Captain Cook estate rental - Front of home w/pool
Front of home w/pool
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Captain Cook Estate Rental Photos and Description
Estate, 1 Bedroom + Sunroom, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Aloha & welcome to Maka Nui. This is a private coffee estate with unparalleled veiws! Guests have said that this beats any scenic point that they have seen!

As you enter the gates to our paradise you will see the beginning of the vistas that we have.You will be furnished an aloha basket of our farm coffee /fresh fruits from the land/sweet bread/milk/juice/choclate mac-nuts.

Then you can relax & get to know the mascots , Happy & Bamboo(dogs) Cosmo (cat). We have great resurants near by for all tastes. Grocery /post office/as well as a live theater / museum's.The Volcano National Park is 90 miles away.

The home is furnished in Asian/Hawaiian tastes & has all the comforts of a 4 star resort . But the differance is they are all for you. In the master bath we have provided you with spa slippers to slip on after relaxing in the jetted tub . While enjoying that you can gaze out onto the koi pond.If that doesn't unwind you lounge on the screened in lanai & sip a drink while watching the sun set across the water.

The master suite has 2 Ca. king beds & a sitting area which connects to the lanai.

The home is built in an open floor plan to ensure the gentle breezes thruout..

We hope you come and see for yourself what our other guests rave about here in Hawaii.

It is NOT ok to solicit this site. Please check calender before sending enquiry.

Keywords: Private 5 acre coffee estate.

More Details
Hide Details

Michael & I are the caretakers of this wonderful land. We work hard to provide the best time here as well as ensure that the owners never worry about the home here.

We have lived here for 17 years & are quit familier with the island and so can give you the inside scoop for your stay.

The Owner purchased this estate in 2005

The property offer the rural flavor but has all the amenities of a big city

Pick your own fresh fruit to enjoy , bbq by the pool the fresh fish that is here all year long.Wake up mornings with a cup of coffee gown right here! Listen to the many birds

6 Reviews of Property 343436 in Captain Cook, Hawaii

Estate for the Discretionary Traveler
average rating of 5.0 based on 6 reviews
business
Estate for the Discretionary Traveler
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343436vbi
(808) 987-0732
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Virginia
5

Loved our stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This gem of a property is perched in the foothills of Mauna Loa, high above Kealakekua bay. It has a fantastic view of the bay and the lands below from a great wrap-round screened and enclosed porch. It is quite private and very quiet.

The house is elegantly furnished inside, with all the comforts of home (and then some). You will feel spoiled! There is a fully equipped kitchen that we used to prepare a variety of great dishes.

Candi & Michael, the caretakers, did a fantastic job of taking care of us and answered all of our questions about the property. We really enjoyed the fruit basket they gave us as a welcome present, filled with estate-grown fruits. The estate-grown coffee was outstanding, too!

We were sad to leave and are looking forward to our next visit.

You will love it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Estate for the Discretionary Traveler
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343436vbi
(808) 987-0732
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Broomfield, CO
5

The Perfect Kona Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Our stay in Maka Nui was perfect. The pictures here on VRBO do not do it justice. It is absolutely beautiful. The kitchen is beautiful and fully equipped. It is a true pleasure to be able to prepare a delicious breakfast with coffee and fruit grown on the property. We spent every breakfast on the huge, fully screened lanai enjoying the epic view of Kealakekua Bay. The master bedroom is romantic, spacious and comfortable with the soothing sounds of the Koi pond babbling just outside. The master bathroom and double marble shower are larger than most hotel rooms. After a long day of snorkeling and playing in the ocean it is a joy to scrub the salt off in the huge jetted tub.

The property is beautiful and has plenty of roaming room. There is a pool with a small waterfall, barbeque grill and chaise lounge chairs for relaxing. You can park your rental in the garage and there are beach towels, chairs, grass mats and coolers available for you to borrow.

