Beach Colony condo rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Beach Colony Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Our ocean-view beachfront property is like your home away from home! We visited many condos in Myrtle Beach before we settled on this one, and then completely transformed it from a standard 'hotel room' to a lovely comfortable vacation home. In January 2012, the kitchen was transformed into a cook's dream with exotic italian granite countertops and updated cabinets. All the beds are extremely comfortable with new pillow-top mattresses and lovely 100% cotton bedding. We put in new dvd players, and flat screen TVs in the living area and master. The carpet, tile, paint and furnishings are also up-to-date and new. From the stackable washer and dryer, to the wireless internet and Time-Warner cable, all the amenities of home are at your finger-tips. We truly put a lot of love and attention into our unit and have spent many happy days here. We truly hope you enjoy your visit and return to stay with us in the future!

Keywords: ocean view, oceanfront, 2 bedroom, sleeps 8, washer, dryer, full kitchen, clean, flat screen tv, dvd, wireless internet, plasma tv, flat screen, new, updated, renovated, granite, remodel, family, couples,

More Details
Hide Details

Chris and Karen love real estate and own numerous rental homes. This is our first of two condos in Myrtle Beach, and by far our favorite! We love to travel and dream about investing in properties all over the US and the world, making each property a little extension of ourselves and an enjoyable place to share with others!

Karen Sturkie purchased this condo in 2008

We have been visiting Myrtle Beach for many years, and since we only live 4 hours away, decided we wanted to buy a beach vacation home. We searched for many months before settling on Beach Colony. We love the family-friendly atmosphere as well as the quiet, laid back location. In minutes you can be at the 'strip' or Broadway at the Beach, yet it's a quick trip back to our 'home-away-from-home.' Beach Colony is a unique little 'gem' in the heart of a residential district of Myrtle Beach.

Our unit used to look like a 'typical' hotel condo with out-dated furnishing and fixtures. We completely renovated it with comfort and convenience in mind. The beds are a dream to sleep in, and the furniture is comfortable and stylish. In January of 2012, we updated the kitchen with exotic italian granite countertops, updated cabinets, and a breakfast bar. All appliances, carpet and tile are new, so you have no worries. Bring your laptop and enjoy the wireless internet access, while sipping a cup of coffee or a glass of wine on the balcony... this is living!

18 Reviews of Property 336641 in Beach Colony, South Carolina

Exotic Granite Kitchen -- Updated Luxury -- And 5 Star Reviews!!
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 18 reviews
business
Exotic Granite Kitchen -- Updated Luxury -- And 5 Star Reviews!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336641vbi
8643257052
Beach Colony Myrtle Beach
5

BEACH LOVER!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I want to start off by saying that this is by far the nicest place we have stayed in at Myrtle Beach. My husband also agrees 100 percent. The condo was decorated beautifully and classy. The pictures presented were identical to how the room looked. The condo was also super clean. I have stayed at Beach Colony many times but none of the rooms compared to this one. By far the best. It was the first time that we have ever rented on VRBO and Karen made it extremely easy. No problems and the best part was not having to check in at the front desk. The parking passes already in the room were great. And the keyless entry on the door was excellent. The condo itself and Karen's helpfulness made it a wonderful vacation with my husband. So much so that I decided to rent it again in August! Thank you guys for allowing us the opportunity to share your condo. We really appreciate it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Crystal -- Thank you so much! We are so happy you had a great stay in the condo and are excited about your next visit. We do our very best to make sure it is extremely clean, comfortable, and just like the pictures. It's really important to accurately represent the unit so guests can make an informed decision. Of course, fabulous reviews like yours are amazingly helpful too! Please have a great summer, and we look forward to your next stay! Karen
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Exotic Granite Kitchen -- Updated Luxury -- And 5 Star Reviews!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336641vbi
8643257052
Beach Colony Myrtle Beach
Thornton, WV
5

Friendly travelers

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We just returned today from our Myrtle Beach vacation. I can't express enough how wonderful Karen & Chris' condo is. It was very comfortable and homey. It was decorated beautifully and the granite countertops were amazing. It's by far the nicest condo we have rented. Karen was easy to work during the booking process and she checked in with me to make sure all was well. Our family will definitely book this condo again for our next MB vacation. Thank you so much Karen!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Sherri,

Thank you for your great review -- it was certainly my pleasure to work with you throughout the reservation process, and I am so glad you enjoyed your time at the condo. We do our best to make it as homey and luxurious as possible so you have a chance to get away and escape a bit from all the busyness of everyday life! Please do let me know when you can come again -- we look forward to your next stay!
Karen
business
Exotic Granite Kitchen -- Updated Luxury -- And 5 Star Reviews!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336641vbi
8643257052
Beach Colony Myrtle Beach
TN
5

