Rainbow Bay cottage rental - Uncle Ted at Alabaster beach
Uncle Ted at Alabaster beach
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Rainbow Bay Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 2 full baths

Once you rent our cozy cottage in Rainbow Bay on the island of Eleuthera, Bahamas you'll want to return to this island of natural beauty and warm, friendly people. Tranquil Seas is a comfy smoke-free cottage with Indonesian decor and bamboo matting on walls/ceilings, tiled countertops, Bali wood doors and bamboo trim. A separate laundry room is an added bonus that you don't find in many vacation homes on the island. We have completed lots of upgrades to the cottage that we know you will appreciate.

There is a master bedroom with full bath and walk-in closet at each end of the house providing privacy if you wish to share the cost with friends as well as an outside shower. A queen sized sleeper sofa in the living room allows the house to accommodate up to 6 persons in the home. Each bedroom has flat screen tv with dvd player. Flat screen in living room with dvd player and satellite programming. It is perfect for families or as a romantic getaway, Eleuthera is a wonderful place for couples because intimacy is easily obtained; no crowds, no noise. It's the perfect place to do as little or as much as you wish.

It is one of very few properties on the entire island with incredible panoramic views of both the Atlantic and the Caribbean side so you can sit on the front porch with your morning coffee and watch the sun rise and sit on the back porch in the evening with a frosty cold island drink and watch the sun set. Leave the sliding doors open in the bedrooms at night to catch the soft breeze, the sound of the surf, and see the cruise ships lit up in all of their glory cruising the Atlantic. Wake up to views of the sea without lifting your head off of the pillow. Gorgeous wide open water views from every room, you can see both seas at once from some rooms in the house.

Because of the close proximity of the ocean, cross breezes keep the cottage cool plus there are ceiling fans in each room and air conditioning for warm days/nights. Short walks will take you to beautiful picture-postcard secluded beaches, each with it's own unique beauty. No jet skiis, no vendors 'trolling' their wares to disturb you. Two sea kayaks are available for your unlimited use during your stay at no extra cost which is a big bonus since the kayak rental fee on the island is pricey.

The cottage is centrally located to enable you to explore more easily. There are quaint little shops to browse in and even a cinema showing the lastest films. You can rent a surfboard in Gregorytown and will also see a very good variety of sea life while snorkeling. The area south of Current cut is one of the best places for snorkeling/diving ever. It is not unusual to see stingrays, squid, spiney lobster, many parrot fish, angelfish as well as lionfish, turtles and dolphins. Eleuthera has the best beaches in the Bahamas and you may not see another person while enjoying the sand, surf and sun since Eleuthera has an abundance of them.

Car rental is about $420 per week and we can give advice on booking flights (the closest airport is Governor's Harbour). Check out lots more photos of the cottage, beaches and the island - ask us for our link to the website. We know that you'll love this island and our home as much as we do! It's the place to escape from it all to restore your spirit and soothe your soul.

Visit the fish fry in Governor's Harbour on friday nights for good food, drink, and dancing in the street. Fun for all, meet lots of people from the world over. Make memories that will last a life time! We make it better for you because we provide many amenities for an easy transition into island mode. Questions welcome, we love to talk about Eleuthera!

More Details
Hide Details

We are a couple in our early 60's who live in the Northeast USA and who discovered Eleuthera and can't get enough of it.

Carlene Pearsall purchased this cottage in 2004

We love this property because of the incredible views of the two totally different seas and it's proximity to the most beautiful beaches we have ever seen.

41 Reviews of Property 339332 in Rainbow Bay, Bahamas

Cozy cottage with amazing ocean views from every room.
average rating of 4.76 based on 41 reviews
business
Cozy cottage with amazing ocean views from every room.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339332
+1 207 457-2068
Rainbow Bay Eleuthera
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Wonderful time!

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We want to thank you for sharing your home with us. This was the best vacation ever! The island is beautiful and the people so friendly, and the cottage had everything that we needed, and more. Your kitchen is better equipped than mine in Ohio. The information that you provided was extremely helpful. The house was very clean and we were pleased to find so many extra amenities, like snorkel gear, kayaks, insulated coolers, and such a large movie collection. Watched more movies than television. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us. We definitely will return and bring friends.
Toni and Chuck
business
Cozy cottage with amazing ocean views from every room.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339332
+1 207 457-2068
Rainbow Bay Eleuthera
Dover, NH
5

