Union Pier cottage rental - Breezy Lane Cottage on a private lane with large backyard surrounded by trees
Breezy Lane Cottage on a private lane with large backyard surrounded by trees
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps15
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Union Pier Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Spacious 6 Bedroom cottage + Sleeping sun room, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 14-15)

6 BR private cottage, on wooded and secluded 1.5 acres in Union Pier, Michigan, just 90 minutes from Chicago in the heart of Harbor Country. Breezy Lane cottage is across from a private wide sandy beach on the sunset shore of lake Michigan, privately accessed for the use of Breezy Lane cottage residents and their guests. The cottage has central air conditioning and features a large light-filled great room, with beautiful views, modern kitchen including dishwasher, washer/dryer, six bedrooms, each with private views overlooking the lawn and woods. The cottage has a deck, a sun room, and screened gazebo. There is plenty of outside furniture, with outside dining tables, and a gas barbeque. The lawn and yard are large enough for multiple activities occurring at the same time, group games in one area, play set in another, dining and private outside lounging in yet another, all on beautiful private grounds. Swim, sun and walk for miles on the sugar sand beach, rinse off in the outside shower, enjoy evening bonfires and stargazing. Includes TV, cable, and wireless. Breezy Lane cottage is perfect for groups of friends or family, plenty of space to spend time together or privately for reading, sun bathing, or other peaceful pleasures.

Located in the heart of Harbor Country, Breezy Lane cottage is just minutes from local restaurants, or visit nearby butcher ships, bakeries, farm stands, and farmers' markets --to create your own feast. Check out the local brews at Greenbush Brewery in Sawyer or local whiskey at the Journeymen in Three Oaks. Hunt for treasures at Harbor Country antique shops, rent bikes, kayaks, canoes for the lake or nearby rivers, enjoy movies or acclaimed local theater in Three Oaks. Or just relax in the yard or on the beach. There's always many ways to enjoy your vacation at Breezy Lane Cottage.

Keywords: cottage, cabin, private beach and lake access, group and family

More Details
Hide Details

Three generations of us have enjoyed using this great vacation property for over 30 years.

Ayrie Moore purchased this cottage in 1980

Its location is perfect, easily accessible from Chicago, as well as other Michigan and Indiana towns and cities. We have private access to one of Lake Michigan's most beautiful sand beaches and the surrounding area provides opportunities for any interest, active, cultural, nature. Its six bedrooms allows all generations to enjoy it together.

private beach access, large yard and lawn for multiple activities, six bedrooms, room enough for large groups and gatherings, beautiful views, privacy.

14 Reviews of Property 341634 in Union Pier, Michigan

BREEZY LANE-FAMILY BEACH COTTAGE, SHORT WALK TO PRIVATE LAKE MICHIGAN BEACH
average rating of 4.785714 based on 14 reviews
business
BREEZY LANE-FAMILY BEACH COTTAGE, SHORT WALK TO PRIVATE LAKE MICHIGAN BEACH
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341634vb
+1 773-480-0001
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Chicago
5

Charming cottage with secluded backyard and access to private beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The Breezy Lane cottage is an ideal place to unwind. It has a large secluded backyard for relaxing and access to a beautiful private beach just across the street. The cottage is near shops, restaurants, and art galleries.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities
business
BREEZY LANE-FAMILY BEACH COTTAGE, SHORT WALK TO PRIVATE LAKE MICHIGAN BEACH
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341634vb
+1 773-480-0001
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Brooklyn, New York
5

Awesome Cottage with Awesome Swing Set

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My family rented Breezy Lane this year for a week and it was a great experience all around. There was six bed rooms and two bathrooms so everyone felt like they had ample space. There is a huge backyard with a swing set and slide which was great for the 3 year old. We would go down to the beach most days then when the kids couldn't take it anymore we would head back upstairs to the backyard and relax. Dinners we would hit the grill and hang out in the backyard along the long tables till the sky turned a hazy pink. Then we would back inside to put the kids to sleep, watch a movie on the screen and turn in to do it all again. It was a great week and we spend some time exploring the coast line by car to a great state park about 30 mins away called Warren Dunes. Looking forward to renting Breezy Lane again next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
BREEZY LANE-FAMILY BEACH COTTAGE, SHORT WALK TO PRIVATE LAKE MICHIGAN BEACH
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341634vb
+1 773-480-0001
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Chicago
5

