Capitol Hill townhome rental - Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Capitol Hill Townhome Rental Photos and Description
Main bedroom with queen bed, second bedroom with two twins, 1.5 bathrooms

This is a remodeled Victorian town house with sun filled bay windows. It is on a quiet residential street, yet as centrally located as it gets. The Capitol complex and the Supreme Court are only three blocks away. 'Restaurant Row', a stretch of Massachusetts Avenue with numerous restaurants, is only one block away. The National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the Newseum are all within walking distance. You will not need a car. Built in 1890 and renovated in 2010, the house combines historic charm with a modern layout. It has a completely open floor plan on the main level. It is furnished comfortably for a family of four (five if counting a crib) without cramming. Larger families may want to consider a combined rental of this property with the ground floor flat in the same structure (HomeAway #340015), or the slightly larger Yellow House (HomeAway #265943). The main house and ground floor flat are totally independent, with separate entrances and mechanical systems.

PLEASE NOTE, WE DO NOT ADVERTISE ON CRAIGSLIST. If you came across the content of our listing on Craigslist, it is a fake ad.

-----------------------------------------------------

How Reservations Work:

We recommend using the 'Book it Now' button, which will confirm availability and provide a detailed quote before you reach the screen on which you are asked to commit. We book with the $120 cleaning fee, and the balance is due 30 days before arrival. All payments are self-service, via credit card or e-check using HomeAway's secure payments page, and you do not need to provide us credit card information.

Cancellation Policy: If you have to cancel a reservation, we will return all funds received when cancellation notice is given 30 days or more prior to arrival, or if the cancellation is due to circumstances beyond your control such as a major snowstorm, airline strike, illness, etc.

Arrival and Departure Logistics: Check out time is 11AM, check in time 3PM. This is to allow time for the cleaners if there is a same-day change-over. If either time poses an issue please let us know, as a it is often possible to make alternative arrangements with the cleaners.

We use a code lock, so there is no need to mail or drop off keys, and you can arrive at any time of night.

More Details
Hide Details

I am an engineer and management consultant with a passion for marine environmental issues and ocean exploration.

Alec Smyth purchased this townhome in 2010

My wife and I invest in properties that meet two fundamental criteria; they must be ideally located for visitors, and nice enough that we would like to live in them ourselves. That translates to properties located in the five or six blocks of Capitol Hill closest to the National Mall, homes with historic charm, and with open floor plans on the ground floor. They must be on streets that are attractive yet quiet.

There is a lot to see in Washington, with over fifty museums, but unfortunately we feature the very longest commutes in the nation. The museums have no parking, which may be a deliberate strategy to reduce the number of cars. Capitol Hill is the area immediately surrounding the US Capitol, and because it is a historical conservation neighborhood of small houses that cannot be altered, it contains almost no hotels. By staying at a home on the Western edge of Capitol Hill, you are closer to the sites than at a hotel, and free from the hassles of commuting because everything is within walking distance. Quite aside from the convenience of the location, both house and neighborhood are charming.

42 Reviews of Property 339969 in Capitol Hill, Washington DC

Two bedroom house in prime location (quiet, safe, walk to museums)
average rating of 4.904762 based on 42 reviews
business
Two bedroom house in prime location (quiet, safe, walk to museums)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339969
+1 703 906-5346
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Zurich
5

Great apartment in great location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This apartment has it all! Front door has a code, so no key to carry all day, internet works perfectly, well stocked, so you do not need to buy soap, TP, etc., enjoyed watching the olympics on the huge flat screen TV. We walked from the apartment to the mall. Picked up a car at Union Station for the weekend when there are no parking restrictions on the street and had no trouble finding a spot. Owner very response. Would stay here again, absolutely!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Two bedroom house in prime location (quiet, safe, walk to museums)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339969
+1 703 906-5346
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Wonderful experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My Husband and I stayed a week in DC to attend a wedding in the Capitol Hill neighborhood and to spend some time sightseeing. This apartment was a perfect location for us to do both. The apartment is very comfortable, clean and had all the necessities. The weather was cold, so we enjoyed the fireplace very much. The neighborhood was quiet and safe. It was very enjoyable to walk to the Eastern Market, Capitol buildings and restaurants. Alec, the owner, is very helpful and responsive. I would definitely recommend this property!
business
Two bedroom house in prime location (quiet, safe, walk to museums)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339969
+1 703 906-5346
Capitol Hill Washington DC
4

Great Location. Owner was super responsive.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
At first i thought that the parking was going to be an issue, but we always were able to find a spot and could move the car easily when needed due to parking restrictions on the street. Clean and convenient.
We arrived during the government shut down, but Alec kept us informed of things to do that where not affected.
business
Two bedroom house in prime location (quiet, safe, walk to museums)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339969
+1 703 906-5346
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

