Dahlonega cabin rental - View of front of cabin
View of front of cabin
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Dahlonega Cabin Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 2-8)

Are you tired of all the hustle and bustle of everyday life? Have we got the vacation for you! Heaven's Window is a beautiful cabin nestled in the North Georgia Mountains. This isn't your typical cabin. It is surrounded by a 200 year old Hemlock Forest, Mountain Laurel, and breath taking river views. It provides 100% seclusion, with no other cabins in sight. Heaven's Window is located on 3 acres of serene mountain property, directly on the Chestatee River. The Cabin offers a 180 degree view of the river, like no other.

You can enjoy a day reclining on the wrap around porch, next to your own private cascading waterfall or fishing on the rolling river. This cabin gives you direct access to the Chestatee River for canoeing, fishing, tubing, and swimming. Have a barbecue on the deck while enjoying all nature has to offer. In the evening after a game of pool and an ice cold beverage, relax into the therapeutic hot tub, while listening to the gentle roll of the river.

14 Reviews of Property 343134 in Dahlonega, Georgia

Heaven's Window
average rating of 4.714286 based on 14 reviews
business
Heaven's Window
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343134
+1 +1 706 7069739961
Dahlonega North Georgia Mountains
5

Can't wait to go back!

Can't wait to go back!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
We had a wonderful stay. The cabin was beautiful, the furniture was comfortable, and the view was amazing. We loved listening to the river, especially at night. The driveway was a bit intimidating the first time down, but my husband had no problems navigating it. I can see where a two-wheel drive would not make it. John was great and made sure we had everything we needed. I have no doubt that we will return to this cabin when we can.
business
Heaven's Window
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343134
+1 +1 706 7069739961
Dahlonega North Georgia Mountains
Kitchener, Ontario
5

The Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This was the most beautiful place we have ever stayed at. We headed down to Georgia to get away from the never ending Canadian winter. The weather was mostly perfect, except for one day when it rained and even then, it was still warm out.
The cabin was as gorgeous as the pictures featured on the site. It was very clean and falling into the utterly comfortable beds after a seventeen hour drive felt like heaven.
The driveway was very exciting to navigate in the dark for the first time! It was a tight squeeze for our Tundra but my husband managed it no problem. It would be a piece of cake with a smaller 4 wheel drive vehicle.
John was a pleasure to deal with and answered all of our phone calls and questions promptly. Thanks so much John!
Can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay. The river would be a blast to tube down when the water is warmer. My husband and daughter caught a fish event though it wasn't the best time of the year for fishing. The hot tub was a real treat after days spent hiking and biking. Waking up to the sound of the river was the most peaceful thing ever. Relaxing on the couch in the living room with the fireplace on was bliss. Having no neighbours around is wonderful, yet you are only ten minutes away from town.
We went hiking at Amicalola, shopped at the Premium outlets that are only a short drive away, did lots of road biking around the area and mountain biking at Bull Mountain and Jake Mountain. To tire our dogs out in the evening we drove towards town and did a 3 mile hike around the lake. Every night we had pool tournaments. We haven't spent so much quality time together as a family in years thanks to the sketchy wi-fi. Our best vacation ever!
The only thing you need to bring is a frying pan or two if you like to make big meals like we do. A kettle would also have been handy. The only problem with buying our own water for drinking was that as an active family, we drink a LOT! However, it's cheap to buy at the Walmart in town and there is plenty of cupboard space to store it in.
I would totally recommend this place to my friends and family. Would love to go back sometime when we can enjoy the river more. Haven't stopped missing this place since we left it.
business
Heaven's Window
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343134
+1 +1 706 7069739961
Dahlonega North Georgia Mountains
Tampa FL
5

Heaven Window it IS!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Amazing weekend! Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Heaven's Window
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343134
+1 +1 706 7069739961
Dahlonega North Georgia Mountains
Where do you live?
5

Wonderful stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Incredible home! John was extremely helpful, and full of suggestions, thank you! We had one of the most wonderful family vacations! Let's get this "driveway" out of the way. Reading about it had us more than curious. First of all, as STATED you need to have the all wheel drive or 4WD. Guess what- you do! This is a mountain home! We have a Land Rover, and it no problem at all! The first time down and up the driveway were the most thrilling. You do get used to it, just as John said. How he and his son built this house there is beyond me! Now, the house, WOW.... it is so beautiful! It is on the side of the mountain. The view of the river and the surrounding area is fabulous! The beds were all very comfortable, and we had all the amenities you could ask for! We enjoyed the days out, and cooked dinner every night and had family time. Great library of movies!!! This home is truly a GEM! Thank you! Don't let this rental pass you by! WE will be back!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Heaven's Window
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343134
+1 +1 706 7069739961
Dahlonega North Georgia Mountains
Jacksonville, Florida
5

Beautiful... just beautiful...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Ok, I have to get the discussion of the driveway out of the way first. After reading several of the reviews, I was very curious and couldn't wait to experience it for myself. Yes, it's intimidating for 'flatlanders' like myself but it is absolutely worth doing. I never got the nerve to drive up from the cabin but was able to do the drive down (much to the chagrin of two of the passengers). Thankfully, we had a brave friend that was more than willing to tackle the challenge. As for the cabin itself, Heaven's Window is truly an amazing place and I will absolutely go back again... and again if I can. I hope to talk my husband into it very soon. The cabin itself is beyond compare to anything I've ever seen. It was extremely clean, the photos accurately depict the beauty and serenity of the landscape and the cabin and all it's amenities. John, the owner was wonderful and very quick to answer any questions. I just hope that I'm able to get back to it sooner, rather than later. As for places close by that I'd recommend: Oar House Restaurant (food and atmosphere was outstanding), and Consolidated Mine is a great tourist spot with great people. Lake Lanier Canopy Tours was a huge hit for all of us. For our 'girls getaway', it was perfect. Thanks again, John for providing such a beautiful place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Heaven's Window
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343134
+1 +1 706 7069739961
Dahlonega North Georgia Mountains
Jacksonville, Florida
5

