Hollywood house rental - Street View
Street View
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Hollywood House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 3.5 Bathrooms, Convertible bed(s), Sleeps 8

Beautifully restored 1925 Mediterranean home in the hills above Hollywood. Grand two story entry hall with curved staircase and gallery. Two level living room with, a fireplace, arched ceiling, picture window to the front courtyard and French doors to a terrace at the rear. The dining room has a huge silver leafed cornice molding and a table that expands to seat 14 or more.

The large kitchen has a subzero refrigerator, classic six burner O' Keefe and Merritt stove and wine cooler and separate lounge area with hanging flat screen TV. Three bedrooms upstairs each with king size bed, en suite bathroom and flat screen TV.

Glamorous Hollywood Vacation Home : Secluded on a quiet street, walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl and twenty minutes to everywhere else, this jewel of a home will take you back to the time when movies where still made without sound. While providing plenty of recent technology, this glamorous Mediterranean style residence with touches of Art Deco boasts over 3200 sq ft (300 sq meters) of lovingly restored, beautifully appointed interiors with an optional additional 1100 square feet (100 sq meter) guest unit available.

Entering the two story entry hall reveals a sweeping grand staircase, a magnificent period Art Deco chandelier and the library gallery above. One can easily imagine Norma Desmond descending-- ready for her close up. The drama continues as one steps down from the spacious entry into an inviting living room with a 12 foot arched ceiling, fireplace and huge arched window offering views of the intimate entry court. At the far end of this room, there are two steps up to a cozy TV seating which was originally designed for the grand piano that entertained guests before elegant dinners.

The dining room (embellished with bold silver leafed crown moldings and a magnificent Deco -inspired chandelier) easily accommodates 14 guests at the empire-style dining table. Beyond the dining room is the heart of the house, an updated kitchen that amazingly still fits the early 1920’s but quietly features a sub zero refrigerator, wine cooler, center island, two sinks, dishwasher, microwave and fully restored antique six burner duel oven O’keefe and Merrit range. Also included here is a sitting area with sofa, side chair, a flat screen television and bar stools. On the second floor are three bedrooms, each with king size beds, en suite bathrooms and flat screen televisions.

Besides the nod to history, dual zone heating and air conditioning, DirecTV satellite TV on five screens and a very fast WiFi connection makes this amazing vacation residence a must for your next Los Angeles visit. The only thing missing is you!

More Details
Hide Details

Originally from the Midwest. Moved to Los Angeles in 1987 and love living here.

Douglas Connett purchased this house in 1987

This is a unique home. It is on a very quiet residential street but still close to many attractions in Hollywood and Los Angeles.

Built in the golden era of Hollywood, the house retains the feeling of the day but with all of the comforts we expect in a home today.

28 Reviews of Property 336768 in Hollywood, California

1925 Glamorous Hollywood Vacation Home
average rating of 5.0 based on 28 reviews
business
1925 Glamorous Hollywood Vacation Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336768
+1 323-464-1235
Hollywood Los Angeles County
Hollywood, CA 90068
5

Old Hollywood Charmer!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We lived here for 2 months during a home renovation and loved every minute of our stay. Although located a mere 5 minutes from our property, the "Old Hollywood" charm made us feel a world away. The house is lovely, unique and filled with beautiful, comfortable furnishings. The property is immaculate, the owner wonderfully accomodating and it was hard to leave once our own home was finished!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
1925 Glamorous Hollywood Vacation Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336768
+1 323-464-1235
Hollywood Los Angeles County
5

Simply the best!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
First of all, I cannot wait to return to this lovely property. The location is terrific. Close to everything. The home is beautiful inside and out. As elegant as this property is, it is also comfortable. I must rave about the bedrooms. The beds and bedding were more comfortable than any luxury hotel that I have stayed in. My three children 9 and under fell asleep easily each night. The neighborhood is quiet, even though it is located close to the Hollywood Bowl. There are so many restaurtants, shops, and tourist sites near by. Or, you can just relax on the beautiful terrrace. The kitchen is well stocked including spices. The bathrooms were stocked with personal care items and every need was anticipated. This is a home that you do not want to miss. The kids said this was the best vacation and best home they have ever stayed in and I have to agree. Thank you Doug for renting this fantastic property to us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
1925 Glamorous Hollywood Vacation Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336768
+1 323-464-1235
Hollywood Los Angeles County
Celebration, FL
5

