Malibu cottage rental - Secluded Cottage with huge yard, views and lots of room to breathe
Secluded Cottage with huge yard, views and lots of room to breathe
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 
Special Offer! Early Summer Special -

Malibu Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 bath, sleeps 5 comfortably

Close to it all, yet worlds away... This hidden cottage is perched atop a glorious bluff on a 23 acre gated mountaintop estate overlooking the lush Santa Monica Mountains. Escape down the country lane into serenity on your own private bluff, yet be less than a mile to restaurants, entertainment, yoga and stores. Hike in 10,000 acre Topanga State park or take in the many nearby beaches. Shop the high-end boutiques of Malibu or Santa Monica, enjoy glorious sunsets and misty mornings or bike the hundreds of miles of trails of Topanga State Park straight from the front door. Horse riding facilities, theater, surf lessons, kite boarding, artist studios, seasonal festivals, Docent-led nature walks, miles of beaches all within 30 minutes of studios and Hollywood. Cottage has full kitchen, dishwasher and laundry. Watch the sunset under beautiful ancient Oaks and Pepper trees. Buy fresh produce, jams and baked goods at the weekly Farmers market. Fall in love with the Canyon lifestyle.

Check out the recent photo shoot that took place at The Hideaway!

http://www.xcvi.com/lookbook/spring-2013-lookbook/

More Details
Hide Details

We love our canyon! It's our special place on earth, it has beautiful nature all around, friendly community and proximity to all things LA: beaches, shopping and restaurants.

Olga or Sam Crawford purchased this cottage in 2009

This property is an amazing, one of a kind 23 acre paradise in the heart of the Canyon! Your are completely secluded, yet 2 minutes away from the village.

Incredibly Private, but not isolated.

20 Reviews of Property 341805 in Malibu, California

Malibu Hideaway Cottage in the Santa Monica Mountains
average rating of 4.95 based on 20 reviews
business
Malibu Hideaway Cottage in the Santa Monica Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341805
+1 310 633-1469
Malibu Los Angeles County
5

Reluctant Admission of Enthusiasm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
This place is superb. My only concern is that by writing such a positive review too many people will book the place in the future and make it more difficult for me to come back for a return visit.
Owner's Response: That's awesome! You are welcome any time, bring the family next time:)
business
Malibu Hideaway Cottage in the Santa Monica Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341805
+1 310 633-1469
Malibu Los Angeles County
Rosemount, MN
5

Awesome in Every Way!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This property was amazing. Both the setting of the home and the home itself were far beyond what we were expecting. Everything in the house was of high quality, from the furniture to the bedding to the dishes to the bath towels. Very comfy beds and linens. Lots of windows and light in this house . . . and so very clean. We really loved the house--it was so comfortable, clean, and roomy. Some great things about the home that are not shown in the photos are the very spacious and bright foyer area, very high ceilings throughout, tons of closet space, large walk-in shower, and huge capacity washer/dryer. The bedrooms were also very big (one with sliding glass door leading to patio!). The spacious yard area was very private and very pretty--lots of flowers and plants and trees . . . and many different seating areas in which to sit and stare at the incredible canyon views. Our teen boys loved exploring the trails on the property. If you are lucky, Olga will be available to take you on a hike into nearby Topanga State Park! Go if you can--the views are insanely beautiful, and Olga is an energetic, knowledgeable, and enthusiastic tour guide. We very highly recommend the Hideaway Cottage!!!
business
Malibu Hideaway Cottage in the Santa Monica Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341805
+1 310 633-1469
Malibu Los Angeles County
5

couldn't be better

couldn't be better
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
great place and location with the best views all around, its so good to wake up there with the smell of sage, the owners are wonderful and gave us lots of info on the hikes and trails around, will definitely be back there again and again.
Thanks

A.M.
business
Malibu Hideaway Cottage in the Santa Monica Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341805
+1 310 633-1469
Malibu Los Angeles County
5

Peaceful surroundings with spectacular views!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
A wonderful vacation retreat with peaceful surroundings and spectacular views! I have fond memories of morning coffee overlooking the canyon followed by a hike from Topanga State Park to points overlooking the Pacific ocean!
Proprietors are accommodating and kind!
I plan to return in 2014!
business
Malibu Hideaway Cottage in the Santa Monica Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341805
+1 310 633-1469
Malibu Los Angeles County
Atlanta
5

