Pahoa house rental - Our comfy, tropical living room invites you to relax!
Our comfy, tropical living room invites you to relax!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Pahoa House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms on an acre with fruit and native ohia trees.

Pahoa Paradise! Long or short term rentals.

Ten minutes to surfing, scuba diving and swimming, warm ponds and Lava Tree State Park. If flowing, it's 15 minutes drive to see red-hot lava flowing into the sea – spectacular at night! Lots more to see and do - Ask us! Wir sprechen Deutsch!

Our cozy and comfortable 3 bedroom, 2 bath vacation home is on one acre with fruit trees and tropical plantings. The master bedroom with en suite bathroom has a king bed; the two additional bedrooms have queen beds. Your beds welcome you with luxurious 100% cotton sateen sheets, warm comforters and plump pillows, and your bathrooms come complete with a full complement of 100% cotton towels, and beautifully tiled combination tub/showers. Tile floors sparkle throughout this lovely home, and ceiling fans in the bedrooms and great room keep it cool year round.

Our UV water purifying system provides you with drinking water from every faucet - even from the hose outside! The kitchen has a gas cook top and wall oven to cook your own meals, and a complete set of pots and pans, cooking utensils, kitchen towels and mitts, and dishes, glassware, and flatware. It also has a side-by-side refrigerator with cold, purified water and ice available in the door, built-in microwave, dishwasher, coffee maker, toaster oven, rice cooker, and blender. The laundry room is just a step outside the kitchen (in the carport), with a large capacity washer and gas dryer.

We have a new 55' TV and Blueray player!

You can pick your own fruit from the trees. Depending on the season, we have avocados, lilikoi (passion fruit), oranges, tangelos, mulberries, and also pineapples and strawberries! Enjoy fresh lilikoi's sweet-tart flavor over your yogurt, or sliced strawberries with ice cream or yogurt and granola - you be the chef!

We provide all the front and side yard service, which usually takes one day a week between 8 am and 5 pm. We may do additional landscaping work, usually in the back 1/2 acre, one or two days a week. This additional work will be arranged to fit your schedule.

This house is wheelchair-accessible - please advise us of your special needs in your email.

Four night minimum.

Seasonal discounts offered; see our rate schedule below. Regularly $110/night for 1-2 people, $125/night for up to six people. Ask us about other discounts for longer stays!

This is a self-catering vacation rental, and includes dish washing and dishwasher soap, laundry detergent and fabric softener dryer sheets, liquid hand soap, and a starter set of toilet paper and a roll of paper towels. Please buy your groceries, bath soap, shampoo, additional paper towels you may want and other essentials before you arrive at the house.

Hawaiian custom is to remove shoes before entering a home, so you may want to pack your slippers, or add a pair of 'local slippers' (or flip-flops) to your shopping list.

There are two grocery stores and a Walmart in Hilo on the main road from Hilo Airport to Pahoa, and a small market in Pahoa Village behind the Aloha Gas station, about 10 minutes drive from our home.

Keywords: house, acre, fruit trees, purified drinking water, satellite internet, WiFi, lava, surfing, swimming

More Details
Hide Details

We met and married in Hawaii in 2008. Although we both grew up in California, and both love the ocean, Susan spent 13 years living and working in Switzerland, and speaks fluent German, while Tim has lived in Hawaii for over 30 years. Tim introduced Susan to surfing, and Susan introduced Tim to scuba diving. Spring has a mixture of big swells and flat times, so we switch between surfing and diving - we both love being in the ocean!

Tim and Susan Law purchased this house in 2008

We love the entire island of Hawaii! Pahoa Paradise is close to some of the best surfing on the island. And it's always fun to take visitors out to view the lava flows at night; sometimes the lava is simply spectacular! Leilani Estates is one of the best neighborhoods in rural Hawaii, with paved roads and several native, undeveloped lots where you can see the native Ohia trees. We are landscaping around several Ohia trees on our acre lot, but still have plenty of room for fruit trees, including coffee trees.

Tim, owner-builder and carpenter, built our vacation rental home. Susan, retired and loves to garden, has her hands full with the fruit trees, croton hedge, and tropical plantings of heliconia, ti leaf, shell ginger, and plumeria. Tim, of course, does the heavy lifting and digging, and mowing and weed-wacking. He also made the frames for your beds and bedside tables!

We've had a lot of fun planning and decorating our vacation home, and we hope you enjoy the results of our labors!

It's only a ten minute drive to some of the best surf spots, and only 15 minutes drive to the lava flow viewing area. Pahoa village restaurants are ten minutes away, and the zoo, cinemas and hot spots of Hilo are 35 minutes away.

We love to spend a day going surfing at Pohoiki, take a fresh water shower at Isaac Hale State Park, then drive straight into Pahoa Village for Mexican food at Luquin's. Yum! When we feel like a picnic, we pick up a fresh-roasted Huli-huli chicken (rotisserie-roasted) at Malama Market at the north end of Pahoa Village. They also have fresh bread, and other great picnic food, like potato salad, in the deli.

