San Juan del Sur bungalow rental - Entrance to our Casa Mar y Sol
Entrance to our Casa Mar y Sol
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

San Juan del Sur Bungalow Rental Photos and Description
Bungalow, 2 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 5)

Mar y Sol Beach House is located on the most beautiful beach cove of the Pacific Coast, Remanso Bay, close to San Juan del Sur area, only 6 km from center of the town. This 1700 sq. ft. beach house will provide you with all the comfort during your vacation. Surrounded by tropical garden, maintained by our gardener, and natural environment which fully engages you to become a part of nature. You can see and hear colorful birds, listen to howler monkeys sitting on the surrounding trees, listen to ocean waves and watch the beautiful sunrises and sunsets every day.

Mar y Sol Beach House was constructed to resemble local Nicaraguan architecture. Exposed roof beams, guanacaste and cana ceilings in all rooms, big ceramic tiles throughout the house.

All the windows and doors are rustic and were made by hand on site. All windows have mosquito nets.

The house features two furnished bedrooms, front room, 1 1/2 bathrooms, very big outside shaded living-room/porch and a sun deck with two tanning beds.

Master bedroom is furnished with king size bed, two night tables and wall to wall big wardrobe. Shelves on the wall are filed with books which you are welcome to read and if you bring some of yours and willing to leave them behind, please do so.

Second bedroom is furnished with two beds, double and single ( sleeps three). It also has a wardrobe and two separate 3 drawer dressers.

Main bathroom has his and hers sinks and a very big walk in shower. Powder room walls were painted by the local artist creating a jungle atmosphere with birds and monkeys frolicking over your head.

Colorful kitchen is fully equipped with 5 burner gas stove, large refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, blenders, dishes, cutlery, pots and pans which you may need for your cooking. The middle island is perfect to prepare all your meals and the bar island facing the porch will provide you with amazing views during your meals. Kitchen and bathroom are serviced by on-demand hot water heater.

Under the roof, fully open to the outside, the porch will provide you with greatly needed shade and breeze. The porch is divided into two fully furnished seating areas. You can relax in traditional Nicaraguan rocking chairs or lay down on the hammocks. The adjacent sun deck, with two sun beds, will provide you with that golden color if you wish, sun protection is a must.

Free WiFi Internet is provided throughout the house.

Mar y Sol Beach House is maintained by our maid Flor and gardener Francisco. They are a married couple and they live on site in a separate living quarters. Weekly house cleaning is included in the rental fee you may request daily cleaning for an extra fee. Flor, being a very fine cook, can prepare meals for you for extra charge (you just need to provide her with produce). If requested, Flor also can do your laundry for an extra charge.

Keywords: Oceanfront Beach House, San Juan del Sur rental wheelchair accessible, Nicaragua vacation rental, beautiful beach cove, surfing competitions,

great surf, party and relax San Juan del Sur, Vacation Nicaragua, Affordable vacation, Vacation San Juan del Sur, Central America Vacation.

More Details
Hide Details

My husband and I share the same passion for traveling. We have traveled to many countries and have seen many beautiful places. Day to day demands of my husbands busy and successful business and my full time job pushed us to look for the oasis and a hideaway place where we would be able to unwind and relax.

Margaret Walesiak purchased this bungalow in 2002

When in 2002 we took our first trip to Nicaragua we fell in love with this country and it's people. Within a week we bought this property and a year later we decided to build our oasis/beach house. Our property is located the most beautiful beach cove along the Pacific Coast of Nicaragua. Ever since we finished building, our family and friends have enjoyed coming here. You can forget about your daily life and get completely lost in the beauty of nature. Why don't you try it and experience it on your own.

With an ocean and pristine beach just 100 meters away from our house we enjoy morning / evening walks on the beach and many swims throughout the day. We love morning coffees while sitting in our outside living-room, listening to the ocean and watching the waves. In the evenings, if we feel like it, we take a short drive to San Juan del Sur (7 minutes) where we can have a meal at the friendly restaurant or an evening stroll along the Malacon Blvd. San Juan del Sur is where we buy all the groceries, fresh fruits and vegetables at the local market and also fresh fish and see food at the new fish market located by the port. We enjoy this life and we hope that you will enjoy it too.

18 Reviews of Property 342667 in San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua

Mar Y Sol Beach House, Beautiful Beach, Wi-Fi, Tropical Haven
average rating of 4.888889 based on 18 reviews
business
Mar Y Sol Beach House, Beautiful Beach, Wi-Fi, Tropical Haven
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342667vbi
+1 613-762-9098
San Juan del Sur Nicaragua
Winter Park, Colorado, USA
5

Our Favorite Nicaraguan Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This was our third trip to Beach House Mar y Sol at Playa Remanso. The space holds a very special place in our hearts.

Beautiful patio with the best open air kitchen around. Such a wonderful place to spend time. We love how close we are to the Surf and Sun... The beach is just a short walk down the road where you'll find the Best Fish Tacos you've ever tasted. I highly recommend Yesne's confections with a Tona in hand as the sun sets over Playa Remanso. Ahhhh... Just thinking about it brings me back. :)

Tepe, the neighborhood dog, is one of the most amazing souls I've ever interacted with. And Blanca, the little white beach dog is so loving and kind. Befriend them and you will always have a faithful companion by your side to protect you and make you smile.

Beware of the Monkey, Pancha... she can be very sweet but has dramatic mood swings in her older age.

Don't forget to stock up on groceries and libations, and rent your surfboard in town before you make the 20 minute drive to Remanso... You won't want to leave for days once you get there :)

Relax and Enjoy,

Molly & Mike Lucido
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Molly and Mike, it's a pleasure to address your review again.
I am so very happy that you you have spend yet another great vacation at my beach house. Yes you are so right by mentioning Tepe as a great companion and of course the famous fish tacos at the beach taco bar.
Yes you are correct by saying to stock up on groceries, but that is only in case if you do not want to go back into town again.
My place is the one to fully relax and enjoy and I am very happy that you chose my beach house as your destination already few times.
I will be very happy to see you there again. For now have a great skiing season.
Cheers Margaret
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Mar Y Sol Beach House, Beautiful Beach, Wi-Fi, Tropical Haven
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342667vbi
+1 613-762-9098
San Juan del Sur Nicaragua
5

Denise & Frank

Denise & Frank
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We loved the Casa! It was beautiful, comfortable and such a great location. Flor and Francisco were friendly and helpful and Flor's Nicaraguan dinner was delicious! The outdoor living room with hammock was a dream! The only problem was not being able to connect to the Internet, but it was actually a blessing in disguise! We truly relaxed and unplugged. The 2 taco places on the beach are delicious! Try the fish tacos and ceviche!!! We hope to be back in the near future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It is a great pleasure to hear of the positive experiences after your vacation at our home. We apologize for your difficulties experienced with connection to our WiFi. We are addressing this problem as we speak with our Internet Provider and it should be fixed within the next day or so.

The owners
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Mar Y Sol Beach House, Beautiful Beach, Wi-Fi, Tropical Haven
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342667vbi
+1 613-762-9098
San Juan del Sur Nicaragua
maine, maine
5

Amazing home!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Settling back into the real world and wanted to drop a quick note of thanks for our stay at your property. It was everything we dreamed and more. Your house and the area was as described and we will be coming back soon for another visit. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful home.

Michael and Susan
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Mar Y Sol Beach House, Beautiful Beach, Wi-Fi, Tropical Haven
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342667vbi
+1 613-762-9098
San Juan del Sur Nicaragua
Alexandria, VA
5

Great Hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This beautiful home fulfilled all my expectations. The open air atmosphere was warm and relaxing.
You can't beat the Taco Beach Grill for a Fish Taco and a Tonia. Panache( the monkey) was a surprise always greating us in the morning. Great location 100 meters from the beach.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Mar Y Sol Beach House, Beautiful Beach, Wi-Fi, Tropical Haven
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342667vbi
+1 613-762-9098
San Juan del Sur Nicaragua
United States
4

Beautiful home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This is a beautiful home with a lot of attention to detail and personal touches. We loved the gardens and the open porch area. It was clean and well kept. We especially loved the kitchen............we stopped in the market at Diriamba and stocked up on fruits and vegetables and had a great time cooking with local meats and seafood we bought in SJDS.

Its most certainly out of the way and I can't imagine not having a car at your disposal. We mainly stayed around the place but did go to town a couple times.

We had to ask for Flor to come and wash towels. I'm not sure what she was responsible or not for doing but she finally did come sweep and mop the patio area only when we asked about it, saying that was all she was responsible for. We cleaned the bathrooms and mopped them and the kitchen part of the way through the week after she said she wasn't responsible for that. Frank and Flor are nice people, but it would be nice to know what they are actually supposed to do.

The beach is beautiful and very quiet. We had a great visit and loved laying in the hammocks and listening to the sound of the ocean and watching the stars. Thanks for opening your home up to us!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am very happy that guest renting my beach house have a great time and appreciate the location, beautiful beach and amenities of my home.
My website states that towels and bed sheets are changed and washed weekly and this applies to guests who are staying at my place for longer than a week. Those guests who are staying for less than a week have to request change of towels and sheets for the additional cost. Flor comes very early in the morning and sweeps the outside porch and if the kitchen is open she will sweep and wash the kitchen too. Please keep in mind that your are on vacation and you like to sleep in, so by the time you get up with lots of winds, in our bay bringing dirt from around, it might look like no one was there sweeping this open porch. She does not enter the inside of the house, unless asked. She gives all the privacy to our guests.
We will definitely work on the constant improvement in order to make a stay of our guests more enjoyable. It would be advisable to read all the information contained on our website carefully.

The owner
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Mar Y Sol Beach House, Beautiful Beach, Wi-Fi, Tropical Haven
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342667vbi
+1 613-762-9098
San Juan del Sur Nicaragua
Canada
5

Great beach getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We LOVED this vacation rental! Its literally a skip and a jump to the beach...you can see and hear the sound of the waves from the house :) The house was fully stocked with everything you need for a nice getaway including books, games, magazines, hammocks, beach hats, etc. The owner even called us to make sure that we had arrived safely and that we didn't need anything! Flor and Francisco were very helpful. The beach was generally very quiet and seems to attract mostly locals, which was nice. And there is no charge to enjoy the beach, unlike others in the area (Playa Hermosa, Yankee, etc..) The taco shack had great fish tacos! One thing to keep in mind is that San Juan del Sur is a 10 mins drive so transportation is a must as taxis back & forth can get quite pricey. We rented a 4x4 truck and had a blast visiting the other beaches in the area. We will definitely be recommending this spot to our many ex-pat friends living in Nicaragua. Thank you!!! We had a great time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mar Y Sol Beach House, Beautiful Beach, Wi-Fi, Tropical Haven
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342667vbi
+1 613-762-9098
San Juan del Sur Nicaragua
-
5

Excellent home, so close to the perfect beach!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We stayed for 2 months - Nov. and Dec.- and had a wonderful relaxing time at this home that is so close to Remanso Beach, only steps away - a wonderful easy surf, beautiful sunsets and a great taco shack right on the beach to watch them from. The kitchen is great to cook in and the outdoor area with big wonderful hammocks and rocking chairs are great for relaxing. Margaret, the owner, is nice to deal with, very understanding and Flor and Francesco who take care of the property, although they don't speak english they do read sign language ;} , and they are sweet and caring and responsible. Too far to walk to SJDS proper so cabbing it in if you have no car is necessary for groceries and expensive at $15 each way. (Just something to think about). Wonderful property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Mar Y Sol Beach House, Beautiful Beach, Wi-Fi, Tropical Haven
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342667vbi
+1 613-762-9098
San Juan del Sur Nicaragua
Washington, DC
5

The best of both worlds!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My brother and I took a month long trip to Nicaragua and chose Mar y Sol as our base of operations. We intended to take several 2-3 day trips to other places throughout the country, but after arriving in SJDS and Remanso, we cut back on the planned side trips.

The house is beautiful and provided a nice quiet respite from the crowds in SJDS. While there's no indoor living space, who needs it?? The separate kitchen that opens wide up and the massive outdoor living space with hammocks, rocking chairs and a lounge area is where you'll want to be spending your time at the house.