New playset!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We rent Breezy Lane about once a year. This year we were so happy to find that they have added a great new play set for the kids!! It's large and sturdy and provided hours of activity for my kids while I lolled around on a beach chair reading. The beach, as always, was pristine and lovely. The yard large with room for all of us to spread out and relax. The house serves our needs well with so many bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. We love the relaxed family friendly vibe. That's why we keep coming back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
BREEZY LANE-FAMILY BEACH COTTAGE, SHORT WALK TO PRIVATE LAKE MICHIGAN BEACH
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341634vb
+1 773-480-0001
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Philadelphia, PA
5

Summer Visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My stay at Breezy Lane was fantastic! I spent my 30th birthday in Union Pier on a trip there with my boyfriend's family-great way to spend it. The house is conveniently located right across the street to beach access. Big plus in my book, and the house has chairs available to take down there, so we didn't have to worry about bringing all those necessities from Chicago with us. The house itself is very comfortable. I particularly enjoyed hanging out in the backyard grilling, having some wine and enjoying the quietness with the backdrop of the woods. My favorite part of the trip was taking the bikes out with my boyfriend and riding around on the country roads of Union Pier and discovering some cute little markets and coffee shops in town.

I highly recommend renting at Breezy Lane. The house is spacious for large groups, comfortable and perfectly located.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
BREEZY LANE-FAMILY BEACH COTTAGE, SHORT WALK TO PRIVATE LAKE MICHIGAN BEACH
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341634vb
+1 773-480-0001
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
United States
5

Ideal Summer cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We stayed at your place in July of last year and had an absolute blast. Your place was exactly what we needed as an extended family. We plan to come back this year and are very excited.
It was the best of both worlds to have the staircase to the beach across the street as well as having a cottage surrounded by trees for a very secluded feel. A great place for sure!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
BREEZY LANE-FAMILY BEACH COTTAGE, SHORT WALK TO PRIVATE LAKE MICHIGAN BEACH
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341634vb
+1 773-480-0001
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Evanston, IL
5

Privacy at the beach and at the home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
For the past couple of years my family and I have rented this cabin in Union Pier. We live in Chicago and it is amazing that an hour and half drive can take us to this relaxing place. I agree with the other poster in that the house is bigger than expected, it keeps going and going. There’s something like six bedrooms there so for our family/friend gatherings it was perfect. The layout of the home has a larger living/dining space in the front of the house with bedrooms in the back so at night, after the kiddies went to bed, the adults were able to hangout. The house is located on a large private lot so we were able to relax outside and let the kids RUN! My favorite feature the house has to offer is the beach. Yes the access path does involve a bunch of stairs so it is wise to pack supplies but the beach itself is not crowded!!! Before we found this spot we rented another home that was on the beach in New Buffalo and I felt like I was back in Chicago because of the number of people on the beach. When I am on vacation, I don’t want to be bothered by a bunch of people. That is why I really like this home, the house sits on a pretty private lot and the beach is not crowded. Plus we like the little food shops in walking distance for easy lunch options. We will be back!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
BREEZY LANE-FAMILY BEACH COTTAGE, SHORT WALK TO PRIVATE LAKE MICHIGAN BEACH
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341634vb
+1 773-480-0001
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Chicago
5

Great Cottage, Awesome vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I really enjoyed my stay here. My friends and I (8 of us) fit comfortably, even there was more bedrooms than necessary. We had everything we needed at this cottage, and the price is very reasonable when I compared it to other vacation homes in the area, in fact I think we got a great deal at this cottage (Breezy Lane is the name of it). Indoor space was adequate and comfortable, outdoor space was luxuriously large and the beach was the best part of all. Felt like we had our own private Lake Michigan!!! HIghly recommend this cottage.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
BREEZY LANE-FAMILY BEACH COTTAGE, SHORT WALK TO PRIVATE LAKE MICHIGAN BEACH
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341634vb
+1 773-480-0001
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Highland, Indiana USA
5

Plenty of room...A great place for family summer fun!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our family has enjoyed summer fun at Breezy Lane for three years. We're coming back again the summer of 1013. Although we are only renters, we like to think of Breezy Lane as "our vacation home". The house is clean with a comfortable cottage décor, and it has plenty of room for our extended family, which ranges in age from infants to seniors.

