Wardensville chalet rental - Hillside Chalet at Warden Lake
Hillside Chalet at Warden Lake
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Wardensville Chalet Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, well equipped kitchen, outdoor decks, sleeps 6

The Hillside Chalet is a 1,000 sq. ft. building, and is perched on a private 5.5 acre wooded parcel. The location is well off the beaten path. Wildlife frequently seen include deer and an occasional black bear. The chalet has 3 bedrooms, 2 with queen size beds (Master & Loft) & 1 downstairs with 2 twin beds. It has 1 full bath downstairs and 1 full bath in loft. Central air-conditioning & heating and a gas stove are provided for your comfort. The chalet offers a full laundry for your convenience, a well equipped kitchen with dishwasher, local telephone service, high speed Internet, (WIFI), TV & DVD. The Chalet has 2 decks partially screened and 1 off the loft. Outside amenities include small hot tub, charcoal grill (charcoal & lighter not provided) and fire pit. Surrounding areas, including the George Washington National Forrest & the Lost River State Park, provide exceptional opportunities for hiking, biking, canoeing, hunting, fishing.

Fishing on Warden Lake: Trout Stocking Schedule (West Virginia Dept of Natural Resources) Stocked in early March.

February: One Stocking

March-May: One stocking every two weeks

Other fish in lake: largemouth bass, bluegill, channel catfish, northern pike, others

Boating: Electric Motors only

More details at www.wvdnr.gov/fishing/public_access.asp?county=Hardy&point=I114&type=Lakes

visit WVDNR website (www.wvdnr.gov) for more information and Online fishing licenses

FREE ONE WEEK STAY FOR STATE RECORD CATCHES

More Details
Hide Details

24 Reviews of Property 336901 in Wardensville, West Virginia

Ouiet, comfortable, well equipped chalet in the midst of nature
average rating of 4.952381 based on 24 reviews
business
Ouiet, comfortable, well equipped chalet in the midst of nature
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336901
+1 904-307-2952
Wardensville West Virginia
4

Great property!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Very well-maintained, clean property in a quiet setting close to Warden lake. The kitchen was well-equipped and everything was very comfortable. We (married couple, 2 kids, 2 dogs) enjoyed our stay very much. The managers were friendly and responsive, and everything was as advertised.
Owner's Response: Thank you, we appreciate your comments and we are happy that you had a nice time over the Thanksgiving holidays. Tom & Gail
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ouiet, comfortable, well equipped chalet in the midst of nature
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336901
+1 904-307-2952
Wardensville West Virginia
5

Great weekend surrounded by nature!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The chalet is great with all the latest conveniences - just as listed. Location was better than we expected - surrounded by natural beauty. Thanks, Tom and Gail!
Owner's Response: You're welcome, and thank you for the nice review. Tom & Gail
business
Ouiet, comfortable, well equipped chalet in the midst of nature
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336901
+1 904-307-2952
Wardensville West Virginia
Kentucky
5

Quiet and comfortable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My husband and I spent a wonderful week here with our two dogs. The house is clean and comfortable, and has plenty of great scenery nearby with tons of deer. My mom and her fiancé stopped by for two nights and there was more than enough room for four adults. It also had great views of the full moon, and beautiful sunrises. Excellent place for a relaxing vacation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review. We really want our guest to enjoy the quietness of the chalet and the beauty of the wildlife. We hope to hear from you again for your next vacation. Tom & Gail
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ouiet, comfortable, well equipped chalet in the midst of nature
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336901
+1 904-307-2952
Wardensville West Virginia
5

A beautiful, inviting chalet where nature abounds

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My friend, my dog and I stayed at the chalet for a "girls" weekend. The residence was clean and comfortable, with plenty of room for everyone. All instructions provided were clear and easy to follow to get our visit started. The kitchen was well stocked with supplies. Tom and Gail had brochures, maps and hiking information available to plan outings in the area. We went to the lake for a dip, but mostly enjoyed the screened porch and solitude for our rainy weekend. We did not have phone service on our cell phones which made it wonderful for relaxation. The chalet was the perfect location to suit our needs.
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Tom & Gail
business
Ouiet, comfortable, well equipped chalet in the midst of nature
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336901
+1 904-307-2952
Wardensville West Virginia
5