Our Second Stay at Tranquil Seas

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We have stayed at Tranquil Seas Cottage twice now - once two years ago, and we have just returned from our second visit. We have traveled to other places in the Caribbean, but the island of Eleuthera really is one of our favorite spots! It may not be for everyone (do your research before you go), but there is no lack of beautiful beaches (with hardly a soul on them), great snorkeling, crystal clear calm water and friendly people. Our two visits to Eleuthera have been completely different. Two years ago, we happened to visit during Hurricane Irene, which hit the island pretty hard. We were not able to leave the island, had to board up the cottage, sit tight and ride out the storm. We were a little nervous (and annoyed about our ruined vacation), but ready for for an experience. We made it through (it was a long night), had no power the rest of our trip (3 days) and ran out of running water our last day there. With that being said, THERE IS NO OTHER COTTAGE I WOULD HAVE RATHER STAYED AT DURING THAT TIME!! The owners, Dave and Carlene were nothing but helpful! They made sure we had everything we could possibly need to make it through the storm and the rest of the week. Also, the caretaker for the house, Laura, went above and beyond for us all week! The cottage did not have wi-fi and phone at the time, and Laura actually took us to her house so we could call the airline and family. She is a sweetheart! This time around our trip went nice and smooth and we had a relaxing week! Tranquil Seas has pretty much everything you would ever need for a comfortable stay. The cottage is clean and even though it's a smaller cottage, it doesn't feel crowded. The two bedrooms and bathrooms are on each side of the house so everyone has their own space. The wi-fi works great. I was expecting it to be slow on the island, but this was not the case. The kitchen is well equipped with anything you need to cook a meal. They have everything you need for a day at the beach as well - beach bags, snorkel gear, beach chairs, coolers and kayaks. Carlene is always so nice, helpful, and prompt with answering any questions you may have about the island as well. I could not recommend this cottage enough and hope to make a third visit sometime in the future!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your wonderful review! And you folks are wonderful! You took care of our home before, during and after a hurricane, and that went above and beyond what we expect guests to do! Thank you!!!!!
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Cozy cottage with amazing ocean views from every room.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339332
+1 207 457-2068
Rainbow Bay Eleuthera
Nc
5

Family of 3

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Such.s great vacation. We had never been to Eleuthera but we will go back and stay at Dave and Carlene's . There is nothing lacking at their wonderful cottage. We had rain but there is a great selection of movies and. games . You can drink your coffee in the am on the front porch and watch the Caribbean and have a drink in the evening on the back porch and watch the Atlantic. We never had to use ac - just open the doors and keep the ceiling fans on Carlene is wonderful to work with. Very prompt in returning emails. The people of Eleuthera are all tour guides - so helpful. Wonderful experience !
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Cozy cottage with amazing ocean views from every room.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339332
+1 207 457-2068
Rainbow Bay Eleuthera
Nc
5

Family of 3

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Such.s great vacation. We had never been to Eleuthera but we will go back and stay at Dave and Carlene's . There is nothing lacking at their wonderful cottage. We had rain but there is a great selection of movies and. games . You can drink your coffee in the am on the front porch and watch the Caribbean and have a drink in the evening on the back porch and watch the Atlantic. We never had to use ac - just open the doors and keep the ceiling fans on Carlene is wonderful to work with. Very prompt in returning emails. The people of Eleuthera are all tour guides - so helpful. Wonderful experience !
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Cozy cottage with amazing ocean views from every room.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339332
+1 207 457-2068
Rainbow Bay Eleuthera
Warren, MI
5

Absolutely Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This cottage is a gem! I thought it was exceptionally well kept, clean and stocked with everything you could possibly need....seriously, right down to the spice rack in the kitchen. The kayaks were great and a big bonus! The owners were extremely helpful in every way. The housekeeper was also a sweetheart. It was nice to have the cottage in the middle of the island and made exploring easy. The beaches are outstanding. This was one of our favorite vacations. It was truly a relaxing break. We are looking forward to returning next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Jenny for such a lovely review. We try our best to make our home feel like your home while you are vacationing and we appreciate guests like you who treat our home like they would their own. We hope that our cottage will be your choice the next time you visit beautiful Eleuthera.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Cozy cottage with amazing ocean views from every room.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339332
+1 207 457-2068
Rainbow Bay Eleuthera
5

December 2012 at Carlene & David's cottage

December 2012 at Carlene & David's cottage
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
They said the world was going to end in December 2012. As we all know now, it did not but it sure stopped for 2 weeks for me while I was vacationing at Carlene & David's Cottage! To all of you, readers, who are still wondering if you should rent this place, I say: Don’t hesitate, you won't regret!

