Joshua Tree house rental - Wi-Fi provided
Wi-Fi provided
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Joshua Tree House Rental Photos and Description
House & Courtyard House - sleeps 3 ~ 1 Full Bath ~ Full Kitchen

Gerhards Rocky Gasthaus,

Totally private, exclusive on 2.5 acres of pristine, desert rocks, teeming with creatures. Directly abutting Joshua Tree National Park land, Home to coyote, bobcat, deer, desert tortoise, rabbits, squirrels, chipmunks, bats, owl, quail, hawks, lizards of every size any description.

All new construction with 10’ ceilings, Heat pump heating and cooling and ceiling fan. Full kitchen with everything needed, open to a comfortable dining-living area, with a beautiful top loading wood stove, wood provided.

A bedroom with rich carpet, all other floors are natural colored and finished concrete, a full mirrored closet, Luxury queen size bed , and doorway opening onto rock formation only 8’ away.

A Private courtyard with barbecue, a garden house, fully conditioned, with desk and a twin bed.

The full bathroom is next to full laundry, A back porch sitting area has a fire chimney for cool evenings.

A covered parking space will keep a vehicle cool in the hottest summe

12 Reviews of Property 342183 in Joshua Tree, California

New Construction, in the rocks,directly accesable to hiking into National Park
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 12 reviews
business
New Construction, in the rocks,directly accesable to hiking into National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342183
+1 818 7627874
Joshua Tree California Desert
5

A Gem!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
First of all, the owner provided good customer service. He responded promptly, and that was great for us as this was somewhat of a last minute trip on our end.

This place is such a gem! The view of the house against the sunbaked mountain is gorgeous. The house was clean, inviting and very lovely. The AC works great! Clean stove and oven! The bed was comfortable and it was just perfect for our 2 night get-away.

We enjoyed walking up to the side of the house. It has a beautiful view of the valley, especially as the sun set.

There was a bag of bird feed by the door, so we decided to put some on the feeder in the courtyard. We enjoyed watching the numerous quails and other species of birds feast on the feed. We did not see coyotes but they howled like crazy at night. There were lots of squirrels that loved the bird food as well.

Our stay may have been short, but we enjoyed spending our quiet but oh so awesome 4th of July at this JT retreat. This is a place we could easily go back to. It is a beautiful place :-)
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
New Construction, in the rocks,directly accesable to hiking into National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342183
+1 818 7627874
Joshua Tree California Desert
Long Beach
5

Rejuvenating retreat...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
First of all, this was my second time using HomeAway and even though I don't have a ton of experience with other owners, Gerhard made the process simpler than checking into a hotel room. The home was just as described and was spotless and fully stocked (even with a wide array of hot sauces, which we apppreciated).

The home and courtyard are situated in such a way that you can only see the (very few) neighbors from a few areas of the property. This provides guests with an abundance of privacy and peace and quiet. We spent our days hiking in the park, which was a 10 minute drive away, and our nights relaxing and stargazing by the fire in the courtyard. Groceries are a short 15 minute drive away in Yucca Valley and the town of Joshua Tree is less than 2 miles away.

I would recommend this home for anyone seeking seclusion and relaxation or even a home base for adventures in the park nearby. In fact, we liked it so much that we arranged with Gerhard to stay an extra night. He is very responsive and made our stay very pleasant.
business
New Construction, in the rocks,directly accesable to hiking into National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342183
+1 818 7627874
Joshua Tree California Desert
Los Angeles
5

You Will Not Find Any Better

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
You will simply find no better place than this place if you want to get away from the city for a few days. Absolute privacy and seclusion. Perfect for a small retreat and meditation. Amazing view of the rocky hills behind you, and once you climb the hill a little you get an amazing view of the Yucca Valley. Very nicely architectually built house, modern style, cozy and classy - you get a feeling that the owner built it to live in it himself. Very nicely furnished, clean and well-maintained. The owner is very generous with what he has provided, so you won't miss a thing. It was great doing business with him.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
New Construction, in the rocks,directly accesable to hiking into National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342183
+1 818 7627874
Joshua Tree California Desert
5

Perfect for Us!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This beautifully designed and comfortable home was exactly what we wanted. Only 7 miles from the west entrance to Joshua Tree NP and only a few miles from restaurants, grocery and drug stores, yet I felt like we were truly away from it all as the house is tucked away from neighboring homes. Property was very clean, well equipped, and everything was in working order. The bed was very comfy and with two different types of AC systems, I stayed nice and cool (important for me!) The house has a courtyard and we were delighted to see mommy, daddy and baby quail running up and down the courtyard steps. We enjoyed the spectacular sunsets and star-filled night sky. Did some hiking in the NP and around the neighborhood. Also took in a movie in nearby Yucca Valley. Saw lots of wildlife including rabbits, roadrunners, dove, ground squirrels, coyote and those absolutely adorable baby quail. The owner was wonderful to work with and responded to all my inquiries promptly. I highly recommend this property to not only my family and friends, but also to the readers of this review. Next time I'm in Joshua Tree, this is the place I will stay.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
New Construction, in the rocks,directly accesable to hiking into National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342183
+1 818 7627874
Joshua Tree California Desert
5