14 Reviews of Property 339318 in Pahoa, Hawaii

Cool House Near Hot Lava!
average rating of 4.25 based on 14 reviews
business
Cool House Near Hot Lava!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339318vbi
+1 808 443-4081 (Hawaii, USA)
Pahoa Puna District
4

Lovely Leilani Estates

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The price is incredible. The house is great. There were a few minor issues, but no big deal. The coqui frogs and rain at night make sleeping in really easy. We chose this because we were looking to move into Leilani Estates. The internet is good (not like the mainland, but good). Great safe location! Tim and Susan are great! This is a great value. We have generally stayed in the past at locations with a pool near the ocean. The landscaping needed a little attention, but this made us decide to buy a property in the neighborhood. Malama pono and peace!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We love feedback from our guests! The minor issues have been addressed, and we made a few additional modifications for the comfort of our guests. Welcome to the neighborhood!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cool House Near Hot Lava!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339318vbi
+1 808 443-4081 (Hawaii, USA)
Pahoa Puna District
Canterbury, New Zealand
4

Spacious, character home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a wonderful stay, this house is very spacious, well appointed and in an amazing location. Very well priced and the owners were extremely responsive and helpful.
My favourite place nearby was the tidal pools, about 15 mins drive away, surfing was also close by and a trip to the volcanic region is not far.
Lots to do and see, had a wonderful time, thank you!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We appreciate the thoughtfulness of these guests from down under (New Zealand). We were able to work out the dates, check-in and out times, and other details for their stay in just a couple of days. Thank you for being our guests!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cool House Near Hot Lava!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339318vbi
+1 808 443-4081 (Hawaii, USA)
Pahoa Puna District
Chicago, IL
5

Splendid accommodations!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay on the property. It was perfect for our party of 6. Spacious and welcoming, the house was more than we could ask for. It was clean and neat and very relaxing. Our children just loved all of the space outside to run and play. Thank you so much Tim for making our Hawaiian vacation a memorable one.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We enjoy helping our guests enjoy their time in Hawaii and at our home. Lava viewing, surfing, parks, gardens and zoo - we can help you get to where you want to go!
business
Cool House Near Hot Lava!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339318vbi
+1 808 443-4081 (Hawaii, USA)
Pahoa Puna District
montreal, quebec, canada
4

nice place

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The most important thing for a rental is how clean it is. The rest is manageable. In this case, the place was very clean, nothing to complain about. My only issue, which isnt really an issue, was that there were no patio with a place to eat outside. But maybe it is because there are a lot of mosquitoes and people dont eat outside anyways. Even if it did take a bit of time getting out of the neighborhood, once out the place is well situated.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: These guests drove over from our Kona home, and left the door code to Pahoa Paradise in Kona. We were able to meet up with them in Pahoa Village to bring them the door code, so that they could visit Maku'u Farmer's Market on Sunday and Volcano National Park on Monday.

Unfortunately it rained constantly the days they were in Hilo, so they were not able to enjoy Rainbow Falls or the beaches.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cool House Near Hot Lava!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339318vbi
+1 808 443-4081 (Hawaii, USA)
Pahoa Puna District
Liberty, Tennessee, USA
5

A Very Nice House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We found the house to be everything we had hoped for. It was easy to get to, very close to the access for viewing the lava flow, to Volcano National Park, and to the ocean.. The house was very clean,, the yard spacious with fruit and berries, the atmosphere was excellent. The kitchen was well equipped for cooking. Found an excellent church in Pahoa. We really enjoyed our stay.

We would recommend the house and the owners to anyone wanting a very nice house to visit the Big Island. We used the location to tour the whole island. A very good location for our family. It was wonderful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: This lovely, energetic, three-generation family was a joy to have as our guests! We were a little concerned because they had an evening arrival at Kona International Airport (KOA), and faced a late-night, 2 1/2 hour drive to reach our home in Pahoa. But the middle generation was up to it; we checked in by cell phone a couple of times on the road to make sure they were doing fine, and they arrived safely and easily at our home. They said our driving directions were perfect!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cool House Near Hot Lava!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339318vbi
+1 808 443-4081 (Hawaii, USA)
Pahoa Puna District
Chicago
5

Great house and great location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Thank you, Susan and Tim! We had so much fun staying at your property. We loved the yard and all the fruit you have in there! House was clean and there were extra sheets, towels, linens...pretty much everything one should need. We felt like at home. We appreciate very much everything you did for us! we loved the location-we were close enough to the lava, the waterfalls and everything else we had planned to see. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We're very flexible! This party of two turned into a party of five a few days before arrival, then on the day of check-in turned into a party of six! Because our home sleeps six, we happily accommodated our guests!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cool House Near Hot Lava!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339318vbi
+1 808 443-4081 (Hawaii, USA)
Pahoa Puna District
Sebastopol, CA
1

Renters Beware: You will not be satisfied with your stay

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This was the most disappointing part of our trip. There is nothing luxury about this place except for its description and photos online. The owners take care of the booking and the upkeep, which seems to be problematic for them as they can't seem to respond to anything in a timely manner except for running your credit card. The unit wasn't even ready an hour after we were supposedly able to check in, and we didn't receive a door code until 9:30 that night, so we couldn't lock up our things and go out to dinner. A water leak under the fridge had soaked the mat in front of the kitchen sink so you went squish squish when you washed dishes or cooked, and the water purifier was beeping, and the error code I looked up online indicated the purifier bulb needed replacement, so the water was potentially unsafe for drinking. Furniture is shabby and the dishwasher top rack was broken, and the window above the shower is too small and could fall if it gets knocked. Also, the 3 smoke detectors were not functional and there was a slight smell of gas with no carbon monoxide detector present in the home. Even the lawn furniture was crusty. I noticed they have since lowered their nightly rates, but I'd stay somewhere else if I had any other choices.
Owner's Response: We received this last-minute inquiry on Wednesday, and cleaned and prepared our home for their Friday afternoon check-in. They arrived at 5 PM, the wife was cooking dinner by 5:10 PM, and only the bath rugs were still in the dryer; the rest of our home was spotless. The husband wrote on the contract that he requested we waive the convenience fee as a courtesy due to “the delay in check-in”. He told Tim that they had been asked to leave their friend’s free accommodations two days early, and told Tim he could leave before the dryer was finished. Susan apologized for calling at 9:30 PM with the door code (Tim forgot she was night diving). He said it was fine; they were planning an early start the next morning.
Unfortunately the refrigerator started to leak, and because we could not guarantee the repair would be completed between 10 and 3 PM on Sunday, when they would be out, he requested we do it after they checked out the next day, and agreed we could check the smoke detectors then. We had already written to him that the UV lamp was fine and the water was safe to drink.

After checkout, he sent us an email entitled, “Help, Help!” We thought they must have forgotten something important at our home, but he just wanted us to confirm he would be receiving his entire security deposit back. Within minutes we refunded his deposit to his credit card and sent him his receipt. It was only then that he sent us an email similar to his review, except there was no mention of not being able to go out to dinner, and asked for $50 “for the inconvenience”.

We replaced the water line and both filters in the refrigerator the next day, and it appears that the ice maker itself leaks, so are awaiting a service call. The UV bulb and filters were replaced on schedule last week. All smoke detectors are functioning normally; an insect inside one had caused the beeping. The top dishwasher rack may stick a little, but the dishwasher cleans and dries everything perfectly. We hung the kitchen mat out to dry. The plastic bistro seating is older, and the two chaise lounges have a few paint chips; we don’t understand “crusty”.

We offer reduced rates for a minimum booking of four nights, so this two night stay did not qualify. We have not lowered our rates, but we no longer accept last-minute bookings.
Helpful votes: 4/6
business
Cool House Near Hot Lava!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339318vbi
+1 808 443-4081 (Hawaii, USA)
Pahoa Puna District
oceanside, ca
5

Pahoa Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Super comfy home w/ great flooring, tilework and cedar trim that made all rooms luxurious....
Quiet area, nice fruit/avo trees
Also loved the sheets and comforter
Owners are great and easy to work with...we loved this place
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: And we love our guests! We try to help in any way we can, so that our guests enjoy the best vacation possible!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cool House Near Hot Lava!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339318vbi
+1 808 443-4081 (Hawaii, USA)
Pahoa Puna District
Mammoth Lakes, CA
5

BEST VACATION EVER!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Our trip to Hawaii was AMAZING! We had the pleasure of staying for two weeks in November. First off, the property is beautiful. The house had everything we could want (3 bedrooms, 2 baths, everything was fully remodeled and up to date, breath taking landscape with fruit trees, laundry room). It was perfect! The kitchen had everything we needed (I made Thanksgiving dinner while there with all the fixings). Our kids loved having their own rooms to relax in while on vacation. We also loved (and will really miss) the sounds of the tropical forest, the frogs, the rain, etc.

Tim and Susan were wonderful, guiding us to great surf spots, recommending farmers markets and restaurants to try, great hikes and local tourist things to do. The Farmers Market Susan sent us to in Pahoa was far better than the one I found in Hilo. We were never at a loss for activities to try in the Pahoa/ Hilo area. They even took us out surfing! They are wonderful people!

Hilo was a quick drive (about 20 minutes), the Lava Tree Park was right around the corner, the Lava flow fields were about 20 minutes away and the road that leads up to the Volcano National Park was very close.

We can’t wait to visit again and won’t even bother looking for another place to stay because this one fit our needs so perfectly.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are always happy when our guests are happy! When you need information or suggestions, we are happy to share any information we can about area attractions and events.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cool House Near Hot Lava!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339318vbi
+1 808 443-4081 (Hawaii, USA)
Pahoa Puna District
United States
4

LeiLani Beauty

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We really enjoyed staying at this house. It is close to Pohiki and Pahoa, both places we love to go on our own and as a family. It was a perfect balance of feeling like you were away from everything with just a short and beautiful drive to the store for all of life's necessities. I was clean, quiet and had all the amenities we needed. It was great for staying on the east side, as we were central to Volcano and Hilo and had a lot of fun seeing it all. My husband could surf every morning! We will definitely stay here again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: With thirty-five years of experience surfing on this island, Tim is always happy to make suggestions on where to catch waves, although sometimes it may be on the other side of this Big Island.
Helpful votes: 1/1