Inverness house rental - The house and meadow perched on the edge of Tomales Bay www.TheWhitneyHouse.com
The house and meadow perched on the edge of Tomales Bay www.TheWhitneyHouse.com
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
 

Inverness House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6)

Enjoy a 120 degree view of Tomales Bay, Elephant Mountain, Mount Tam and your own two acre sunny meadow, all while relaxing in front of the fire in the Bernardi designed redwood and glass living room.(Each bedroom has a bay view as well.) More photos at www.thewhitneyhouse.com Walk down the meadow to a magical stairway in the woods that leads to the shore and private dock. Feel free to bring your own watercraft to fully enjoy this remarkable location. Or just dive off the float for a refreshing swim. Chicken Ranch Beach is two minutes to the south and Shell beach five minutes to the north; and the beaches of Point Reyes as well as the lighthouse are just 15 minutes by car. The large brick patio offers the fullness of indoor outdoor living. Words cannot describe the beauty and serenity of dawn or dusk in this truly unique setting.

Keywords: waterfront, vacation, dock, near Point Reyes National Seashore ,quiet, views ,meadow, beach

Hello my name is Nick Whitney and I was raised in Berkeley Ca. and grew up coming to my family home in Inverness on weekends and summers.

I learned to swim and sail on Tomales Bay with my two siblings Kathleen and Pete we are now the owners of this family gem and are caretaking it for the use of generations to come.

Elan Whtney purchased this house in 1950

Back in the 1930s my father, Jim Whitney, then a teenager, would walk from the village of Inverness the two and a half miles to Shell Beach climbing the hill just north of Chicken Ranch he would crest a hill above the bay and cross the most beautiful meadow. He, told his young bride Deborah that if the land was ever sold he'd love to build a home and raise their family there. Fortunately, what had been Mc Connell's Dairy's pasture was soon subdivided and Jim and Deborah were able to fulfill their dreams. They raised three children there, Kathleen, Peter, and Nick. Deborah is now 93 and still spends a month every summer at this wonderful retreat, as do Kathleen, Pete and Deborah's 10 grandchildren. Nick and his wife Elan manage the property.

This rustic family home is a great location for friends and families to just relax and enjoy the view or play a pick up game of softball in the meadow. Our home appeals to every generation.

When you are staying at Whitney House it's easy to enjoy Tomales Bay and the numerous Pt. Reyes National Seahore activities because you are so close to the bay and beaches.

The large open living room and dining area make for memorable family dinners and then it's fun to curl up in front of the fire place and play a game or read.

15 Reviews of Property 341269 in Inverness, California

Whitney House-Spectacular Location W/ Private Beach & Dock
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 15 reviews
business
Whitney House-Spectacular Location W/ Private Beach & Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341269vbi
4156631572
Inverness The Bay Area
5

my idea of perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
I just stayed at the Whitney house with a couple of friends to celebrate our birthdays. It was perfect and I can't wait to return with my family. The house appealed to me on every level... the floor plan (all rooms open to the outside and you have to go outside to go from the living room to bedrooms), the scale of the windows, the view, the location, the handmade details, the sense of history, the shade of blue trim, the proximity to hikes, the proximity to saltwater oyster bar, the dock and all the steps and benches leading down to it, the fireplace, the yard/meadow, the books on the shelves. I can't wait to go back. I'm so glad I found this place!
business
Whitney House-Spectacular Location W/ Private Beach & Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341269vbi
4156631572
Inverness The Bay Area
4

Birthday fun

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We had a fantastic time at the Whitney house..enjoyed sitting by the fire on a rainy day,playing ping pong was our most favorite.. We were unable to get the wall heaters to turn on, so we piled on the blankets. Having the bedrooms separate from the living/dining/kitchen area is a bonus. If others are engaged In a game and your exhausted from having fun all day,peace and quiet can be found.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Whitney House-Spectacular Location W/ Private Beach & Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341269vbi
4156631572
Inverness The Bay Area
5

Wonderful visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My partner and I had a wonderful 3 day visit over the holidays. When we arrived we found the home and grounds very clean and well kept. We enjoyed kayaking from the dock and generally just relaxing. It felt like home right away. We explored the wonderful small towns that were not far away and made a jaunt to Drakes Bay Oyster Farm for some delicious raw oysters. We would like to return again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
business
Whitney House-Spectacular Location W/ Private Beach & Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341269vbi
4156631572
Inverness The Bay Area
Berkeley, CA
5