Candi, Michael, Happy and Bamboo are warm caretakers and are a wealth of information about the area. We spend half of our stay on the Big Island at Maka Nui and the second half at a large luxury hotel. We definitely felt like we downgraded at the hotel. Next time we plan on spending our entire time at the house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: You folks were a hit w/ Happy & Bamboo! We also miss seeing you here! Wish would have know you were still at the hotel when we went to the beach there , would have been great to visit more.
And to hear the praises makes us see that our work is making guests feel welcome. Thank you for the compliments! Look forward to seeing you again. Candi & Michael
business
Estate for the Discretionary Traveler
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343436vbi
(808) 987-0732
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Colorado
5

Ahhhh! Relaxation in south Kona

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This was our second stay at Maka Nui in the large house (and our 4th time staying on the property--the two previous times in the cottage). We love staying on the estate. The grounds are beautiful and well kept--a tropical paradise. And very private. The house is large, airy, with every amenity you could want. The spacious lanai is the perfect place to have morning coffee (grown on the estate and provided in the welcome basket!) while the sun come up over Mauna Loa. It is also a wonderful place for an afternoon nap.
I enjoy cooking some meals in the well-equipped kitchen and I also enjoy using the fruit that grows in abundanceon the property. Michael and Candi, the caretakers, are always available to get recommendations and to deal with any small problem that may arise.

We are already making plans for a return stay at Maka Nui in 2013!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your compliment's. We are always to happy to have repeat guests as you are now like old friends. Looking forward to seeing you next year . Happy & Bamboo keep going down to look for you!
business
Estate for the Discretionary Traveler
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343436vbi
(808) 987-0732
Captain Cook Kona Coast
San Francisco CA
5

recent lodger

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had an incredible time. The house is so very comfortable, and equipped with everything you need to relax, eat-in and enjoy the pool. The climate in August was very mild which worked out very well for us and our 5 month old baby. We can't say more about Candi and Mike's hospitality. Good location to drive to the Bay of Refuge as well. View was spectacular.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind comments. So glad that you both & the baby ( what a doll) enjoyed the home. Look forward to you returning maybe when she is a little older. Mahalo again
business
Estate for the Discretionary Traveler
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343436vbi
(808) 987-0732
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Colorado
5

Luxury in Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Our stay in December was our first time in the main house at Maka Nui (we've stayed in the cottage a couple of times in past years). From our previous stays, I knew the estate with the tropical landscaping, the pool, and the quiet and privacy was the perfect place to vacation.

I always admired the main house and when Candi took us on a tour in 2010 and revealed that she was going to start renting only the top floor--it was my goal to stay there in 2011. And staying there was just as fabulous as I thought it would be! Where do I start? The bedroom was huge, airy, with the most comfortable king size bed and the bathroom with the wonderful large green granite shower and the whirlpool tub was soooo luxurious. The koi pond is just off the bedroom and feeding them every morning was fun plus the gurgle of the water in the pond was conducive to sound sleep. The kitchen was fully equipped and a pleasure to prepare meals in (and I was the first to use the new cooktop) We actually entertained some on-island riends for dinner and some other friends for a cocktail party on the lanai during our stay. But my favorite place was the lanai--screened, glorious views, island breezes, great day bed. I spent lot of time there reading and napping and relaxing. My husband spent his days at Ke'ei Beach--which is 10 minutes from the house--drawing and painting (he's an artist).

Candi and MIchael are wonderful hosts and we really fell like family every time we come to Maka Nui. We hope to return later this year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: To have you back & to enjoy the main house at Maka Nui was wonderful for us also! Knowing we are doing it right for all our guests is a goal we strive for.
The lemon bars you made were very "ono" and I know you enjoyed cooking while here. Look forward to seeing you soon. Mahalo Candi & Michael
business
Estate for the Discretionary Traveler
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343436vbi
(808) 987-0732
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Vancouver Island, BC, Canadaf
5

A Vacation Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
We just returned from 3 weeks at Maka Nui and had the most relaxing vacation in what felt like our piece of paradise. Although we expected a very nice home and garden from the pictures on the website, it was even better in real life! The home is decorated and equipped with high quality furnishings and appliances and the garden is beautifully landscaped with every tropical tree and plant you can imagine. The kitchen is stocked with the essentials and more (spices, oil, etc.) so it's a pleasure to prepare meals.

We really appreciated how well the resident managers, Candi & Michael, took care of us. We arrived to a warm greeting, a tour of the facilities and a huge, overflowing basket of fruit and other goodies. A warm and generous welcome indeed! Throughout our stay, Candi anticipated and met our every need and want. We often arrived home to find fresh papaya or bananas that had been grown on the property, awaiting us. Candi and Michael maintain the home and gardens extremely well and, without being intrusive, make it easy for their guests to feel at home. They gave us great restaurant and activity suggestions too. The owners are fortunate to have them as property managers.

The home itself is spacious with wonderful indoor and outdoor sitting areas. The screened-in, wrap-around lanai provides many choices for dining or relaxing. We enjoyed many leisurely hours there enjoying the views and the gentle breezes blowing through.

Maka Nui is superb vacation home we'd highly recommend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3