The perfect spot for us.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This turned out to be just what we were looking for. A beautifully kept home that was very inviting. The owner was easy to reach when I had a couple of questions. Right in the middle of a charming neighborhood with a short walk to the grocery store and other place to eat and a very easy trip to Union Station. It was quiet at night, and felt very safe. We would certainly come back.
business
Two bedroom house in prime location (quiet, safe, walk to museums)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339969
+1 703 906-5346
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Outstanding stay in quaint row house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We found this convenient row house a wonderful alternative to staying in a hotel and in reality it was less inexpensive to stay in the row house vs. staying in a hotel. Two couples shared the home and found it wonderful. It is close to restaurants, walking distance to Union Station, which is the place to locate the Hop On Hop Off Bus Tours. These tours will connect you to all the monuments and the Smithsonian Museums. We were able to walk to the Capitol as well as Easton Market. Easton Market is a wonderful eclectic collection of food vendors and on the weekends it has wide selection of folks selling local wares, artwork, fruits and vegetables and array of other items as well as restaurants. Would stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Two bedroom house in prime location (quiet, safe, walk to museums)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339969
+1 703 906-5346
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

capitol hill condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Alec was very helpful. I have stayed at several places and he was probably the most helpful "landlord" I have dealth. Unprompted, made sure everything was ok. the property is in a great location, maybe a little bit farther from metro than described but the walk was very pleasant. Easily accessible by taxi though and if traveling with family of four as we were, cabs are probably more economical and easier anyways. the property was clean and well maintained and the pictures are quite accurate. A nice touch was the availability of umbrellas in case it rained ( a few times during our week there) and a shopping cart (DC charges a 0.05 bag tax). the beds were great, not too mushy like most rental properties. having AC was a additional bonus. the outdoor space is great and there is a nice table to hang out and a BBQ if you are so inclined to cook but with so many good restaurants in DC, why would you? highly recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Two bedroom house in prime location (quiet, safe, walk to museums)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339969
+1 703 906-5346
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

DC during spring break with the family of four

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Alec was very helpful. I have stayed at several places and he was probably the most helpful "landlord" I have dealth. Unprompted, made sure everything was ok.

the property is in a great location, maybe a little bit farther from metro than described but the walk was very pleasant. Easily accessible by taxi though and if traveling with family of four as we were, cabs are probably more economical and easier anyways.

the property was clean and well maintained and the pictures are quite accurate. A nice touch was the availability of umbrellas in case it rained ( a few times during our week there) and a shopping cart (DC charges a 0.05 bag tax). the beds were great, not too mushy like most rental properties. having AC was a additional bonus.

the outdoor space is great and there is a nice table to hang out and a BBQ if you are so inclined to cook but with so many good restaurants in DC, why would you?

highly recommend this property.
business
Two bedroom house in prime location (quiet, safe, walk to museums)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339969
+1 703 906-5346
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Wonderful Capital Hill Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This was an excellent home for our family of four. An incredible location - right between Union Station and the US Capital - we were within walking distance of nearly anything we needed. Our market was the famous Eastern Market, and in the evening (if we needed anything) another neighborhood market was right on our walk back from the Union Station Metro. A variety of restaurants were also within walking distance.

A very quiet and spacious house, well-appointed, in a beautiful neighborhood, had our kids been a little younger, they would have loved playing in the park across the street.

As for me, I'm an early riser and I loved being able to go downstairs without disturbing anyone, make myself some coffee, and do some quiet reading alone before the rest of the family woke up.

Why be crammed inside a hotel room (or even a hotel suite for that matter), when you can stay in an elegant and comfortable home like this.
business
Two bedroom house in prime location (quiet, safe, walk to museums)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339969
+1 703 906-5346
Capitol Hill Washington DC
Hickory, NC
5

Such a great space to call home for a week!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Our family thoroughly enjoyed the stay on Capitol Hill during spring break this year. We found the location of this apartment to be very convenient and accessible to public transportation, restaurants, markets, churches and the sights of Washington, D.C. Since we were traveling with two teenage boys, my husband and I wanted ample space for us all to spread out in for the week and this apartment certainly provided that. We found the description and pictures of the apartment online to be accurate and would recommend it to anyone without reservation.

To make our experience even better, the homeowner graciously provided a well-written and very detailed orientation guide for not only the apartment but also for the sights, public transportation and restaurant options in the area. With Union Station just a short walk away we were able to park the car on day one and take the metro everywhere for the week.

If you want to experience D.C. like a local - you can't go wrong with this apartment!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Two bedroom house in prime location (quiet, safe, walk to museums)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339969
+1 703 906-5346
Capitol Hill Washington DC
5

Convenient and Well Appointed Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This property is well maintained and a pleasure to come home to after a long day of DC sightseeing. It's a convenient walk to the Capitol and Union Station. There is also a nice selection of restaurants within walking distance. The owner, Alec was extremely helpful and very organized with a "book" on the house, neighborhood and local transportations, plus many other useful tips.

I would definitely stay at this property again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway