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This place is amazing! I recently stayed at Mission Manor with my mother and a few family friends for a mini reunion in San Francisco. It was hands down the nicest vrbo rental I've ever stayed at in this country (hard to beat that one near the spa in Bordeaux!). Every room is well appointed...all bedrooms have tvs and dvd players. It doesn't feel like an anonymous hotel room, and it never veers into that dangerous kitchy Bed and Breakfast territory. Everything is squeaky clean and fresh, from the towels to the kitchen to the magazines in the living room. And, THE BEDS ARE SO COMFORTABLE! If you do manage to leave the bed, Mission Manor is in the hippest neighborhood in San Francisco. It is a block away from Dolores Park, with the best people watching in the city and smack dab in the best restaurant, bar and specialty-shop zone in SF. Karen, the owner, was a wonderful host. She had cookies, fresh fruit and snacks out for us, and a fully stocked fridge. She was gracious, welcoming and laid back at the same time, with intriguing suggestions for things to do and see. I felt like I could call her if I needed her, but she wasn't hovering around like some b and b's.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Best Townhome in the Mission, Dazzling Light, Dolores Park, Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p319180vb
++1 (415) 990-8855 (California,USA)
Mission District San Francisco
San Diego, California
5

A great place for our girls week out!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
What a great place to spend four days in San Francisco with my girlfriends! Every year the eight of us meet in the city to celebrate our friendship of many years. This year we chose Mission Manor and were so delighted with the accommodations and the exciting Mission area. The flat was large and well appointed with the most comfortable beds, views from every bedroom, especially the two in the rear with windows that opened out onto a view of the trees and garden below. We like to stay in on some nights and cook ourselves, and we found the kitchen full of everything we needed, from pots and pans to spices and condiments. The location was nearby all public transportation, busses, street cars, and BART. The staff really spoiled us! The kitchen is stocked with a delicious "starter breakfast" of fresh croissants, butter, local berry jam, Greek yogurt, coffee, teas and an abundant fruit bowl. It felt like we were living in a real San Francisco home. We can't wait to come back here next year and stay at this delightful place again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
business
Best Townhome in the Mission, Dazzling Light, Dolores Park, Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p319180vb
++1 (415) 990-8855 (California,USA)
Mission District San Francisco
4

Nice place.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This place is really nice. The unit itself was well taken care of and clean, and we really enjoyed the breakfast foods that the owner supplied. There were eight people in our group, and we each had our own key which was very convenient. I slept in the bedroom with the fireplace, and our bed was SUPER comfy! I don't know about the other beds or rooms, but I didn't hear anyone complain. The neighborhood itself isn't "fancy," but we weren't looking for that kind of environment either. It felt comfortable, and we enjoyed the awesome restaurants nearby!

One thing we were slightly disappointed in was the lack of common space in the unit. The living room is quite small, and though it would be adequate for smaller groups, our group of 8 adults struggled to use the space effectively. The kitchen is down the hallway, and completely separate from the living space, but we typically found ourselves split between the two rooms.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this place, however large groups may want to look for something a little more open. Since we were traveling on a budget though, it met our needs just fine.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Best Townhome in the Mission, Dazzling Light, Dolores Park, Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p319180vb
++1 (415) 990-8855 (California,USA)
Mission District San Francisco
5

A Great Place to Stay In San Francisco!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
I've just come home from four days away in San Francisco and wanted to rave about it! Our accommodations at Mission Manor were perfect for our group of seven colleagues there for a conference (and we had some fun touring around too!). Instead of having to stay in hotel rooms, we chose an Edwardian flat that was clean, spacious and nicely decorated. We found the photos on the website to be very accurate to what it looked like when we arrived - bright, spacious and nicely furnished, located in an authentic Mission District neighborhood. The location made it so easy to use public transportation, both buses, trolly and BART.

Dealing with Karen and Amy was easy and pleasurable. We had some brief correspondence back and forth settling the details and when we arrived it all went smoothly and everything happened the way they said it would. They went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed and gave us lots of good ideas on where to eat in the neighborhood. I have just received email notice that our security deposit has already been refunded...that was fast!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Best Townhome in the Mission, Dazzling Light, Dolores Park, Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p319180vb
++1 (415) 990-8855 (California,USA)
Mission District San Francisco
5

YES!!! This place is ADORABLE and PERFECTLY located!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We love this place. The service is great, the space itself is gorgeous and comfortable, and the location is amazing....

Karen, the owner, is always around and available to answer our questions about where to eat and what to do, and she always has some good wisdom to pass on about what's happening in the city and where.

The rooms are gorgeous -- victorian and bright, sunny, airy, high ceilings. There's also a claw foot tub which makes me feel like I'm in a movie. The beds are cozy and comfortable too, and even the fold out couch give you a good night's rest (I had a tagalong one night I was there).