A little piece of Paradise...That is what it is! The cottage is nicely located in beautiful Rainbow Bay area. A small walk and you are already at either Hidden beach or Rainbow beach. The addition of the 2 kayaks is awesome! There is something about kayaking early in the morning in the tranquil sea (oh! I get the name of the cottage now!) of Rainbow Bay...simply peaceful and picturesque.

There is absolutely everything you may need at the cottage. The kitchen is complete with lots of pots and pans and even a rice cooker. I love to cook and had brought with me my favorite herbs and spices just to find out that Carlene already had a rack full of them. Really nice thought...

Carlene is a terrific host (even if she is not physically there) and she provides you with all the information you will need about the cottage and the island. Precious!

I have work in the hotel industry for years and I can confirm that this cottage is without any doubt a true "home" away from home! Somewhere you feel safe, comfortable and relaxed. What else can you ask for to begin your vacation in exquisite Eleuthera!

Carlene and David, THANK YOU! Thank you for sharing this little piece of paradise with us!
Owner's Response: Joan, thank you so MUCH for the wonderful review! We love to help others experience the natural beauty and serenity of Eleuthera and guests like you are a real pleasure.
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Cozy cottage with amazing ocean views from every room.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339332
+1 207 457-2068
Rainbow Bay Eleuthera
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
5

Eleuthera Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We cannot express enough what a wonderful way to experience the Bahamas than to start with a visit to Eleuthera. This beautiful cottage with ocean and Caribbean views was everything we had hoped for. The description before arriving was exactly as it had been described on VRBO. Carlene the owner was extremely helpful to insure we had a wonderful time. This little gem of a cottage was perfect for our stay. It had everything we needed to be comfortable, with all the comforts of home within a Bahamian charm. The decor was charming, and everthing was very clean.
We definately took advantage of all Carlene and Dave had available to us. We used the Kayaks, snorkeling gear, water rafts, and of course the well equipped kitchen, and gas barbeque. We also explored the island from tip to tip with our rental car from Hilton. It was a Jeep Cherokee which was perfect for exploring the island. Although these auto rentals are not nice new cars like in the states, it definately suited our needs. Be sure to take a day to see Harbor Island. It was great fun to rent a golf cart to drive around there and see the beautiful beaches there.
The beach we spent the most time at was Rainbow Beach. It's just minutes from the cottage, and beautiful! If you choose to dine out, our favorite place was the Rainbow Bay Inn, also just minutes away.
Thank you Dave and Carlene for sharing this beautiful home. We had a wonderful time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Cozy cottage with amazing ocean views from every room.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339332
+1 207 457-2068
Rainbow Bay Eleuthera
5

Great vacation, but way too short

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
This place was fantastic -- it had something for just about everyone. Hiking, beaching, site seeing, fishing . . . .only problem was that we stayed only 6 days. Carlene was very helpful to us in planning our trip (first-timers in the Bahamas). We had some hot days, but never needed to use the AC -- cool breezes in the house. I would definitely recommend.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cozy cottage with amazing ocean views from every room.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339332
+1 207 457-2068
Rainbow Bay Eleuthera
Santa Cruz, CA
5

Great house on a great island!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We spent 5 days at Dave and Carlene’s house in March, 2012, which was way to short of time. This house was great for our family of four. They are not kidding when they say they have everything you need in a house and more. It was great to have some many things at our access, such as kayaks, beach chairs, umbrellas, coolers, towels, ..etc. The kitchen was well equipped and the TV and movie collection was great for a couple of family movie nights. Having the cell phone was helpful. All in, a great house that I would recommend to anyone.

Thanks Dave and Carlene,

Jeff, Monika, Marcus (11) and Kaisa (8)
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/11
business
Cozy cottage with amazing ocean views from every room.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339332
+1 207 457-2068
Rainbow Bay Eleuthera
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

July guests

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We had a wonderful time in Eleuthera. The island is beautiful. We enjoyed the beaches, did a little sightseeing but we mostly got some much needed R&R. Vacation rental properties is my first choice for travelling and your vacation rental is the most well-equipped place I have seen thus far. I loved the location and you had everything one would need or want during vacation. When the lights went out, we used the flameless candles and lanterns but aside from those items, i was impressed with all the food seasoning, dvd selection, games, bedding, towels, and so much more. It was definitely a pleasure and I look forward to returning to the island and your cottage.
Helpful votes: 1/1