Keaau apartment rental - View from front of property
View from front of property
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Keaau Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Attached Unit, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

TURTLE HOUSE...... is a One bedroom home on one acre of Lush Tropical Foliage.. Sleeps up to four...Private Bedroom with King size bed, Living room with Double size Futon, Full Kitchen, Dining room for up to six people..large full Refrigerator...Full stove.. Satellite Television, LED Flat-screen TV with WiFi Internet... Washer & Dryer.

LIZARD HOUSE...... is a one bedroom upstairs apartment which has a private entrance with patio and bbq area...The newly tiled Kitchen is inside and screened so you can sit and have your meals or coffee in the beauty of the Mango's and Palms. The kitchen is complete with all dishes, cookware, silverware, towels & linens.. Private large full bathroom with new tile. The main room has Queen size bed, rattan chairs and tables, Wood vaulted ceiling with large fan, private phone with free local and U.S. calls, Satellite TV with internet WiFi..

Close to Pahoa, Volcano National Park, Snorkeling, Hot ponds, Park like setting with many fruit trees and exotic palms...Private gated drive, very secure 1 acre property. Snorkel gear, boogie board, beach chairs and towels are included.

TURTLE HOUSE is $75 for stays of 2-6 night.. & 450 per wk. $10 extra per person over 2.. sleeps up to four.. Cleaning fee is $50.. Security deposit is required... state tax of--%13.416 will be added to total of rental fee excluding the Security Deposit..

( 3 DAY MINIMUM STAY )

Lizard House is $65/night for stays of 2-6 nights, $400 a week/ for 2 guests maximum....Cleaning fee is $45.. state tax of--%13.416 will be added to total of rental fee excluding the Security Deposit..

( 2 DAY MINIMUM STAY )

Located just south of Hilo, minutes from shops and restaurants, (5) minutes to ocean, Near hot ponds, parks and beaches. Volcanoes National Park, Kehena Black Sand Beach are close by ..

Please contact us regarding availability and length of stay..

Please note that 10 a.m. in Hawaii is noon on the West Coast, and 3 p.m. on the east coast.

Aloha

Keywords: 1 bedroom/ 1 bath apt...and 1 bedroom 1 bath home..

More Details
Hide Details

My Husband and I have been together over forty yrs.. I am from St Thomas V.I. ... And he is from California.. We were in the Horticultural business many yrs and love Tropical flora, we enjoy traveling, photography, surfing, and meeting interesting people. We have a good knowledge of the Puna area and would enjoy sharing many of the beautiful places that the big island has to offer..

Aloha,

Liz & Steve

We love the lushness of the Puna area, And the unique Island life style.. Where you can drive through enchanted Mango forests or swim in lava warmed ponds, see the beauty of waterfalls or the magnificence of an active Volcano all in one day...

Our property is gated and private... the fruit trees and palms are over thirty years old, and you can pick avocado or mango almost all year long, also there are bananas, passionfruit and many other edible delights and blooming plants to wander through in our Gardens while staying at our Ohana....

14 Reviews of Property 342209 in Keaau, Hawaii

Lizard House & Turtle House Tropical Vacation Rental...
average rating of 4.928571 based on 14 reviews
business
Lizard House & Turtle House Tropical Vacation Rental...
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342209vbi
+808 982 3638
Keaau Puna District
Kennebunkport, ME
5

The perfect spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The owners of Turtle house were extremely amenable, and were as available as one needed. The cottage was set up perfectly for all of my needs, and I would definitely stay there again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lizard House & Turtle House Tropical Vacation Rental...
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342209vbi
+808 982 3638
Keaau Puna District
Kamloops, B.C. Canada
4

Kamloopsians

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This rental is in a beautiful setting, set in a rainforest, with a wonderfully laid out lot. There is a full apartment we found to be very clean, with a good kitchen, laundry facilities living room and bedroom with a king bed, good full sized bathroom with a great shower. It is out of the way and very quiet which made it great for us, you have to drive to see the island anyway so this is a good a start as any!
You have to have a vehicle and be prepared to travel, and we found our host Steve to be very helpfully in getting us started in where to go and what to see. Remember you are are on the windward side of the island so expect some rain, but with a vehicle within an hour you are in the sun. There is very good shopping and relatively cheap gas within 10 minutes in Pahoa or Keaau, you are within a half hour of Hilo and or Volcanoes National Park, the town of Volcano is a great place to see with some great eateries.
A secret you do not hear much about is the Coqui Frogs that have come from Portugal on some bedding plants and have made the north east side of the island home with a vengeance. Earplugs work wonders so grab some at the nearest drugstore.
We would certainly stay here again upon returning to the big island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lizard House & Turtle House Tropical Vacation Rental...
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342209vbi
+808 982 3638
Keaau Puna District
Ohio
5

Excellent Location, House, Everything!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We spent three nights at the Turtle House while exploring the Big Island. Everything was perfect about the house and its location. At night you never hear the annoying sounds of traffic (like in Oahu), but the sounds of nature.

The house is very clean and nice both inside and out; the decorations are perfect for the Big Island featuring tasteful art and local artists. The kitchen is well equipped for anything you might cook up. The pictures do not do the excellent custom tile work justice.

One issue on the Big Island is drinking water; however here that's not an issue. The water is filtered including even a UV filter, so you can drink it from the tap (you have to be careful on the Big Island sometimes). The owners are on site in case you need them, but they are always respectful of your privacy and are never overbearing.

