Governor's Harbour house rental - Casuarina Beach from Med Point sun deck
Casuarina Beach from Med Point sun deck
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Governor's Harbour House Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom , 1 Bath (Sleeps 2)

Med Point is a ROMANTIC, SECLUDED ONE-BEDROOM OCEANFRONT BEACHHOUSE, located on Casuarina Beach and just 100' from French Leave Beach. No other properies are between it and world-famous French Leave Beach. It is a short stroll to Twin Coves Beach and its superb snorkeling reef, where the movie 'Three' was filmed.

Med Point beach house has a huge 1100 SF teak wrap-around deck facing the beach and ocean, and all the modern conveniences, with a full kitchen, living room with dining area, wifi and large sliding glass doors on both sides facing the ocean to maximize your viewing pleasure. It has a KING BED, plus 2 day beds in the living room.

The house was NEWLY RENOVATED in 2009 by Governors Harbour's premier designer, with wood floors, Brazilian cherry doors, and white wainscot accents .Comforts include 400 thread-count sheets and Thomas by Rosenthal china. Step outside the glass doors, and you will see ocean spreading away as far as you can see. (Description cont'd at bottom of ad)

Further Details: There are miles of deserted beaches on both sides, with the famous pink sand French Leave Beach (also known as Club Med Beach, for the Club Med that used to be there) next door. If you love the ocean, this place is it, because you will see, smell, and hear the ocean 24 hours a day. Because we are on a point, you can walk the 1 mile to the town of Governor's Harbour, along a sandy road through French Leave Beach.

The famous bar/restaurant Tippy's is close, and there are upscale restaurants such as Sky Beach Club and the Beachhouse, (the latter only 15 minute walk down the beach), as well as charming takeouts in Governor's Harbour.

Med Point is also close to Tear Coat Cay, a small island offshore, where you can snorkel; also close to lots of reefs for other snorkeling. The water is gin clear, 100 feet of visibility, and we have seen parrot fish, groupers, rays and other exotic fish. The water is 75 to 88 degrees fahrenheit.

The various gardens have coconut and royal palms, hibiscus and oleander and sea lettuce. Walk off one stairway on the deck and you will stand on a gorgeous coral garden and see the nearby blowhole that spouts 30 feet in the air. Walk off the other steps past hibiscus and palms and geckos onto Casuarina Bay Beach. Turtles nest at night on our beach.

The house is decorated in blue and white with great attention to feng shui. Two walls of the house are glass, so that you are bathing in views of blue ocean and surf. There are two huge daybeds/couches for lounging, and a rocking chair to plan for retirement. The kitchen is new.

French Leave Beach, which you can step onto, is the most famous beach in Eleuthera. It is very wide, and the water is shallow for several feet, and 25 feet out is terrific snorkelling. Body surfing is fun on windy days in shallow water. Once you've stepped out and dried off, walk a mile to the Beach House Bar, on the beach, and enjoy a cappuccino.

Christine, the caretaker, can make a caribbean meal and banana bread, and bring coconut water on request.

More Details
Hide Details

When I first saw this place, it reminded me of the beach house featured in the Julia Roberts movie 'Sleeping With the Enemy'.

15 Reviews of Property 341915 in Governor's Harbour, Bahamas

Romantic and Secluded Oceanfront Beach House step onto French Leave Beach
average rating of 4.733333 based on 15 reviews
business
Romantic and Secluded Oceanfront Beach House step onto French Leave Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341915
+1 413-588-6060
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

Exceptional Property. Prime Location. Great Find!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
While seeking privacy, location and amenities for our Bahamas vacation experience, I found Med Point in Governors Harbour. We are delighted with our choice. Everything was seamless and easy. From reserving the property, to having the caretaker create a magical meal for us upon arrival.

The location is central to the island, and is surrounded by miles of secluded sand beach with turquoise water and crashing waves. Med Point is beautifully appointed, clean and well cared for. We felt at home immediately. Simply drop your suitcase and head to the water.

Loved it. We will be back!

K. Fish
Lunenburg, Nova Scotia,
Canada
Owner's Response: Thank you.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Romantic and Secluded Oceanfront Beach House step onto French Leave Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341915
+1 413-588-6060
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

slice of paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
this cottage was exactly what I was looking for. matt hit it right on. we felt like we owned this paradise. it was the first time we did such a private vacation & it was the best. we would have stayed an extra week if it wasn't booked already. the bed & pillows were very comfortable & the cottage decorated beach chic & clean. snorkeling was great right near the house & the privacy was wonderful. we rented a soft top jeep which was nice having. we walked to da perk coffee shop in town which is good & bought fish & lobster at GH. we found burrows grocery & liquor store a bit nicer than eleuthera grocery. ate numerous meals at tippy's which has great food & sat night, they have a great band. Wednesday night was a fun band. if you love coffee, bring your own. nothing but folgers & Maxwell house at stores unless you go to pineapple fields, near tippys & buy their coffee. we sure miss the sound of the ocean that is constant at the cottage. the sunrise is beautiful there. the weather & water temp were perfect. the owner supplied a lot of information which was very helpful. we can't wait to go back again for a longer stay. matt was so helpful with the planning of the trip.
business
Romantic and Secluded Oceanfront Beach House step onto French Leave Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341915
+1 413-588-6060
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Where do you live?
5

Loved Our Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My wife and I had a wonderful stay at Med Point and hope to return next year. This was our 3rd visit to this area of Eleuthera, but our first at Med Point. The house is charming with a well equipped kitchen and comfortable king size bed; the sliding glass doors offered panoramic ocean views and the front deck was very private in spite of the proximity of Alfred House. From Med Point the beautiful pink sand beaches stretch out in both directions, its a great walk to the restaurants at BeachHouse, Tippey's and Sky Beach Club, and only a half hour walk into Governor's Harbour where Da Perk is a great little coffee shop. We walked everywhere, no real need for a car.

The Owner and staff of Eleuthera Vacation Rentals were very friendly and helpful and helped make our vacation so relaxing. Hopefully next time the internet will be working so we can check our emails.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic and Secluded Oceanfront Beach House step onto French Leave Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341915
+1 413-588-6060
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

Unforgettable!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Beautiful place! Exactly as described. Went to Med Point as part of our honeymoon and it was exactly what we wanted. It is the perfect beach cottage!
My only thing that I did not like was the bugs -- but that's not something that can be controlled, nor is the owner's fault.
Look out for no-see-ums! They're so small they come through the screen and eat you alive at night, but you can go see Dr. Bacchus to get a shot for it so they won't bother you. Had I known that early in the vacation, I would have definitely done that. Also, just close up the windows in the late afternoon and you should be ok. I don't know if they're seasonal or not...
Eleuthera is a great island with such nice people!
We didn't want to leave at all! Who knows, we may be back... :)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic and Secluded Oceanfront Beach House step onto French Leave Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341915
+1 413-588-6060
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

Most Magical Honeymoon Imaginable!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We had the most fantastic time at Med Point and in Eleuthera! The house was very clean and nicely decorated. It was the perfect size for the two of us on our honeymoon! The pictures look just like what it looks like in person - if anything, the pictures do not do this place justice. Eleuthera has the most beautiful beaches either my husband or I have ever seen. The beach right outside of the house is gorgeous and great for snorkeling, and the Club Med beach is a very short walk. We only saw 3-4 people on the beaches near the house during our entire week's stay at Med Point.

Governor's Harbor is by far the best part of the island to stay on with a cute town and extremely friendly people a short drive from the Med Point house. It is worth exploring other parts of the island, though as there are many great restaraunts and beaches outside of governor's harbor.

You definiltey need to rent a car, specifically an SUV, while in Eleuthera since there is no public transportation (although we did see some taxis at the airport). There are no big car rental companies on the island, so organize your car rental plans before you get to Eleuthera. Also, make sure that you get clear directions to Med Point and have a specific plan to get the key to the house! I was so wrapped up in our wedding planning that I forgot to work out these logistics! No worries, though becuase there is ALWAYS someone around that is willing to help. The people in Eleuthera are the nicest people that we have met on any vacation we have ever gone on.

We plan to come back to Eleuthera soon!!!! I most highly recommend Med Point for a romantic getaway for two!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic and Secluded Oceanfront Beach House step onto French Leave Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341915
+1 413-588-6060
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Ontario, Canada
5

Med Pointg

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
If you are looking for an ideal romantic getaway, do not hesitate to stay at Med Point. It is a tranquil, well equipped beach house only three steps - yes, three steps - from the pink sands of both Casuarina beach and Club Med Beach. You can walk on these secluded, pink sand beaches for miles in each direction and often you will encounter just a few others, sometimes no one.

If you love to walk, go south a mile or two on the beach to Tippy’s Restaurant for drinks and/or something to eat. The food there is delicious. At night, we had dinner while the Haitian Sensations were playing. They are not to be missed if they are performing while you are there.

Boogie boarding on the beach just a few minutes from the spacious ocean facing deck was a lot of fun. The waves just keep on rolling in.

Getting there from the airport takes only about one half hour by car and Governor’s Harbour, where you can buy groceries and liquor, wine and beer, is even closer.

We would not hesitate to return.