We love the spacious yard, which offers privacy for cookouts, sunning, or just relaxing. The yard is large for volleyball, badminton, croquet, and other yard games. Most of the property is bordered by trees and woods, offering a private area but not secluded. The Lake Michigan beach is just a short walk away. Breezy Lane has beach area reserved for its renters.

Inside is a comfortable living room, dining area, complete kitchen, large laundry room, and plenty of bedrooms. There are two complete bathrooms, which are needed with our family stay of twelve people! Breezy Lane's driveway takes you away from the road. Parking is ample.

We have found the owners to be friendly and accommodating. Our family recommends Breezy Lane with a 5-Star Rating!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: How wonderful that your multigenerational family has returned to Breezy Lane so often that you now regard it as your vacation home!
business
BREEZY LANE-FAMILY BEACH COTTAGE, SHORT WALK TO PRIVATE LAKE MICHIGAN BEACH
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341634vb
+1 773-480-0001
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Chicago, IL
5

Great for a multi-family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We rented the Breezy Lane cottage for a reunion of sorts with my college girlfriends. All told we fit 5 couples and 5 kids under the age of 4 into the cottage. We had a fantastic time. The house is well supplied with everything you need for a getaway- fully stocked kitchen with equipment for indoor and outdoor dining, tons of equipment (towels, chairs) to enjoy the beach, cable/wifi/stereo, etc. I have done rentals before where you have to bring a lot of your own "stuff" to make a stay feel comfortable, but that wasn't the case here.

One of the best features of the house is the sprawling yard- there is a large front area as well as a huge field out back. It is set back from the road, so we could really turn the kids loose in the yard without having to stress. There is plenty of outdoor seating with room left over to play games- we got into kick ball:) We also had great stars at night with a bonfire out back.

The beach is beautiful with great swimming and a really nice shoreline that allows little ones to play and dig and wade without getting deep. The walk down to the beach takes a while, but once we got used to the stairs we came up and back several times a day. The sunsets were fantastic.

The thing to know about the Breezy lane Cottage is that it is not fancy and fussy. It has a cabin charm to it and is very comfortable and clean. But if you are a crew that needs stainless steel appliances, granite counter tops, and top of the line everything- you should prepare to pay a lot more and rent elsewhere. For our crew, it was perfect. We are already planning our next "reunion".
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad Breezy Lane worked so well for you, your friends, and your 5 kids under 4 and that it was such a stress-free experience!
business
BREEZY LANE-FAMILY BEACH COTTAGE, SHORT WALK TO PRIVATE LAKE MICHIGAN BEACH
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341634vb
+1 773-480-0001
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Brooklyn, New York
5

Great Family Reunion Vacation Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My mother booked out Breezy Lane for a small family reunion gathering last summer and we had such a blast! You drive out from Chicago about an hour and half and finally hit those wonderful back highways along the water coming to the top of the hill on Lakeshore Road and you see the Breezy Lane sign. You pull down into a long drive way that can fit 5 to 6 cars and you come to a large cottage. We had about 4 families totally 10 or 11 people with us (my parents, my sisters family, me and my girl friend, and two of my sisters friends) and it was a total blast. Even with the large amount of people we thought that the cottage offered enough space for all of us to both get our alone time and have all the family time we wanted. All of the bed rooms had really nice themes and there was plenty y of colorful plates for our large family feasts outside cooked on the gas grill. We went down to a farmers market and got fresh Michigan corn and cherries which were so flavorful. And at night we would all relax in the screened in gazebo in the backyard.

Most mornings we went down to the beach which is accessed via a small easement that descends into some professionally built steps to the water. During the week it almost felt like we were alone on the beach and the next family on the water was roughly 400 or 500 yards away. It was awesome. The weekends got a little more crowded but it was nice since all the families were of similar age and my sisters kids were able to play with these other families. After the kids got tired of the beach we would head back up the stairs and play with the hose in the backyard. The kids loved the amount of space to run around in the backyard which the adults sunned, read books, and gossiped in general. Also it was secluded in the back and we didn’t have to worry about anything.

My favorite experience has to be bike riding around the area. The area is full of small back roads lined with vineyards, soy bean fields, and corn fields. I took several long bike rides into neighboring towns like 3 Oaks and New Buffalo which offered a great break from the kids.

I would highly recommend BL and hope that my family books another family reunion there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your detailed review. I am glad that Breezy Lane helped make your family reunion so successful.