Amazing place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My husband and I had a wonderfully relaxing, special weekend here. The location is wonderful -- easy to get to & close to trail heads for hiking and biking (though we did drive to the trail heads due to the narrowness of Sir Francis Drake road). It is quiet and private feeling -- the property is huge. The most amazing feature is the wonderful view through the mid-century modern windows, the pier, and the gorgeous light that fills the living room in the morning. We had a lovely time with our coffee and books in front of the fireplace. The staircase down to the little beach and pier is fairytale-like. The property would be great in the summer with the large meadow and access to Tomales Bay -- we will be back with the kids. The house has an original, rustic feel to it and the layout (with the bedrooms and bathroom detached from the living room/ kitchen) may not work for everyone -- it was fine for us. The property owners were very easy to deal with and answered my many questions very promptly. I have rented hundreds of houses on VRBO (a personal mission to find the perfect rental) and this is one of the few that I loved enough to plan a return trip to.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Whitney House-Spectacular Location W/ Private Beach & Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341269vbi
4156631572
Inverness The Bay Area
Oakland
5

Gorgeous home and property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The place is perfect -- just as described. My only complaint is that the knives are dull.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Whitney House-Spectacular Location W/ Private Beach & Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341269vbi
4156631572
Inverness The Bay Area
5

A hidden gem!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
What a fabulous place to relax and enjoy the bay! Not only are there stunning views from just about every spot on the property, the huge windows you see in the photos were actually CLEAN, WOW! The fireplace was a source of warmth and beauty. There was just a magical vibe to the entire experience, we chose not to even leave the house once for two days. We live fairly close so we've experienced the hikes and restaurants, of which there are many, this was a time to unwind and celebrate our love on our anniversary. The owners were helpful and accommodating at every turn. A treasure in Inverness!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
business
Whitney House-Spectacular Location W/ Private Beach & Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341269vbi
4156631572
Inverness The Bay Area
Ben Lomond, California
5

Our family reunion at the lovely Whitney House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We've been regulars at the Whitney House ever since the owners started sharing their astonishingly
gorgeous location with the public. It has become our one and only family reunion destination,
beloved by 3 generations! On beautiful, sunny days or cozy foggy days, the kids zing around the
meadow, fish off the dock, play rousing games indoors and out and we feast on oysters and farmers'
market veggies by night. The house promotes family fun, with its gigantic fireplace, its big dining
table and expansive patio. The occasional fox, skunk or deer in the meadow, the osprey whistling over the bluff, the open view of sky and water make us grateful to be alive. Go there! You'll love it!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Whitney House-Spectacular Location W/ Private Beach & Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341269vbi
4156631572
Inverness The Bay Area
San Bruno
4

Beautiful location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My husband and I really loved the location! The house plan was a little different, but it worked out pretty well. There were a few disappointments unfortunately as the place wasn't clean as one would expect! There were cob webs almost in every room, dust in pretty much anything you touched, the refrigerator smelled awful, tub was really yellow and greasy looking. The sinks had yellow to muddy water running out of them. Most pots were greasy! I loved the place, but need to reconsider going back unless they improve the place.

Also some guy from next door walked with his laundry under his arm at 7:30 am on Sunday morning to the property as I was playing with my daughter in the living room and kind of got scared! Than he smiled and returned to his place! Weird!!!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: I'm really sorry Aysun wasn't satisfied, thanks for the feedback.
We did accommodate her requests for a late check out at 2pm on Sunday and we brought in a crib for her babe at no extra charge.
The man who came over with his laundry lives on the property as a caretaker and said he came over at 11:30 on Sunday to use the washer, check out is normally noon.
The water system in Inverness is a local spring fed system that is tested often and is perfectly safe to drink, you just let the water run for a little bit and the discolor will clear.
We have our house professioally cleaned before each guest and will pay closer attention to these details in the future.
Elan Whitney
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Whitney House-Spectacular Location W/ Private Beach & Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341269vbi
4156631572
Inverness The Bay Area
Sacramento, CA, USA
5

Beautiful Setting on Tomales Bay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
What a great place this is, rustic in all the right ways, all wood interior, so pleasant and comfortable. The setting is awesome, right on Tomales Bay, views from every window, and 2 acres of trees and meadow. During our stay, we were treated to mostly sunny days as we explored the beaches of Pt. Reyes. In the evening when the fog rolled in, we made a fire and settled down by the hearth to play some games. It felt like being in one of the beautiful lodges in one of our national parks, except we had it all to ourselves.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Whitney House-Spectacular Location W/ Private Beach & Dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341269vbi
4156631572
Inverness The Bay Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
We only stayed one night but loved the feeling of a Berkeley-style selection of books, lovely light coming in the windows, rustic charm and home-iness. Hope to return sometime with our dog and children. Thanks for everything