Sarasota house rental - Walk Downtown! Charming & Historic. A unique experience in Vacation Rentals
Walk Downtown! Charming & Historic. A unique experience in Vacation Rentals
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Sarasota House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

See all 5 cottages and get more information on our website:

ww w. SarasotaCottage. Com (retype with no spaces)

Voted Sarasota''s #1 Neighborhood! The Best Location! The ABSOLUTE best!

Downtown Sarasota. Walk a few blocks to Downtown restaurants, shopping, cafes, theaters, art galleries and chic boutiques! Walk to Marina Jack's at the Harbor for sunset happy hour or enjoy the Bay Waterfront Park. Rent bikes and go over the City Causeway to St. Armand Circle or Lido beach, even explore Longboat Key. Our famous Siesta Beach is a 10 minute car ride. You will be in the middle of everything, while enjoying the peace and quiet at your cozy Key West Style Cottage!

It's what we all move to Florida and fantasize about living in- a tropical Caribbean style bungalow with tons historic of charm!

Korneda Aitcheson from Stuart, Fl. said, 'It's storybook perfect'!

Recently renovated with many modern updates - yet leaving the original historic charm in tact- makes this the perfect romantic cottage for honeymooners or snowbirds alike! The main room has a 50' TV with 100's of channels provided by Verizon FIOS. The cottage is approximately 850 sq. ft. with a very efficient layout that feels much larger. It's spacious and comfortable for 4 people. For larger groups, you can expand by adding the rear rental unit that has 1 bedroom, 1 bath.

The cottage is adorable. Decorated by collecting whimsical pieces of art and furniture from local Artisans, you will surely get a kick out of the place!

Some guests have commented the best part of their stay was the location, while others said it was the fresh, luxurious linens and lavender scented towels that were the best. We hope to entice you to come back by adding special little luxurious touches. Let us welcome you with a bottle of wine, bottled water, coffee and tea. It's our goal to make you comfortable. That's what we like when we travel- that's what we want to give you!

Don't settle for worn-out tired rentals filled with gritty sand and moldy smelling sheets- let us pamper you with our special efforts. We can offer you a range of special services. Prior to your arrival, let us fill your grocery list so you're all set when you get here. We can even stock the bar with your favorite spirits and mixers! Imagine how nice that would be!!!!!

We can arrange tons of activities for all age groups. Let us help you plan tennis games, golf rounds and tee times, as well as lessons.

Get the hottest tickets to the Ballet, Opera, Spring Baseball Training, International Film Festival (in March), Comedy Club, or Concerts.

Want to keep the kids busy? How about the local Aquarium, Zoo, Big Cat Habitat, Mini Golf, Deep Sea Fishing? Tickets to theme parks, like Disney World (2 hours drive), Busch Gardens, Tampa (1 hour drive).. ...so much to do here is Sarasota and beyond.....-The Cultural Coast!

Your comfort and happiness is our success!

Keywords: Sarasota, bungalow, apartment, condo, flat, vacation, house, home, rental, hotel, motel, Beach, romantic, whimsical, retreat, florida, cottage

More Details
Hide Details

My name is Mikealan, my husband if Jeff. We are a younger retired couple in our early fifties who retired from Virginia to Sarasota 3 years ago. We enjoy our vibrant city with all the culture activities and festivals here. We also enjoy the warm Caribbean turquoise Gulf Coast water with our boat and fishing rods. We stay actively involved in the community by volunteering at the Ringling Asolo Theater and High School Library. We are season ticket holders for the Symphony, Ballet and members of many local attractions. This year we are adding to our efforts to give back to the community by volunteering at the International Film Festival in March.

Mikealan or Jeff OKeefe purchased this house in 2009

Charming urban Laurel Park was voted #1 place to live in Sarasota by Sarasota Magazine! The location is convenient for walking to the most vibrant parts of the city. I love having breakfast at one of the outdoor cafes, while striking up a stimulating conversation with a few new friends! Just walking my dogs makes me feel like I'm are part of the the city! Most of our days are sunny and warm, which are perfect for biking to the park or Lido Beach or St. Armand Circle. The historic neighborhood is friendly with a sense of community and has a 'live and let live' attitude ...very quiet and very safe. The eclectic mix of high end homes & condos, mingle with historic bungalows, next to shops, cafes, restaurants and art galleries,makes this cottage have a funky, urban, chic 'feel'.

Fenced in backyard.

If you need more rooms, there is an attached rear apt. with 1 bedroom (queen bed), 1 bathroom with shower and very large fenced in backyard for additional rent.

12 Reviews of Property 340243 in Sarasota, Florida

Cute Cottage! Last Minute SALE! 1/2 off Walk to Town
average rating of 4.818182 based on 12 reviews
business
Cute Cottage! Last Minute SALE! 1/2 off Walk to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p340243vbi
+1 757 663-2025
Sarasota Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We rented 3 cottages for a family reunion. Everyone has a blast. All clean cute and well managed cottages. Nice outdoor areas too. Location the best, downtown and harbor are 10- 15 walk. Beaches are a quick drive, lots of parking there with easy load and unload. We liked Lido Beach the best cuz it has the beachfront swimming pool.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Cute Cottage! Last Minute SALE! 1/2 off Walk to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p340243vbi
+1 757 663-2025
Sarasota Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Shrewsbury, MA, USA
3

Beautiful place and location, but some issues

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
The Coral Cottage is a beautiful well-appointed place in a quaint neighborhood, with easy walking in historic Laurel Park and to main street restaurants, etc. However, we had some issues. Squirrels (or some other critters) in the rafters and walls awakened us most nights as they were running and gnawing on wood, We found cockroaches on 2 occasions in the morning, They provided beach chairs but these were dirty, in bad shape and in one case broken. However, these problems did not cause us to want an interruption of our privacy on our vacation. Except for these problems, the place was enjoyable. The owner said they would look into each one of these issues the day we told them (the day we left).
Owner's Response: It was very upsetting to Jeff and I you didn’t have a 5 star visit. WE strive and work very hard to assure all our guests needs are met and that we respond instantly to complaints. Earning your 5 star approval is our 1st priority.
However, as you mentioned in you review, you did not inform us of any of these complaints until the morning of your departure. All of your complaints could have been addressed instantly if we had known.
It’s Peak Season and all our cottages are fully booked. The guests before and after you did not experience any noise in the rafters nor see any bugs. I had the cottage completely checked by our exterminator and scheduled an extra spray as a precaution to be sure. I was perplexed that our other guests did not experience any noise in the rafters?
It all made sense, when a few weeks later, I received a call from a current guest, during a storm, that they heard “something”. I rushed over while the noise was occurring, hoping to find out what was causing it? I had to almost laugh when we all realized a low branch was hitting and rubbing (during high winds of the storm) the metal roof! It sounded just like a squirrel in the attic. We cut the branch off the next day and have not heard anything sense. I think it’s also prudent to mention the exterminator did not see any signs that anything had been in the attic.
Again, I’m just sorry we didn’t know about this during your stay.
As for the broken beach chair.
Beach equipment is checked and cleaned regularly. Sometimes our guests don’t tell us if something has broken for fear of losing their security deposit. We keep extra beach equipment in the rear shed. Again, if I had known, I could have brought you new ones….
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cute Cottage! Last Minute SALE! 1/2 off Walk to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p340243vbi
+1 757 663-2025
Sarasota Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Sarasota Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
What a great place to stay. Close to downtown with all the great restaurants.
Property is clean and well-maintained and very nicely decorated.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Cute Cottage! Last Minute SALE! 1/2 off Walk to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p340243vbi
+1 757 663-2025
Sarasota Florida South Central Gulf Coast
USA
5

Owners Out Did Themselves! Charming, GREAT LOCATION TOO! Excellent VALUE!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
The owners of this cottage have 4 other cottages in the same area. I have stayed at several of their places downtown and have enjoyed each one. They are all adorable, very nicely furnished, clean and cozy. They are a tremendous value for downtown and they offer free wi-fi, cable, parking, laundry and beach stuff!
I love the location which is very quiet even though I was in the the downtown area. I could walk a few short blocks in any direction for 100's of places to eat ranging from "cheap eats" to highend restaurants. I could walk to several theaters where I saw plays, concerts, symphonies, Opera House and 2 movie theaters. We loved the Burns Court Movie house- an historic movie house that serves wine and beer! It's was only 2 blocks away!!! WE love staying at any of the cottages.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Cute Cottage! Last Minute SALE! 1/2 off Walk to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p340243vbi
+1 757 663-2025
Sarasota Florida South Central Gulf Coast
New York City
5

