Chambersburg house rental - Spring Time!
Spring Time!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Chambersburg House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 2 Full Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Beautiful mountain home on a secluded wooded lot. Excellent location for many activities. Screened in porch, stone fireplaces, newly remodeled and fully furnished. One mile from Appalachian Trail, Caledonia golf course and Totem Pole Playhouse. Ten min. from Chambersburg, Pa, 20 min from Gettysburg, 12 miles from Liberty Ski and Golf Resort. 10 miles to Penn National Golf Course, 90 min from Washington DC and Baltimore. Four hours from New York City.

Nice Location: We are located in a secluded mountain setting. It is very peaceful and you will enjoy spending time in the rocking chairs on the screened-in front porch. We are also one mile from the Appalachian Trail, the Totem Pole Playhouse(excellent theatre during the summer months) , Caledonia State park, a public swimming pool and The Caledonia Golf Club. A little farther afield, we have Gettysburg (15 mi), Penn National golf course (10 mi), Liberty Mountain Ski and Golf Resort, (12 mi) and Washington DC (90 mi).

Well Equipped: The house has everything you need, right down to the towels, bedding microwave and silverware. We're on 1.5 acres of land. There is plenty of room for the kids to run. Many Frisbee competitions have been played on our lawn.

We have a decent DVD collection. We have started to collect Film Movement independent movies that some of you should find interesting.

More Details
Hide Details

We fell in love with this house when we first saw it but it was in disrepair. We spent the next five years remodeling and rebuilding it. We really like the peaceful feeling we get in the evening on the screened in porch or in front of the fireplace when it's cold out. Janet is a nurse practitioner and I am management consultant. We both work long hours and spend time volunteering at our church and we wish we had more time to spend at our Caledonia House but we have really enjoyed sharing it with others. The people who have come to our home through Homeaway have been excellent.

Owner purchased this house in 2005

23 Reviews of Property 339557 in Chambersburg, Pennsylvania

Beautiful Mountain Retreat, 3 Bedroom, Two Bath, Forest, Hiking, Screen Porch
average rating of 4.869565 based on 23 reviews
business
Beautiful Mountain Retreat, 3 Bedroom, Two Bath, Forest, Hiking, Screen Porch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339557
+1 240 3296300
Chambersburg Pennsylvania Dutch Country
5

Very cozy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This was a great place to stay. It was very cozy and relaxing. My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our time here. It is a quick drive to Chambersburg and Gettysburg which was nice for shopping and eating out. We may come back this summer when there are more outside activities but it was definitely nice to just relax and refresh. I would recommend this to my friends and family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Mountain Retreat, 3 Bedroom, Two Bath, Forest, Hiking, Screen Porch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339557
+1 240 3296300
Chambersburg Pennsylvania Dutch Country
5

Family of 4 Getaway to the Mountain Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We stayed only two nights and used the location as a jumping off point to visit Caledonia State Park, Hershey Park, Gettysburg, and Antietam Battlefields. We didn't spend much time at the house, but enjoyed every minute while we were there. There is an extensive library of books, CDs, and videos. We were all watching "The Incredibles" within minutes after arrival. Steve was very responsive and helpful with making arrangements to get to the property. The driveway is not conspicuous or paved. The house certainly has a rustic mountain charm. It was a lot of fun staying in a nearly century old house. We would certainly recommend this property to anyone looking for a quiet getaway in this area.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Mountain Retreat, 3 Bedroom, Two Bath, Forest, Hiking, Screen Porch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339557
+1 240 3296300
Chambersburg Pennsylvania Dutch Country
MD
5

Great Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Want to thank Steve for a wonderful stay at his cabin. The four of us had some quiet family time as well as time to get out and see the sights. The cabin was well-stocked and very comfortable. We played board games (provided) and also saw the battlefield. My children were surprised and delighted with this unusual way to spend Labor Day. Thanks, Steve! Because of your help, our stay was easy and delightful.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers
business
Beautiful Mountain Retreat, 3 Bedroom, Two Bath, Forest, Hiking, Screen Porch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339557
+1 240 3296300
Chambersburg Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Naperville, IL
4