Wonderful and quiet!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My wife and I spent a very relaxing weekend at the chalet. Very nice decor, had everything we needed, nicely equipped kitchen. Spent most of our time playing cards on the screened in porch or relaxing in the hot tub after taking a hike. Recommend the Lost River Brewing Co. in Wardensville for lunch or dinner. And the owners were so great to work with. Beautiful house in a beautiful area. If you're looking for some real peace and quiet, this place is hard to beat.
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review. Lost River Brewery Co. is a pretty descent restaurant for either lunch or diner. We also like the KaKaPon restaurant, their pretty good for all three meals. It is relaxing out on the porch even if all you do is sit and watch the deer or listen to the quietness. Love it. Thank you, Tom & Gail
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ouiet, comfortable, well equipped chalet in the midst of nature
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336901
+1 904-307-2952
Wardensville West Virginia
5

Peaceful getaway - just what we were looking for!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We were looking for a quiet getaway to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary, and this chalet was perfect. We spent lots of time relaxing on the screened in porch, just enjoying nature and each other's company. The hot tub was wonderful after a long hike in the mountains. Dinner at the Lost River Brewery was amazing, and their beer was really good. We also enjoyed lunch at O'Neills - the Hollerin Hillbilly BLT was delicious. Everything was very clean and inviting, there were lots of little extras that made us feel right at home. We definitely hope to come back again!
Owner's Response: We thank you very much for your nice words. It is a quiet place to relax at and enjoy the peacefulness of the country. We hope the deer showed their beautiful faces for you, we have quite a few around us.

Thank you again, Tom & Gail
business
Ouiet, comfortable, well equipped chalet in the midst of nature
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336901
+1 904-307-2952
Wardensville West Virginia
5

Really Does Not Get Any Better!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The first thing we noticed on how clean the chalet was.Compliments to your property management.Very peaceful and comfortable.Had everything you could possibly need.Can hardly wait to come back.Thanks for a good time.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words, we look forward to your return. Tom & Gail
business
Ouiet, comfortable, well equipped chalet in the midst of nature
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336901
+1 904-307-2952
Wardensville West Virginia
Woodbridge, VA
5

Very enjoyable stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The chalet is very clean and well-kept. The kitchen has plenty of cooking supplies and a nice big refrigerator. We loved the screened in porch and ended up eating breakfast and dinner out there almost every day! It was wonderful to watch and listen to the wildlife. We also enjoyed soaking in the hot tub and making s'mores around the fire pit. Having Warden Lake so close by was great too, we went fishing several times and caught lots of fish (a couple we could've kept, but we ended up returning them all). I'm glad we came in June before the lake became completely covered in vegetation. As it was, we were reeling in more plants than fish! All in all a wonderful vacation!
Owner's Response: Thank you. We too like to eat out on the porch. It is peaceful and just really nice out there. We are glad you enjoyed the chalet and hope to hear from you again.

Thank you again,
Tom & Gail
business
Ouiet, comfortable, well equipped chalet in the midst of nature
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336901
+1 904-307-2952
Wardensville West Virginia
5

A great Home away from home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We were very pleased with the cabin and enjoyed our stay very much. The hot tub was enjoyed by all and the peace and quiet was amazing. The cabin was very clean and had everything we needed. We especially enjoyed the screened in porch and the firepit. We traveled out a couple days to the Potomac train ride as well as the smokehole caverns which were both enjoyed as well. The Kac-ka-pon restaurant down town was our favorite choice for meals out. There was nothing we did not enjoy about our choice for a vacation spot. Even when the electric was out for 12 hours we spent time building fires and roasting marshmallows. Little bit of a bummer that the hot tub cooled off but after a day it was back up to temperature.
Owner's Response: We want to thank you for the nice words. Our property mgr. does a great job on keeping the chalet top notch. Once in awhile the power will have a glitch, but then it is time to open the wine we put out for our guest and enjoy the firepit like you said. We're so glad you had a great time! We hope to hear from you again.

Thank you,
Tom & Gail
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ouiet, comfortable, well equipped chalet in the midst of nature
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336901
+1 904-307-2952
Wardensville West Virginia
5

Awesome!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Coming from a metropolitan area, you never realize how peaceful parts of our great nation are. This vacation home provides everything you need to enjoy a weeklong or weekend getaway. After nightfall you can sit on the screened in porch and relax to the call of a whipporwill. No vehicle noise. Plenty of activities within 10 miles. A fishing lake within walking distance. Who could ask for anything more. The living quarters of the Chalet are top notch. Plenty of space. You want for nothing but more time away!!!! Hated to leave.
Owner's Response: What a wonderful thing to say! We hate to leave there too, it is so quiet & peaceful up there on the side of the hill. We love it. We are so glad you enjoyed your time up at the chalet and hope to hear from you again. Tom & Gail