Roatan house rental - This beautiful "island style" home has one of the best locations on the island
This beautiful "island style" home has one of the best locations on the island
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
 

Roatan House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

The Sandy Bay Beach-front House is a beautiful 'island-style' private residence with just under 2000 SF of open floor plan and 90 ft of beach front. This quality built home features a large gathering room in the middle with vaulted ceilings and mahogany floors. The modern kitchen with breakfast bar opens to the spacious living room surrounded by windows on all sides! You'll be hard pressed to find a better value in Utila or the Caribbean.

On both sides of the house are identical bedrooms with 2 twin beds that can be converted to a King size bed upon your request to provide you with more options and comfort. Each bedroom has a private, full bath and double french doors leading to the main deck views. The home is great for 2 couples and the kids can sleep on the queen sleeper sofa, or for more privacy, rent the downstairs apartment. This fully furnished home features a wrap around deck that's great for viewing the sunsets over the rear Oyster Bay Lagoon on one side and sunrise over Utila Bay and the peaks of mainland Honduras on the other. To give you a better visual idea of the layout of the home, we've provided a sketch of the home's floor plan.

Below the main house is a separate 300 SF 1 bdrm/1 bath apartment facing the front beach and water. The apartment has a full bed, private bath, a full kitchen, sitting area, french doors leading to the front beach and lot's of windows to catch the breezes. There is also a large bodega that stores the mountain bikes and washer/dryer.

The landscaped grounds are full of local flowers, colorful plants, palm & banana trees with a combination of soft grass and Bay Island beach sand. The property is beautifully maintained by Angelito and his family, home caretaker for 10 years.

The Sandy Bay Beach House is positioned on the leeward or south side of Utila Island. Utila is the smallest, most westerly and one of three of the Bay Islands just off the coast of Honduras (Just East of Belize & South of Key West). Utila is a low key paradise off the touristy path that is quickly becoming the meeting place for divers from all over the world searching for the next “secret” destination.This diving destination is routinely voted as the best value in the Caribbean.

Our house is located on a peninsula in Sandy Bay. Our home probably has the best location for catching most of the year’s enjoyable trade winds that keep you cool and the bugs away. We are just a 5 min bike ride west of Utila Town; however, we are just far enough away from the hustle & bustle of the main tourist areas. A mile ride will bring you to the beginning of town, built in charming Key West style along the harbor. You’ll ride past the many dive shops, restaurants, grocery stores, bars, hotels and Utilians going about they’re daily routines.

The home’s wrap around deck provides spectacular views of the bay, mountains of the mainland, town, reef system and lagoon. Snorkel from the front door to great reefs less than 300 yards in front of the house. It’s not uncommon to see dolphin, eagle rays and bonefish from the deck. Our home is virtually sitting on top of technicolor coral reefs & 20 coconut throws away from the famous Laguna Beach Resort.

The home comes completely furnished and has just been updated from top to bottom. Just about everything in the entire house is brand new from the major & minor appliances down to the tableware and bedding. We’ve tried to provide everything you’ll need to have a fun & worry-free vacation. If you’re concerned about what to bring, check out our list in the frequently asked questions section.

HOUSE

• Right on beach & water, reef is less than 100 yards from deck, lagoon in rear of house (great for mooring boats/sail boats)

• Each bedroom has 2 new twin beds that can be converted to a King size bed upon your request to provide you with more options and comfort

• All bedrooms have air conditioning & home has hot water

• Home has fans everywhere; ceiling, floors and walls

• Minimum of 4 Mountain Bikes with carrier baskets; 1 with rear infant carrier. (Main House guests have priority over the mountain bikes if they were to need 4 at once. Bikes can be easily & cheaply rented in town for about $2/day.)”

• TV, VCR/DVD player and stereo with CD player

• Full Kitchen with coffee maker, blender, microwave, refrigerator, ice maker, 5 gallon bottled water dispenser, picnic ice coolers, great assortment of cookware and “island flavor” tableware

• Traditional BBQ grill right on the front beach

• Sunning/beach chairs & lounging hammocks

• Washer & Dryer

• Each bedroom has new bedding and towels

• Outdoor rinse shower when coming back from snorkeling in the front bay

• House & Apartment has a phone for local calls and an optional intercom between phones.

• Lock box to keep your valuables secure.

• Weekly cleaning service provided & additional cleaning may be hired

• Massages available at incredibly low rates

• Great household caretaker, Angelito, works on the grounds Thursday thru Saturday every week

APARTMENT

The apartment has the same amenities as the home but many items are a bit smaller such as the fridge and stove.

Even though we promise to keep a minimum of 4 mountain bikes in good working condition, we often have more than 4 available

Keywords: beach front, ocean front, snorkel, luxury, divers paradise, cottage, beach house, apartment, 3 bedroom, three bedroom, private, quite, mountain view, views, ocean view, ocean front, lagoon, bay, fishing, diving, grilling, kayak, hammock, air conditioning, caretaker, fully furnished, deck, internet, mountain bikes, golf cart, newly renovated

More Details
Hide Details

Eli Muhl and his father, Craig own The Sandy Bay Beach House but the home is enjoyed by the whole family. The immediate family consists of Craig and his wife Kareen, their daughter, Elody and their son, Eli. And we can't forget Ollie & Rubes, Eli's crazy little munchkins. We‚ve all lived in Colorado, USA since 93' and Kansas before that; Maine before that.

Craig and Kareen are now retired and enjoy traveling and being great grandparents. Craig still dabbles in investments with others and his son. Kareen is an artist and, being half French & half Chinese, she is an excellent gourmet chef as well. Eli is a washed up tennis player, real estate investor and realtor often including his father in his incredible deals. He is the one that you will most likely communicate with regarding Sandy Bay. Oliver Rocket Muhl does not yet have an official job except for eating, sleeping, and testing the rules on a consistent basis. Ruby is the littlest Muhl but just 3 1/2 months behind Oliver, adopted from China.

The Sandy Bay Beach House is cared for by Angelito, our hardworking, trustworthy and English speaking caretaker of the home for over 6 years. Angelito gives us peace of mind when we're away for long periods of time. Angel, as most of our guests call him, knows how to fix pretty much everything in the house or he knows someone that does. His wife Stella often helps with the house chores.

We are very clean, do not smoke, love to travel the world, enjoy the outdoors, are avid tennis players and love to have fun. Diving, fishing, skiing, biking, reading, dining, golf, enjoying a good movie or book and playing with our pets; as well as Ollie and Rubes are more of our favorite hobbies. We enjoy traveling together as a family and often do.

We are very glad that you have taken the time to share our home and hope that you get a chance to enjoy a closer look; were confident you'll have a s much fun as we do!

The Owner purchased this house in 2004

Island life has always been a part of our family as we also have an estate on a fairly similar small island in the Bahamas, Cat Island, which has been in our family for several decades. We have always preferred having a vacation home on a less touristy, but beautiful island with lot‚s to do. Unfortunately, this kind of paradise is hard to find. We felt that Utila offered that perfect combination of convenience, beauty, and lot‚s to do without the high profile tourism found in most of the Caribbean.

Snorkel right off the beach from this big and beautiful beachfront 'island style' home located on a quite penninsula just outside of town in a diver's paradise. The home backs to Oyster Bay Lagoon and you can kayak right out your back door.

Utila offers big dives at small prices, whale sharks, secluded beaches, world class fishing, mountain biking and much more. All found in the perfect location on the island where the hustle and bustle aren't.

Utila offers so much to do with no pressure to do it!