Exceptional location, extremely comfy and clean. GREAT VALUE TOO!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This cottage was more than expected. I loved the location because we could walk to the downtown restaurants and Theaters District. I loved walking to the waterfront Bay Front Park and Marina. We walked to movies, Selby Gardens, outdoor cafes for breakfast ...which could last for hours reading the morning paper!
Extremely clean, wonderful mattresses thick pillow top, soft fresh sheets and towels. 50 inch plasma HDTV recorded shows while we were out! LOVED IT 5 star, we are coming back soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Cute Cottage! Last Minute SALE! 1/2 off Walk to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p340243vbi
+1 757 663-2025
Sarasota Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Exceptional!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
My experience is a little different. My husband and I excitedly rented the cottage for February. As it turns out my husband's unexpected travel plans required we change our February trip to the cottage. Mikelan was amazing! Although we had never met, only emailed, she did everything she could to re-rent our time so that we could get a refund. And with only a week's notice! She re-rented our time, and we will get our refund (minus Mikelan's costs). We think that is amazing! If we had rented from a property management company we would have been told we lost 100% of our money because of such short notice. And they wouldn't have cared like she did. Thank you Mikelan!!!!
Owner's Response: I was very happy to be able to help!
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Cute Cottage! Last Minute SALE! 1/2 off Walk to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p340243vbi
+1 757 663-2025
Sarasota Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Columbus, Ohio
5

Excellent location, clean well equipped cottage, helpful hosts

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
The owners make the comfort of their tenants a priortiy. In addition to the attractive, whimsical decorating, our cottage was clean and well equipped — full kitchen, new HVAC, TV/DVR/DVD, two full bathrooms, beach chairs/towels and comfortable beds.

My wife and I appreciated Mikelan's referral to a nearby bicycle shop. We rented comfortable bicycles for three days ($60) and had a grand time riding to Whole Foods, downtown, the bayfront park, the library, Marie Selby Botanical Garden, Hillview and the nearby Tolle Arts District.

We were also delighted with Jeff's suggestion of a downtown restaurant known for its hamburgers. A fabulous meal for only $6.50, and eating outdoors was delightful.

After being on the go all day, it was lovely to come back home to the cottage and watch DVDs and TV shows we had recorded on the DVR while enjoying a homemade dinner. We have stayed in many vacation rentals and hotels, and this 50" Panasonic television with Verizon FIOS cable was the best we have experienced. Great picture and exceptional sound made watching a concert on PBS a real treat.

This was a great vacation. We'll be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Cute Cottage! Last Minute SALE! 1/2 off Walk to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p340243vbi
+1 757 663-2025
Sarasota Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Springfield, VA
5

Mike G. Springfield, VA October 5-10

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
What a perfect place to stay! We were so charmed by the home. My wife and I stayed in the rear apartment and found it to be absolutely fantastic. The rear patio was great for an evening of simply chilling out with friends and sharing a bottle of wine (or two.)
Very clean, well appointed and so comfortable!! A short walk to dowtown resturants and shops and a quick drive to several beaches. We hope to get back to Laurel Park soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind comments. We enjoyed having you and your friends as our guests. Jeff and I would also like to thank you for leaving both cottages so clean! Your departing gift was a delightful surprise and very much appreciated!!!!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cute Cottage! Last Minute SALE! 1/2 off Walk to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p340243vbi
+1 757 663-2025
Sarasota Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Virginia
5

Very enjoyable place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Just wanted to say how much we enjoyed staying at your cottage in Sarasota, Florida. It was wonderful to be so close to some great restaurants and a short drive to the beach. We especially appreciated your help in taking care of our "grocery" list prior to our arrival. Arriving to our selected bottle of wine and items in the refrigerator really made this trip special. We so look forward to staying there again. Thanks again for making this a wonderful vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind comments. We enjoyed having you and your friends as our guests. Jeff and I would also like to thank you for leaving both cottages so clean! Your departing gift was a delightful surprise and very much appreciated!!!!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Cute Cottage! Last Minute SALE! 1/2 off Walk to Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p340243vbi
+1 757 663-2025
Sarasota Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Chesterfield, MO
5

Charming Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
My daughter and I stayed in the back 1 bedroom cottage for a week in August '11. The location was perfect and easily accessible to most Sarasota spots we visited. The cottage was clean, the bed comfortable, and it was accessorized with everything we needed. Walking distance to downtown, the Farmers' Market (which we loved) and Women's Exchange (great consignment shop). We utilized the beach chairs which were provided to enjoy beautiful Siesta Key beach, and it was nice to have a washer and dryer for use.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2