Island Park house rental - Great float tube fishing right in front of the cabin!
Great float tube fishing right in front of the cabin!
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps13
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 6 nights
 

Island Park House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, sleeps 10 in 4 queen beds and 2 twins

Lakefront Log Home on Henry's Lake is a waterfront, 2352 sq.ft. 2-story vacation home located in Island Park, Idaho, only 20 minutes from Yellowstone Park and West Yellowstone, MT. It has 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms and sleeps 10 people comfortably in 4 queen beds and 2 twins. The home is situated on a 1.24 acre property in a quiet neighborhood of half a dozen homes. It is constructed of 14 inch diameter hand-peeled logs, creating a cozy and rustic lodge atmosphere. The deck offers a 220 degree view of the lake, unobstructed by houses and framed with attractive hand-peeled log railings. It has a BBQ grill and outdoor seating, where you'll enjoy quality time with friends and family as you gaze upon ponds frequented by wild ducks and geese, and the vast lake beyond. The beautiful mountains of the Grand Tetons loom in the distance, completing a panoramic view of Rocky Mountain splendor.

The home is at a perfect location, as it is close to Yellowstone National Park (West Yellowstone, MT) and Teton National Park.

Having the lake off the backyard makes it great for a fishing vacation since it is situated on one of the finest trophy still water fisheries in North America. Locals catch and release over 40 trout a day using wet fly techniques. Fishing is excellent because Henry's Lake has abundant populations of Cutthroat, Brook, and trophy hybrid Cutbow trout. The largest fish in Henry's Lake are the rainbow/cutthroat hybrids that tip the scales up to 16 pounds. The state record for brook trout weighs in at 7.2 pounds and was caught in Henry’s Lake. The home has a private marina nearby with boat launch available for your use. A boat rental company, Wild Rose Ranch, is five minutes away. Within a 30 minute drive, you can fish the nearby blue ribbon Madison river, Henry's Fork of the Snake River, Hebgen Lake, and Quake Lake. Yellowstone Lake is 1.5 hours away where there are no limits on Lake trout. The fishing off the backyard is excellent in the Fall (September and October). A recent guest caught and released 3 fish an hour (many over 20') with a float tube and caught an 8 pound cuttbow in October 2011, just in front of the house.

You'll enjoy returning to this lovely quiet log home after a day of fishing or exploring Yellowstone National Park.

The home is situated on a 1.24 acre property in a quiet neighborhood of half a dozen homes. The large lawn is well maintained and the owner provides sport equipment for outside activities. The back deck has a BBQ grill and outdoor seating. You'll enjoy quality time with friends and family as you gaze upon ponds and the vast lake beyond. Gorgeous views of Henry's Lake and the mountains will encourage you to relax and unwind as you take in the peace and quiet. The lakeside firepit will make beautiful memories on a starry night.

Surrounded by Targhee National Forest, the property is visited by elk, deer, moose, and a red fox. Ducks and geese frequent the property's ponds, while local osprey cruise the shoreline, providing excellent bird watching opportunities. Coyotes and owls can often be heard at night outside the house. The latest hatch of goslings and ducklings are fun to watch as the eat they backyard grass in the spring. In the fall, we have seen muskrats chase ducks around the property ponds. A glimpse of a short tailed weasel can be seen in the spring, controlling the local mouse population.

You will love the custom western decor with its attractive hand-peeled log furniture, dining table, chairs, and rustic aspen beds. The great room has a beautiful new oak floor with three comfortable leather couches with seating for 9, situated around a 46' LCD flat screen TV with satellite service, Digital Video Recorder (DVR) and DVD player and Ipod entertainment system with surround sound. The white tail deer on the walls add to the rustic charm. The adjoining kitchen features a new large stainless steel refrigerator, new microwave, new gas stove, and new dishwasher. It is fully equipped with anything you might need to cook a meal, from a Thanksgiving turkey dinner to a crock pot meal.

The large dining room offers magnificent views of Henry's Lake. It features a wagon wheel chandelier with antique lanterns and a 10 person - 3 foot by 7 foot cedar dining room table. You'll enter the Trout Room (the master bedroom) from the dining room. It has a queen size bed and fantastic views of Henry's Lake and the distant mountains. The adjoining bathroom shared with the Elk Room features two sinks, a shower and an attractive claw foot bathtub.

The Elk Room has a queen size bed and a view of Saddle Mountain where herds of elk can be seen in the fall. Exquisite elk antler light sconces grace this room.

The Yellowstone Room has a queen size bed and is located just off the great room under the loft. It has an adjoining full bathroom with a sink, tub and shower.

The log staircase in the great room leads to the Bear Room in the loft where a queen size bed and two twin beds are located. The adjoining bathroom has a sink and shower.

In West Yellowstone visit the Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Center, where you can view grizzlies and wolves in a natural habitat. Or visit the IMAX theater with several nature oriented films offered daily.

In Island Park you'll enjoy visiting Big Springs, which is the major head water spring for the Henry's Fork River. The Upper and Lower Mesa Falls in Island Park are also well worth a visit.

For more information about the home visit:

www.yellowstoneloghome.us

More Details
Hide Details

We are a family of avid fishermen that enjoy the outdoors. We visited the area to see Yellowstone National Park and fish. While fishing at Henrys Lake, we discovered this home for sale. We have enjoyed working on the home, designing the remodel, and creating many of the custom furnishings.

Greg and Roxane (owners) purchased this house in 2010

Being fishermen, we have rented many lakefront properties. This home and it's location took our breath away. Initially the home had a floor plan problem that was remodeled in the winter of 2010. We loved sitting on the steps, facing the lake and purchased a custom log bench to enjoy that view. We feel privileged to own such a beautiful home.

We have loved and guests tell us that the bench on the deck is one of the most peaceful places. Months later, they tell us that they still think about the moments spent there. The fire pit is also a time where groups enjoy closeness that is rarely found in our busy lives. The home is close enough to supermarkets to get needed supplies, yet far enough away to feel secluded, with only the sounds of nature. With no outside lights in the area, the light from the stars and moon are breathtaking. Many of the furnishings are custom made using antique components, providing a level of quality that are rarely found in a vacation rental. The animal life still surprises us. One day the deck light turned on to reveal a red fox. Another day looking out a widow early one morning, we noticed a herd of elk walking though the property grounds. I keep trying to get a picture of the quick short tailed weasel, keeping the mice under control in the spring. The latest hatch of goslings and ducklings are fun to watch as the eat they backyard grass in the spring. In the fall, we have seen muskrats chase ducks around the property ponds.

24 Reviews of Property 337186 in Island Park, Idaho

Yellowstone Lakefront Luxury Log Home - 20 minutes from Yellowstone Park
average rating of 5.0 based on 24 reviews
business
Yellowstone Lakefront Luxury Log Home - 20 minutes from Yellowstone Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337186
+1 877 833-4861
Island Park Yellowstone
5

My dream home!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The location of your home could not be any better. It's centrally located with the best views in the 3 state area. For a Cajun from HOT Louisiana, nothing was better than sitting on the porch in the morning drinking coffee and relaxing with the view of Henry Lake. The home was very well stocked with amenities, spacious, spread out and wasn't crowded. Smores by the fire pit was a nightly treat for the children and adults. Not sure of the year but we'll be back to your cabin in the future.
On the first morning of our stay a cow moose and her calf walked north between the house and fire pit and to the lakeshore. They swam the lake and disappeared into the trees on the north end. When I receive the photos of the moose swimming I'll forward to you.
Thanks for everything.
business
Yellowstone Lakefront Luxury Log Home - 20 minutes from Yellowstone Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337186
+1 877 833-4861
Island Park Yellowstone
5

Loved the location and the many small extras prove

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Location on Lake Henry is gee. Cabin was very prove cldn and well at aped. View of lake, mountains were beautiful. Very convenient to all the sights and attractions in the area as well as a quick drive into Yellowstone.
business
Yellowstone Lakefront Luxury Log Home - 20 minutes from Yellowstone Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337186
+1 877 833-4861
Island Park Yellowstone
5

Away from it all

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Amazing property in the most beautiful and peaceful setting. We spent 3 days here and travelled into Yellowstone 2 of the 3 days and had one day spent relaxing around the house. It was an easy drive into the park and a great retreat. Loved sitting on the veranda and looking at the view. The house itself was of a very high standard and had everything you could possibly want. We would recommend this to anyone - we are a family of 5, 3 teenage boys, but it would suit any group although little ones would need to be watched by the lake of course. We enjoyed an excellent birthday meal out at the Wild West Pizza place which was a buzzing pizzeria in West Yellowstone. Our boys enjoyed playing (English) football on the grass and running races round the property. The fire pit was also excellent and well stocked with logs - we ate too many marshmallows and sang too many out of tune songs but the place was ideal for relaxing and having some fun as a family. If you get the chance to stay here, don't dither - book it! Roxanne was very helpful before our stay and also called us on the day we arrived which was a lovely welcoming touch we appreciated very much.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Yellowstone Lakefront Luxury Log Home - 20 minutes from Yellowstone Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337186
+1 877 833-4861
Island Park Yellowstone
5

A beautiful setting and everything you needed

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Pretty setting and very workable kitchen. Loved the appliance so much we wrote the model number down for a frig at our house.
business
Yellowstone Lakefront Luxury Log Home - 20 minutes from Yellowstone Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337186
+1 877 833-4861
Island Park Yellowstone
5

Awesome views and amenities near West Yellowstone!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
You have a lovely home in a beautiful setting. It is right on a lake with great views of surrounding mountains. Your home is very well furnished and equipped, so that it is like being at our own home. We thoroughly enjoyed the week that we spent at your home and using it as a base for traveling to Yellowstone, the Tetons and surrounding areas.
We've been recommending your lake home highly to our friends and colleagues as they have asked us about our trip to Yellowstone. We would definitely plan on coming back when we have a chance. Thanks much for making our trip to Yellowstone very memorable!
business
Yellowstone Lakefront Luxury Log Home - 20 minutes from Yellowstone Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337186
+1 877 833-4861
Island Park Yellowstone
5

Wonderful escape!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Beautiful vacation home, very well equipped and wonderful local scenery and wildlife. We loved our stay. It was only 20 minutes away from West Yellowstone, yet felt like it was worlds away from the crowds. Highly recommended!
business
Yellowstone Lakefront Luxury Log Home - 20 minutes from Yellowstone Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337186
+1 877 833-4861
Island Park Yellowstone
5

Awesome Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
From the inquiry until we were home, Greg and Roxanne went above and beyond in their hospitality. We thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful and cozy cabin. It was the perfect place to start all our activities through Yellowstone. It has everything you could ask for and more. Our group of seven has nothing but praise for the comfort and amenities of this cabin. The only drawback is that we were not able to stay longer. Thank you for the wonderful memories we made on our vacation.
Owner's Response: We are grateful that you and your family had such a wonderful time in our home and exploring Yellowstone. We especially appreciated your taking the picture of the bull moose, right in front of the house during your stay, now featured on our website.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Yellowstone Lakefront Luxury Log Home - 20 minutes from Yellowstone Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337186
+1 877 833-4861
Island Park Yellowstone
5

Yellowstone Log Home exceeded our expectations.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Those lovely pictures used to advertise the Yellowstone Log Home pale in comparison to what we experienced upon our arrival - magnificent Henry's Lake and miles of mountain vistas! The home comfortabley accommodated our group of 8 adults with indivitual private space along with spacious gathering areas. Upon our arrival in Bozeman , we did our week's provision shopping and headed for Henry's Lake -along the way there were amazing views and we had a preview of Ennis ( small MT town with lovely shops which we took advantage of mid-week ). Whatever was needed to prepare a meal was there - we really appreciated the electric griddle and crock pot. After taking our meals in the very spacious dining room, we would always head for the wonderful deck with its promise of fantastic wrap around views and amazing peacefulness. The firepit was utilized one evening for a "smores" making party - great fun and tasty. The fellows caught several 18" rainbows in the area, which were grilled to perfection on the gas grill. And of course Yellowstone Park is just 20 minutes away - WOW. Yes , a stay at Yellowstone Log Home is HIGHLY recommended.
business
Yellowstone Lakefront Luxury Log Home - 20 minutes from Yellowstone Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337186
+1 877 833-4861
Island Park Yellowstone
5

Cabin with a view on Henry's Lake

Cabin with a view on Henry's Lake
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
What a beautiful place! ! We enjoyed it with our family and make lasting memories! We chose it because of it being so close to Yellowstone National Park. Roxane and Greg are wonderful owners to share this beautiful cabin with us. They had everything we needed and answered all our questions.

We enjoyed all the animals and the Parks. We saw Old Faithful. Went to Roosevelt and rode the Stagecoach. Hiked down Uncle Tom's Trail in the Canyon Area. 300 steps down lead you into the canyon to see the lower falls. Also hiked and climbed on the rocks at Sheepeater Cliff between Norris and Mammoth. The cliff is basalt lava that formed "columnar Joints" when it cooled nearly 500,00 years ago. In the Tetons we took the Boat across at Jenny Lake and hiked to Hidden falls. Then up to the look out on Grand Teton Mountain which is 13,770 FT high.

We loved out stay and can't say enough about it and our beautiful accommodations. The view is so beautiful. We had fresh snow on the mountains one day.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Yellowstone Lakefront Luxury Log Home - 20 minutes from Yellowstone Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337186
+1 877 833-4861
Island Park Yellowstone
5

Awesome Vacation Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My family and I stayed at the cabin for Memorial Day Weekend and loved it! The weather was terrible (snow storms and high winds) so having a great place to stay was the key to our vacation. Loved the views and the space.
Owner's Response: The baby bison and elk are born in early May. This is another highlight during the spring.