Early 1900's two story in the woods: nice place to relax

Early 1900's two story in the woods: nice place to relax
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
It's an old house from the outside, but what a difference inside! This early 1900's summer cottage has had a lot of renovation yet still keeps its welcoming, settled charm. I felt like I was visiting my book smart, eclectic uncle's house in rural Pennsylvania. The furnishings included motorcycle drawings/pictures, various beer steins, and military/suspense/business literature placed in many rooms. Had a blast perusing the novels, especially since we love military history! The layout was interesting too. Couldn't get over the attic door with no stairs in the second bedroom. However, my daughter slept quite comfortably. We had a great time bunking at this place. It certainly added finesse to our historic tour of Gettysburg, Sharpsburg, Harpers Ferry and Carlisle. Thanks also to the owners, Steve and Janet for letting us come back here after an unfortunate rescheduling due to an unexpected death in the family. We will definitely pass the good reviews about the Caledonia house to other families that are looking for a friendly, inviting place to stay while vacationing in the East! AND We will also remember to rent this residence again in the future.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Mountain Retreat, 3 Bedroom, Two Bath, Forest, Hiking, Screen Porch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339557
+1 240 3296300
Chambersburg Pennsylvania Dutch Country
5

Wonderful, cozy home.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Had a wonderful time staying in this home. We were in town for the 150th Gettysburg Re-enactment/anniversary and really enjoyed our stay here. We were only about 15-20 min from Gettysburg so close to our destination. We had 5 adults and 3 children and we fit in it perfectly. Would love to stay here again, if ever back in the area.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Mountain Retreat, 3 Bedroom, Two Bath, Forest, Hiking, Screen Porch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339557
+1 240 3296300
Chambersburg Pennsylvania Dutch Country
5

Wonderful, cozy home!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Had a wonderful time at this vacation home. We had 5 adults and 3 children and fit us perfectly. Lot of space and room, very relaxing area.
Would love to stay there again if ever in the area again.
business
Beautiful Mountain Retreat, 3 Bedroom, Two Bath, Forest, Hiking, Screen Porch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339557
+1 240 3296300
Chambersburg Pennsylvania Dutch Country
5

Nice private cabin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Every year or 2, there are 4 friends who get together for a vacation. We chose Gettysburg this year because of the 150th anniversary. We chose this cabin because it was away from town and quiet. Enjoyed our stay immensely. All of the amenities were in the home. We would stay here again! Thank you Steve for making our vacation a wonderful memory!
business
Beautiful Mountain Retreat, 3 Bedroom, Two Bath, Forest, Hiking, Screen Porch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339557
+1 240 3296300
Chambersburg Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Chicago, Illinois
5

Quiet & Incredibly Comfortable

Quiet & Incredibly Comfortable
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 11, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We've stayed in properties rented through VRBO throughout the world. The Caledonia House is unpretentious and just plain "down home" comfortable! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

On a side note, if you like sushi, we really enjoyed Kenzo, a little sushi/Asian fusion restaurant on Route 30 towards Chambersburg. A delightful discovery!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Mountain Retreat, 3 Bedroom, Two Bath, Forest, Hiking, Screen Porch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339557
+1 240 3296300
Chambersburg Pennsylvania Dutch Country
5

AMAZING GETAWAY

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We LOVED our stay here--a truly grand residence to house the competitors of our 19th annual GOLFWEEK! The house was perfectly comfortable for 4 of us guys (and room for more), and having 2 bathrooms was great. We enjoyed the screened in porch and the spacious kitchen/dining area. We really felt tucked away in the forest--while only a short drive from anything we need. We plan to come back as long as the house is standing--and we can still swing golf clubs!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Mountain Retreat, 3 Bedroom, Two Bath, Forest, Hiking, Screen Porch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339557
+1 240 3296300
Chambersburg Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Dover, Pennsylvania
5

Our Favorite Get-A-Way

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We planned our second visit when we learned I needed recovery time following brain surgery. With a second full bath on the main level, plenty of quiet and still close to restaurants, drug stores and health care if needed, the choice was easy. Where else can you feel like you are in the middle of the woods, have all kitchen,laundry, a collection of reading material and television/music amenities, plus the comfort of a gas fireplace? The house is renovated in good taste and feels comfortably homey; clean but not asceptic! We love it and are already thinking about the next visit there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1