Absolutely amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This is an absolutely beautiful home. It is the total package. By that I mean it is full of character, clean, stunningly decorated, spacious, comfortable, located in a safe, convenient neighborhood and owned/operated by a great landlord. There were six of us staying there and we didn’t want to leave. If you want the true Hollywood experience on your vacation, then contact Doug. You won’t be disappointed that you did. We will be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
1925 Glamorous Hollywood Vacation Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336768
+1 323-464-1235
Hollywood Los Angeles County
5

simply stunning home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Our first thought upon arrival was old school hollywood glamour this house is georgous. extreamly clean, very spacious with huge comfortable king beds. As a family of 6 this house was perfect for us. Everything you need is supplied and more.The house is in a perfect position for all the popular tourist attractions but still on a very quiet street. The owner Doug was extreamly helpfull giving us not only tips and infomation to some great places but going out of his way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. As first time vistors to America from Australia I am glad I made the decision to book this fantastic home and have no problem in recommending this awsome vacation rental. Thanks again Doug for everything you were great hope to see you again one day.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
1925 Glamorous Hollywood Vacation Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336768
+1 323-464-1235
Hollywood Los Angeles County
United States
5

Love from Texas!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I don't even know where to begin....I knew the location of Doug's home was going to be perfect for us, but when we arrived and walked in....it was soooooo much more!! From the super cool kitchen to the huge dining room, from the awesome flat screen tvs to the amazing beds, from the "well-stocked" library to the beautiful shaded terraces, from the creative lighting to the comfy pillows, from the sub zero fridge to the well-decorated rooms.....everything was first class!! Doug was nothing short of the perfect host and we cannot wait to return next summer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
1925 Glamorous Hollywood Vacation Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336768
+1 323-464-1235
Hollywood Los Angeles County
5

A very special holiday home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We had six nights in this wonderful house, and it was truly a home from home. Light, spacious, airy and so comfortable, the house more than met our expectations, and Doug was thoughtful and helpful in every way - and a great communicator, always promptly answering emails, etc. It was also lovely to find baskets of toiletries in the all the bathrooms, should we have needed anything - a lovely touch. Our two small children especially loved the kitchen area - as did we! Really well equipped with everything you could need, and the whole house had such style. I especially loved the artwork and photography dotted around! The bedrooms were also great, and the room with the bed that could be split in two worked well for the kids. This is a great house in a great area - really easy to get pretty much everywhere from here, and so a perfect base. Highly recommended!
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
1925 Glamorous Hollywood Vacation Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336768
+1 323-464-1235
Hollywood Los Angeles County
5

Amazing! Best home to rent in LA

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
This is an amazing home! My husband and I stayed here with our two young boys and it was a wonderful vacation. The house is spotless, quiet, and in a very safe area. It is also conveniently located to highways.

Doug is an amazing person to rent from. He's very pleasant and responsive. We will only rent this home for all future LA visits.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
1925 Glamorous Hollywood Vacation Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336768
+1 323-464-1235
Hollywood Los Angeles County
Philadelphia, PA USA
5

Totally wonderful in every way

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Wow! Wow in every possible way. It is impossible to overstate the quality of the house or the lengths Doug has gone to make it feel comfortable and truly special. The photographs are accurate and indicative of what this beautiful home has to offer but the experience of living there is much, much better. Unlike most rentals that are, by intention, simple, sparse and devoid of personality, Doug’s house is brimming with style, quality and individuality. In other words, it doesn’t feel as if you’re in a sterile rental, it feels as if you’re living in a well designed, wonderfully appointed home. One quote says it all. Our 11-year old grandson visited us from Philadelphia. As soon as he walked in the front door he stopped, stared and said, “this is a Bill Gates house.” While that might be an overstatement, we thoroughly enjoyed every single day of our month-long visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
1925 Glamorous Hollywood Vacation Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336768
+1 323-464-1235
Hollywood Los Angeles County
Hollywood, CA.
5

Simply perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Just had 4 college friends out for a reunion and we rented this lovely home. I live here in Los Angeles and wanted a fabulous house to entertain and we were not disappointed. Great location - close to my own home and everything was just wonderful! The house is even better (and bigger) than the pictures reflect. So easy to get to and convenient.
I've rented many homes on vrbo but never this incredible and the owner was a sheer delight to work with. He even provided some amenities such as shampoo, toothpaste, toiletries, (which we didn't use but was so thoughtful!). Some other owners never even returned calls but Doug was so very helpful. No view - but honestly, you don't need it - you need a terrific, comfortable, home to stay in which this place in.
We hope to make this an annual tradition and rent this house each and every year. Thank you, Doug!

Rent this home - you won't be disappointed!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
1925 Glamorous Hollywood Vacation Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336768
+1 323-464-1235
Hollywood Los Angeles County
Calcutta, India
5

Bollywood in Hollywood

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
We were a group of 7 and we stayed for 2 nights

Had an amazing time at this place. Super comfortable and very well done up. Doug also made sure that we were comfy by sending over a friend to check on us. we also loved the quite location and enjoyed being there completely.

THANKS for letting us stay at ur place DOUG.
Helpful votes: 2/2