From Jacksonville Florida-Girl's Getaway

From Jacksonville Florida-Girl's Getaway
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
First of all I have to say that John the owner was fantastic! He called and checked on us and was available anytime we needed to ask a question. The cabin is so beautiful, the river, the hottub, the pool table downstairs, the surrounding area it just doesn't get any better. The beds in the cabin were so comfortable including the pillows. John has truly not missed anything. The driveway added to the excitement and made you realize you were really in the mountains and had left Florida behind. While we were there we checked some of the flyers in the owners book and went ziplining. Then we went to the goldmine for an underground trip and then found some amazing stones for our new jewelry we are having made! Make sure if you are reading this review you also go and eat at the Oarhouse(wow) and Breakfast and lunch are fantastic at the Wagon Wheel. We will be back in the summertime to enjoy jumping in the river and getting in some fishing time :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Heaven's Window
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343134
+1 +1 706 7069739961
Dahlonega North Georgia Mountains
north augusta, sc
5

Heaven's Window Rental

Heaven's Window Rental
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Our family stayed here for a wedding at a nearby winery. The view is even nicer than the pictures show. There are annenities like game room and hot tub, but we were so busy with the river a few yards away that we didn't bother with those. The women sat on the bank talking and reading, while we caught (and released) small mouthed bass, bream, and even a catfish. Everything in the cabin was just perfect. The Garmin took us right to the place.
One item: the steep driveway section is just as daunting as the owner repeatedly stressed. Absolutely go with 4W or all-wheel drive!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Heaven's Window
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343134
+1 +1 706 7069739961
Dahlonega North Georgia Mountains
5

Heaven's Window is DIVINE

Heaven's Window is DIVINE
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Unbelievable.The beauty of the house itself is only outmatched by the beauty of the land it sits upon. I'm almost reticent in giving such a glowing review as I selfishly want to keep this jewel to myself but Heaven's Window and it's owner John deserve due praise. This is a very SPECIAL place. The comfort and genius in the architecture of the home alone is praiseworthy.John,the owner,could not be more accomodating or a pleasure to deal with. This is true bliss.Quiet save the river and wildlife which are the only soundtrack one needs.So convenient to town too.There is ABSOLUTE privacy and yet a short 10 minute drive and you're at Walmart,Historic Dahlonega,FABULOUS restaurants(The Oar House and Country Cafe are superb).Yes a 4WD or AWD is needed for the driveway but if you want to truly experience what having your own section of river and mountain valley are like this is inconsequential.In fact,the "driveway of death" as so called by some children who wanted a party/puke cabin in the ONLY negative review of this place would've been better served in Panama City I believe. They probably couldn't stagger back down the driveway thus why they stupidly stayed outside for 4 hrs awaiting AAA. This home is SPECIAL.I marvelled at the quality and uniqueness of this place in such a remote area. Having vacationed in upstate New York,Pennsylvania,The Angeles Crest,The Santa Monica Mountains,Santa Barbara,Northern California I've never seen a place comparable to here. Thank you for sharing this amazing place with the rest of us back here on planet Earth for when we need a liitle slice of "Heaven".
Helpful votes: 4/7
business
Heaven's Window
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343134
+1 +1 706 7069739961
Dahlonega North Georgia Mountains
4

Our Dahlonega Weekend Retreat

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
This cabin was perfect for our group. It was very spacious. Our weekend was so relaxing....we cooked steaks on the grill one night, took a long hike along the river, built a fire, enjoyed some relaxation in the hottub, played pool in the game room, visited several wineries and visited the beautiful town of Dahlonega! The property is in excellent condition. The owner does recommend a 4WD vehicle for the driveway. This is good advice. We had no problems with our Yukon 4WD. I definitely would recommend this cabin to anyone looking to escape to a beautiful and peaceful place to relax with family and/or friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/4
business
Heaven's Window
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p343134
+1 +1 706 7069739961
Dahlonega North Georgia Mountains
Albany, Ga
5

Great Escape!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
The cabin was beautiful!! The views were breath taking!! The perfect place to get away from it all!! We had a great time and the driveway added quite the thrill, but absolutely NOTHING my 4WD couldn't handle! I actually went up the driveway once in regular drive (by accident) but made it to the top just fine. However, the 4WD is definately recommended!! The river was beautiful, the leaves were perfect and we even saw a bear....and were very thankfull he was way down the river! :) If you rent this cabin, you will not regret it!! The owner is very helpful and accomodating!! I totally recommend this cabin and plan on renting it again in the future!! Thank you, John, for sharing this amazing place with the rest of the world!! <3

A toasty hot tub, 5 of your best friends, a few adult beverages, a few amazing meals cooked on the grill, getting away from it the everyday hectic rush and simply reconnecting with nature.....what else could you possibly want?? Trust me....rent the cabin already!! :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/4