If you haven't yet explored The Mission neighborhood of SF, GO NOW! It's one of the more interesting, vibrant, fun places I've been recently, loads of hip shops and great good at all price ranges. It's also fairly central, so wherever you're trying to get to is easily accessible on public transport -- and the BART is right there.

Karen always checks in after we leave and refunds our deposit right away -- helpful as we plan our next getaway!

STAY THERE! And also, eat around the corner at Delfina. It's awesome too.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Best Townhome in the Mission, Dazzling Light, Dolores Park, Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p319180vb
++1 (415) 990-8855 (California,USA)
Mission District San Francisco
Where do you live?
1

Bad management experience

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My family of 6, including 4 adult children, stayed at Mission Manor over Christmas. I wish I could say we had a good experience, but unfortunately, the owner and her assistant made things quite difficult for us, despite the fact that we paid their highest price for a 5-night holiday minimum. A month later, we still have not been refunded our full deposit.
First, this is a typical old SF flat, meaning there's a very long hallway with bedrooms on either end and a kitchen in the middle. I was surprised about people saying that 11 fit comfortably. I think 6 is a stretch: we couldn't all sit in the living room unless a chair was brought over from another room, it was that small. The pictures make it look better than in real life. Furniture was mostly IKEA. The fireplaces are for show only; none actually function as fireplaces. There were missing knobs and hooks, and a light in the kitchen was not functioning, making it dim all the time. We were tired upon arrival and the manager, who seemed to be high or something, took a long time issuing tedious instructions on ordinary things like the thermostat (push the up-button to turn up the heat. Really?) Then she returned later to admonish us against wearing shoes in the house! We asked if the downstairs renters had complained, but no, she just didn't want us walking in our shoes, presumably to lessen wear on the wood floor. A hallway rug would have solved that problem, but you'll have to wear these awful hospital-issue socks the entire time you're in the house.
Check-out time is 11:00am, but the day we were leaving, the cleaners came half hour early with a small child who was left unsupervised to roam the rooms. The cleaners shooed us out of the bedroom so she could vacuum! Sorry, but if you need to be in such a rush to get the flat ready for the next renters, then adjust your checkin/checkout times accordingly. It was unprofessional.
The kicker to the story is, a week later the owner accused us of breaking a ceramic elephant, which we had not. We had moved the elephant off the fake fireplace mantel so that we wouldn't bump it! Whether the cleaners broke the tail off the elephant in their haste , or their unsupervised child did, I can't say for sure. But the owner charged us $110 for a made-in-China elephant that I could buy at TJ Maxx for $14.99. She refused to believe us, and then refused to respond to emails. My husband thinks this may actually her little scam to extract more $ from renters! Be very wary!
Helpful votes: 2/4
business
Best Townhome in the Mission, Dazzling Light, Dolores Park, Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p319180vb
++1 (415) 990-8855 (California,USA)
Mission District San Francisco
Longview, WA
5

I wish I could keep a secret!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The Mission Manor is an excellent host for experiencing all that San Francisco has to offer. Whether you're an epicurean looking to feast on the Mission's bounties or a cultural savant seeking access to vibrant neighborhoods, this is the perfect spot. The owner serves your needs by accommodating your specific tastes, yet give you the freedom to treat the place like a temporary home. Comfortable and classic this place is a perfect spot for the urban explorer that wants to immerse themselves in the city, not the tourism districts. Cannot recommend enough!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Best Townhome in the Mission, Dazzling Light, Dolores Park, Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p319180vb
++1 (415) 990-8855 (California,USA)
Mission District San Francisco
5

Great location, great accommodations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Three co-workers and I attended a large conference in San Francisco--so large that hotel rooms were booked or beyond our budget. We found this place on VRBO, and it turned out to be a comfortable way to stay during a conference. The rooms look like the photos, the kitchen was well stocked with fruit, cereal items, coffee and more, and we each had plenty of room in our own rooms. The wifi worked great, and the walk to the BART was quick. It is amazing how much this area comes to life at night and on the weekends. Valencia, 18th Street, Dolores Park--there were a lot of people out enjoying the beautiful fall weather.

I moved to the apartment on the lower floor after the conference and enjoyed the same quality experience. Laura, the property manager, was a delight and answered all questions too.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Best Townhome in the Mission, Dazzling Light, Dolores Park, Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p319180vb
++1 (415) 990-8855 (California,USA)
Mission District San Francisco
Vancouver, B.C. Canada
5

The girls

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My seven friends and I stayed at Mission Manor to celebrate our seventieth birthdays. We were so comfortable and well fed in this wonderful house. The beds were comfortable and there was cozy rooms to sit in and chat. The kitchen was great and very well stocked with more than enough food for our five days. We found transit very handy via the tram on Market Street and were able to go everywhere we wanted to go. The house was clean and cozy and I would stay there again. Thank you so much.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1