This is a perfect place for a relaxing get away, but remember this is a neighborhood. So you will need a car to drive to and from the house and sites.

We will make an effort to stay there again whenever we make it back to the Big Island!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Lizard House & Turtle House Tropical Vacation Rental...
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342209vbi
+808 982 3638
Keaau Puna District
Asheville, NC
5

Great Time at the Turtle House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My partner and I stayed at the Turtle house in November of 2012. We had a great time there. The location was really convenient to near by attractions: the Volcano state park, the black sand beaches, Hilo, the geothermal springs, tide pools, lava tree state park, etc.. Kona is a great day trip if you leave early in the AM- Totally worth it to go to Kona.

Steve and Liz are such amazing folks with great attitude. They were so helpful with giving advice about where to go/ what to do. The accommodations are great! Clean, everything you need to cook (if you want), boogie boards, snorkeling gear, towels, etc.. The bed is super comfortable. The sounds of nature coming through the screened in porch was awesome when you going to sleep! The photos on VBRO accurately reflect the rental. There is plenty of room for two people and it is very cozy. I would definetly recommend this to others and when we come back to the Big Island. This is a great deal from really nice, authentic people. Thank you steve and liz for talking story and making us laugh!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Lizard House & Turtle House Tropical Vacation Rental...
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342209vbi
+808 982 3638
Keaau Puna District
Idaho
5

Great Tropical Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My Boyfriend and I were visiting some friends in Kona and wanted some time away and to visit the other side of the island. We rented two nights in the Mo'O Hana room and we were more than comfortable. The kitchenette was perfect for take out leftovers and small meal prep. Living/sleeping space was clean, there were reading materials, area guides/things to do, and cable. Bed was big and comfortable. Some amenities there (soap, shampoo/conditioner, some dry food), electric bug swatter was a major plus :) Liz and Steve are so welcoming and very helpful. Avocado trees, fresh bananas, passionfruit! Big yard at the end of the street makes you feel like there are no neighbors. Drive to Hilo feels really fast regardless of mileage.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Lizard House & Turtle House Tropical Vacation Rental...
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342209vbi
+808 982 3638
Keaau Puna District
SF Bay Area
5

Great Puna Location, Very Nice Hosts, Rain Forest Surroundings

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
I came in to stay for twelve days to go house hunting, and look at the sights when I could. The property is beautiful. The surfer/turtle motif surrounded by rain forests really makes it feel like Hawaii. The hosts were super nice and full of great information regarding the island's attractions, and the accommodations were immaculate. HPP is convenient to everything. And after being out all day, I really felt like I was coming "home." I heartily recommend this place for couples or anyone looking for a quiet, peaceful place (the gardens are extremely well tended and beautiful). It's a great value.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Dennis.. You where a pleasure to have as a guest..We hope that the home you found turns out to be right one for you.. You are always welcome at our Ohana..
business
Lizard House & Turtle House Tropical Vacation Rental...
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342209vbi
+808 982 3638
Keaau Puna District
China
5

Wonderful !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My wife and I spent 3 nights here and had a wonderful time. The house is very clean,comfortable and beautiful.Steve and Liz are very friendly and kindhearted.Thank you Steve and Liz for the amazing stay. Wish you happy everyday.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Aloha,
It was a pleasure to meet your and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay on the big island.. Many Mahalos
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lizard House & Turtle House Tropical Vacation Rental...
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342209vbi
+808 982 3638
Keaau Puna District
Oahu
5

Wonderful place at a great price...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My girlfriend and I just loved everything about that rental. Steve and Liz are the most wonderful host and we just loved their dog, Tucker. Every morning waking up to the open kitchenette and looking at the beauty of mother nature was so amazing. Thank you Steve and Liz for the wonderful stay.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the great review, it was very nice meeting you two... glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future...
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lizard House & Turtle House Tropical Vacation Rental...
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342209vbi
+808 982 3638
Keaau Puna District
Port Orchard, WA, USA
5

Nice place at a reasonable rate

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
My husband & I spent 4 nights at this rental on our very first trip to Hawaii. Steve & Liz are nice hosts & were available if we had any questions. We also loved their dog, Tucker. Apartment was clean & spacious and had many brochures on local activities. Had all appliances we would need in the kitchen. Spacious bedroom & bathroom. The screen-enclosed kitchenette was great! The ceiling fan was much appreciated. If you want to experience a true jungle-like experience (esp. at night), this is your place! The sounds of animals in the daytime & night were fun to listen to. We made day trips to Volcanoes Nat'l Park, Lava Tree State Park, Hilo and the waterfalls and scenic drives just north of Hilo - all were within easy driving distances.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your warm review.. We are glad you had a great vacation and Mahalo for choosing our Ohana to stay while visiting the Big Island.. Hope you are finally getting some good spring weather in WA.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lizard House & Turtle House Tropical Vacation Rental...
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342209vbi
+808 982 3638
Keaau Puna District
Baltimore
5

Great place at a great price

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We spent 5 days at Steve and Liz's Ohana and it was just what we were looking for. Spacious, spotlessly clean apartment with a nice sized bathroom and kitchen in lush tropical grounds. In a great location for exploring all of Puna and Hilo areas - we made day trips to Volcano, Kapoho tide pools, Lava Tree State Park, Kalapana, Hilo town and the waterfalls and gardens near Hilo - all were within an easy driving distance.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Karen.. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our Ohana and the Big Island ...
Helpful votes: 1/1