Richard and Candace
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic and Secluded Oceanfront Beach House step onto French Leave Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341915
+1 413-588-6060
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
5

A gem on the beach!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We had an amazing last minute getaway! This house is right on two perfect beaches - the pink sand beach is amazing for a day of lounging and low-key snorkeling and the white sand beach is great for sea kayaking (there was a great little sea kayak available for use). The house itself is incredibly spacious for a couple and very well-appointed. The kitchen has all the basics and then some, and the property was generally very well maintained. The owner, caretaker and owner's rep were incredibly responsive to the few questions that we had while we were there. The road to the house is a little rough but our rented Chevy Cavalier had no trouble getting up and down the road as long as we took it slow and easy, it also makes for a very pleasant and shady jogging path. We would absolutely come back and would definitely recommend this to our friends!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Romantic and Secluded Oceanfront Beach House step onto French Leave Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341915
+1 413-588-6060
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Lexington Ky.
5

Med Pointe Beach cottage on Med Pointe

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Our recent stay at the Med Pointe cottage was so enjoyable that we will be going back next year. The location is amazing between two beautiful beaches and right on the water with spectacular views in all directions. The cottage has several sets of sliding glass doors opening to an expansive deck. The inside of the cottage is beautifully deocorated and comfortable. We felt like we were on our own private island. Tippys and The Beach House are close by with great food,music and ambiance.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Romantic and Secluded Oceanfront Beach House step onto French Leave Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341915
+1 413-588-6060
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Santa Barbara
1

Had a bad experience

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Update: this review has been edited because the owner’s lawyer contacted me.

Unfortunately, I would NOT recommend the Med Point Beach house to friends/family. We actually ended up leaving mid-way through our stay and checking in at a nearby hotel/condo resort (which turned out to be more comfortable in certain respects, although not right on the beach). The house is in an awesome location, which is the best part. Truly, the location is simply amazing!!! We very much enjoyed walking to the Twin Coves beaches, North of the house. The house itself is "okay", it needs some TLC in our opinion. We felt like more attention was spent on aesthetics rather than the internal workings. And even then, the place doesn't really command the price tag (needs updated kitchen area, shower, new mattress, nicer furnishings, new cookware, electrical work as the power goes on and off frequently, a washer/dryer, etc). A few days into our stay, the H20 heater completely broke, which turned into an ordeal. We made contact with the owner, and that was not a pleasant experience. During this, she realized that we had our children there. Our children were not on the lease, which was my oversight. We travel all over with our kids and have never had any issues. I wasn't trying to hide them (which is impossible to do!). My original inquiry had our children indicated, but when I signed the lease I didn't realize the # of children as wrong. Anyways, she was completely rude to me, and sent me an updated lease that I had to sign if we wanted to stay. Not pleasant to receive while vacationing. I'm happy to pay extra for our kids, but if we don't feel welcome, then we will take our business elsewhere. I racked up a $300 cell phone bill, had to pack up our stuff and relocate, had the inconvenience of no running water, and all the various people that came by to the house to fix/assess the problem. A day was ruined of our vacation, but after we moved on, it was a distant memory and we got back to enjoying the beautiful island of Eleuthera!
Owner's Response: This guest had no complaints until I accidentally discovered, halfway through her stay, that she had arrived with a party of four. We have always allowed only two guests in the cottage. Our rental agent explained this to the guest on the phone, and she said she would come without the children. The rental agreement also clearly stated only two guests, in no uncertain terms. Nevertheless she showed up with a family of four, and it was only by accident that I discovered this. You can imagine that I was upset with her, under the circumstances.


Please read our other reviews, including two from guests who stayed right before this guest, to get a more objective opinion of our beach cottage.

OTHER VRBO/HOMEAWAY OWNERS: Please be forewarned about this guest.
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Romantic and Secluded Oceanfront Beach House step onto French Leave Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341915
+1 413-588-6060
Governor's Harbour Eleuthera
Venice, CA
5

Just Secluded Enough

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My husband and I traveled to Governor's Harbour for a family wedding and decided to find our own place in order to have the option of space from the daily activities and get a bit of vacation down time. Med Point was perfect. Soft, pink sand stretched in both directions, and if we weren't feeling adventurous, we would've been content to leave only occasionally for a run to the market, liquor store, bakery, or restaurants. But we did explore the island, and as lovely as it is, we felt like we came home every day to the ideal house for us size-, location-, and value-wise.

The road to Med Point is quite rough, and as a result, we saw very little traffic. The cottage is more spacious than I expected, thanks to the open floor plan, and the deck nearly doubles the living space. Every surface was clean, and the furnishings are fresh and comfortable. The kitchen was well-stocked with utensils, pots, etc. I would've donated a new chef's knife had I been able to find one in town, but other than that, I was a very happy cook.

We couldn't have been more pleased with our choice of rental. Even my husband, a notoriously tough critic when it comes to accommodations, said it was "perfect." Enough said!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2