Super clean condo in great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
From the beginning, I found the pictures on the internet to be very helpful in my selection. Karen is very easy to work with. Her information was very detailed and accurate. Upon arrival, please note Karen's information about the parking garage. It is helpful to park on level 3 and 5 for normal size cars. The condo itself is very clean and decorated nicely. The beds and beds linens are comfortable. They had a nice stock of beach items-chairs, boogie boards, umbrellas, etc which was very nice. The resort itself is very well maintained. It provides a nice place to relax in the sun or shade. It also has a nice range of pools and hot tubs. The location was nice for all the places we wanted to travel-Barefoot Landing, Broadway at the Beach, Market Commons, Tanger Outlets, etc. I would recommend this unit and would come back again in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Amanda,
Thank you for your great review. It is so helpful to future guests to know your opinion of our condo and the location. You are right -- it is very centrally located to many of the major attractions, and of course, it is right there on the ocean too! And once you know the best way to maneuver the parking garage, it's really pretty easy -- and it's on the same side of the road as the condo!
We appreciate you, and hope you will return to stay with us again soon!
Karen
business
Exotic Granite Kitchen -- Updated Luxury -- And 5 Star Reviews!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336641vbi
8643257052
Beach Colony Myrtle Beach
HUNTINGTOWN, MD
5

OCEAN LOVER

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Place was great! We could see the ocean and watch people, too!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Exotic Granite Kitchen -- Updated Luxury -- And 5 Star Reviews!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336641vbi
8643257052
Beach Colony Myrtle Beach
Macomb Twp., MI.
5

Family Vacation at the Beach Colony Resort

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The condo was exactly as advertised. Karen was great to work with throughout the entire process. It was perfect for our family of three. The Condo was very clean and comfortable. The Beach Colony has alot of on-site ammenities, such as the pool bar/cafe, ice cream shop and daily breakfast buffet at a reasonable price. We enjoyed spending time on the balcony reading and enjoying the view between the ocean and Ocean Blvd. Having an indoor parking garage was also a nice convenience. The location of the condo was awesome! There were lots of good restaurants/shopping choices within a short drive. Broadway at the Beach was less then 4 miles away, which has a ton of great restaurants and shopping for the entire family. The only negative comment about the resort was the elevators. There were issues with one of the 2 main elevators, and it was out of order the last 3 days of our stay. It just added a few extra minutes waiting for the elevator. We definately look forward in going back in 2013 to this unit! Thanks again for a wonderful family vacation!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Exotic Granite Kitchen -- Updated Luxury -- And 5 Star Reviews!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336641vbi
8643257052
Beach Colony Myrtle Beach
nj
5

WOW !!! A Giant slice of heaven in Myrtle beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We have all heard terms like, location is everything or location location location. This condo is on the nicest stretch of beach on the grand strand, I have visited MB more times then I can remember and have rented more condos then most (vrbo) and this was the best of the best !!! First the location, not being stuck in the middle of hotel central with crowded beaches was awesome. Second, unit 815 is so far above the norm when comparing vacation rentals in the same size and price range. The condo has all the bells and whistles, Beautiful kitchen, flat screen tv's and the king bed in the master was the best mattress I have ever slept on, bar none. This is a no brainer, and on top of all that, dealing with Karen was a pleasure from the first question to the last email after check out. I will never rent anywhere else, unless you people rent it first :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Exotic Granite Kitchen -- Updated Luxury -- And 5 Star Reviews!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336641vbi
8643257052
Beach Colony Myrtle Beach
Mercersburg , PA
3

Nice condo but VERY poor parking arrangments

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Let me first state that this is a beautiful condo . My over all experience for this condo is good . They have it well taken care of , updated and decorated tastefully . Their cleaning lady is a very nice young lady and eager to assist you whenver needed .

The BeachColony Resort is very nice and pretty offering you many places to swim and relax and even a on ground ice cream shop and bar/restraunt . They also offer all lounges and table and umbrellas so that was very nice . The traffic in the area of the Resort is very little making it easy to get around as well.

With all that being said I apologize to the Sturkies in advance for my personal opinions of the following areas :
Luggage rack were sparangly and the one we did get was broken and wobbly it was of no use. Carrying most of our luggage down a ramp , over a walkway that isnt that big and up the elevator was a little ridiculous and not a very good first impression or beginning og our vacation .

Elevators were very slow my husband and kids would walk the steps and me and my Aunt stood one day for about 8 mins waiting on a elevator and the cleaning staff there commented on how bad they was getting . I had to take the elevators as my 81 yr old aunt would not be able to walk steps .

My biggest complaint is the HORRIBLE parking /parking deck . The first level is for over sized vehicles which is a joke . People parking in that area was irrate at the parking given to people with large vehicles . We took the chance to go up some levels and try to park up there and the parking was no better . Only one vehicle could pass side by side on occasion two small cars was able to go side by side . The ramps were small and could only squeeze one vehicle on it at a time and that turn for a truck was not the greatest . There was times we would even have to back up to let vehicles go through. There was a few times the personal sympathized with us b/c we had my 81 yr old Aunt with us and allowed us to park in the loading lanes out front as long as we didnt block traffic . This parking was such a stress with having my Aunt that I will not return .I had a hard time enjoying myself after going through the parking deck but instead being frustrated b/c of the lack of parking and poor excuse of a parking garage.

Let me repaet the condo is nice and well worth every penny to rent . The location is great and uncongested however the parking is the deal breaker for me .
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are always happy to hear good comments about our condo. We have tried to provide everything needed for a comfortable vacation by completely renovating the unit, updating the kitchen with new cabinets and granite, purchasing new mattresses , linens, furniture, carpet and tile and providing flat screen TVs and complimentary wireless service.

As you drive up and down North Ocean Boulevard, you will notice that due to the high price of ocean-front property, many of the condo complexes do not provide a parking garage at all, and if they do, most of them are located across the street from the condo complex. Guests at those resorts have to cross a busy street to get to their room and also have to carry their luggage.

When we purchased our unit at Beach Colony, we were very happy to have a covered parking garage on the ocean side of the street adjoining the condo. Beach Colony was one of the first to provide a garage on the ocean side, and it was built before over-sized vehicles were commonly manufactured, so a separate parking area for those vehicles is provided. Additionally, there are signs posted inside the garage indicating that vehicles should yield to those exiting, and there are strategically placed mirrors at each ramp in order to aid the traffic flow.

Another convenience provided is the covered area in front of the lobby which has a ramp and automatic doors. Guests can use this entrance to access their condo by crossing the lobby and taking a very short walk down an interior corridor to the elevators. This option is a great one for elderly guests or those needing special assistance.

Our Beach Colony condo is located in one of the most conveniently located resorts on the beach and is a great choice if you are interested in a clean, well-appointed, updated condo, beautiful pools and grounds and an uncrowded beach area just a few steps from the condo.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Exotic Granite Kitchen -- Updated Luxury -- And 5 Star Reviews!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336641vbi
8643257052
Beach Colony Myrtle Beach
Winston-Salem, NC
5

Great Condo!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We were looking for a condo near the beach for a reasonable price in this particular area of Myrtle Beach. This condo was perfect -- very nice and extremely clean. Highly recommend it! The photos and description of the condo and property on vrbo.com are accurate. Lots of beach even during high tide. There was a great band at one of the pools, as well as games and entertainment for children. The poolside bar has excellent mixed drinks. Karen was amazing to work with through the entire rental process! Karen, thanks for everything, and thanks to your daughter for the assistance she provided in getting the bag left at the condo shipped to us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Exotic Granite Kitchen -- Updated Luxury -- And 5 Star Reviews!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336641vbi
8643257052
Beach Colony Myrtle Beach
Dalzell, SC
5

Dianne S

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This condo is beautiful! Everything is exactly as described on the VRBO website. The location is great ant the whole Beach Colony resort is beautiful. The pool bar is very convienent and has tasty drinks. The condo is very well appointed with everything you need for a relaxing beach vacation. I highly recommend it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dianne,

Thank you so much for the great review of our property! We are so pleased you had a great time. I appreciate your tip about the drinks at the pool bar -- we too enjoy how convenient it is (and close to the hot tub!) Did you get a chance to try out the hammocks? We hope you will stay with us again in the future. :-)
business
Exotic Granite Kitchen -- Updated Luxury -- And 5 Star Reviews!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p336641vbi
8643257052
Beach Colony Myrtle Beach
knoxville tn near smokey mtns
5

Knoxville visitors

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We were very pleased with the condo at Beach Colony The unit was very clean and has a lot of updates We have stayed at Beach Colony before but this was by far the best unit. Karen was very nice to deal with before hand. I will recommend this to my friends for a great time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Cathy,

Thank you for your review -- we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and had a comfortable time in the condo. You are right -- because the units are individually owned, you never quite know what you are getting, so I am happy you were pleased upon your arrival. We truly want you to feel relaxed and away from all the stress of everyday life, and we strive to make the condo feel peaceful and comfortable. We hope you will be back again very soon!