Kula cottage rental - Front Entry
Front Entry
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Kula Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, Master Bedroom, Sleeping Alcove, 2 Baths, (Sleeps Maximum of 4)

Welcome to The Star Lookout, a magical vacation cottage in Maui's Upcountry. Experience a taste of 'Old Hawaii' in our quiet, restful perch with privacy, sweeping views, magnificent sunsets, and oodles of stars.

The Star Lookout is the perfect retreat for nature lovers, star gazers, writers, outdoor enthusiasts, honeymooners, and well, just about anyone wanting to get away from it all. The Star Lookout is a one-in-a-million property with unobstructed views of both shores of Maui. To the south, the community of Kihei and glimpses of neighboring islands. To the north, Kahului and views of north shore beaches and sugar cane fields.

The entire property is surrounded by pasture and outcroppings of lava rock.

Please check our website for availability and online reservations.

We are a permitted, legal vacation cottage as of April, 2009:

Ordinance #3627

Bill No. 14; CP 2002/0009

Keywords: Cottage

Janice Tower is an avid cyclist. You can find her riding up, down and around Maui with the Upcountry Cyclists.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 2000

This is one of the most beautiful places on Earth.

The Star Lookout offers the visitor peace, tranquility and an opportunity to commune quietly with nature. There's nothing like sitting out on the deck overlooking the north and south shores of Maui, listening to the birds and contemplating the curvature of the Earth.

14 Reviews of Property 5383 in Kula, Hawaii

Heaven on Earth in Upcountry Maui
average rating of 4.642857 based on 14 reviews
business
Heaven on Earth in Upcountry Maui
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p5383vb
(907) 250-2364 (Alaska, USA)
Kula Maui
Wayne, Pa.
4

Great spot to get away from it all!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This is a sweet little cottage for a get away from the hustle and bustle of the world. It is located down a one lane road- so if possible arrive before dark. It was a small challenge to find in the dusk with the evening fog rolling in. The cottage is interesting in the fact that the one double bed is attached to the living space. If you ran not very agile it might be a challenge to climb in the bed but the clime is worth it- the bed is surrounded by windows- you almost feel like you are sleeping outside!!! There is a separate bedroom that you have to go outside to enter. There are bathrooms with showers in both rooms. The kitchen is stocked very nicely with most any tool, pot or pan you might need to cook. The caretakers are present but certainly not intrusive. The drive to Haleakala summit is about a one hour drive so you could plan to see the sunrise or do some hiking there- both great adventures.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Heaven on Earth in Upcountry Maui
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p5383vb
(907) 250-2364 (Alaska, USA)
Kula Maui
United States
5

Not enough time...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Three days was not enough time. To my dismay I found we were busier than planned and didn't have enough time to become a “lanai lizard” and bask in the sun on the wrap around lanai. The views from the back, side or front are all amazing. You can see forever, up Haleakala, across the slopes or down into the valley and to the West Maui Mountains. I could never get tired of the views from the lanai. The master bedroom is spacious with a very comfy bed and a new large bathroom. The master bedroom is attached to the living area but you go outside and a few steps to the door. I found this a big plus for my husband and myself. He had brought his telescope so he could do some late night viewing from the lanai. I could read in the master bedroom and my light didn't disturb him.
The living area of the cottage has a well equipped kitchen, comfy den, bathroom and a wonderful bed in a nook with big windows so you can lie in bed and look at the stars. The cottage is well placed for star gazing; the sky is very dark with no city lights for miles.
The cottage and grounds are very well kept. It’s located on a quiet one lane road that makes for wonderful walks. I look forward to returning and spending a longer time enjoying the tranquil peace.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Heaven on Earth in Upcountry Maui
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p5383vb
(907) 250-2364 (Alaska, USA)
Kula Maui
St Louis, MO
5

Spectacular, Quiet and Starry!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay here. It is so quiet and beautiful. The views were amazing--Haleakala, Pu'u Kukui, Lana'i, Kaho'olawe, Molokini crater...all from one porch! My spouse rushed out a few times each night to look at the stars!

Our rooms were very clean, new locks and key, and everything was ready on time ( we arrived at 3:15pm). I would recommend the owner to mention in her description (sorry if I missed it somewhere, Janice!) that the bedroom does not have an internal pass through.. this is an unusual feature, and one normally expects a one bedroom to have an internal door. It was no big deal to us, but we probably would have used that room's bed if it had a pass through, and it might be important for families with young children.

If you are expecting hotel-like accommodations, you should stay in a hotel. This is a cottage (and we wanted just that), but people should know that they might have to put up with a few spiderwebs in the loft (our daughter loves spiders), the linens are a bit 'tired' though clean, and not all basic toiletries are supplied (we did miss having shampoo, but appreciated having soap). Thank you for a wonderful stay--I know we will return!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Heaven on Earth in Upcountry Maui
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p5383vb
(907) 250-2364 (Alaska, USA)
Kula Maui
Honolulu, HI
5

Quiet Beauty, Priceless View

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Nestled on the slopes of Haleakala ("House of the Sun") & nearly a stones throw from Grandma's Coffee House, sits this cozy oasis overlooking majestic, magical Maui. Time stands still in God's country as the surrounding Nature embraces you in a warmth despite the early morning and evening chill.

Sunsets dazzle & entertain, leaving you transfixed towards the melting sun into the liquid horizon. Night is when the playful stars prove your lookout second to none. Dizzying dimensions unfold. Inky black nights allow these celestial beauties full canvas to awe inspire even the crudest of heart. Sleeping in the main alcove provides an added sensation if awoken at midnight of swimming with the stars.

Sunrises cast their brilliant light and cast soft shadows onto rolling hills and shimmering ocean. While the morning's crispness keeps you slumbered, dreaming of twilight's passing.

This stand alone humble cottage is owned by an Alaskan couple, Steve & Janice Tower. On site hosts are Ray & Barbara Bane, whose previous adventures are chronicled in "Going To Extremes" by Joe McGinniss (pgs 223-225) and available for interesting and inspiring reading.

Accommodations are available via website and by contacting Janice through email. Rate includes a full kitchen stocked with utensils, cookware & all the plates, cups & glasses you'll ever need and then some. Added perks are the wood burning fireplace, firepit, hot tub and BBQ grill. Flat screen TV, free WiFi, stereo & iPod docking station satisfy the tech inclined. And not to be outdone by the cat mascots, Gin & Tonic; charming additions to the homey aura.

However the most spectacular part of this cottage is the breathtaking scenery, allowing pensive moments of serenity that heal & inspire in ways I cannot express and perhaps transcend deeper than I realize; energizing my soul's renewal. Priceless moments that need not be read about, but experienced. Moments like these are few & far between. Quiet beauty awaits.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Heaven on Earth in Upcountry Maui
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p5383vb
(907) 250-2364 (Alaska, USA)
Kula Maui
anchorage, ak
5

Upcountry Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Star lookout is a treasure for those like me who prefer the casual life and upcountry experience to the resort life. I return there with a friend for the simple, clean fresh cottage that hangs off of the Haleakala slopes with grand vistas, nice areas to walk and cycle., and upcountry shops, restaurants and activities. It helped to get some food supplies beforehand. It also helped us to do some planning to figure out how to rent bikes, spend the day exploring upcountry or heading down to the beaches but we always returned to the cottage before sunset, which was spectacular when not cloudy. The cottage had everything we needed to enjoying a relaxed time on the surrounding porch overlooking the island, outdoor hottub, taking walks, reading, and exploring the upcounty world of botanical gardens, orchid greenhouses, massage and healing centers. We had everything needed to hang out there, make delicious meals, do yoga on the porch in the morning, watch the sunset. All electric accommodations, and were fine. Small fireplace was great when cool at night. Beaches and resort life were about 20 minutes away.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Heaven on Earth in Upcountry Maui
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p5383vb
(907) 250-2364 (Alaska, USA)
Kula Maui
Anchorage, AK, USA
5

Biking Maui from Star Lookout

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Four biking buddies enjoyed a wonderful week of pedaling around Maui based out of the Star Lookout. We reveled in the splendid sunset views from the spacious deck, stars from the hot tub and terrific meals prepared in the well-equipped kitchen. The beds were comfy and the area quiet, so we were able to rest well before the next day's ride. The property was charming, clean, and in good repair with friendly and helpful caretakers. We definitely plan to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Heaven on Earth in Upcountry Maui
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p5383vb
(907) 250-2364 (Alaska, USA)
Kula Maui
denver colorado
5

heaven on earth, october 2012

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We arrived late at night, and the directions from the airport were excellent. When we woke up, we found ourselves in a beautiful, clean space that had everything we needed. Clean, equipped kitchen. Clean bathroom and showers. An absolutely killer view.

The caretakers who live right nearby were knowledgeable, friendly, and the perfect hosts. If we needed something, they were happy to help; if we wanted privacy, they were happy to leave us alone.

This is not a 10,000 square foot vacation home. Rather, it is a beautiful, and beautifully situated small
cottage that is well maintained and stunningly located. The listing was 100% accurate, the photos were good -- you can't capture the beauty of this place on film -- and the property was clearly clean and well-maintained. My wife and i look forward to returning.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Heaven on Earth in Upcountry Maui
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p5383vb
(907) 250-2364 (Alaska, USA)
Kula Maui
Anchorage, Alaska
5

Stunning view, peaceful quiet

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
I'm already looking forward to my next visit. This cottage is so much more relaxing than a hotel. Give me stars at night, chickens quietly wandering on the lawn, and an unobstructed view of Hawaiian sunsets. Perfect.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Heaven on Earth in Upcountry Maui
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p5383vb
(907) 250-2364 (Alaska, USA)
Kula Maui
Eagle River, Alaska
5

A Magical Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The Star Lookout is one of the most magical places we've ever stayed. The views were tremendous and the cottage had every amenity including a full kitchen, comfortable beds, and internet -- everything I needed to work during our stay. The grounds were beautifully kept with a scenic walk in Maui's Upcountry just outside the door. Grandma's coffee shop down the road offered the delicious flavor of local fare and culture. Our hosts were a charming couple with amazing stories to share if you care to ask! We loved our stay at Star Lookout and plan to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Heaven on Earth in Upcountry Maui
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p5383vb
(907) 250-2364 (Alaska, USA)
Kula Maui
Eagle River Alaska
5

Leonard Fancher

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Bad reviews? Really? Some people are impossible to please. The Star Lookout is absolutely fantastic! Ray and Barbara are the best. Cottage was clean,pretty and perfect. You couldn't ask for a better location. Highly recommended. I will be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway