Westport Island house rental - Smith House on Westport Island, facing Heal Cove, Tyler Islands, & Hockomock
Smith House on Westport Island, facing Heal Cove, Tyler Islands, & Hockomock
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps14
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Westport Island House Rental Photos and Description
5 bedrooms including 2 on ground floor, 1 1/2 bathrooms, sleeps 12-14

This inviting 18th century 'get-away-from-it-all' dwelling on 7 acres at cove’s edge offers an idyllic setting for your family reunion, or a relaxing vacation of solitude. While it comfortably sleeps 12, this home is cozy enough for singles or couples. It has a well-equipped kitchen, an inviting dining room, a large living room leading to a porch overlooking Heal Cove and the Tyler Islands,a sunny sitting room leading to a patio overlooking the pond, 7 bedrooms, 1 1/2 baths, a double-car garage, and almost 360 degrees of water views, complete with warm sunrises over a quiet pond and magnificent sunsets over its deep-water dock. The setting offers large lawn areas for playing volleyball, croquet, frisbee, bochee ball plus opportunities for fishing, biking, hiking wooded trails, canoeing, wind surfing, kayaking, or boating as well as area sightseeing, antiquing, and shopping. It’s unique charm is in the quiet it offers surrounded by nature while rocking on the screened porch overlooking the Tyler islands. Relaxing or socializing: it's all here.

Accessibility and Nearby Attractions: This home is accessible by bridge and situated well for those who enjoy exploring nearby tourist attractions, antiquing, visiting art galleries and restaurants found in the nearby towns: the picturesque village of Wiscasset, location of Red’s Eats world-famous for its lobster rolls and Treats of Maine reknown for its homebaked goods, great soups, fine wine selection and catering service; the bustling town of Boothbay Harbor offering the acclaimed Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens or boat trips to watch whales or puffins or a day trip to Monhegan Island as wells a railroad village or theatre.

Activities a Bit Further Away: For those wanting a bit further jaunt, it’s not far to other destinations: Pemaquid Point with the crashing surf and its historic lighthouse, not to mention the delicious food; Five Islands in Georgetown with lobster cooked and served on the pier; Rockland with its historic museum housing Wyeth paintings and a ferry to Vinalhaven; Camden with it’s wonderful shopping and hiking; or even to Augusta, with the historic State of Maine Museum. For those wanting a bit of beach time, it’s less than an hour to Popham Beach, complete with fort, or Reid State Park.

Shopping and Restaurants: For those interested in bargains and retail shopping, it’s only ½ hour to the weekend long flea market in Woolwich or a 45 minute drive to Freeport, home of LLBean and a plethora of outlet stores, and just an hour to Portland with its wide choices of fine Maine-based or ethnic restaurants. Internet access is available on an in-house computer.

More Details
Hide Details

While I am the contact person for this property, I share the joy and responsibility for maintaining it with my sisters and in-laws, our children and their spouses, partners, and friends. We are grateful to our parents, Jack and Jean Smith, not only for this property but for teaching us the importance of family and the value of balancing hard work with fun, and for instilling in us a love of nature. When we come together we start off with a bountiful family meal, then go straight to ‘the list’ of projects to be accomplished. But of course we always have time for family football or basketball, kayaking, playing games, reading, or just sitting on the porch enjoying the birds, the breeze, and the spectacular sunsets.

Connie Ostis purchased this house in 1947

To develop a deeper appreciation for our property's unique beauty and charm, please go to our website: smithhousewestportisland.com where you'll find a gallery of over 50 pictures plus click on 'contact' and at the bottom is a google map virtual satellite tour of the entire 7 acre homestead. Move along the property and enjoy its spectacular views.

Driving around while visiting friends in the ‘40's, my parents were so struck with the beauty of this place that my father knocked on the door to inquire if the owner would sell. Indeed she was interested! Lacking sufficient funds, they struck an agreement: to divide the house; Mabel would live there until it was fully paid. The homestead has had many phases since the mill owners lived there in the late 1700's: first as a vacation place for our family before there was a bridge, electricity or plumbing; then refurbished for retirement in ‘71; and now, it continues to serve our parent's purpose as a place for the family to come together.

Our family has always enjoyed the quiet beauty of the natural surroundings of birds, ocean breezes and beautiful sunsets, kayaking through the islands, boating off to Robinhood or Five Islands for lobster on the pier, waterskiing, canoeing on the pond, or just sitting for hours on the porch, taking in the evening shadows and glorious sunsets. My son's wedding in 2009, however, helped up realize how ideal this spot is not only for those wanting to 'get away from it all' but also for those wanting this kind of idyllic setting for large gatherings, such as a family reunion. There's room for the whole family to stay together, with nearby rental cottages for any overflow, a large flat lawn for playing games, a deep water dock for those bringing their own boat, a patio overlooking the pond, a fire pit by the barn overlooking the islands in Heal Cove and a wonderful gentle breeze that seems always to keep the temperature just right. The place is too uniquely beautiful not to share!

11 Reviews of Property 338846 in Westport Island, Maine

Waterfront Home, Idyllic Setting for Family Vacation or Peaceful Solitude
average rating of 5.0 based on 11 reviews
business
Waterfront Home, Idyllic Setting for Family Vacation or Peaceful Solitude
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p338846
+1 207 650-9204
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
Miami
5

Family Time Extraordinaire - Worth a return visit!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Mom's "big round-number" birthday, and her wanting to spend quality time with the kids/grandkids (ages 7-11) meant we needed a place for 3 generations. Unfettered access to nature was a key requirement, as was the possibility of kids going to bed early and not preventing us from staying up late. We found it at the Smith House. A sleek remodel this is not... Rather it was a homey, traditionally decorated, Normal Rockwell summer kind of place. Screen doors banging, sparklers at night, playing wiffle ball in the yard, swimming, canoeing, reading, and generally feeling comfortable to go in different directions without getting in a car all the time... The privacy of the property (maybe I saw 2 cars drove by the whole week?), and cozy atmosphere inside and around the place were perfect. Inside, there were games and videos, a nice big dining room table where we had a memorable birthday party, the beautiful view from comfy screened porch, and the family room all gave the different age groups somewhere to hang out. Outdoors, we loved exploring the quiet roads and hiking trails in the woods. The miniature horse farm was an exciting find too! It’s definitely worth a return. Thank you, Connie!!
business
Waterfront Home, Idyllic Setting for Family Vacation or Peaceful Solitude
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p338846
+1 207 650-9204
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Smith House is a place like home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
If Dorothy had gone to the Smith House instead of Oz she would have realized there is a place like home - maybe even better since both family and friends can gather and share good food, great conversations, and lots of activities. We swam, kayaked, drove to the beach, shopped in the surrounding towns, watched fireworks from the harbor, ran and walked on the dirt roads, sat on the terrace to watch the mist rise and sat on the porch to watch the sun set. Connie Otis has set up her family home to accommodate every need for a relaxing and memorable vacation. She knows what families need and use and it is all there down to the last detail. There is equipment for outdoor play and water excursions and games, books, and internet for indoor time. The extensive grounds and lovely views make waking up and going to sleep and all the time in between a treat. Our family of seven along with significant others and relatives and friends who stopped for a day or two had a memorable experience at this very special place.
business
Waterfront Home, Idyllic Setting for Family Vacation or Peaceful Solitude
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p338846
+1 207 650-9204
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
Brunswick, ME
5

smith house is a gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The house accommodated 19 of us, ranging in age from 1 1/2 years to 54 years, with lots of room to spread out and a wonderful long table in the dining room to gather at. We had the perfect week weather-wise: sunny, 70's and 80-'s, so spent a lot of time outside. Boating on Heal Pond in the kayak and canoe was serene--we saw a deer eating close to pond's edge--and we watched lobster boats checking their traps in early morning from the screened-in porch. A refreshing and restful week was had by all!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Waterfront Home, Idyllic Setting for Family Vacation or Peaceful Solitude
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p338846
+1 207 650-9204
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
5

The Smith House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We had a marvelous family reunion at the Smith House. For many of us, it was our first trip to Maine. When we pulled up to the house, our 30-year-old son looked at the stunning views and said "Thank you so much for finding this place and bringing us all here." The pictures in the house tell an amazing story of a sawmill that was once close by. There is only one shower but even with 16 adults and 2 children, it worked just fine. The owner of the house was prompt with all her replies and helpful with suggestions on nearby stores, activities.... Boothbay Harbor is unique and fun and close-by. I hope we go back there again soon.
business
Waterfront Home, Idyllic Setting for Family Vacation or Peaceful Solitude
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p338846
+1 207 650-9204
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
5

A Perfect Get-Away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
I planned a family reunion this summer (bringing in family from all over the world) on Westport Island and our experience in this home exceeded our expectations in every way. There is a very "homey" feeling to this house complete with bedding, dishes, and even board games to play! The location is perfect for water activities, walking, hiking, and biking or simply sitting on the porch playing games and talking. There was no internet when we were there (they are considering putting it in but we didn't miss it!) so be prepared to sit back and relax and enjoy one another's company! There is plenty of room to spread out, though the layout is peculiar so use this as a retreat for people who are flexible and easy-going with each other. There are not a lot of restaurant options but there are stores relatively close to pick up groceries. There are plenty of fun outings to do in the area (whale watches, Puffin bird tours, lobster eating (a MUST), ropes course, boating, beaches) but there is really no need as this location is so perfect that one wants to simply "stay put"! You can kayack/canoe on the pond or even the bay right outside the doors of the house. My family and I all highly recommend this delightful and quaint locale for intimate gatherings and vacationing. Do not expect hotel service! It's like "going to Grandma's house" and it is absolutely delightful in every way!
Owner's Response: Again and again, we hear families enjoying our property, just as we did growing up as children and later with our own children. It's so rewarding to rent out a place that feels like home to others.
business
Waterfront Home, Idyllic Setting for Family Vacation or Peaceful Solitude
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p338846
+1 207 650-9204
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
Greenbrae, Ca
5

MM from CA

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Our family of 15 came from Calif and Oregon for a week-long family reunion with our Maine relatives. Age range 4-78. We all enjoyed the property, location and activities, as described in other reviews. The kids, 4-15 loved canoeing, kayaking, swimming in the lagoon, shooting hoops, playing softball and soccer on the lawn, grandparents watching from the screened porch. We felt no need to leave for the entire week. The house accommodated all 15 of us, although managing with 1 1/2 bathrooms took some patience, but it worked. We all came away with wonderful memories of an idyllic spot and a great family reunion. Would recommend highly for close families.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was a joy for us to have this lovely family get so much pleasure out of staying at our property and bringing it so much life! We are sensitive to the bathroom situation and have intentions of adding an outdoor shower for 2012.
business
Waterfront Home, Idyllic Setting for Family Vacation or Peaceful Solitude
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p338846
+1 207 650-9204
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
"Coffee in the Adirondack chairs in the front yard, doing dishes at the kitchen sink,
visiting in the parlor, reading in one of the number of bedrooms…. look up and you see
water. Just about wherever you are on the property, you have a water view. Watch the
tides roll in and out, launch your kayak from the dock out front, run, walk or ride the
quiet and scenic roads of Westport Island, let your children romp on the lush grounds,
and then retire in a cozy room. Perhaps you chose to sleep downstairs close to the attached
porch, or maybe you have a quiet room up off of the gorgeous spiral staircase; either way,
you’ll rest well after your coastal adventures.

This isn’t a hotel or B&B you’ll be staying in. The afghans were crocheted by someone
who sat in that very room you’re in, the mugs in the cabinets have a story attached, and
that table hosted a Thanksgiving or two. THIS is a family’s home that you’ve been
welcomed into. Perhaps you might experience a little of their joy while here.

We enjoy coming back year after year. Perhaps you will too."
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront Home, Idyllic Setting for Family Vacation or Peaceful Solitude
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p338846
+1 207 650-9204
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Appreciation from the officiate!

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
Dear Connie,
Thanks so much for sharing your extraordinary home with us.....The setting....the place....the beauty of Maine.......made the whole Wedding week exquisite.....I felt like I was living in an archetypal painting of Maine.....It was such a pleasure to meet you. Thanks for you kindness and graciousness.
Many Blessing to you.
Reverend “D” (Bend, Oregon)
business
Waterfront Home, Idyllic Setting for Family Vacation or Peaceful Solitude
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p338846
+1 207 650-9204
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
New Hampshire
5

Idyllic!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
I have also attended a wedding there and it was magical...the grounds and the water views make this a very special place. The house revels in its New England charm and there is room for everyone, both inside and out. It is immaculate, well-equipped and the owners are great people who are a pleasure to deal with! I would highly recommend this property for any event that you desire a personalized, intimate touch. The surrounding towns and amenities can only add to your experience!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront Home, Idyllic Setting for Family Vacation or Peaceful Solitude
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p338846
+1 207 650-9204
Westport Island Boothbay Harbor Area
San Francisco, CA USA
5

Perfect Maine Island Get-Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
"You really cannot beat being completely surrounded by water, as is the case when staying at this home! A huge salt-water pond wraps around one side of the gorgeous property and a cove opens up to the ocean on the other. As mentioned in description, canoeing, swimming, kayaking, etc are all available - and so much fun! Sprawling well-manicured lawn and yards abound, perfect for large events or just enjoying the bounties of a quiet Maine island.
We had at least 13 guests stay here with us during our wedding. While we did not host our wedding here, our guests were incredibly happy with their stay. It was wonderful for the city-slickers to be able to roam freely on the ample property, and many are still remarking how they long to be sitting in a rocking chair on the house's charming porch, simply taking it all in.
Highly recommend! "
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1