Honokaa house rental - Home with ocean view and pool.
Home with ocean view and pool.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Honokaa House Rental Photos and Description
House, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2)

Our secluded ohana (guest home) features a grand, unobstructed view of the Pacific Ocean. The gentle breezes and typically sunny days of our small local neighborhood make this charming hideaway perfect for guests seeking tranquility, privacy, and convenience in a comfortable climate. Whales can be seen (and sometimes heard) from your lanai during their visit to our waters. Unaffected by any surrounding light, the night time is equally enchanting as the stars fill the full canopy of sky. However, all conveniences are so close you'll lack for nothing. Located only 1 mile from quaint, authentic Honokaa, all the amenities and services you may need are simply 5 minutes away. Famous attractions such as Waipio Valley, with its black sand beach, are a short drive as are waterfalls, beaches, and all recreational opportunities. If relaxing at home is your preference, you can enjoy the swimming pool and jacuzzi that we share with our guests.

Keywords: relaxing, romantic, vacation, charming, nice, hiking, horse, riding, atvs, kona, decor, TV, VHS, DVD, pool, jacuzzi, town, shopping, restaurants, kitchen, grocery, store, gym, yoga, gallaries theater, hidden, jewel, Waimea, Hawi, Hilo, Waikoloa, swimming,

More Details
Hide Details

12 Reviews of Property 341651 in Honokaa, Hawaii

Hamakua Coast Home- Ocean Views, Private, Clean, Friendly
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
Hamakua Coast Home- Ocean Views, Private, Clean, Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341651vbi
808-775-0203
Honokaa Hamakua Coast
5

Perfect location....Perfect hosts

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We were first-time travelers to the Big Island and never had booked with VRBO. After finding this site, followed by phone conversations with Rachel, we took the plunge and booked for three nights. Without any qualification whatsoever, this property met our expectations of a "laid-back" Hawaiian experience, just as the local residents like it. Whether you shop the farmers markets in Hilo and Waimea, hike along the North Kohala coast, or just relax on the lanai with a glass of wine and binoculars, you won't be disappointed. Rachel and Chris complement these experiences by offering the perfect balance between privacy and genuine hospitality. Give them a call !
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Hamakua Coast Home- Ocean Views, Private, Clean, Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341651vbi
808-775-0203
Honokaa Hamakua Coast
5

A Bit of Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This property is perfect; so well managed and very clean with all appliances in very good condition. You have your own driveway and a standalone building. There's a lanai with a wonderful backyard view of the ocean. There is a shared pool and hot tub, which we loved to use! The location is great being less than an hour to Hilo or Hapuna Beach and about an hour and a half from Kailua-Kona. The family was so attentive and friendly and we were happy to rent from them. I would recommend this place to anyone!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hamakua Coast Home- Ocean Views, Private, Clean, Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341651vbi
808-775-0203
Honokaa Hamakua Coast
5

A little dreamhouse in paradise..

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We just came back from one of the most wonderful vacation we had so far, mostly because of this great house and our hosts. The view from the Lanai at the ocean is without a doubt the most amazing thing we experienced in Hawaii, which is itself already one of the most amazing places in the world. In the end, we can say, the hours spend in this guest house were the most pleasant ones, we had during our trip. There were whales having fun in front of us, horses, cows and chicken, almost no bugs. It was perfection whether the sun was shining or it was pouring down rain.

The house itself offered everything we needed (kitchen supplies, towels also for the beach, Bathstuff) and Rachel made us feeling at home from the very first moment. The whole family was very nice and extremely helpful. Next to fresh eggs and fruits we got so many tips on where to go and what to do and all questions we had were answered. Thank you all so very much!

The house is located in a very quite and untouristy area, surrounded by nature and still easy accessible. It is great for day trips to Waipio Valley, the volcano, Hilo or Kona and to all these beautiful beaches and waterfalls at the Hamakua Coast.

We can`t wait to come back and wish everyone who chooses this place the same wonderful time we had.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Hamakua Coast Home- Ocean Views, Private, Clean, Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341651vbi
808-775-0203
Honokaa Hamakua Coast
5

Perfect little blue house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This little blue house is perfect for a couple that wishes privacy and quiet to enjoy the rural atmosphere – chickens crowing, birds singing, cows grazing in the field below. From the lanai, there is a panoramic view of the ocean with regular sightings of humpback whales. The family’s swimming pool and hot tub are available for guest use. Friendly owners Rachel and Chris and their two boys live in the main house, and are helpful with suggestions of things to do and places to eat. The house is in a small residential community about an hour from the Kona coast, an hour from Hilo, 5 minutes from groceries in Honoka’a, and 20 minutes from the wonderful farmers’ market at Waimea. No TV, but who needs it. The house description and other reviews say it all!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hamakua Coast Home- Ocean Views, Private, Clean, Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341651vbi
808-775-0203
Honokaa Hamakua Coast
Germany
5

Thank you for the relaxing stay in your house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We had a wonderful and relaxing week! Rachel and Chris were very friendly and helpful. We felt really welcome at their place.

The house is at the end of the street, so the area is very quiet and you have a marvelous view from the lanai over the green gardens and fields to the ocean. The house matches the description, and the pictures give a very good impression of the place. It is a perfect place for two, the kitchen is well equipped and the rooms are spacious. The lanai is certainly the highlight! It has some glass on one end to protect you against wind or rain. Although we had some rainy days, we enjoyed sitting out on the lanai every day for breakfast and in the evening for dinner and a glass of wine.

Also the location was a good choice. From there we were able to explore the whole area from North Kohala to Volcano. And we could easily reach the Waikoloa area and the beaches there.

Rachel and Chris, thank you very much for your hospitality, your tips for snorkeling and sites to visit, and for a wonderful week of vacation in your house!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Hamakua Coast Home- Ocean Views, Private, Clean, Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341651vbi
808-775-0203
Honokaa Hamakua Coast
Brooklyn, NY
5

HONOKAA PARADISE

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
After barely escaping a major snowstorm in the midwest and five days on bustling Oahu (a block from the Obamas, in another VRBO property) with friends, we landed in this Honokaa paradise. Our hosts were very hospitable; the house was beautifully designed and neat as a pin; the view from the lanai of the ocean was the perfect horizon; a flock of wild turkeys showed up every evening, providing lots of courtship amusement. This was the perfect base of operations from which we explored the whole island. We knew that we did not want the resort experience (and we did investigate Kona one day, confirming our suspicions) and were so glad to find this wonderful place. We would not want to stay anywhere else on a return visit to the Big Island. Definitely for the traveler who wants to feel like a local rather than a waited-on-hand-and-foot tourist. Hard to imagine how one might improve upon the Cox's welcome paradise.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Hamakua Coast Home- Ocean Views, Private, Clean, Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341651vbi
808-775-0203
Honokaa Hamakua Coast
BC Canada
5

Great Vacation Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We were made to feel very welcome by the family who own this quiet,private vacation cottage,which is on the same property as their house. We could use their hot tub and their fabulous large saltwater pool at any time we wanted, and we seemed always to have it to ourselves. The cottage was very clean and comfortable and the kitchen had all the tools and appliances that you need to make your own meals and then you just have to open the sliding doors and eat out on the covered lanai taking in the expansive views of the ocean. Only two considerations, we could access wi fi, but with an i pad the best signal was out near the pool, and if you are a tv addict there is no signal, but the owners have hundreds of DVDs that they generously let you borrow.
Overall it is a very nice comfortable place where you can relax and enjoy the Hawaii where Hawaiians live.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hamakua Coast Home- Ocean Views, Private, Clean, Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341651vbi
808-775-0203
Honokaa Hamakua Coast
Western Canada
5

A rave review all dressed up for those with somewhere to go.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
In terms of glowing accolades regarding this very special property, the other reviews deliver them aplenty, so there’s no point in my repeating them here. In fact, if you’re in a hurry to find a great place to stay on the Big Island, skip the rest of this unashamedly long review, read the others, and know at the very least that my wife and I agree unconditionally with most everything articulated by their authors. I’ll add this much though; if this property even remotely looks like a good fit, go for it – it’s really, really nice, the owners and their three boys are wonderful, and you won’t be disappointed.
For those still with me (and I’m not sure whether to offer praise or sympathy), it might be useful to provide some context. That is, although my wife and I recall countless amazing trips to over 20 countries on four continents, this beautiful property and its idyllic location provided the foundation for what we both consider to be two of the most relaxing and wonderful weeks of our lives.
When considering this property’s Hamakua Coast location, which is perfect for those looking for a quieter alternative to Big Island’s busier Gold Coast, flying into Kailua-Kona (on the opposite side of the island), need not be considered problematic.To the contrary, it allowed us to get a room for a couple nights in Kona, recover from our long flight, explore the area a bit, and burn off some of the excitement that typically accompanies the start of a much anticipated holiday. From there we traveled south around the island’s entire west and south coasts and explored, at our leisure and without the need to backtrack, some of its less accessible but must-see areas, such as the Ka’u and Puna Districts. This included stops at the small but beautiful coffee plantation Sacred Grounds, the City of Refuge, South Point, an overnight in Volcano Village, Hilo, Akaka Falls, and several secluded but gorgeous beaches.Our arrival at our lovely Ohana marked the beginning of 10 glorious days on the gorgeous Hamakua Coast, during which we explored two main themes: lounging on the spacious lanai enjoying panoramic views of the ocean while a half dozen cattle and a handful of horses grazed carefree in knee deep, lush green grass and myriad barnyard and nondomestic birds chirped, tweeted, clucked, and crowed from dawn to dusk; or day trips to play golf, do a bit of shopping, go to the beach, or explore the rest of the island. Near perfection I reckon – at least for us. Enjoy your stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Hamakua Coast Home- Ocean Views, Private, Clean, Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341651vbi
808-775-0203
Honokaa Hamakua Coast
Deutschland
5

Excellent, Perfect und Incredible

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We stayed for (only) 4 days and would have liked to stay much longer. Its a very nice place with very good connections to some more unknown, but very beautiful places of the big island.
The condo is perfect in every respect: Modern equipment, perfect ocean view and a big swimming pool plus hot tub.
And in addition: The Cox-Family as hosts are very friendly including special services like fresh eggs from their 15-year-old son.
WE have been to the hawaiian island several times and know many different condos: To this one we definetly will come back !!!!
Stephan and Tina Eisel
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Hamakua Coast Home- Ocean Views, Private, Clean, Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341651vbi
808-775-0203
Honokaa Hamakua Coast
Santa Rosa, CA
5

What you see is what you get.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Beautiful, clean, well appointed modern home with gorgeous view of the ocean. Quiet. Secluded. Relaxing in the hot tub under the stars after a long day of hiking/swimming/snorkling. Falling into our really comfortable bed at midnight and sleeping like a baby in the island quiet. Sitting in the lounge chairs on the lanai, sipping coffee, listening to the birds waking, watching the sun come up. Zipping into Honokaa for breakfast and then a quick jaunt to our next amazing adventure. Wonderfully friendly, helpful, kind hosts. What's not to like.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3