Beautifully Decorated Codo, but we use the beach and pool more than a condo
My family and I are regular beach goers,3 weeks a year. I was excited to stay at this condo, but disappointed. Condo is beautifully decorated, beach was nice. However, downfalls of this unit will deter me from reserving again.The condo is on the 3rd floor and the elevator was out the ENTIRE time we were staying there 15 nights. It was excruciating to go to the beach, grocery store, luggage etc. Imagine going to the beach and climb 3 flights of stairs with sand toys, towels, umbrellas, cooler, boogie boards, and more for 3 kids. Going to the grocery store was just as bad. Terri said she didn't know the elevator was out, (hard to believe renters in May and early June didn't let her know it was out??) but she called maintenance, were waiting on a part, would be in any day. We got to know another owner in the building and it had been out since May and it was over some kind of insurance dispute?? I dont know why it was out, but I know it was a hassle and a damper on our vacation. Pool area was not up to my expectations.The pool was ok, but wasn't cleaned as often as it should've been. The pool furniture was run down, but worked for what time we were at the pool. There was an owner in the unit who obviously didn't enjoy having kids in the building. My girls (5 and 7) were in the pool around 8:30 the first night. He came and yelled at them (twice) to get out of the pool, that it closed at sunset. Pool times were not posted on pool rules. Terri she said it closed at 10:00. Kids were upset because a STRANGER yelled at them. They were just playing and giggling in the pool. Next mrning, we went to take a swim before breakfast, hours were still not posted. We came back down to the pool an hour later and hours were handwritten CLOSES AT SUNSET. Needless to say I wasn't happy with him yelling at my kids and to feel like we couldn't play, move chairs arnd or for us to make noise while in the pool. The smoke alarm went off thru the bldg in the early a.m. and late at night. Struggle to get 3 kids back to sleep. Terri reimbursed me a small amount (after I asked her to) for inconvenience of elevator. Nice unit, but disappointed with a LOT of things to rent in the future,the elevator will surely be fixed, neighbor and pool area will be the same for a while. Just wished I knew before arrival elevator wasn't working and there was a grumpy neighbor who lives in bldg year rond. Terri did what she could, but for cost and time, vacation should be worry and hassle free.
Tourists without a Car,
Owner's Response: We sincerely appreciate your feedback on our rental unit on the Gulf of Mexico, and we apologize for any issues that you had with our unit. We take extra effort to ensure that the unit is tasteful, well appointed and stocked with the beach and vacation essentials as well as things that one would not necessarily find in a typical rental unit.
Some of the issues that you mentioned are unfortunately out of our control which is really frustrating to us. We want everything as close to perfect as possible. The elevator--which is a brand new elevator installed in May, was struck by a very random water main break that shorted out the elevator one week after it was installed. We were informed that it would be operational every week in the early June time period, only to be caught up in part and repair delays. Unfortunately it is completely out of our control which is completely frustrating as it is our goal for a comfortable and enjoyable vacation.
In summary, thanks for the feedback, we control what is in our control, and attempt to control those things that are not. We have a beautiful beach front beautifully decorated condo that we are proud to call ours and love to share with our guests-- hope everyone gets to experience the beauty of our beach life!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
Did you find this review helpful?