Geneva-on-the-Lake cottage rental - The Sunset Cottage
The Sunset Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Geneva-on-the-Lake Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bed/3 bath sleeps 6, lakefront

Brand New Construction on the Lake! Your very own private beach is awaiting you from the beautiful deck and sunroom of the Sunset Cottage! Open year-round, this adorable and cozy 2 bedroom, 3 bath cottage features a gas fireplace, cable, central a/c, wi-fi, well-appointed galley kitchen, loft, finished walk-out basement and amenities galore! All views look to the Lake and the beautiful sunsets that you will see! Located on the west end of the strip, enjoy all that GOTL has to offer, without having to drive - everything is in walking distance! Restaurants, wineries, Madsen's Donuts, tennis & basketball courts just across the street! Rent a bike or bring your own and explore the area and the new bike trail along the shores of the Lake and the around the marina. Book a fishing charter and spend the day walleye or perch fishing. For those that are more adventurous, it's just a 20 minute drive to 'Wine Country' and the beautiful Grand River.

ADDITIONAL AREA RENTALS: .Check out our additional rentals on the Grand River in beautiful Austinburg - Homeaway #287142, Homeaway #287150 and Homeaway #914898! These quiet and secluded cottages and Main House are located on our private, wooded 27 acre estate with 600' of Grand River frontage! Canoe, fish, hike and get back to nature with a stay at our cozy & quiet retreat. Located just 5 minutes from I-90, and within a short 10 minute drive to all major Grand River Valley wineries and restaurants, we offer the best of both worlds of seclusion and privacy and close proximity to local tourist attractions. Call or email for more info - 440-223-2833 or jentate@roadrunner.com

CHECK OUT THE CONSTRUCTION OF SUNSET COTTAGE!: Visit our construction company website, www.hedrickhomes.com and click on the link for new home showcase - see the original 'Sunset' Cottage and check out the new construction from the ground up!

More Details
Hide Details

I love vacation! It is my most favorite thing to do. And since we build homes for a living, we thought it would be fun to actually build a vacation rental and fill it with all the things we love when we are on vacation!

Jennifer Hedrick purchased this cottage in 2010

My parent's have owned this property since the 70's, and the cottage that was here was the original Sunset. It started to require a lot of work and maintenance, as it was built as a summer cottage back in the 1930's. My husband & I teamed up with my mom & dad and tore down the old cottage and rebuilt a brand new one on the site. It was tough getting it to fit as we had to conform to new zoning regulations, but my husband drew it up - we all agreed on the plan, and went to town building! It was a lot of work, but also a lot of fun! See the construction of The Sunset Cottage on our construction company website - www.hedrickhomes.com - and click on the 'showcase of new homes' link - scroll on the side to the Sunset!

We are located on the strip, with our very own private beach. You can walk everywhere! It's great to be able to do that on vacation! The views from the cottage are incredible - the lake is beautiful to see not only in the summer, but winter as well. When it's cold and snowing outside, you can curl up in front of the fireplace and watch the waves crash - its quite an experience, especially for those who only frequent the lake in the summer. We hope that the cottage truly feels like a home away from home, and that our guests leave feeling refreshed, renewed and joyous at having a wonderful vacation experience!

11 Reviews of Property 342422 in Geneva-on-the-Lake, Ohio

Custom built lakefront vacation rental on the strip with your own private beach!
average rating of 5.0 based on 11 reviews
business
Custom built lakefront vacation rental on the strip with your own private beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342422
+1 440 223-2833
Geneva-on-the-Lake Ohio
5

Sunset Cottage--Five Stars and Four Thumbs Up!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
By far, the Sunset Cottage at GOTL is one of the BEST getaway homes my partner and I have yet to experience! Jen is just wonderful to work with, and the cottage itself is a total charmer. Very clean, spacious and inviting...especially the sun porch, deck, and dining room at the back of the house, each providing an absolutely stunning view of Lake Erie! Perfect spots for reading and meditating if you are so inclined. If you love to cook, which we do, the kitchen is roomy and stocked with all of the necessities. We also loved the walk-in/sit down shower on the first floor, and the comfy, cushy couch and chair in the living room. Enjoyed the loft with day bed, and the lower level that provided a short, intimate escape out of the back door to the beach. Since my partner hurt her back just prior to our trip, we were pretty much confined to the indoors for our week long stay, but the cottage was so expansive that we didn't mind at all. Also, the locale and flavor of the GOTL community were very intriguing as we drove through town. We are definitely planning a future return to explore the wineries and other points of interest. Thanks to Jen and her family for a great time, and for sharing this great home!
business
Custom built lakefront vacation rental on the strip with your own private beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342422
+1 440 223-2833
Geneva-on-the-Lake Ohio
5

Sunset Cottage--Five Stars and Four Thumbs Up!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
By far, the Sunset Cottage at GOTL is one of the BEST getaway homes my partner and I have yet to experience! Jen is just wonderful to work with, and the cottage itself is a total charmer. Very clean, spacious and inviting...especially the sun porch, deck, and dining room at the back of the house, each providing an absolutely stunning view of Lake Erie! Perfect spots for reading and meditating if you are so inclined. If you love to cook, which we do, the kitchen is roomy and stocked with all of the necessities. We also loved the walk-in/sit down shower on the first floor, and the comfy, cushy couch and chair in the living room. Enjoyed the loft with day bed, and the lower level that provided a short, intimate escape out of the back door to the beach. Since my partner hurt her back just prior to our trip, we were pretty much confined to the indoors for our week long stay, but the cottage was so expansive that we didn't mind at all. Also, the locale and flavor of the GOTL community were very intriguing as we drove through town. We are definitely planning a future return to explore the wineries and other points of interest. Thanks to Jen and her family for a great time, and for sharing this great home!
business
Custom built lakefront vacation rental on the strip with your own private beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342422
+1 440 223-2833
Geneva-on-the-Lake Ohio
5

A Perfect Get Away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
By far, the Sunset Cottage at GOTL is one of the BEST getaway homes my partner and I have yet to experience! Jen is just wonderful to work with, and the cottage itself is a total charmer. Very clean, spacious and inviting...especially the sun porch, deck, and dining room at the back of the house, each providing an absolutely stunning view of Lake Erie! Perfect spots for reading and meditating if you are so inclined. If you love to cook, which we do, the kitchen is roomy and stocked with all of the necessities. We also loved the walk-in/sit down shower on the first floor, and the comfy, cushy couch and chair in the living room. Enjoyed the loft with day bed, and the lower level that provided a short, intimate escape out of the back door to the beach. Since my partner hurt her back just prior to our trip, we were pretty much confined to the indoors for our week long stay, but the cottage was so expansive that we didn't mind at all. Also, the locale and flavor of the GOTL community were very intriguing as we drove through town. We are definitely planning a future return to explore the wineries and other points of interest. Thanks to Jen and her family for a great time, and for sharing this great home!
business
Custom built lakefront vacation rental on the strip with your own private beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342422
+1 440 223-2833
Geneva-on-the-Lake Ohio
Wadsworth, Ohio
5

Fall getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
I loved this place! Clean. Beautifully and comfortably furnished. Great location. Shared this with 2 friends - enough private space w/ 2 bdrms each with private bath. (one more bed and bath downstairs). The loft would be a great reading/lounging spot. Cool, drippy weather but lunched at the State Park lodge - also ate at Ferrante Winery (Mmmm) - break in the weather allowed us to enjoy the porch and back lawn at the cottage, overlooking the lake. Hopefully I will get back here - I miss morning coffee on that swing on the back porch!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Custom built lakefront vacation rental on the strip with your own private beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342422
+1 440 223-2833
Geneva-on-the-Lake Ohio
5

Wonderfully Clean Home in a Great Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Very much enjoyed our girls getaway weekend to Geneva on the Lake. The property owner was great to work with and made scheduling and payment very easy.

We booked the property for a fall trip to local wineries. The proximity was relatively close which made it a great central hub.

The property was new and very clean which made for an extremely comfortable stay. It's also located right on the lake as well as the main strip which is fantastic, especially for a summer trip. Highly recommended!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Custom built lakefront vacation rental on the strip with your own private beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342422
+1 440 223-2833
Geneva-on-the-Lake Ohio
5

Sunset Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
What a place, what a view, what a town! We had the best time ever in GOLT. Jen's cottage is so charming and perfectly located. There are so many wonderful things to do, yet the cottage and view are so great that doing nothing at all was just as perfect. Thank you so much. We would love to make it back year after year.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Custom built lakefront vacation rental on the strip with your own private beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342422
+1 440 223-2833
Geneva-on-the-Lake Ohio
5

Another great stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We loved it for a weekend last year, returned again this year for a week and already booked it for next year. Exceptional getaway location for three couples. Spacious place; spectacular views; wonderful amenities - enjoyed late night fires on the beach. Owner is excellent to deal with. Can't say enough.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Custom built lakefront vacation rental on the strip with your own private beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342422
+1 440 223-2833
Geneva-on-the-Lake Ohio
5

Glorious Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My husband and I were surprised to find the cottage even larger and more beautifully decorated and landscaped than the photos indicated! Everything we could possibly have wanted was at our disposal, down to the summer reading library in the loft! The kitchen was perfectly outfitted for our love of cooking and when we wanted to go out, everything was in walking distance. Aptly named, Sunset Cottage offered the perfect private access to the Lake, and we looked forward to sipping wine on the deck each night to behold the glorious sunset! Perfect! Thanks for sharing this gem.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Custom built lakefront vacation rental on the strip with your own private beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342422
+1 440 223-2833
Geneva-on-the-Lake Ohio
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Three of us just had a wonderful girls weekend at Sunset Cottage. It was exactly what we were looking for! A very relaxing area, but enough to keep us occupied within walking distance (there would have been more, but not everything was open for the season yet, which was fine by us), and absolutely gorgeous views of the lake from all the main areas of the house. The house is absolutely beautiful also! The whole house is extremely clean and has wonderful furnishings. They have thought of everything to make sure their guests are comfortable and enjoy their visit.

We would absolutely go back for another girls getaway, we are already missing the lake view, porch swing, Madsen's donuts and the gentle sound of the waves. Next time we will do the Wine Shuttle that runs out of the Lodge, if we can stop staring at the water and get off the porch swing!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Custom built lakefront vacation rental on the strip with your own private beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342422
+1 440 223-2833
Geneva-on-the-Lake Ohio
5

Awesome

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Wonderful place to spend some time with the family. Absolutely everything you need to be comfortable--fully stocked kitchen, laundry, bedrooms....couldn't ask for more!
Helpful votes: 4/4