As for location, the house is a 60 second walk to the beach and a 10-15 minute drive from SJDS. The road was under construction while we were there so it took closer to 15mins to and from town. During the day surfers flocked to Remanso from town for the beginner breaks and beautiful sunsets it offers, but once the sun started going down, the beach and surrounding area offered sublime tranquility. The best of both worlds!

And what can I say about Margaret, Flor and Frank? They were all fantastic in making our stay the best possible, and making sure we had everything we needed.

I'd highly recommend staying here for any reason, but especially if you are looking for some first class R&R.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Mar Y Sol Beach House, Beautiful Beach, Wi-Fi, Tropical Haven
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342667vbi
+1 613-762-9098
San Juan del Sur Nicaragua
Colorado
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Fantastic house! Everything was as stated in the ad. Huge porch for laying i'm the hammock that always remedy to have a breeze. Flor and Frame helped whenever we needed help. One thing everything should know who is going to rent this place is that a rent car is a huge advantage. Playa remanso is a great beach but it seemed to mostly be a surf beach. We had a rent car and it allowed us to travel to several beaches that were anywhere from 10-20 minutes away that were awesome (coco and Hermosa were our favorites). Cab rides from the house to sjds is $15 each way. We thought we were getting ripped off but when flor and fram called one for us it was the same price. We ended up getting our car for about $40 a day so it was worth it. I highly recomend this place, awesome house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for taking time and write and post your review, it is greatly appreciated.
It gives my future guests opportunity to see various points of view. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay at my home.
Just one observation, all though our beach is frequently visited by surfers but other times it's completely empty. It does depend on the time of the year, but yes you are right by saying that a short driving distance there are other beautiful beaches.
Renting a car is a benefit which can allow our guests to explore around San Juan del Sur and possibly to visit other beautiful cities in Nicaragua.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Mar Y Sol Beach House, Beautiful Beach, Wi-Fi, Tropical Haven
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342667vbi
+1 613-762-9098
San Juan del Sur Nicaragua
Canada
4

A Few Miscommunications

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
The 4 of us spent 7 days at this idyllic home. This house is beautiful, and certainly worth the price. We had a blast at our beautiful beach get-away! The beach was totally secluded with only a handful of people there everyday. We walked out of the bay over the rocks at low tide and saw amazing tidal pools, local wildlife and found another close beach with awesome swells. The taco stand just at the end of the road on the beach made the best damn fish tacos I have ever had!! They were super friendly as well.

A few misconceptions from the listing:
1.) Flor does not come & clean the house, regardless of what the listing promises. You are reponsible for sweeping, mopping, dishes, & taking out the bathroom & kitchen trash. There was a definite shortage of garbage bags. Wipe all the glasses you are going to use before drinking from them, as the shelves that the glasses are on have a ton of lizard poop on them every morning. Fransisco will come & water the plants daily, but that is the extend of their involvement. They speak virtually no english, just a heads up.

2.) You only get 2 towels, no matter how many people are there, so bring your own! The linens are not changed, so keep the floors clean, or you will end up with very dirty sheets!

3.) Laundry is an additional charge, despite the promise in the listing, as is toilet paper, & it is much cheaper to buy toliet paper at the Pali & bring it with you. Also make sure you stock up on a ton of water. We drank the water from the tap, it was salty but fine, but they will charge you for big bottles of water, it's much more expensive than purchasing water on your own.

4.) Wifi is not provided, the wifi was down virtually the whole time we were there (phone service is through wifi). We did manage to make a copule of phone calls one night which was awesome. You cannot make local calls from the house phone, you will have to rely on the caretakers making calls for you if you need a taxi. You will need to take a taxi at some point, it's about 45 min to 1 hour to San Juan on foot.

5.) There is no AC. It's broken, no one seemed inclined to fix it.

6.) You will need charcoal for the BBQ, it's not supplied

Other than this, the house was a dream! We loved the open living room concept & the monkey was so cute, although it was very sad to see him chained up. We had an incident with a scorpion one night, but no one was stung. We surfed & boogie boarded and it was great. We will never forget our beachside escape!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 9/10