26 Reviews of Property 339122 in Roatan, Bay Islands Honduras

Sandy Bay Beachfront House in Diver's Paradise, Views, Deck...
average rating of 4.9615383 based on 26 reviews
business
Sandy Bay Beachfront House in Diver's Paradise, Views, Deck...
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339122vb
719-499-1044
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Discovery Bay, California
4

Best Reef in Utila

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We stayed in the home in May 2012 for one week. We went diving around the island looking for the whale shark (like looking for the Loch Ness Monster) which we never found. Diving around the island did not compare to the snorkeling right behind the home to the right where we saw rays,eels, turtles and so many different kinds of fish. So the last few days we just snorkeled and saved time and money on the scuba. JUST BRING LOTS OF BUG SPRAY !!!! or you will not have a good time the Mosquitos will eat you alive.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sandy Bay Beachfront House in Diver's Paradise, Views, Deck...
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339122vb
719-499-1044
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Saginaw, MI
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
We stayed at the beach house the third week in September 08 and it was a great place to stay. Angel is very helpful and was always there in our time of need. We did a lot of snorkeling right off the porch and were not disappointed. Apparently there has been some reef reconstruction in this area and it is very obvious. We saw great sea life out front and highly recommend it. The house itself is well equipped - when we got there the hot water was being fixed (it was fixed by day two) but trust me you don't need it in the humidity of Sept. It was really brutal to sit out on the beach at this house in quiet seclusion staring at the ocean...tough indeed. Everything on Eli's website is true to word and Sandy Bay is definitely one of the nicer places on the island. Do not go to Utila without Deep Woods Off with deet - and some light long pants and shirt for the nights. We dove with Captain Morgan's and had a great time (even swam with a whale shark!). Be forewarned however that their official dive school is out of the cays so you leave in the morning and head to the cays, then out to dive, returning to Utila at 1ish. They only do two dives a day but we found the extra boat ride a good time to take a nap and that schedule kept our days relaxed. We did a night dive with Utila Watersports and would recommend them too. We found some good eats at La Piccola, Dave's Island Cafe (out front of Coco Loco's), Driftwood Cafe and whatever you do...hit the bakeries! Camillas bakery has the best bagels ever and Thompson's has gads of other good stuff (both have great cinnamon rolls). Be sure to have cash/traveller's cheques because we found that the ATM's are frequently out of money. If you find yourself needing medical supplies...be sure to check the grocery stores as well because other stores like the pharmacy are not always open when they claim...we ended up finding a needed prescription right there on the grocery shelf. Many places do take Visa but they will charge you another 7% or so. Utila is an interesting place and gave us a fun adventure and we were very glad to have stayed at Sandy Bay.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sandy Bay Beachfront House in Diver's Paradise, Views, Deck...
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339122vb
719-499-1044
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
San Diego, CA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
We were at Sandy Bay Beach House the third week in June. This house has an amazing view of the ocean and even more amazing snorkeling right out the backyard. After barely surviving a rough ferry ride with six feet swells covering the boat, it was indeed heavenly to be met by Angel. Our party consisted of me, my husband, my 20 year old daughter and her boyfriend. Our daughter and her boyfriend became dive certified through Cross Creek Dive Shop. They loved their teacher, Matthew from Montreal, Canada. My husband and I were more than satisfied with the colorful reefs and brilliant fish right outside our back door. The town is small, but we had some good breakfasts at Munchies and a delightful last night dinner at La Mariposa. Right down the street at Coral Beach Resort, breakfast was good and we were able to rent a kayak to explore the lagoon.We had some electrical outages, but Angel was the problem solver in each case. He was always there when we needed him. My biggest recommendation is to bring some insect repellant for the sand fleas (Ours was for mosquitos). Often you don't know you are even being bitten, they are so small. And they itch! Overall, Utila is charming and unique--definitely a memorable adventure. And Sandy Bay Beach House is an excellent place to stay.Penny Bernal
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sandy Bay Beachfront House in Diver's Paradise, Views, Deck...
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339122vb
719-499-1044
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Atlantic Beach,NC
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
The Sandy Bay Beach house is a great location for a house rental on Utila. It is quiet and sort of "out of the way",but town is assessible. Angel the housekeeper is extremely helpful and kind,also has a lovely family whom we met. We found ourselves being probably the oldest divers on the island(ha,ha) and really enjoyed low-key diving with Rich at Coral Reef Resort just up the road. Most of the reefs were lovely and we avoided the crowds. He was great and it was easy to get there from Sandy Bay. We did find it to be "buggy" at the end of May and as mentioned not a good idea to drink the water! The Sheets ande Irons
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Sandy Bay Beachfront House in Diver's Paradise, Views, Deck...
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339122vb
719-499-1044
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Fort Mill, SC
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
Sandy Bay Beach house was great. We had a wonderful time in Utila. The house is in a great location. Do rent the golfcart. ANGEL is fantasic. We loved him. He was always there to help. The house needs some new furniture but other than that it was perfect. The reef in front of the house was nice. Our 12,11,10 and 6 year old enjoyed it. Not too many bugs when it was windy. Delicious food. Very cool island.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sandy Bay Beachfront House in Diver's Paradise, Views, Deck...
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339122vb
719-499-1044
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Austin, Tx
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2008
  • Stayed: Apr 2008
The house was fantastic! Even better than the pictures. Angel was a wonderful care-taker and our experience on the island was wonderful. (The golf cart was also very helpful to get around the island in. Remember to turn the lights on at night.) And be sure to visit SkidRow! It's a fun very little place.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sandy Bay Beachfront House in Diver's Paradise, Views, Deck...
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339122vb
719-499-1044
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Gettysburg,Pa.
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2008
  • Stayed: Feb 2008
I would have been surprised to find any negative comments in the guestbook...what's not to like about a beautiful beach house in paradise? As others have noted, Angel was a great help and a great guy start to finish.Renting the golf cart made the trip to town a snap, and allowed us to explore the whole island. We found the people of Utila to be helpful and welcoming, and the laidback atmosphere of this island paradise to be exactly the escape we were looking for.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sandy Bay Beachfront House in Diver's Paradise, Views, Deck...
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339122vb
719-499-1044
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Shoreview, MN
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 16, 2007
  • Stayed: May 2007
Sandy Bay Beach House was even more beautiful than the pictures on the web site and Angel was a big bonus to the house. He was very helpful and kind. After a morning of diving with BICD it was fun to return to just relax on the deck and watch the boats pass by. We brought our binoculars which I would recommend.The island, the people, the house and Angel all get a A++.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sandy Bay Beachfront House in Diver's Paradise, Views, Deck...
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339122vb
719-499-1044
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Kansas City
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2006
  • Stayed: Nov 2006
What a great island!! (If you can get there). Had a little trouble with the airlines but once we got there it was paradise. My husband and I stayed in the apartment and it was very comfortable. Angelito was very helpful and thank goodness for the bikes! Snorkeling out front was awesome, a huge bonus for renting this house. Very quiet but only 10-15 minutes on the bike into town. Perfect! Highly recommend the company at the Driftwood Cafe, which is also very close to the house. Breakfast at the Bundu Cafe VERY good and they also air the football games on Sunday. Great food at Driftwood Cafe, RJ's BBQ and Bundu. A must see is the Jade Seahorse. Very unique and cool. Dove with the Bay Island College of Diving (BICD) and they were great (especially John). Saw nurse sharks, eel and fantastic coral. Also saw a group of dolphins skipping across the ocean by Rock Harbor. Very cool. Kayaked up the canal to rock harbor. A little scary going through the mangroves but worth the trip. This is a great island if you want to get back to the basics. The house is great and Eli was incredibly efficient in getting it arranged for us. Thanks!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sandy Bay Beachfront House in Diver's Paradise, Views, Deck...
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p339122vb
719-499-1044
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Naples,FL
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2006
  • Stayed: Aug 2006
Spent 5 days there in July and I consider the accomodations very comfortable and reasonably priced.
Helpful votes: 1/2