Lutsen house rental - House viewed from garden entrance
House viewed from garden entrance
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Lutsen House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-4)

This home is a rare find. From the moment you enter, your senses are overwhelmed by the natural beauty all around you. This retreat is situated on a 40 foot cliff overlooking Lake Superior. Local folks call it 'the glass house' due to the 180 degree views of Lake Superior.

Close enough to the Lutsen Ski Resort to enjoy all the amenities yet far enough to be away from all the crowds for some quiet time. The exterior walls are 65% windows with views of the lake and woods. A 10 by 15 foot skylight washes the main room with light. The total effect is that you are inside but feel at one with nature.

In the Great Room is a full kitchen, two dining areas, a gas fireplace, and a wonderful couch area under the skylight. The windows, with a beautiful view of the water, are framed with window seating. Under the window seats are many books sure to interest every reader, plus many games for the whole family to play. The bedrooms, which are separated by the Great Room, have queen beds and private full bathrooms. The master bath has a steam shower plus a whirlpool, over-sized, deep-soaking bathtub that overlooks the lake.

Keywords: Retreat, Lake View

More Details
Hide Details

7 Reviews of Property 34099 in Lutsen, Minnesota

Stunning Contemporary Retreat on Lake Superior
average rating of 4.285714 based on 7 reviews
business
Stunning Contemporary Retreat on Lake Superior
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p34099vb
+1 (218) 370-8065 (Minnesota, USA)
Lutsen Minnesota
Shoreview, MN
5

Wonderful winter getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Our family just got done booking another stay at this beautiful house on Lake Superior. The views are amazing from every room and the great room is a perfect place for our family to hang out. Greta was helpful and easy to get a hold of with any issues that we had. Last year we received 6" of snow and the driveway was plowed out first thing in the morning. Great place to stay for skiing at Lutsen.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning Contemporary Retreat on Lake Superior
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p34099vb
+1 (218) 370-8065 (Minnesota, USA)
Lutsen Minnesota
Burnsville MN
5

Yearly Visitors

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
My husband and I, sister-in-law and brother-in-law come every year to Horizon house over President's weekend. When I read the recent review from someone who had a bad experience I had to write. We've been coming for over 10 years and have always enjoyed our visit. We too pay holiday rates, but compared to what you get elsewhere in the area, this house is private, with stunning views and room to have your own space if you want and the cost is much better! We are there in the winter and have never been cold in this house. With the radiant heating during the day, we rarely even turn on the thermostats at night. The windows do not leak unless you don't have them locked down tight. The place is always clean and when we have had a problem, we call Greta and she is available to us. It is true that the only TV is in the large bedroom. We do not come here to watch TV so it's never been a problem. Prior to finding Horizon House, our family rented many, many homes in the area, all up and down the North Shore but we have never found another place like Horizon House where we feel welcomed and comfortable. I'm sorry that other person had such a bad experience. That has NEVER been our experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning Contemporary Retreat on Lake Superior
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p34099vb
+1 (218) 370-8065 (Minnesota, USA)
Lutsen Minnesota
Twin Cities
5

Horizon House made the trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We rented this house for a weekend while attending a wedding at nearby Lutsen Resort.
The house is a delight from the moment you enter, as the views are stunning and the great room is just that (great). This property is kept with loving care, and it shows.

Thanks to the owner and manager for a memorable experience. We'll be back.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning Contemporary Retreat on Lake Superior
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p34099vb
+1 (218) 370-8065 (Minnesota, USA)
Lutsen Minnesota
Eau Claire, WI
1

Major disappointment

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
After considering this place for 6 years, my family and I decided to splurge for 4 nights over Thanksgiving. While the location is beautiful and the layout of the home is ideal, it is not comfortable, and it definitely is not worth the holiday upcharge. The worst aspect of the home is the heating system. Our bedroom was probably 55 degrees on the first day--until sometime after midnight when the heat kicked in and turned our room into a 75-degree sauna. This was a nightly occurrence. I'm all for being "green" and economical (that's how I live), but it makes no sense to force guests to freeze during the day and sweat in the middle of the night; the time-of-use plan they're using does not work. Parts of the home were filthy. We could write our name in the dust in our bedroom, there was crud and thick cobwebs in every corner and dead bugs everywhere, and we found fecal matter in one of the toilets when we arrived. The only TV was in the freezing cold bedroom, so if we wanted to watch a movie as a family we had to squish on the queen-sized bed and sit under a pile of blankets. The instructions for the satellite, DVD player, TV, etc., were outdated. Some of the instructions contradicted each other, and others referred to equipment that was not present. The satellite remote was not working consistently due to weak batteries, but there were no extra batteries to be found. If the electricity went out, there was no flashlight either. The home advertises a large jetted tub, but instructions indicate there will be no additional hot water if you use it. The first night we had one cold shower and a partially filled tub. Although the view is gorgeous and the architecture is pleasant, this home is no longer contemporary, and it's not a "retreat" when one is physically uncomfortable due to a poor heating system (and cold air blowing in through the windows).
Owner's Response: Our family takes all reviews very seriously. VRBO’s notification that we had a complaint was the first we have heard that there was a heating problem with Horizon. We, as well as our very capable caretaker, feel very badly that this family had such a cold experience in our favorite place. Why did they not contact Greta, our caretaker, so that these concerns could have been addressed that Thanksgiving weekend? We can only know of problems when folks tell us. When we received this review we contacted the furnace and hot water heater repair company. They came out right away and the thermostats and the hot water heater off peak timer is repaired. That the toilet was dirty is horrible. We have changed the lock box code to insure that no one who knew the previous code can enter Horizons after the place has been pre-cleaned and prepared for an arrival as it is done for every renter. As for the insects in the cobwebs, they were between the glass windows and the outside screens. We had the screens taken off and the sills cleaned in 30 degree weather. Normally windows aren’t opened in winter so we do this in the spring but want all to be reassured that the insects are now in their final resting place.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Stunning Contemporary Retreat on Lake Superior
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p34099vb
+1 (218) 370-8065 (Minnesota, USA)
Lutsen Minnesota
St. Clair, MN
4

Honeymoon

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We had a great time at Horizons. It was a nice vacation home with many amenities. It had a great kitchen space, open floor plan, great jacuzzi and steam shower, and a beautiful view! The furniture and decor was dated but over all a nice place to escape the everyday hustle and bustle and enjoy the peace and quiet on the lake with my new husband. There are lots of things to see and do near by as well. We would recommend Cascade Falls Park to everyone - it was beautiful and a very short drive from the house. Split Rock Lighthouse was fun too!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Stunning Contemporary Retreat on Lake Superior
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p34099vb
+1 (218) 370-8065 (Minnesota, USA)
Lutsen Minnesota
Maplewood
5

Thanksgiving Memories

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
We had a wonderful stay here last Thanksgiving with our adult "kids"!!! The home is warm and beautiful, secluded for privacy. Took a nice walk up the road...enjoyed the sun on the lake. There aren't enough words to say how much we enjoyed it! Looking forward to another stay soon!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning Contemporary Retreat on Lake Superior
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p34099vb
+1 (218) 370-8065 (Minnesota, USA)
Lutsen Minnesota
Normal, IL, USA
5

Beautiful setting on Lake Superior

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Horizon House is a beautiful space for quiet contemplation, creativity, cooking, and entertaining. Pictures don't do it justice. The house is perched on a bluff overlooking Lake Superior, with sweeping vistas from the south-facing wall of windows. A huge skylight in the great room brings in a lot of natural light, but it does get rather warm during the day as there is no central air conditioning and no way to shade the skylight. The house is located just off Hwy 61, so we were little concerned about traffic noise, but we were happy to find that it was quiet and peaceful during our entire visit. We would definitely return to Horizon House.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6