We found a Great place!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The Hideaway was fantastic. I searched for a place where several family members could convene for a vacation in the LA area. We arrived at LAX on separate flights and all found the house easily. I felt relieved and overjoyed upon arrival - the house was everything I had hoped for. The views were beautiful. We enjoyed watching the sun set and the moon rise over the canyon. The house was very homey and comfortable, and the kitchen was well appointed. It is very unique place. We enjoyed cooking our dinners and eating outside at the table under the stars. The owners of the house were nearby and proved to be very friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed our hike up to the peak in the nearby state park (bring lots of water!). I highly recommend this rental. We definitely will be coming back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Malibu Hideaway Cottage in the Santa Monica Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341805
+1 310 633-1469
Malibu Los Angeles County
5

I'll keep going back!

I'll keep going back!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Please see my previous review for more details (I've been here three times!), but it's a great, private getaway with beautiful views, a comfortable set up, and my favorite--the outdoor spaces are lovely to hang out under the trees, in the hammock, enjoy a meal outside, etc..The hosts are gracious, the pictures don't do it justice, and it's a short drive to town when you want some action! :) I'll keep going back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Malibu Hideaway Cottage in the Santa Monica Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341805
+1 310 633-1469
Malibu Los Angeles County
-
5

Serene cottage close to everything

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We were visiting SoCal from the East Coast with our 2 children (their first trip to California) and booked the Hideaway to avoid the hustle, bustle and noise of the LA county beaches. We did lots of tourist things with the kids, and Olga's recommendations for dining and shopping were spot on.

The listing and pictures are very accurate; the property well maintained and the owners friendly and accomodating.

I strongly recommend this property.
business
Malibu Hideaway Cottage in the Santa Monica Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341805
+1 310 633-1469
Malibu Los Angeles County
5

Fantastic spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Fantastic LA weekend getaway. We live in LA but were looking for a mini two night getaway. The 'Hideaway' was perfect. A secluded location with an amazing view of Topanga Canyon and short drive down to Malibu for a day trip to the beach. Owners were very friendly and respectful of our privacy, they live in the house above the cottage so are just a phone call or text message away if needed, made us feel welcome and we loved having their dogs wander down to play with us. Would highly recommend, price is right, we would return.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Malibu Hideaway Cottage in the Santa Monica Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341805
+1 310 633-1469
Malibu Los Angeles County
Springfield, MO
5

Two Thumbs Up...Way Up!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Wow! We just got back from our stay at the Hideaway. It's hard to express how grateful we are to the way Olga and her family made us feel welcome. We are a Midwestern family of four with two teenagers. We were looking to do some touristy things in Hollywood and at the same time enjoy the local life of Topango, Santa Monica and Malibu. Olga provided us with great suggestions. Every suggestion was a winner with our family. She even guided us on a six mile hike to Eagle Rock!

The proximity of the Hideaway provides easy access to all the great activities of California life yet provides the seclusion of being able to get away from it all.

The only downside to our stay was it was too short.

Thanks Olga!
Owner's Response: Jeff and Linda (and the kids)! I really enjoyed meeting your family and taking you on one of my most challenging hikes;) Hope you come back and see us soon!
Olga and the boys.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Malibu Hideaway Cottage in the Santa Monica Mountains
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341805
+1 310 633-1469
Malibu Los Angeles County
Los Angeles, California
5

A very relaxed Weekend...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
upon arrival both me and my fiancee immediately felt connected to this amazing Hideaway. There is something about the atmosphere on this property that i love it is so peaceful it feels like you are not in California anymore. great views -great energy coming out of this house. we will definitely be back!!!!

Olga came down to greet us, she is such a nice person very friendly and attentive. As much as we tried leaving the house to go enjoy the beach.......... we couldn't!!!

we just wanted to sit near the edge of the hill and enjoy the view drink some wine ...so relaxing

to me it was like a Spa getaway as weird as it may sound, i was so relaxed which was perfect before getting back to the busy L.A lifestyle. it was a very therapeutic weekend.
the house is so big and clean with all the amenities to make you feel like home. cant wait to go back!!!
Owner's Response: Luis and Susan, I am sooooo happy you guys were able to relax and enjoy your weekend, really makes me happy to hear this! This is exactly why we decided to do this HomeAway thing, this place is just too special not to share:)
Please, come back to the canyon soon.
Helpful votes: 1/1