Beautiful Birthday Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
I had a wonderful time at this house. Three friends and myself decided we wanted to go to Joshua Tree, but we did not want to camp out nor did we want to stay at a hotel or motel. Renting this house was the best decision ever. It is a beautiful house with the wonderful rocky hills behind it. And the best part was that Joshua Tree National Park was only about 1 mile away. Almost everything is provided for your stay. It was great! I had a wonderful time and will definitely be returning again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New Construction, in the rocks,directly accesable to hiking into National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342183
+1 818 7627874
Joshua Tree California Desert
Sunnyvale, California
4

Simply Awesome

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This is literally a diamond in the rough, rugged hills of Joshua Tree. The spotless, comfortable "gasthaus" provides the right mix of comfort and proximity to hiking, wildlife, and the quirky shops and cafes of Joshua Tree's quaint downtown.

We loved hanging out in the courtyard - which provides the perfect combination of sun and shade throughout the day. We prepared and had our meals outside in the courtyard, and loved watching the star-filled sky with a glass of wine outside at night. And when it came time to sleep, the comfy queen sized bed was just right. We spent little time in the very cool writer's cabin across the courtyard, but we agreed it would make an ideal bedroom for a small child or a single person tagging along with a couple on a desert jaunt.

When booking, Gerhard was friendly and helpful - since we literally booked our stay the morning we arrived. Not a problem for Gerhard; we were inside and enjoying the place in no time.

Overall, we loved the place and hope to be back. While this is a 4+ star review our only suggestion for Gerhard would be some sort of spa or small pool. In the desert heat, or during the cool nights, some water-based chill out space would make this one of the most sought after, romantic retreat spots in the area.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New Construction, in the rocks,directly accesable to hiking into National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342183
+1 818 7627874
Joshua Tree California Desert
5

Memorial Day Weekend 2012

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Unlike most houses in the neighborhood that are oriented to ubiquitous valley views, this house has been impeccably situated to make the most of its location abutting Joshua Tree National Park. The result is absolute privacy with stunning rock views. This was the perfect weekend retreat for the two of us who were seeking quiet and comfortable accommodations in proximity to the park.
business
New Construction, in the rocks,directly accesable to hiking into National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342183
+1 818 7627874
Joshua Tree California Desert
Altadena, California
5

Tranquil & Elegant. Highly recommended!

Tranquil & Elegant. Highly recommended!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We loved our two night stay at Gerhard's rocky guesthouse. I am a university professor and my colleague and I both needed a quiet place to get some research/writing done, and this was the ideal spot. We wrote for hours each day in the comfortable living room, and then hiked and did some yoga on breaks. At bedtime, we retreated to our own private rooms (there is a master bedroom and a small guest cottage, which was perfect for our arrangement). We were both incredibly productive, surrounded by the stillness of the desert and the warm clean air. can't wait to go back!
business
New Construction, in the rocks,directly accesable to hiking into National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342183
+1 818 7627874
Joshua Tree California Desert
Los Angeles, CA
5

EXCELLENT GET AWAY FROM CITY LIFE!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
This was a great place to stay and relax from it all. I am very happy with the whole experience! We were all excited to see the wildlife and the weather was great. The location was very private and peaceful.

A++++ " Highly Recommended!"
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
New Construction, in the rocks,directly accesable to hiking into National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p342183
+1 818 7627874
Joshua Tree California Desert
Los Angeles
5

Lo's Family review

Lo's Family review
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
We went to Gerhard’s Resort at early November and felt extremely happy. My wife and I with an 8 years old kid had never experienced the life in the dessert and felt un-expectably cheerful with our 3 days stay. Lots of small wild animals around the property and create scenery like fairly tales. The resort is really quiet and relaxing and only minutes away from everything. My son loves the Joshua National park which is only 15 minutes away and is perfect for him to practice his rock climbing skill. My wife loves the cactus hunting so much that turned our own front yard into a cactus farm. The owner was so nice that we became friends after the trip.
The house is in good size and pretty clean just like the photos. The full kitchen allows us to cook anything we bought from the supermarket nearby. We especially love the bedroom number 2 so that we can send our son away from the main house and enjoy our own privacy, and my son loves to stay in that room too that made him feel like camping.
We are looking forward to go back in the winter and hope we could catch some snow.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway