Puako house rental - Honu House- nestled in beautiful plantings with views of Kohala hills and ocean.
Honu House- nestled in beautiful plantings with views of Kohala hills and ocean.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Puako House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Simply built and lushly landscaped for beachside living, Honu offers a comfortable living/dining area and convenient kitchen with newer appliances at the center of the house, with two bedrooms and adjoining baths on opposite ends for privacy. Hardwood floors, expansive windows and ceiling fans throughout add to your comfort. All rooms have ocean views, as well as the covered lanai that overlooks the beautiful yard surrounded by bright purple bougainvillea and strikingly contrasting Royal Poinciana. Mature plantings include Singapore plumeria for lei-making, crown flowers that attract monarch butterflies, tiare gardenia, and fragrant pikake planted just outside the master bedroom.

The yard and plantings also serve to create privacy, while the garden walk gets you right to the beach, where you’ll swim, dive, snorkel and sunbathe while enjoying the manta rays, wintertime whale activity, and of course the enchanting honu.

Keywords: beach house, oceanfront house, cottage, Puako house, Waialea Bay house, beach cottage, seaside house

More Details
Hide Details

9 Reviews of Property 340786 in Puako, Hawaii

September special, call for details GREAT RATES
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
September special, call for details GREAT RATES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p340786vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Sequim, WA
5

a wonderful experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We felt right at home from the start. Mary was as helpful and friendly as a family friend and the house had everything we needed (including two papayas). We just brought in our bags and started vacationing. There were even some extra vacation items (books, games, beach gear) left by earlier guests. The beach is truly a memorable part of our experience- very beautiful and well kept. All in all a great week. I highly recommend staying there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
September special, call for details GREAT RATES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p340786vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
McCall, Idaho USA
5

Idaho visitor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Excellent home for two couples to share as they enjoy the wonders of the Big Island. Excellent snorkeling right out your front door. Close to hikes and exploration. Quiet, but not far from restaurants and the grocery store. The kitchen is well equipped for in home dining; the lanai is the perfect spot for breakfasts and dinners. Comfortable, perfect location, clean--we couldn't ask for more.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
business
September special, call for details GREAT RATES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p340786vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Filer, Idaho, USA
5

Honu Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Our stay at Honu Cottage in March '13 was perfect. There was a small glitch with our original rental property and Mary placed us in the Honu Cottage as it was available and turned out to be a wonderful upgrade for us. We were traveling with my husbands sister and her husband. They had never been to the Big Island before and my husband and I knew they were in for a treat with this cottage. Only steps to the beach for sunsets, whales, turtles and a early morning swim each day. What a wonderful way to begin our days. Snorkling there was great; many colorful fish to see. My husband has decided to take scuba lessons to see more. We went to the black sand beach at Mana Lani and were treated to a whale show that was unbelievable. Drove our family to Hawi for lunch at Bamboos, a must. Celebrated their 25th wedding anniversary at Merrimans, another must. Found wonderful fresh produce at Pukalani Stable Farmers Market. Bought fresh fish in Kawaihae to BBQ at the cottage. Ate breakfast one morning at the Hawaiian Cafe in Waimea...very ono! The cottage, now, was absolutely wonderful. The two bedrooms at either end of the cottage provided us with the privacy we desired with our own bathrooms. The kitchen was decked out with everything you could possibly need or want. The back lanai was perfect for dining, watching sunsets, having poo poos and drinks or just sitting and reading and visiting. Naturally we took our family up to the Volcano and ate at Kilauea Lodge as the Volcano House is not quite open yet. The drive back on the upper road was beautiful with the lush tropical forests. We went to see Akaka Falls which is quite spectacular. We will definately return to Puako and stay again in a 2 Papayas rental. Mary and Robbie were most friendly and helpful and really went out of their way to accomodate us. My husband and I used to live Oahu and we return to Hawaii as often as we can. When we set foot in the islands we feel as if we had never left. Honu Cottage felt like home, no ka oi, the best. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
September special, call for details GREAT RATES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p340786vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Missoula, MT
5

Honu House - Montana Visitors

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Our stay at the Honu house was wonderful! The house had everything we needed for cooking and eating in, relaxing on the beach and playing in the ocean. You have really thought of everything! The house was clean & furnishings were great, including good mattresses and pillows. The CD player & ipod dock were a great touch. The area guide book is full of fantastic ideas for activities, beaches and restaurants. The house is also in a great location for watching whales on the beach, taking long walks on the nearby beaches and for enjoying the surrounding area. We thoroughly enjoyed our time and plan to return to this house to recharge our batteries and rejuvenate our souls! Thank you for sharing this amazing place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
September special, call for details GREAT RATES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p340786vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
5

Hawaiian holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
The rental was absolutely ideal for our party of 2 couples with bedrooms in separate wings and gathering spaces in the center. The house is well built, clean, well provisioned with necessities and has lovely outdoor space as well. It was only a short walk to the sandy beach and lagoon perfect for snorkeling. We could also see the humpback whales and huge turtles on the rocks from there. We were able to find wonderful restaurants nearby . I would definitely recommend the house, the area, and the property management to anyone looking for a Hawaiian VRBO.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
September special, call for details GREAT RATES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p340786vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
San Diego, California
5

Honu - There is no better.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The house was everything and more than we expected. Perfect location, perfect price, perfect stay. All You need to live as a family in paradise. The customer service was top-notch and we will be back. Top to bottom, an A+ from us.
Mahalo!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
September special, call for details GREAT RATES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p340786vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Red Lodge, MT USA
5

A great way to relax and enjoy life.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Our family had a wonderful 2 weeks at the Honu house. We enjoyed the privacy the yard gave us and it is a very short walk to the beach. This 2-bedroom house was the perfect size for a family of 5 and a grandparent. The kitchen was well stocked to cook and BBQ. But I must add that the best feature of the property is the hot/cold outdoor shower. Decadent!! The 2-Papya's were very helpful at arranging our stay. We will certainly return to the Honu house or another rental which they manage.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
September special, call for details GREAT RATES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p340786vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
anchorage, alaska
5

Clean with a great view

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
such a nice place! perfect views of the sunset with the beach just a hundred yards away. really comforatable place with covered parking which kept our car from being an oven. worked really well for our family of 5. Wailea Bay is the best!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
September special, call for details GREAT RATES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p340786vbi
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
sf, ca
5

Honu House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
A wonderful cottage on one of the best corners of the big island and we can't wait to return. We'll definitely be back again next year and will be sure to book through 2 papayas.
Helpful votes: 1/1